Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby The_Honourable » May 4th, 2017, 10:14 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
88sins wrote:Won't happen under UNC/COP/PP either.

& how much allyuh willing to bet, if by some miracle/black magic/all out paid for method the UNC, or any other party, takes office, that property tax staying right where it is.

Which is why I am saying it might actually be better if PNM remain in power from now on because PNM go squander and thief less than UNC

Atleast in the past life was nice because UNC squander oil money so it didn't bother us. But we know damn well if UNC ever returns to power them never removing that property tax, computer tax etc it all remaining there because it means more money for the government.

UNLESS the legendary Pandey returns well then you know he will remove the taxes.

Hoss... you have no idea. PNM is just as bad as the UNC. The difference is that the UNC was more blatant and didn't know how to cover their tracks properly.

Agree with 88sins. If the Property Tax is fully implemented and Kamz gets back in power, she will not remove it because money coming in. She never removed it during her time in office so she would have pulled the trigger on the tax in some form.

*$kїđž!™ wrote:This will have a ripple effect as mall owners would have to millions in property tax....this will be passed on to the tenants and then passed on to the consumer....so we will all be paying higher prices .....

So gas bill double....online tax ....vat on food items re implemented.....property tax and it's ripple effect.....gosh man thats real advantage of the people.....I hope those ppl who red and ready are happy with their standard of living today in comparison to 5years ago.

Most of the "pnm till ah deads" which is a self fulfilling prophecy will not be bothered by the tax if they are squatting and living in HDC. Is the PNM middle class who cussing behind closed doors and hoping somebody else will stop the tax... but not them.
Last edited by The_Honourable on May 4th, 2017, 10:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 4th, 2017, 10:15 pm

car wrote:Min of Finance: The property tax paid by commercial property owners is tax deductible. These owners don't have to shoulder the full burden.

So by now announcing this shows me that they making up ting as they go along. Look like they never had a proper plan.

This is perfect! How do I get my residential property listed as commercial???

Postby nervewrecker » May 4th, 2017, 10:16 pm

pete wrote:
matr1x wrote:Government offices don't have to pay property tax, nor the properties they are renting from. They boys getting their kickback.

This true????

What bullsheit is that?

Well ent moonan is a big financer? How he go pay tax?
A blasted building that needs to be decomissioned. Rat and cockroach running in the car park, water tanks stink, ac eh working donkey years now, building leaking when rain fall etc.
Yet still he earning $90k a floor and added in a next floor as of recent.

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » May 4th, 2017, 10:21 pm

Guys be honest how much of you all in here voted for PNM.....do you wake up every morning and look in the mirror and slap yourself..........just to note i dont affiliate myself with PNM or UNC....but when unc was in power yes they was thiefing money but things was not so bad dey were still helping ppl...PNM in power and they only helping themselves...

Postby bluefete » May 4th, 2017, 11:30 pm

Was it not Kamla, who in the dead of a carnival night around 2014 or so, was going to pass the PP version of the Property Tax bill when we were all 'jamming still?"

Just asking nah.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 4th, 2017, 11:52 pm

bluefete wrote:Was it not Kamla, who in the dead of a carnival night around 2014 or so, was going to pass the PP version of the Property Tax bill when we were all 'jamming still?"

Just asking nah.

yes it was and it was the same Kamla who for 5 years drink rum instead of repealing this current PNM property tax and then she went on a platform last week and said to forgive she and to vote she one last time she go fix it how she didn't realize she would lose.

Postby bluefete » May 4th, 2017, 11:56 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
bluefete wrote:Was it not Kamla, who in the dead of a carnival night around 2014 or so, was going to pass the PP version of the Property Tax bill when we were all 'jamming still?"

Just asking nah.

yes it was and it was the same Kamla who for 5 years drink rum instead of repealing this current PNM property tax and then she went on a platform last week and said to forgive she and to vote she one last time she go fix it how she didn't realize she would lose.

LOLZ. She sounding like Hilary Clinton.

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » May 5th, 2017, 12:10 am

Both parties are a waste of time its about time we voted in someone new....and so far only one man i see cud put these clown in their places....we need to vote IN MR.PHILLPH ALEXANDER....AND HIS NEW PARTY HE IS CURRENTLY FORMING....forget unc is only indian and forget PNM in only africans......and vote for ah change nah...them both parties fack all of us without spit...everyone feeling d hurt now and them minister just laughing at we...when all yuh go wake up and smell d sheit unc and pnm does be sellin we...all yuh people that stupid....unc only want to go back dey to thief and rite now pnm thiefing and dey vex
....ppl in d country need basic thing water/electricity/pave roads/and lower food prices...but them mother cont and dem cant see that....all dem want to do is fatten their pockets....

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » May 5th, 2017, 12:14 am

It about time the country riot until dey call election both government and opposition should fire themselves....waste of time....all those minister who fack over this country have a special place in hell...

Postby RedVEVO » May 5th, 2017, 12:30 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:This will have a ripple effect as mall owners would have to millions in property tax....this will be passed on to the tenants and then passed on to the consumer....so we will all be paying higher prices .....

So gas bill double....online tax ....vat on food items re implemented.....property tax and it's ripple effect.....gosh man thats real advantage of the people.....I hope those ppl who red and ready are happy with their standard of living today in comparison to 5years ago.

Many people live from pay check, to pay check with little or no savings.
Many people are in denial.
Basically they give up and live one day at a time.

They have the power to protest . But they do not .

So the Gov't takes advantage hence tax and tax and tax .

Postby The_Honourable » May 5th, 2017, 1:04 am

sinister_14 wrote:Guys be honest how much of you all in here voted for PNM.....do you wake up every morning and look in the mirror and slap yourself..........just to note i dont affiliate myself with PNM or UNC....but when unc was in power yes they was thiefing money but things was not so bad dey were still helping ppl...PNM in power and they only helping themselves...

sinister_14, also take into consideration that a recession for the most part exposes weaknesses and dishonesty in an economic system. The system itself will try to get rid of these problems on its own but participants will feel it in the meantime. Once that is done, the system will recover. A good analogy is when we get the flu, the body (immune system) will try to remove it but in the meantime, we'll get fever until the flu is dealt with.

I stand to be corrected, the PNM has always been in power during the good times when oil prices are high. Manning's government profited a lot from this until his luck ran out when the 2008 financial crisis hit and the aftershock reach T&T in 2009 with clico as the starting point. During and after that time, weaknesses and dishonesty was exposed. A lot of these issues was not corrected. We decided to go to Doctor Kams for treatment. She say small ting, prescribe paracetamol and we continued on.

PP luck started to run out when the the oil crunch hit in late 2014 and we began feeling it in 2015. Since then, weaknesses and dishonesty were exposed. Some are new where some was there all along but hardly dealt with. Doctor Kams moved away from paracetamol and began giving us Panadol cold and sinus.

It is true that things wasn't so bad during the UNC because we was busy taking paracetamol while the immune system was weakening. Now an infection entered the body that the immune system cannot handle so we sick. We decide to go by Dr Rowley for treatment. He got his medical degree from Trevor Sayers so he is giving us naturalized herbs. Now we sitting on a chair in POS general waiting for a bed. You know why the immune system was weakening but wrong medication.

If the problems was addressed and the correct measures taken in the first place, T&T would be able to sail thru the recession with little to no incident. We would be healthier and only have to worry about a flu than fighting to get a bed in the hospital.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 5th, 2017, 1:35 am

^ boy that story sounds like wolverine telling the doctor in the Logan movie that he knows whats killing him.

Yeah we in the same situation except its not adamantium poisoning that killing us it is a 3rd world country so corrupt that it is beyond repair. UNC and PNM are 2 sides of the same coin, just that PNM is slightly more clueless. And there is absolutely nothing we can ever do about it, just like Logan.

Postby sMASH » May 5th, 2017, 2:10 am

Wait, tax everybody, to buy gym equipment?
That making sense?

Postby The_Honourable » May 5th, 2017, 2:32 am

Squatters paying tax

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 5th, 2017, 2:41 am

"When asked if there would be any measures put in place to prevent renters from feeling the full blunt of the tax increase the minister of finance responded by saying "Its a free market and the land lord can do whatever he wants"

BWAHAHAHHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHA

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHA

AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAAHAHHAHAHAAHHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHHAAH

So basically everybody who are renting and voted for his party are screwed.

Imbert you sir take win yes. Larry Joseph eh ready for this man nah.

Postby eliteauto » May 5th, 2017, 4:20 am

A landlord was always free to do what he wished with his property. Did the government set his rent before? It's a free market why look to the government for assurances now? People need to get real

Postby streetbeastINC. » May 5th, 2017, 4:22 am

I have never seen ppl celebrate and welcome new taxes and laws , just now it may be illegal to change your engine in your car ..... taxes are not supposed to be sustaining our economy to this level, plus why was the highway layer removed then repaved when it was as smooth as ever..

Postby sMASH » May 5th, 2017, 5:41 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:"When asked if there would be any measures put in place to prevent renters from feeling the full blunt of the tax increase the minister of finance responded by saying "Its a free market and the land lord can do whatever he wants"

BWAHAHAHHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHA

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHA

AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAAHAHHAHAHAAHHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHHAAH

So basically everybody who are renting and voted for his party are screwed.

Imbert you sir take win yes. Larry Joseph eh ready for this man nah.

when u use the word 'screwed' that is too soft a term.

many of the poor people really live day to day, without much savings. when landlords raise rents, it will drive the prices of everything up.
that isn't the end of the story. some place may not be able to price their goods or services in a way to maintain their business. meaning, they may have to increase due to higher overheads.
when they have to do that, their suppliers will have to do that as well, so its not just one overhead or one of their costs will go up. most of their other overheads and operational costs will increase.
then, the customer side, people may stop patronizing as many places as frequently, just be able to save some dollars.

so, higher costs to run, in tandem with retraction in customer spending, leads to a very merry christmas.

look to many businesses to close down. look to even more unemployed people, but more at the lower end of the scale, and some in the middle spectrum, as some businesses may opt to down size.

where all these unemployed people goin to get money to live, far less to pay property tax?

i blame kamla.

seriously, because they had the opportunity to change it to something that makes more sense, the time to do it, the power to do it, and the economy to do it, that would not have been a scathing blow, as it is in this time now.
and look t

Postby 88sins » May 5th, 2017, 6:40 am

RedVEVO wrote:
Many people live from pay check, to pay check with little or no savings.
Many people are in denial.
Basically they give up and live one day at a time.

They have the power to protest . But they do not .

So the Gov't takes advantage hence tax and tax and tax .

THIS is the problem. & this is why I say, the vast majority of Trinis are gutless sheep. This cowardice was programmed into them, & these halfwit politicians know this all too well. The have no fear of 2/3 the population marching into PoS to kick their backsides out when they do crap, because they know Trinis go say "well wha we go do, is d gorvament say so, so it hadda be so"
If a march is organized, is bottle & spoon & tassa & rum & roti, is never a real protest with Trini's, is ALWAYS a party.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 5th, 2017, 6:49 am

If I paying....squatters should forking pay too..daz d only good thing that IMBALLS said...

people throwing out the idea of retroactive tax...why d fcuk they giving the man ideas...he just brushing it off as being rumors

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » May 5th, 2017, 7:12 am

they should tax him for every time a tata comes out is mouth and the county will be in economic bliss
Last edited by Monkey Man on May 5th, 2017, 7:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » May 5th, 2017, 7:13 am

talking bout talking...

property tax protest this saturday,
11 am, at Pierre road recreation grounds.

Postby hydroep » May 5th, 2017, 7:39 am

LOL @ taxing the squatters...as if any of them going to risk getting planass to enforce that.

Damage Control: Level 5... :lol:

car

Postby car » May 5th, 2017, 8:26 am

hydroep wrote:LOL @ taxing the squatters...as if any of them going to risk getting planass to enforce that.

Damage Control: Level 5... :lol:

Exactly. No squatter going to pay $120 a year. Imbert just saying that to make the public think they have to pay also. In reality no squatter going to pay. Who going to seize their house and risk their life for $120???
Imbert feel everybody is ah chupidee.

Postby 88sins » May 5th, 2017, 9:24 am

sMASH wrote:talking bout talking...

property tax protest this saturday,
11 am, at Pierre road recreation grounds.

If they had any kinda basic intelligence, they'd keep it on a Sunday, in PoS at the QPS, & the entire procession would march to the PM's residence.

That protest as is only serves to show the UNC how many chupidees would potentially vote for them in the next GE

Postby RBphoto » May 5th, 2017, 9:39 am

As a side note, remember when Kamla said that removing the subsidy primarily from Premium would only affect high-end cars? Just putting that out there for you to think about how benevolent she is. I would really love to protest but never under a party banner.

Postby sMASH » May 5th, 2017, 9:39 am

two sundays so far. last sunday i went, probably about 50 cars with 150 people... i would say it wasn't such a big showing.
if more people commit to the demonstrations, they may do something bigger.

but for the while apparently , people are content to pay or content to bump gum and pay...

Postby 88sins » May 5th, 2017, 10:07 am

ppl unwilling to commit their time, to a waste of time
so they keep a protest, in pierre road rec grounds, Maybe tv6 or cnc3 covers it, for all of 90 seconds.
I ask you this, which pnm minister gonna be forced to endure it for its duration, to come to terms with the seriousness of the people's intolerance of this tax? How many angry faces they gonna see & for how long? How threatened will they feel by knowing all these ppl potentially want to fire them for this?

This will not affect them, thus this will achieve nothing.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » May 5th, 2017, 12:38 pm

What about food cart street vendors etc

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 5th, 2017, 1:04 pm

Aaah boy this mc Kamla eh, we give this woman a2/3 majority to repeal and replace this facking thing to something that is more fair she had a 2/3 majority she could ah even reform local government one time so this would ah end up being a good thing.

But all she do was drink rum and it have people who will still defend this woman to this day. And this next jackass woman who own a shop up by me telling me yesterday how is not Kamla fault because EBC stole the election with the 1 hour and if they hadn't stolen the election she would ah be in power to do it.

People have the nerve to be this dotish.