The Religion Discussion

thermaltake

Re: The Religion Discussion

Postby thermaltake » July 31st, 2012, 6:28 pm

stev wrote:ok, the only questioned u asked that was not directed to someonee is:

thermaltake wrote:when did scientists found out about the big bang?

answer:

Georges Henri Joseph Édouard Lemaître ( lemaitre.ogg (help·info) 17 July 1894 – 20 June 1966) was a [b]Belgian priest, astronomer and professor of physics at the Catholic University of Louvain. He was the first person to propose the theory of the expansion of the Universe, widely misattributed to Edwin Hubble. He was also the first to derive what is now known as the Hubble's law and made the first estimation of what is now called the Hubble constant which he published in 1927, two years before Hubble's article.Lemaître also proposed what became known as the Big Bang theory of the origin of the Universe, which he called his 'hypothesis of the primeval atom'.As he was a secular priest, he was called Abbé, then, after being made a canon, Monseigneur.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Georges_Lema%C3%AEtre

what does this have to do with religion?

this have to do with religion showing an atheist that our Quran said this 1400 years ago.. who wrote it that time? Obviously God....

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » July 31st, 2012, 6:52 pm

crossdrilled wrote:^^^ So I ain't like god physically.... fine... good for him. Where does it say in your holy book which of the mental abilities he ascribed to us? Why did he not throw in telekenesis for good measure? Oh wait.... It is only emotional and cognitive abilities right? Some would say we cannot comprehend god's will... so he hampered our intelegence as well? You have still not given any explanation for god except stuff about feeling the wind etc. Just as you cannot "SEE" my thoughts, you cannot "See" what i personally feel. Through scientific theories, we have a freamework for understanding the universe. Can we prove god right by induction and experimentation? The human body is complex, it is not perfect eh pallie.

What i cannot understand is why some of you feel that all scientists believe there is no God. That is certainly not true. When mathematics professor John E. Fornaess, of Princeton University, was asked for his thoughts on the existence of God, he replied: "I believe that there is a God and that God brings structure to the universe on all levels from elementary particles to living beings to superclusters of galaxies." Physics professor Henry Margenau, of Yale University, said that he was convinced that the laws of nature were created by God, adding: "God created the universe out of nothing in an act which also brought time into existence." He then noted that in the book The Mystery of Life's Origin, three scientists explain that a Creator is a plausible explanation for life's origin. Supporting this view, astronomer Fred Hoyle has stated that believing the first cell originated by chance is like believing that a tornado ripping through a junkyard full of Boeing 747 airplane parts dismembered and in disarray could produce a 747.

PHYSICS professor Ulrich J. Becker, of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, stated when commenting on the existence of God: "How can I exist without a creator? I am not aware of any compelling answer ever given. If you discovered how one wheel in the 'clock' turns—you may speculate how the rest move, but you are not entitled to call this scientific and better leave alone the question of who wound up the spring."

Physics professor Conyers Herring, who acknowledges a belief in God, states: "I reject the idea of a God who long ago set a great clockwork in motion and has since been sitting back as a spectator while mankind wrestles with the puzzle. One reason for my rejection of this is that my scientific experience gives me no reason to believe that there is any 'clockwork' model of the universe that is ultimately and finally the correct one. Our scientific theories . . . will always be capable of greater and greater refinement, but I feel sure they will always prove imperfect. It is safer, I think, to have faith in the living force that makes this improvement always possible." Don't believe this? look it up.

While no human will ever be able to see God, it is recorded that when Jesus Christ was a man on earth, he actually reflected the type of person that God, his heavenly Father, is. On one occasion Jesus said: "The Son cannot do a single thing of his own initiative, but only what he beholds the Father doing. For whatever things that One does, these things the Son also does in like manner." -John 5:19.

I cannot force anyone to believe that God does exist. But if YOUR belief is based on scientists and their theories, just know that there are some who acknowledge that there must be a creator.

Postby maj. tom » July 31st, 2012, 6:59 pm

^again, copying work without due credit.

Jehovah's Witnesses Official Web Site
Copyright © 2006 Watch Tower Bible and Tract Society of Pennsylvania. All rights reserved.

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » July 31st, 2012, 7:00 pm

maj. tom wrote:^again, copying work without due credit.

Jehovah's Witnesses Official Web Site
Copyright © 2006 Watch Tower Bible and Tract Society of Pennsylvania. All rights reserved.

Did i say those were my words? No, i did not. Those words were in that article yes, but those scientists did indeed make those statements. LOOK IT UP.

I do apologise though i forgot that.
Last edited by ichiniisama99 on July 31st, 2012, 7:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby maj. tom » July 31st, 2012, 7:01 pm

don't be a trolling lolcow please.

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » July 31st, 2012, 7:04 pm

maj. tom wrote:don't be a trolling lolcow please.

na i just forgot and clicked submit. thanks though.

Postby maj. tom » July 31st, 2012, 7:26 pm

Just because some accredited scientists have opinions (aka "I believe") and questions about creation that are unanswered does not mean that they represent what the Scientific Community accepts today. Every time these things come up, I would refer to the Scientific Method and understanding it properly. Please read about it and understand it before jumping to more circular arguments that defy logic and dead end the actual nature of our true human inquisitiveness.

Your opinions are just that and you are free to believe what you want to. But a growing percentage of the world's population want to find logical answers that match observations for phenomena. Just saying things like "god made it that way" or "that's god's plan" are well and good for you all, but they are not good enough for many other people. If we were to remain in that state that everything was created as is and given to us, there would be no further exploration or understanding of how our world works, there would be no more technology, no advances in medicine, etc. Yes, just like how it was stagnant before Galileo's time. We are ever-searching for answers, and all of them are not here before us now. We have to go out and find them and not sit back and say god did it. The very premise that god exists and is therefore the base of your logic leads to a paradox about god's creation. Or what if "god" created this universe and moved on to other universes, if they exist and has nothing to do with us for the past 14 billion years? Or what if a super god created god and then gave them jurisdiction to parts of his creation? Are these stupid questions? Why?

And finally in the grand scale of all things, God is just a hypothesis. That you were told about. That you have not observed. That you have claimed to observe the powers and works and effects of but can be explained by other means which fit properly with everything else we know of the Universe. That cannot be repeated with experiments. That defy proper logic. That if performs acts in the real world, would yield evidence that would be observable and repeatable and conform to the laws of physics.( If a so-called miracle occurred that would mean it broke the laws of physics, and believe me, there would be many observable effects that would ripple across the Universe). That was made up by humans to explain many things. That comforts many people about the uncertainty and very short and unique time we live on earth. That really explains nothing in the end. That is merely a human concept.

If you are happy with those explanations and they comfort you about the harshness of life and time, then let it be. There will be many more of your kind to come in this world and many more of my kind to seek and explore and discover after we both are long gone. All that was said will be said again and all that will be said was said before.
Last edited by maj. tom on July 31st, 2012, 7:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Bizzare » July 31st, 2012, 7:39 pm

I do believe in God, but not like the typical believer does. To them it's just comforting to believe in a superior being in this hopeless world we live in without taking time to question or understand anything. Remember as a kid growing up, you were taught religion, and when something bad happened you'd say a lil prayer hoping it'll all get better. Yea, some folks are still stuck in that phase.

What I can't understand is people using logic to prove their holy books, such as history, scientific evidence, etc...... but when the content of their Holy book is questioned, you get answers such as, "It's God's will".... "faith".... "Part of God's plan"... and so on. Sounds like just a scapegoat to me from those who are afraid to question that which they find comfort in and believe in their whole life.

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » July 31st, 2012, 7:53 pm

maj. tom wrote:Just because some accredited scientists have opinions (aka "I believe") and questions about creation that are unanswered does not mean that they represent what the Scientific Community accepts today. Every time these things come up, I would refer to the Scientific Method and understanding it properly. Please read about it and understand it before jumping to more circular arguments that defy logic and dead end the actual nature of our true human inquisitiveness.

Your opinions are just that and you are free to believe what you want to. But a growing percentage of the world's population want to find logic answers that match observations for phenomena. Just saying things like "god made it that way" or "that's god's plan" are well and good for you all, but they are not good enough for many other people. If we were to remain in that state that everything was created as is and given to us, there would be no further exploration or understanding of how our world works, there would be no more technology, no advances in medicine, etc. Yes, just like how it was stagnant before Galileo's time. We are ever-searching for answers, and all of them are not here before us now. We have to go out and find them and not sit back and say god did it.

And finally in the grand scale of all things, God is just a hypothesis. That you were told about. That you have not observed. That you have claimed to observe the powers and works and effects of but can be explained by other means which fit properly with everything else we know of the Universe. That cannot be repeated with experiments. That defy proper logic. That if performs acts in the real world, would yield evidence that would be observable and repeatable and conform to the laws of physics.( If a so-called miracle occurred that would mean it broke the laws of physics, and believe me, there would be many observable effects that would ripple across the Universe). That was made up by humans to explain many things. That comforts many people about the uncertainty and very short and unique time we live on earth. That really explains nothing in the end. That is merely a human concept.

If you are happy with those explanations and they comfort you about the harshness of life and time, then let it be. There will be many more of your kind to come in this world and many more of my kind to seek and explore and discover after we both are long gone. All that was said will be said again and all that will be said was said before.

Like you said, I have not observed. That is true, I have not, but neither did you. So you cannot say it was made up. You were not there, neither was I, but i have faith that He exists, gave us life and everything on the earth for us to survive. The accounts of His works and dealings in the past must have meaning and lessons for us today if they have been preserved for so long...These 'explanations' do not 'comfort' me about the harshness of life. God has told us why the world is in the state it is today. "Man has dominated man to his injury... it does not belong to man who is walking even to direct his step". - Eccl. 8:9; Jer. 10:23. Sin is the greatest disability afflicting mankind. Why do you think governments around the globe cannot stop crime, wars, disease? The blind cannot lead the blind. We have our share of madness right here in Trinidad, every time you turn on the news. He has plainly set out what he is going to do, and i want to be ready. So, you believe what you want, and i will believe what is true.

Postby maj. tom » July 31st, 2012, 8:00 pm

"Archaeology is the search for facts - not truth. If it's truth you're looking for, Dr. Tyree's philosophy class is right down the hall."

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » July 31st, 2012, 8:02 pm

Bizzare wrote:I do believe in God, but not like the typical believer does. To them it's just comforting to believe in a superior being in this hopeless world we live in without taking time to question or understand anything. Remember as a kid growing up, you were taught religion, and when something bad happened you'd say a lil prayer hoping it'll all get better. Yea, some folks are still stuck in that phase.

What I can't understand is people using logic to prove their holy books, such as history, scientific evidence, etc...... but when the content of their Holy book is questioned, you get answers such as, "It's God's will".... "faith".... "Part of God's plan"... and so on. Sounds like just a scapegoat to me from those who are afraid to question that which they find comfort in and believe in their whole life.

Sadly, that is true, most people say those things to escape the thought of doubting everything they learned as a kid...but knowing about God is more than feeding on something you grew up knowing or what you were told, it's not just some "feeling" you get when you go to church and you start singing and clapping and lose control of yourself- You gotta dig deeper, prove it to yourself - if it doesn seem right well you have the choice, no one should force you to be a christian or muslim or hindu or whatever. So i agree with you. But not everyone takes information as it comes without testing it first.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 31st, 2012, 8:03 pm

ichiniisama99 wrote:
maj. tom wrote:Just because some accredited scientists have opinions (aka "I believe") and questions about creation that are unanswered does not mean that they represent what the Scientific Community accepts today. Every time these things come up, I would refer to the Scientific Method and understanding it properly. Please read about it and understand it before jumping to more circular arguments that defy logic and dead end the actual nature of our true human inquisitiveness.

Your opinions are just that and you are free to believe what you want to. But a growing percentage of the world's population want to find logic answers that match observations for phenomena. Just saying things like "god made it that way" or "that's god's plan" are well and good for you all, but they are not good enough for many other people. If we were to remain in that state that everything was created as is and given to us, there would be no further exploration or understanding of how our world works, there would be no more technology, no advances in medicine, etc. Yes, just like how it was stagnant before Galileo's time. We are ever-searching for answers, and all of them are not here before us now. We have to go out and find them and not sit back and say god did it.

Like you said, I have not observed. That is true, I have not, but neither did you. So you cannot say it was made up. You were not there, neither was I, but i have faith that He exists, gave us life and everything on the earth for us to survive. The accounts of His works and dealings in the past must have meaning and lessons for us today if they have been preserved for so long...These 'explanations' do not 'comfort' me about the harshness of life. God has told us why the world is in the state it is today. "Man has dominated man to his injury... it does not belong to man who is walking even to direct his step". - Eccl. 8:9; Jer. 10:23. Sin is the greatest disability afflicting mankind. Why do you think governments around the globe cannot stop crime, wars, disease? The blind cannot lead the blind. We have our share of madness right here in Trinidad, every time you turn on the news. He has plainly set out what he is going to do, and i want to be ready. So, you believe what you want, and i will believe what is true.

Oh boy here we go again.........what make what you believe in the truth? Why can't Buddhism be the truth? What about Hinduism, Jainism, Atheism....heck even Islam.

This issue about the "truth " is what has us where we are.

Postby Bizzare » July 31st, 2012, 8:19 pm

ichiniisama99, how do you know that what the bible preaches is the truth?
Not that I don't believe (I do believe, maybe not in the typical sense), but I wanna know what convinced you?

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » July 31st, 2012, 8:27 pm

ichiniisama99 wrote:

Oh boy here we go again.........what make what you believe in the truth? Why can't Buddhism be the truth? What about Hinduism, Jainism, Atheism....heck even Islam.

This issue about the "truth " is what has us where we are.

First of all, i was in no way speaking of other religions. The issue was whether there was a God or not, which some believe and others do not. From the 1900's till now, everything has rapidly deteriorated- diseases, earthquakes, natural disasters intensified, greed, horrendous murders, rape, violence, they're even allowing same-sex marriages- the Bible for one foretold that these things will happen, long before they started to-while there may be scientific explanations for earthquakes etc., how do you explain greed? how do you explain increasing violence and bloodthirst? how do u scientifically explain why someone will walk into a school with sawed off shotguns and kill students for no reason? Or why someone will rape a 5yr old girl? Whats the scientific explanation why times are getting so hard for people? No jobs, homelessness, abandoned children, failed marriages - all these are things the Bible has foretold way before our time. Things are getting worse and worse everyday. I won't tell you to what to believe, i can't, but if the Bible had all these issues written long before they got this bad, I believe someone had to know that they will happen.

Postby brams112 » July 31st, 2012, 8:32 pm

Boi what you do dey now?^^them questions have answers like i saw it in the book and that is the truth.

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » July 31st, 2012, 8:36 pm

brams112 wrote:Boi what you do dey now?^^them questions have answers like i saw it in the book and that is the truth.

Everybody has answers, it's up to the person to believe whatever makes sense to them. i don't have to argue with people or try to change their thinking, and that is not me anyway. I state what i believe, why i believe it, and that is that. Anybody could say what they want or believe what they want.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 31st, 2012, 8:39 pm

ichiniisama99 wrote:
brams112 wrote:Boi what you do dey now?^^them questions have answers like i saw it in the book and that is the truth.

Everybody has answers, it's up to the person to believe whatever makes sense to them. i don't have to argue with people or try to change their thinking, and that is not me anyway. I state what i believe, why i believe it, and that is that. Anybody could say what they want or believe what they want.
Yes everyone has their own personal beliefs, however believing in something does not make it true.

Postby brams112 » July 31st, 2012, 8:44 pm

I hear you boi,but the condenming of other religion is what ticks me off,the copying of other teachings to FOOL people is what i despise,also lying to prove your religion is better makes me laugh.I have books that the people who passes around gives you,ah mean force you to take it for years,know what ?what they did not believe in ten years ago they now change it around to look like they believed in it years ago.

konartis

Postby konartis » July 31st, 2012, 8:51 pm

allyuh could say what allyuh want...but when we ass sick and dead-ing we calling out for GOD!!

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » July 31st, 2012, 8:51 pm

ichiniisama99 wrote:

Yes everyone has their own personal beliefs, however believing in something does not make it true.

Well, so far man does not have a permanent solution to any of the problems humans are facing today. Everything God said He would do He did, He destroyed Jerusalem, destroyed babylon, preserved his word- i have reason to believe He will continue to keep His word. I don't mean to impose on anyone's thoughts and/or opinions. To each one his own.

Postby brams112 » July 31st, 2012, 8:55 pm

Where he said that boi?^^

TonyM

Postby TonyM » July 31st, 2012, 8:56 pm

ichiniisama99 wrote:What i cannot understand is why some of you feel that all scientists believe there is no God. That is certainly not true. When mathematics professor John E. Fornaess, of Princeton University, was asked for his thoughts on the existence of God, he replied: "I believe that there is a God and that God brings structure to the universe on all levels from elementary particles to living beings to superclusters of galaxies."
he may be a scientist, however he is not using science when he says "I believe there is a god". So you might as well claim he is an authority on barbeque chicken. Science only deals in facts and there is not a single fact proving that God exists.

ichiniisama99 wrote:how do you explain increasing violence and bloodthirst? how do u scientifically explain why someone will walk into a school with sawed off shotguns and kill students for no reason? Or why someone will rape a 5yr old girl?
how does it prove the existence of God? In fact I think it helps to disprove the existence of God even more when criminals rape a 5yr old.

Why sinful places like Las Vegas are thriving and wealthy and religious countries like Afghanistan are poor and suffering? Because God is making them suffer?

God decided that the humans he created are committing sin so he is letting the world sink into violence and bloodthirst? That makes no sense.

People carry out terrible crimes because they may be mentally unstable. Each criminal has a reason for their crimes. In the middle ages plague and religious wars wiped out large portions of human population. if that kind of killing were to happen today it would be about 2 billion people dead in a war. By comparison it is less killing in the world today, however the media lets you know of each one. There was no media in the middle ages.

You are starting off with faith and then trying to find things that help you prove to yourself that your faith is right.

Postby Bizzare » July 31st, 2012, 8:59 pm

All those catastrophes you mentioned have been happening way over 2000 yrs ago though. I'm not fighting you down. I myself continue to seek truth with an open mind. I believe what I believe, but unlike others I'm not gonna lock off everything else. That's just plain senseless because every fact can be argued and knowledge is eternal. What we know now is nothing compared to what we'll know 2000 yrs from now. History will prove that ITS VERY STUPID to think to yourself that what you know is the truth and there's nothing more to it.

And according to historical facts, everything from since the 1900s till now has not changed in the way you described. That's one I hear all the time to backup prophecies. Dude, as the population grows there will obviously be more murders, rapes, GREED especially and every other one of those that humans are responsible for. THE FIGURES ARE RELATIVE TO THE POPULATION SIZE.

It's documented that even the Roman practiced same-sex relationships. Natural disasters...... c'mon dude..... natural disasters are responsible for the physical attributes of the earth as we know it. Natural disaster besides those that humans are responsible for have been happening through out history as much as they do today

No jobs, homelessness, abandoned children, failed marriages... again this is relative to the size of the population on earth. It's obvious as population growth takes place so will these. And you really can't compare those social disasters from then with now, because society is structured differently.

TriniTuner chap 4, verse 267363 wrote:For all of these things which ye mention shall increase as the population on the earth grows. When ye see these things come to past, look to Bizzare, for thine prophecy is the truth

Now there's a prophecy from me. When it takes place, I guess that'll make me God and my every word true. :roll:

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » July 31st, 2012, 9:04 pm

Bizzare wrote:ichiniisama99, how do you know that what the bible preaches is the truth?
Not that I don't believe (I do believe, maybe not in the typical sense), but I wanna know what convinced you?

Like i said lower down, things are getting worse... more people die everyday, people commit the most unthinkable crimes... lots of things happened in bible times but not like these days.

Take this scripture: 2Tim 3:1-5: "This know also, that in the last days perilous times shall come.
For men shall be lovers of their own selves, covetous, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy, Without natural affection, trucebreakers, false accusers, incontinent, fierce, despisers of those that are good, Traitors, heady, highminded, lovers of pleasures more than lovers of God; Having a form of godliness, but denying the power thereof: from such turn away." - KJV

Don't you hear about people like this today? Sometimes see it with your own eyes? I know i do. How could the writer have known this so long ago? There's no doubt in my mind that god knew they would happen, and He's warning us. That's just one thing though.

TonyM

Postby TonyM » July 31st, 2012, 9:05 pm

konartis wrote:allyuh could say what allyuh want...but when we ass sick and dead-ing we calling out for GOD!!
and does it help?

People pray their brains out yet they still suffer and die just like someone who prayed to some other God or Gods and just like someone who didn't pray to God at all.

There is absolutely no proof that praying helps to heal people. if it did, then we would not need medicine.

TonyM

Postby TonyM » July 31st, 2012, 9:13 pm

Bizzare wrote:All those catastrophes you mentioned have been happening way over 2000 yrs ago though. I'm not fighting you down. I myself continue to seek truth with an open mind. I believe what I believe, but unlike others I'm not gonna lock off everything else. That's just plain senseless because every fact can be argued and knowledge is eternal. What we know now is nothing compared to what we'll know 2000 yrs from now. History will prove that ITS VERY STUPID to think to yourself that what you know is the truth and there's nothing more to it.
YES!

2000 years from now children will be reading about Yahweh and Jesus and Muhammad and Shiva and Buddha just like our kids today read about Horus and Osiris and Thor and Zeus.

2000 years ago the Egyptians would not dare blaspheme against Horus. They followed that religion for 6 thousands years with extreme faith and conviction that their religion was true. Perhaps it was, however almost no one follows that religion again and we refer to it as mythology as we do with Zeus Greek religion

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » July 31st, 2012, 9:18 pm

TonyM wrote:
ichiniisama99 wrote:What i cannot understand is why some of you feel that all scientists believe there is no God. That is certainly not true. When mathematics professor John E. Fornaess, of Princeton University, was asked for his thoughts on the existence of God, he replied: "I believe that there is a God and that God brings structure to the universe on all levels from elementary particles to living beings to superclusters of galaxies."
he may be a scientist, however he is not using science when he says "I believe there is a god". So you might as well claim he is an authority on barbeque chicken. Science only deals in facts and there is not a single fact proving that God exists.

ichiniisama99 wrote:how do you explain increasing violence and bloodthirst? how do u scientifically explain why someone will walk into a school with sawed off shotguns and kill students for no reason? Or why someone will rape a 5yr old girl?
how does it prove the existence of God? In fact I think it helps to disprove the existence of God even more when criminals rape a 5yr old.

Why sinful places like Las Vegas are thriving and wealthy and religious countries like Afghanistan are poor and suffering? Because God is making them suffer?

God decided that the humans he created are committing sin so he is letting the world sink into violence and bloodthirst? That makes no sense.

People carry out terrible crimes because they may be mentally unstable. Each criminal has a reason for their crimes. In the middle ages plague and religious wars wiped out large portions of human population. if that kind of killing were to happen today it would be about 2 billion people dead in a war. By comparison it is less killing in the world today, however the media lets you know of each one. There was no media in the middle ages.

You are starting off with faith and then trying to find things that help you prove to yourself that your faith is right.

It doesn't prove the existence of God, it proves man's inability to solve any problems on the earth. And by the way, God did not create humans with sin, that was a choice, they did not want to follow direction.

Not all criminals are mentally unstable. Actually, most of them are not. it's the attitudes of people, the warlike spirit, that does not originate with God.

The state of the world is deteriorating, and that is a fact no one can deny.

TonyM

Postby TonyM » July 31st, 2012, 9:19 pm

so you are saying God didnt know humans would sin?

do you have proof that criminals are not mentally unstable?

chemical imbalances in your brain cause you to perceive things differently. A lust for blood, the inability to control your temper, the lusting for an infant. It causes people to do disgusting things.

a slight imbalance like that could make you feel to eat to the point of getting obese.

your points are not making any sense.

ichiniisama99 wrote:
Bizzare wrote:ichiniisama99, how do you know that what the bible preaches is the truth?

Like i said lower down, things are getting worse... more people die everyday, people commit the most unthinkable crimes... lots of things happened in bible times but not like these days.

Take this scripture: 2Tim 3:1-5: "This know also, that in the last days perilous times shall come.
For men shall be lovers of their own selves, covetous, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy, Without natural affection, trucebreakers, false accusers, incontinent, fierce, despisers of those that are good, Traitors, heady, highminded, lovers of pleasures more than lovers of God; Having a form of godliness, but denying the power thereof: from such turn away." - KJV

Don't you hear about people like this today? Sometimes see it with your own eyes? I know i do. How could the writer have known this so long ago? There's no doubt in my mind that god knew they would happen, and He's warning us. That's just one thing though.
500 years ago people quoted that same scripture and claimed the end was near and the violence and killing had gotten so bad that it was proof that God was about to start the rapture. And people said the same thing 25 years ago and they will probably say it 25 and maybe even 100 years from now.

Though I think more and more people in the world are getting smarter, more logical and thinking for themselves so perhaps not too many people will be saying we are nearing end times and quoting from a book that some crazy people claimed it was the word of God 2500 years ago.

Man created religion because he needed something to help him explain the things he didnt know or understand. Which is why man no longer needs a religion that has a God of Thunder, since we now understand that lightning and thunder is not something that happens when God is angry.
Last edited by TonyM on July 31st, 2012, 9:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Bizzare » July 31st, 2012, 9:20 pm

ichiniisama99 wrote:

U read my post above. What you mentioned has been happening throughout the history of man. Therefore, as the population grows, so does the portion of evil doers as well as those who are good, makes sense? Figures are all relative to the size of the population. If you have a population of 1000 people with 1 murder per year, don't you think a population of millions will have more murders per year also? It's basic primary school ratio; all relative to the size of the population.

Today we have information easily available as soon as it happens. Everything is documented these days. It's wasn't so hundreds of years ago. No one knows how things were hundreds of years ago..... information wasn't properly documented and distributed as t is today. YOU do not know what occurred in the history where we're talking about. So when you said "Don't you hear about people like this today?"... yes I do, but if we were in historical times, I won't be able to. Everything is all relative to the times you're in sir.

TonyM

Postby TonyM » July 31st, 2012, 9:26 pm

^ that is what I said earlier

in fact during the middle ages, population were a fraction of what they were today and plague and holy wars would have wiped out massive sections of the population. By ratio it was worst then.