Re: The official tropical weather thread

Postby Habit7 » November 16th, 2014, 6:46 pm

Time for beach front property on the East coast to be built like this Image

Postby pioneer » November 16th, 2014, 6:54 pm

That's a natural disaster, have we gotten any help from grenada and the small islands etc?

mahsingh

Postby mahsingh » November 16th, 2014, 7:04 pm

Manzan
Screenshot_2014-11-16-19-14-05.png
Screenshot_2014-11-16-18-48-38.png
1416179052770.jpg

Postby streetbeastINC. » November 16th, 2014, 7:20 pm

Beach front property for sale 1.8 mill

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 16th, 2014, 7:21 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:This is supposedly manzan road. Not sure if true

Reroute the highway!!!!

LOL

they may not have a choice now. the bridge and them they just build breaking down.

Postby nervewrecker » November 16th, 2014, 7:22 pm

bluesclues wrote:

Reroute the highway!!!!

LOL

they may not have a choice now. the bridge and them they just build breaking down.

Debe to mondesir highway flood out manzan yes. Damn higway

nismaniac

Postby nismaniac » November 16th, 2014, 7:29 pm

that is not an easy or cheap fix....the owners of the land around there gonna be rich.....

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 16th, 2014, 7:32 pm

bluesclues wrote:

Reroute the highway!!!!

LOL

regarding geo-engineering, that is entirely possible as we are looking at a re-establishment of a balanced environmental harmony. you dont just empty a swamp with buckets. it fills back up. and if you seal it underneath with concrete.. the excess water and reason why water was accumulating there in the first place will have to find somewhere else. and that wont necessarily be where you expect it to be. the mang could reform in st helena or anywhere else. the water just wont go down even after rain stop falling. either way.. expect plenty water in strange places and persistent floods this rainy season.

Postby pete » November 16th, 2014, 7:33 pm

You really have no clue yes..

Postby pioneer » November 16th, 2014, 7:35 pm

lmao   

Postby nervewrecker » November 16th, 2014, 7:35 pm

bluesclues wrote:

Reroute the highway!!!!

LOL

regarding geo-engineering, that is entirely possible as we are looking at a re-establishment of a balanced environmental harmony. you dont just empty a swamp with buckets. it fills back up. and if you seal it underneath with concrete.. the excess water and reason why water was accumulating there in the first place will have to find somewhere else. and that wont necessarily be where you expect it to be. the mang could reform in st helena or anywhere else. the water just wont go down even after rain stop falling. either way.. expect plenty water in strange places and persistent floods this rainy season.

You familiar with the terms "catchment" and "drainage basin"?

Also do you have a map that shows the proximity of the highway to that of the current event?

Can you tell me how that water reach there? Educate me on how the water flowed uphill across the defining boundary of one catchment into the other?

Next time learn to sense sarcasm :lol:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 16th, 2014, 7:38 pm

I have a padna with a house dat mash up....man in ah mess....I would love to see how they gona fix dat road...

also I waiting to see when Partap gona visit his constituency..dem ppl aint seeing he

link

Postby link » November 16th, 2014, 7:47 pm

don't make sense Partap go before Govt has a base plan of action....the worst thing is to go by ppl in distress & have nothing constructive/encouraging to say

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 16th, 2014, 7:50 pm

bluesclues wrote:

Reroute the highway!!!!

LOL

Also do you have a map that shows the proximity of the highway to that of the current event?

Can you tell me how that water reach there? Educate me on how the water flowed uphill across the defining boundary of one catchment into the other?

your sarcasm was noted and responded to with intelligent prose. furthermore.. realize.. that water can travel underground for miles before surfacing or saturating the ground so much that no soil drainage can occur ;)

Last edited by bluesclues on November 16th, 2014, 8:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » November 16th, 2014, 7:56 pm

bluesclues wrote:

Reroute the highway!!!!

LOL

your sarcasm was noted and responded to with intelligent prose. furthermore.. realize.. that water can travel underground for miles before surfacing or saturating the ground so much that no soil drainage can occur ;)

What's the hydraulic conductivity of the Southland's geological composition vs rate of over land flow?

Do you have any evidence to back up this claim / theory?

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » November 16th, 2014, 7:58 pm

bluesclues wrote:

Reroute the highway!!!!

LOL

what bridge is that :?:

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » November 16th, 2014, 8:04 pm

image.jpg

TheOwnerPO

Postby TheOwnerPO » November 16th, 2014, 8:08 pm

mahsingh wrote:Manzan

wanted to go manzan today but the road was blocked with signs :?

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 16th, 2014, 8:14 pm

bluesclues wrote:

Reroute the highway!!!!

LOL

What's the hydraulic conductivity of the Southland's geological composition vs rate of over land flow?

you need evidence for level 1 geography? you trying to beat me with the jargon of complexity but i will beat you with common sense and passive study. tell me what is stopping water from travelling underground from the wetlands areas to other parts of trinidad and what is the purpose of a wetland area in any region. why it was developed and what happens when you drain them away. you can easily go into the historical record to find out. here's a scoop from national geographic that might point you in the right direction.

http://education.nationalgeographic.com ... mp/?ar_a=1

here this is to get you started on your homework for tonight

THE IMPORTANCE OF SWAMPS AND THE EFFECTS OF THEIR DESTRUCTION
http://www.usouthal.edu/geography/fearn ... Vernon.htm

i want a full 1500 words report lol

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 16th, 2014, 8:21 pm

Kamla sink d country with calcutta ship

We want d highway!!

ENVIRONMENTAL ASPECTS OF RECLAMATION
http://www.fao.org/docrep/x5872e/x5872e0c.htm
Last edited by bluesclues on November 16th, 2014, 8:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » November 16th, 2014, 8:26 pm

bluesclues wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:[quote="ABA Trading LTD"]This is supposedly manzan road. Not sure if true

Reroute the highway!!!!

LOL

you need evidence for level 1 geography? you trying to beat me with the jargon of complexity but i will beat you with common sense and passive study. tell me what is stopping water from travelling underground from the wetlands areas to other parts of trinidad and what is the purpose of a wetland area in any region. why it was developed and what happens when you drain them away. you can easily go into the historical record to find out. here's a scoop from national geographic that might point you in the right direction.

http://education.nationalgeographic.com ... mp/?ar_a=1 [/quote]

No jargon.

You said in a thread you have a masters. Whatchu have your masters in?

Firstly Don't need to watch any vid to know that pressure bought on by a column of water under the influence of gravity will be its driving force downwards and laterally into the soil.

Where exactly has a huge mass of water been backed up for long to generate such a huge force?

Secondly the Southland's composition is a lot of sand and clay etc. Ie materials of very low hydraulic conductivity. The time such a huge volume of water will take to enter the soil, fill the voids and flow cross country the surface channels draining that basin would have already removed it.

So:

1 - no driving force

2 - very slow flow rate through sub surface layers. Are you familiar with Darcey's law?

Thirdly what is the height of the land and waters surface with reference to sea level where the current event is occurring? Are you insinuating that the gravitational force around there is somewhat weaker to everywhere else in the earths crust or something else has a gravitational pull to pull water up out of the soil unto the lands surface despite what I mention in my first point?

I understand that you are trying to say the ground is water logged and surface flow has nowhere to go but of you consider my first two points you will realise your argument is null and void.

Postby nervewrecker » November 16th, 2014, 8:31 pm

Darcy (sorry for the bad spelling)

Let me educate you further sir

http://image.slidesharecdn.com/darcysla ... 1279687097

Postby pete » November 16th, 2014, 8:40 pm

Split to official geography thread? :lol:

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 16th, 2014, 9:05 pm

http://education.nationalgeographic.com ... mp/?ar_a=1 [/quote]

No jargon.

You said in a thread you have a masters. Whatchu have your masters in? [/quote]

I got my masters at the School of CS ie (Common Sense) that one flew over the cuckoos nest.

Firstly Don't need to watch any vid to know that pressure bought on by a column of water under the influence of gravity will be its driving force downwards into the soil.

Where exactly has a huge mass of water been backed up for long to generate such a huge force?

wouldnt waterlogged soil under the pitch destroying the integrity of the foundation be the reason for the collapse of the road during heavy rainfall and flooding? isnt the roadway destroyed from underneath before the road collapses?

Secondly the Southland's composition is a lot of sand and clay etc. Ie materials of very low hydraulic conductivity. The time such a huge volume of water will take to enter the soil, fill the voids and flow cross country the surface channels draining that basin would have already removed it.

So:

1 - no driving force

2 - very slow flow rate through sub surface layers. Are you familiar with Darcey's law?

that is an assumption obviously! an optimistic one so you can sleep well at night.

i've identified the driving force as a natural environmental balancing act. the wetlands usually absorb excess water.

the whole of south untop shaky ground, the roads always warping so that is an indication that waters passing under the road and eroding the soil under the pitch normel. so maybe the water dont have to pass through clay. it can pass anywhere in between the surface and the clay foundation.

Thirdly what is the height of the land and waters surface with reference to sea level where the current event is occurring? Are you insinuating that the gravitational force around there is somewhat weaker to everywhere else in the earths crust or something else has a gravitational pull to pull water up out of the soil unto the lands surface despite what I mention in my first point?

I understand that you are trying to say the ground is water logged and surface flow has nowhere to go but of you consider my first two points you will realise your argument is null and void.

we already disagree on the cause. i dont blame gravity or regard it in any assessment until it's foundation is eroded away by water.

so now wouldnt draining the swamp on a small island like ours cause the water table to raise? we have water right around us unlike a state in america or other large geographical regions. so manzan shows to me a rise in the water table. do you agree? together with unprecedented levels of flooding inland.

so let me paint this picture.

1. you move away the mang which usually absorbs excess water and dispose of this water(where and how i can only imagine knowing this PPG)
2. the swamp, no longer there, cant absorb excess water so our water table raise
3. rain fall heavy and water table full so the beach have to crawl over it causing the shoreline to move further inland.
4. trinidad starts sinking and eventually gets small like tobago (lmao)

GG Kamla

Postby nervewrecker » November 16th, 2014, 9:14 pm

bluesclues wrote:

http://education.nationalgeographic.com ... mp/?ar_a=1

No jargon.

You said in a thread you have a masters. Whatchu have your masters in? [/quote]

I got my masters at the School of CS ie (Common Sense) that one flew over the cuckoos nest.

Firstly Don't need to watch any vid to know that pressure bought on by a column of water under the influence of gravity will be its driving force downwards into the soil.

wouldnt waterlogged soil under the pitch destroying the integrity of the foundation be the reason for the collapse of the road during heavy rainfall and flooding? isnt the roadway destroyed from underneath before the road collapses?

So:

1 - no driving force

that is an assumption obviously! an optimistic one so you can sleep well at night.

i've identified the driving force as a natural environmental balancing act. the wetlands usually absorb excess water.

the whole of south untop shaky ground, the roads always warping so that is an indication that waters passing under the road and eroding the soil under the pitch normel. so maybe the water dont have to pass through clay. it can pass anywhere in between the surface and the clay foundation.

we already disagree on the cause. i dont blame gravity or regard it in any assessment until it's foundation is eroded away by water.

so now wouldnt draining the swamp on a small island like ours cause the water table to raise? we have water right around us unlike a state in america or other large geographical regions. so manzan shows to me a rise in the water table. do you agree? together with unprecedented levels of flooding inland.

so let me paint this picture.

1. you move away the mang which usually absorbs excess water and dispose of this water(where and how i can only imagine knowing this PPG)
2. the swamp, no longer there, cant absorb excess water so our water table raise
3. rain fall heavy and water table full so the beach have to crawl over it causing the shoreline to move further inland.
4. trinidad starts sinking and eventually gets small like tobago (lmao)

GG Kamla[/quote]
Lmao

I thought we taking about the flooding in manzan dude?

Clay is road foundation? Rofl

Roads bumpy due to shoddy paving work, poor foundation and poor wasa pipe installation. They supposed to put in some material, compact it, lay the pipe, put material over it and then compact before paving. But the morons just drop in the pipe and drop material on it. If you notice the sinks follow the wasa line in most places.

Postby 16 cycles » November 16th, 2014, 9:16 pm

+1 for split to geogrpahy thread...

Postby nervewrecker » November 16th, 2014, 9:19 pm

Man say Darcy law is an assumption and also disregard gravity yes. So what force causes the water mass to move sir? Magic? :lol: oh wait, is an "environmental balancing act" *cries*

Water "eroding" soil under road too yes. :lol:

You are aware that the water in the soil exerts a force against what is in it like buoyancy right? Can't remember the term off the top of my head but if you were to have a town on top a closed aquifer and was to pump the aquifer dry the town will sink a bit.

Masters in common sense yo.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 16th, 2014, 9:27 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Lmao

Roads bumpy due to shoddy paving work, poor foundation and poor wasa pipe installation. They supposed to put in some material, compact it, lay the pipe, put material over it and then compact before paving. But the morons just drop in the pipe and drop material on it. If you notice the sinks follow the wasa line in most places.

the foundation im referring to being washed away is the road foundation that the pitch is sitting on.

the water would use clay as it's foundation to travel under the roadways or all other paved surfaces since it is not very permeable. chances are that water will quickly buildup underground from the level where the clay begins and saturate the soils above it not so? especially if the water table is higher than usual.

you blame shoddy work on lands that have a foundation literally being rearranged under their feat constantly? the land itself shifting, no kinda workmanship will stop that. so i call that what you say there a distraction. when sinkholes happen is it because of shoddy work? indeed it's common sense. nature and gravity. if u kick the legs out from a table it will fall to the ground.

why did you disregard my water table assessment?

Postby nervewrecker » November 16th, 2014, 9:28 pm

bluesclues wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Lmao

the foundation im referring to being washed away is the road foundation that the pitch is sitting on.

the water would use clay as it's foundation to travel under the roadways or all other paved surfaces since it is not very permeable. chances are that water will quickly buildup underground from the level where the clay begins and saturate the soils above it not so? especially if the water table is higher than usual.

you blame shoddy work on lands that have a foundation literally being rearranged under their feat constantly? the land itself shifting, no kinda workmanship will stop that. so i call that what you say there a distraction. when sinkholes happen is it because of shoddy work? indeed it's common sense. nature and gravity. if u kick the legs out from a table it will fall to the ground.

why did you disregard my water table assessment?

Tell me how this washing away takes place.

Water have foundation and thing yes :lol:

Just quit, please just quit.
Last edited by nervewrecker on November 16th, 2014, 9:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 16th, 2014, 9:30 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Man say Darcy law is an assumption and also disregard gravity yes. So what force causes the water mass to move sir? Magic? :lol: oh wait, is an "environmental balancing act" *cries*

Water "eroding" soil under road too yes. :lol:

You are aware that the water in the soil exerts a force against what is in it like buoyancy right? Can't remember the term off the top of my head but if you were to have a town on top a closed aquifer and was to pump the aquifer dry the town will sink a bit.

Masters in common sense yo.

you trying to distract the topic now with semantics. that might impress some ppl but it will reveal something about you to me. that you reaching an uncomfortable zone in the discussion. i havent said anything silly yet. i already explained everything. so you keep building road and house on moving surface and hoodwinking ppl blaming the contractor etc.