Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food in T&T?

bean_head

Re: Economical food places in Trinidad

Postby bean_head » January 24th, 2012, 2:37 pm

nervewrecker wrote:where is peppercorns?

west mall

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » January 24th, 2012, 2:37 pm

wings in tunapuna - enough food to eat twice of feed two

Postby RBphoto » January 24th, 2012, 2:38 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:Non Town:
Nita's on the SMR between chase village and chag. Bess roti.

Nah bai, best roti is on Caroni Savannah Rd. , next to the hardware...no long wait either

What the place name?

Postby 16 cycles » January 24th, 2012, 2:39 pm

'Nick's' (felicity) still have the bread and stew chicken?

Nasrallah

Postby Nasrallah » January 24th, 2012, 2:40 pm

Japs 1pc and side

Ali's Roti Shop in "Sahwah"

Postby RBphoto » January 24th, 2012, 2:44 pm

Nasrallah , some good cooking skills in your avatar there :lol:

Postby hydroep » January 24th, 2012, 2:49 pm

South -
Wing on, food bess, price great.

Wing on... isn't that the restaurant that used to be just after the DV junction heading Palmiste side? I thought they closed down...some other business open up in their spot. They used to make a mean Crispy Skin Pork.

Postby crazybalhead » January 24th, 2012, 2:58 pm

nervewrecker wrote:& where is this roti shop Dundonald street? :oops:

Close to the bottom of dundonald. Can't remember the name. They normally have a lil sign outside with the lunch for that day. Beware, when yuh buy a lunch to go, they full it up with rice, sprinkle a little peas water and give you a couple pieces of meat, with a dusting of green salad as garnish. The real value is when yuh eatin dey.

Postby RBphoto » January 24th, 2012, 2:58 pm

hydroep wrote:
South -

Wing on... isn't that the restaurant that used to be just after the DV junction heading Palmiste side? I thought they closed down...some other business open up in their spot. They used to make a mean Crispy Skin Pork.

They move to just after Jennys heading from Sando... on your left.

Postby Habit7 » January 24th, 2012, 3:00 pm

Subway: Sub of the Day

I like wednesdays

Postby nervewrecker » January 24th, 2012, 3:01 pm

I normally walk to the grill shop next to kfc by park street there & mellow myself with my $11.00 steak fries when I have to buy lunch yes...either that or chinese from by the nearby chinese restaurant that stray dog refuse food from.
Roti will be nice but I kinda afraid of those places around that area, I will check out that one on Dundonalds street & eat in (sounds good to me).

Skanky

Postby Skanky » January 24th, 2012, 3:05 pm

POS, discovered a place upstairs in Excellent City Mall lower Frederick St.
The same choose what you want,self service,El Pecos weighing thing but for iirc $23 per pound.
Had rice,veggies,steamed fish,baked fish and salad for $22.
Creole food.....not bad tasting for a white chick.

Postby crazybalhead » January 24th, 2012, 3:10 pm

Yuh taste the woman???

Postby hydroep » January 24th, 2012, 3:11 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
hydroep wrote:
South -

That's welcome news man, thanks for the info.
Last edited by hydroep on January 24th, 2012, 3:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » January 24th, 2012, 3:14 pm

hydroep wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:
hydroep wrote:
South -

That's welcomed news man, thanks for the info.

their fry wantons were really good, gotta check them again...

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 24th, 2012, 3:18 pm

Samo's on Abercromby St, Japs, Chinese restaurant on Park St. with the $13/$15 lunch special.

Postby RBphoto » January 24th, 2012, 3:21 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Yuh taste the woman???

And he get a creole flavour.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » January 24th, 2012, 3:22 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Yuh taste the woman???

Nah she look a lil bland.Overall the presentation not bad but coulda do with a lil browning. The meat doh look too bad and it doh look too fatty either.

Postby dougla_boy » January 24th, 2012, 3:23 pm

Island Spice in El Socorro/San Juan by Chootoo there..........bought a big piece of macaroni pie with a leg and paid $20.00 and i bought in another box another piece of macaroni pie, a breast and some steamed veges for $29.00....not bad at all

Postby RBphoto » January 24th, 2012, 3:29 pm

I snapped this pic and keep it on my phone to call in orders.
IMG00099-20110708-2016.jpg

Samo

Postby Samo » January 24th, 2012, 3:44 pm

silent_riot wrote:Samo's on Abercromby St, Japs, Chinese restaurant on Park St. with the $13/$15 lunch special.

:D :D :D :D

Postby pugboy » January 24th, 2012, 3:53 pm

the dundonald roti shop is called Country Style
its next door to the printery place,
old school family roti shop, might be the last one in port of spain

i dunno how people could say el pecos is cheap
that weighing method usually have people paying over $40
and many close to $50 from what I see when I've been there

Postby crazybalhead » January 24th, 2012, 3:58 pm

DAIS IT Pugboy!

Postby shogun » January 24th, 2012, 3:58 pm

pugboy wrote:i dunno how people could say el pecos is cheap

You get nice servings though.

At least the last time i passed through... haven't been there in a while.

to me, they fell off a bit.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 24th, 2012, 4:26 pm

japs;
$20 for 2 piece and large portion fries.. large fries is 2 ah kfc's large fries..taste good for the price..

Postby rfari » January 24th, 2012, 4:28 pm

yeah fellas. peter still opens but not everyday. still 30 dollars and still small cup of drink included. plenty jostiss in a box

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » January 24th, 2012, 4:28 pm

16 cycles wrote:'Nick's' (felicity) still have the cheese and channa ?

Same thing I asking.

noobie

Re: Where has the best steak!

Postby noobie » January 24th, 2012, 4:46 pm

I thought prime closed down?

Postby wagonrunner » January 24th, 2012, 4:46 pm

pugboy wrote:i dunno how people could say el pecos is cheap

i said the amount of food I get for $40, with no bones, plus I enjoy it, It works out for me.
a $40 box of food is usually two meals for me, unless I'm very hungry.

TriP

Postby TriP » January 24th, 2012, 5:52 pm

..When i working Point Lisas Area ..i go by Scobby..aka Triple V in Balmain..this man roti big..for $20..an plenty meat..i mean plenty..an u get so much food for $25-$30 its a belly full..is years i eating from him..i let go Atlantic Plaza eating places,,they too damn expensive

..When i working deep South..opposite Damus..a street call Potato Trace off the Bypass to La Romaine Main Rd on the right side..for Breakfast,,he does pack his Sada Roti..with food..for $9.00..its a fuller..u cant go wrong at all with him..an i found him by mistake.

..When i working POS..i go by Dopson's on Maraval Rd get my Pies..!! :lol

..When i working East..i pass though Caroni Settlements an get some any old dutty Doubles or Aloo Pies to eat.. :lol: