3ne2nr fishermen

HSA

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby HSA » June 15th, 2016, 7:13 am

X_Factor wrote:^ u all end up going weekend?
if so how was the catch?

bout 3 tuners contact me but everybody timing was bad....next time we'll organise better...me and a padna went in the gulf for a lil spin...hold a few butters, reds outside and a small grouper in the river....

Miktay

Postby Miktay » June 15th, 2016, 10:20 am

ryan99tt wrote:Tarpon bite hot des days...went 8 for 10 ah day and 8 for 12 another...avg weight was like 120 all the way up to 200...

Kingfish tournament was slow...13 fish come to scale...came 7th with one fish 13lbs...so we end up liming whole day...reel tackle won wit three fish total 42lbs...everyone else held like one fish, biggest being 37lbs...

Nice. what kind of reel iz that in the lower right?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 15th, 2016, 12:55 pm

Shimano tyranos

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 15th, 2016, 12:55 pm

Shimano tyranos

Postby SMc » June 15th, 2016, 1:05 pm

Miktay wrote:
ryan99tt wrote:

Nice. what kind of reel iz that in the lower right?

Downrigger i fink..not really a reel as it clipped to the main rod/line then using a massive sinker you can sink your bait to certain depth, when the fish bites it releases itself from the main line and they become independent.

Think when you trolling and no matter if you going 4 knots the 'bait' almost always sits near the surface , but in some cases you may want to troll at a certain depth way below the surface as some fish like jibbing there thats when it comes handy.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » June 15th, 2016, 1:24 pm

ryan99tt wrote:Shimano tyranos

Thxs. Judging fm ur catches it appears u really need top line equip 2 hold fish.

That & the empty bottle of JW.

Downrigger i fink..not really a reel as it clipped to the main rod/line then using a massive sinker you can sink your bait to certain depth, when the fish bites it releases itself from the main line and they become independent.

Think when you trolling and no matter if you going 4 knots the 'bait' almost always sits near the surface , but in some cases you may want to troll at a certain depth way below the surface as some fish like jibbing there thats when it comes handy.

Cool. Anybody ever use a planer 4 trolling?

Postby meccalli » June 15th, 2016, 3:34 pm

Yeah, tyrnos, jeremy wade uses those exclusively along with a tld. Reels make fishing fun and finesse but not at all necessary, top king fishermen catching smokers for years on 15lb mono on handlines and since you mention planers- That's how commercial fishermen rig for kingfish and wahoo in the gulf of mexico. Spring cord to a length of rope down to a planer, 20ft of mono to wire leader and big drone spoon. No reels, just skied in by hand and right into the icebox.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 15th, 2016, 3:57 pm

Yup, it is ah tyranos in the pic though...need light line for kingfish, if u fishing live bait...ballyhoo is still like 30lb test...

Keshav1738

Postby Keshav1738 » June 15th, 2016, 8:06 pm

What you guys have to say about beefsticks? Have a 7ft paired up with a Daiwa opus plus 5000. Decided to make a medium heavy combo

Postby meccalli » June 15th, 2016, 8:11 pm

Beefsticks from daiwa are what big water rods from shakespeare are, just heavy glass beaters that can take lots of abuse.

Keshav1738

Postby Keshav1738 » June 16th, 2016, 5:21 pm

Orrrr, I have both
But I seeing some serious problems with the guides on the big water

proton17

Postby proton17 » June 19th, 2016, 1:35 pm

Somebody post a lil catch nah, some of us not fishing these days....

Postby pugboy » June 19th, 2016, 7:40 pm

Friend brined a gut hooked sailfish and I smoked it yesterday.
Made a cream cheese dip
one of the better tasting substances on the planet

image.jpeg

image.jpeg
image.jpeg

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 19th, 2016, 7:50 pm

Lol...now get dem pics from my padna dey too...

Postby meccalli » June 19th, 2016, 7:54 pm

I've tried smoked kingfish dip, only ever eaten sails grilled.

Postby dougla_boy » June 22nd, 2016, 3:09 pm

link to recipe? that sounding real bess

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » June 22nd, 2016, 3:34 pm

went 2nd bocus monday ; during high current the yellow fin cavalli bite was hot. After tide change and was calm was reds / small grouper / grunt / salmon. Moved to just off Gasparee and was just in time for bonito.

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » June 22nd, 2016, 3:38 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1466624326.852347.jpg

Postby meccalli » June 22nd, 2016, 8:03 pm

You guys caught that in front the docks?, heard some fellas were catching bonito alavive around there.

dominick1669

Postby dominick1669 » June 22nd, 2016, 8:48 pm

so my padner and i started off doing some spearfishing for the first time, bought cressi fins and snorkel set and a speargun here are some of the pics of what we caught on our first and second trip

Miktay

Postby Miktay » June 22nd, 2016, 9:07 pm

Good shooting bro.

What kinda speargun iz that?

dominick1669

Postby dominick1669 » June 22nd, 2016, 9:18 pm

riffe...

sleepertercel

Postby sleepertercel » June 22nd, 2016, 11:25 pm

Where was this?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 23rd, 2016, 12:32 am

Back of gasparee looks like...

dominick1669

Postby dominick1669 » June 23rd, 2016, 7:24 am

yup correct, to the back of garparee island

fishingmanfren

Postby fishingmanfren » June 24th, 2016, 9:13 am

what is a good lead set up? eg, swivel, hook, sinker etc.. I normally use the old swivel to hook n sicker or 3way swivel..but I am not sure which set up to use and what brand of hooks, swivel etc to use..i have rod an reel with spider wire 60lb test on it..but not so sure how to setup my lead..

I would like to know a good setup for:

1. up and down
2. other technique/methods used by other fishermen..for instance for tarpon/cavali etc..spoonbait etc..

thanks..

dominick1669

Postby dominick1669 » June 24th, 2016, 10:48 am

nick639 wrote:
dominick1669 wrote:yup correct, to the back of garparee island

Total noob Question for u, i see men spear fishing in shorts with fins and snorkel, while others go full camo type suit,

Does it make much of a difference?

I have some diving experience and access to guns, i jus wanna know if it make sense to try meh hand

well i have padners that does dive with shorts normal normal, the wetsuit supposed to really protect u from abrasion from rocks and reef and keep u warm but u could dive without it

Miktay

Postby Miktay » June 24th, 2016, 10:57 am

fishingmanfren wrote:what is a good lead set up? eg, swivel, hook, sinker etc.. I normally use the old swivel to hook n sicker or 3way swivel..but I am not sure which set up to use and what brand of hooks, swivel etc to use..i have rod an reel with spider wire 60lb test on it..but not so sure how to setup my lead..

1. up and down
2. other technique/methods used by other fishermen..for instance for tarpon/cavali etc..spoonbait etc..

thanks..

1.What kina fish u looking 2 ketch?

2. Where u trying 2 ketch dem ? Boat jetty beach ?

fishingmanfren

Postby fishingmanfren » June 24th, 2016, 11:01 am

Miktay wrote:
fishingmanfren wrote:what is a good lead set up? eg, swivel, hook, sinker etc.. I normally use the old swivel to hook n sicker or 3way swivel..but I am not sure which set up to use and what brand of hooks, swivel etc to use..i have rod an reel with spider wire 60lb test on it..but not so sure how to setup my lead..

1. up and down

thanks..

1.What kina fish u looking 2 ketch?

2. Where u trying 2 ketch dem ? Boat jetty beach ?

anything bro..lol I just love fishing..salmon, cavali, tarpon, ancho..u know..just nice fish..not too much of d king fish/mackerel..but its good to know incase de around..

I usually fish from jetty and the shore..sometimes rock fishing as well.

Keshav1738

Postby Keshav1738 » June 24th, 2016, 6:16 pm

You would have to use either a running sinker which is up and down or a bottom feeder
If you tying in spoon baits etc just tie the line to about 3ft fluorocarbon and then Palomar knot straight to the spoon