Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Ripe Chenette

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby Ripe Chenette » March 7th, 2022, 11:22 pm

Time for oats... or is that affected too?

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 8th, 2022, 4:24 am

look thing. only profit they thinking about.

Postby pugboy » March 8th, 2022, 7:38 am

brace for $8 doubles, $35-40 roti

Postby hover11 » March 8th, 2022, 7:45 am

pugboy wrote:brace for $8 doubles, $35-40 roti
Is the ppl if they willing to pay that

Postby hover11 » March 8th, 2022, 7:48 am

Tribe impromtu band launch still sold out? Small thing trinis HAVE money

Postby pugboy » March 8th, 2022, 7:49 am

nobody complaining about $6 doubles so I dont see a dollar or two again causing riots

hover11 wrote:
Is the ppl if they willing to pay that

Postby MaxPower » March 8th, 2022, 7:54 am

dogg wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Condense milk is not a necessity.

Maybe not to you who shop at your so-called exlusive outlets like Massy stores and Anand Low Price.
But try arguing that with poverty sticken families struggling daily to feed their children!

So without condense milk people starve to death?

Postby timelapse » March 8th, 2022, 7:58 am

dogg wrote:

Maybe not to you who shop at your so-called exlusive outlets like Massy stores and Anand Low Price.
But try arguing that with poverty sticken families struggling daily to feed their children!

I kid you not.I had a Dominicano labourer that used to be drinking condensed milk and water all day when I was building my current house.During the after build clean up, I had a medium sized garbage bag full of empty condensed milk tins.

Postby pugboy » March 8th, 2022, 8:10 am

trini necessities are ketchup and garlic sauce

Postby Dizzy28 » March 8th, 2022, 8:16 am

daring dragoon wrote:look thing. only profit they thinking about.

Intense war between the 1st and 5th largest exporters of the wheat but yea NFM thinking about profits!!!

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 8th, 2022, 8:35 am

Intense war between the 1st and 5th largest exporters of the wheat but yea NFM thinking about profits!!!

you cant read ah wah? NFM said in the article they will raise the price.

Asked if NFM will pass on higher wheat prices to its customers, if faced again with the possibility of going gross margin negative, NFM chief executive Ian Mitchell said: “Depending on the resulting impact of the wheat price increases, the company may have to take steps to remain profitable. There is a possibility that a price increase will be required.”

Postby Dizzy28 » March 8th, 2022, 8:54 am

daring dragoon wrote:

you cant read ah wah? NFM said in the article they will raise the price.
And you also only read what you wanted to read. They said depending on the resulting impact. Also don't you want NFM to be profitable? They are a state enterprise so if they make losses guess who has to foot the bill?

Asked if NFM will pass on higher wheat prices to its customers, if faced again with the possibility of going gross margin negative, NFM chief executive Ian Mitchell said: “Depending on the resulting impact of the wheat price increases, the company may have to take steps to remain profitable. There is a possibility that a price increase will be required.”

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 8th, 2022, 9:40 am

the govt giving their red supporters food cards to subsidize their pockets so why not subsidize NFM for a while for all of Trinidad and Tobago and have negative profit till prices go back down worldwide. just cause i not red i cant get a food card so i must pay big money for flour.

Postby Les Bain » March 8th, 2022, 10:33 am

We haven't figured a way to synthesize food from oil, gas and carnival costumes yet?

Postby K74T » March 8th, 2022, 10:42 am

35-40 is not already the price for a sh1t roti in tong?

Postby pugboy » March 8th, 2022, 10:45 am

check niquan

Les Bain wrote:We haven't figured a way to synthesize food from oil, gas and carnival costumes yet?

Postby Rovin » March 8th, 2022, 11:44 am

not really food but a snack & i not complaining about d price :

dixie peanut butter or cheese flavor six in a pack biscuits , recently buy it after a while maybe over a year, it does NOT taste good again, i feel b4 d peanut butter or cheese maybe had some real ingredients in it but now it taste real artificial & dry too, like they totally fack it up to save on costs ... it horrible, dont buy this sh1t

dogg

Postby dogg » March 8th, 2022, 1:07 pm

dogg wrote:

No, they'll just go even more hungry.

Postby hover11 » March 30th, 2022, 7:47 am

“NFM has been absorbing a lot of the price increase into the input into the production of flour. We know why this happened and covid19 has not ended and the war is adding another complexion to the global economy."

https://newsday.co.tt/2022/03/30/high-o ... s-profits/

Expect another flour hike

Postby pugboy » March 30th, 2022, 8:30 am

at least 20% ppl saying

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 30th, 2022, 8:36 am

Watch next time you go in any supermarket, there is less beans on the shelf. Food basket arima usually had big 5lb bags an for a while now only 1lb an 2lb bags.wholesale shops limiting the amount anyone can buy per 100lb bags an some beans they not selling to individuals such as red bean an pink bean.

Postby Rovin » March 30th, 2022, 1:52 pm

because i had stuff at home i didnt go to d grocery in about 2 almost 3wks, while walking around i noticed some items went up ...

Postby Chimera » March 30th, 2022, 5:17 pm

Monster like it out of stock all over

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 31st, 2022, 5:22 pm

Anyone notice pricesmart lacking plenty stuff!

Postby hover11 » March 31st, 2022, 5:33 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Anyone notice pricesmart lacking plenty stuff!
Anybody also notice that what they do have has increased immensely in price... largest forex consumer btw

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » March 31st, 2022, 5:53 pm

hover11 wrote:
Anybody also notice that what they do have has increased immensely in price... largest forex consumer btw

even they getting problems accessing forex.

Postby adnj » March 31st, 2022, 6:41 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Fuel and cars (not parts, not tractors) use more than 1/6th the foreign currency of TTO. That's where your forex actually goes.

Pricesmart may be the largest consumer importer/wholesaler but they provide products to everyone from restaurants to corner shops to the doubles man.

Postby hover11 » March 31st, 2022, 6:48 pm

adnj wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Fuel and cars (not parts, not tractors) use more than 1/6th the foreign currency of TTO. That's where your forex actually goes.

Pricesmart may be the largest consumer importer/wholesaler but they provide products to everyone from restaurants to corner shops to the doubles man.

Fail to see your point they are the largest consumer of forex PERIOD. Why dont we limit them & limit all the foreign foods we trinis love to buy & consume from them .....

Top five retail and distribution companies using up FOREX :
1) Pricesmart US$507m
2) Courts US$198m
3) Smith Robertson US$169m
4) A S Bryden US $153m
5) Massy US$136m

Do what you will with this info

Postby hover11 » March 31st, 2022, 6:58 pm

Consumers are again being warned to brace for a price increase on flour and other basic food items.

This, as the price of flour increased by 16% over a two year period during the pandemic and it is expected to increase again.

Other items which increased include vegetable and soya oil ( by 42%); corn beef (by 40%); poultry (by 29%); infant formula (by 26%); milk (by 20%); rice (by 13%); and granulated sugar (by 11%).

A statement from the Trade and Industry Ministry noted however that several food items remained constant during this period, including powered milk, biscuits, tea bags, mauby, baked beans, mayonnaise, dried pigeon peas, channa and salt.

The Ministry assures that Government will continue to work proactively to monitor and address rising food prices and will assist consumers in making the right choices.
FB_IMG_1648767466220.jpg

Postby pugboy » March 31st, 2022, 7:22 pm

allyuh need to cut back on the imported salmon and beef and goat