Re: The official tropical weather thread: TS ISAAC UPDATE pg

Postby mitsu_chick941 » August 23rd, 2012, 4:33 am

sky lighting up since last night...rain coming now :shock: :shock:

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » August 23rd, 2012, 5:04 am

bucket a drop here for abt 2 hrs now in Diego Martin.
Reminenicient of copule weekends ago, with the addition of constant thunder and an fantastic lightening.

Wonder what that river looks like now.....

animation looks ......Interesting!

Death_ride

Postby Death_ride » August 23rd, 2012, 5:10 am

Can anyone give am update on Diego Martin area outside bagatelle and environs? Rain draining up here... Don't know how bad it is apart from here...

Postby bluefete » August 23rd, 2012, 5:12 am

After some epic lightening last night, now comes the rain. Started by me about 4:30 a.m.

Be safe all.

Hirotoshi

Postby Hirotoshi » August 23rd, 2012, 5:25 am

heavy rains,thunder & lightning for the last hour in woodbrook/pos.hope the day is,nt gonna be like this.ican,t stand the rain :D .

Grudge

Postby Grudge » August 23rd, 2012, 5:27 am

Well what I can tell you is it is alot of rain in Diego but the rainfall doesn't seem as much as last 2 week (hoping not). Still think we will get some flooding cause not even 10% of the rivers have been cleaned yet. If it continues so what ever little bridges that seemed threatened from the previous rainfall will surely go.

Lets hope and pray for the best......

Stay safe today fellas...

How is the East looking guys, Arima, Tunapuna?

Postby SR » August 23rd, 2012, 5:40 am

red skies in the east since last night

rain started about 4am ish

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 23rd, 2012, 5:41 am

Arima is rainy, rain blowing in an easterly direction

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » August 23rd, 2012, 5:44 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Arima is rainy, rain blowing in an easterly direction

yep, since yesterday morning it blowing the wrong way

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » August 23rd, 2012, 5:46 am

Grudge wrote: Still think we will get some flooding cause not even 10% of the rivers have been cleaned yet. If it continues so what ever little bridges that seemed threatened from the previous rainfall will surely go.
where you got those figures? the major part of the response was aimed at clearing the water courses, we brought equipment from all the other regional corporations ,the ministry of works and also private contractors! so all of the major water ways and most of the minors ones should be cleared by now.

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » August 23rd, 2012, 5:52 am

Calm in San F'do area (for now)

Postby mitsu_chick941 » August 23rd, 2012, 5:57 am

drains running heavy in town and some debris on the roads, seems it came down heavy earlier.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » August 23rd, 2012, 6:18 am

raining coming and going in short bouts at St Augustine since about 4am as well. nothing major.

Hirotoshi

Postby Hirotoshi » August 23rd, 2012, 6:34 am

the sky,s are dark again in pos,thunder & rain,looks like it gonna be a watery day,mercy.

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » August 23rd, 2012, 6:38 am

no rain in sando atm
but the skies are black!

a worker from deigo called to say there is some flooding..and that she cant leave her house. Can anyone confirm what's going on up there?

Postby brams112 » August 23rd, 2012, 6:47 am

Went down south this morning,just some drizzle here and there,place was overcast when i left.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 23rd, 2012, 6:53 am

raining heavy in St James since I wake up

Postby brams112 » August 23rd, 2012, 6:57 am

That means town going to flood out^^^

Grudge

Postby Grudge » August 23rd, 2012, 6:58 am

megadoc1

I not blaming anyone for anything eh, but seriously if you guys feel the rivers clear, well think again. What they have cleared is anywhere near the road ways but what about the higher parts of the rivers? The river doh start before the bridge and end after it. The rivers in Diego and Maraval are filled with debris, some parts as high as the Government river wall. I can take pictures of Maraval and Diego rivers and show you cause just like you the authorities believe they cleaned the rivers. Well look at the hell that will break loose today and tell me later if they were cleaned.

There is no way those river could have been cleared from the previous rainfall, doh get me wrong men did work, but it was always going to be an epic task. Disaster relief must also continue to work through holidays......

Then they going to close the Diego Martin Shelter........

Grudge

Postby Grudge » August 23rd, 2012, 7:01 am

And all this rain this morning the ODPM can't even say where is flooded and give alternative routes yet. I ain't blaming them cause most likely they just don't have the resources to do it.

Most likely with a month full of Holidays we will lose another productive day in the country.

Postby rfari » August 23rd, 2012, 7:03 am

Traffic started to crawl on the crh after mt hope heading west when the rains came down heavy. Now at barataria and traffic even worse. 20% visibility. White rain killing it
Edit: vinyl from billboard on the fast lane just after barataria flyover. Be careful fellas
Last edited by rfari on August 23rd, 2012, 7:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » August 23rd, 2012, 7:06 am

Level rain in Diego. Are the ways out still passable?

Postby pioneer » August 23rd, 2012, 7:07 am

Grudge wrote:megadoc1

I not blaming anyone for anything eh, but seriously if you guys feel the rivers clear, well think again. What they have cleared is anywhere near the road ways but what about the higher parts of the rivers? The river doh start before the bridge and end after it. The rivers in Diego and Maraval are filled with debris, some parts as high as the Government river wall. I can take pictures of Maraval and Diego rivers and show you cause just like you the authorities believe they cleaned the rivers. Well look at the hell that will break loose today and tell me later if they were cleaned.

There is no way those river could have been cleared from the previous rainfall, doh get me wrong men did work, but it was always going to be an epic task. Disaster relief must also continue to work through holidays......

Tell your neighbours stop dumping dey ole tyre, fridge, stove etc etc into the river

Grudge

Postby Grudge » August 23rd, 2012, 7:08 am

Just listened to one of the local stations weather report and I don't know where that weather report for,but definitely not where I am, I need to leave Diego and reach Arima and back to Chaguaramas this morning and there is no way officially to determine if I could even come out of Diego, far less pass through POS.

Postby brams112 » August 23rd, 2012, 7:09 am

Good update fari,ur driving and posting or what?

air wick

Postby air wick » August 23rd, 2012, 7:09 am

6:00am water taxi from San Fernando cannot make it to POS.... real bad weather at sea, the captain turned around the taxi and is currently heading back to San Fernando.... lots of ppl crying, vomiting... etc... it's being tossed around badly....

Just got a call from my wife who is on the taxi right now

Postby mitsu_chick941 » August 23rd, 2012, 7:12 am

streets flooded in POS, heavy rains...thunder etc

Postby eliteauto » August 23rd, 2012, 7:12 am

I understand City Gate is under some water already

Postby Hook » August 23rd, 2012, 7:12 am

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Trinidad ... 2093113015

http://www.metoffice.gov.tt/cyclone-bulletin
Bulletin#5

Date: Thursday 23rd of August 2012
ISSUED AT:06:49AM

TROPICAL STORM ISAAC DIPS SOUTH IN THE CARIBBEAN
SEA

At 5:00 am today, Thursday August 23, 2012
Tropical Storm Isaac was located near Latitude
15.3 North and Longitude 64.0 West or about 410
km South-Southeast of San Juan Puerto Rico. Isaac
is moving toward the West near 19 km/h. Some
erratic motion toward the West Northwest to
Northwest could occur this morning with a steady
West Northwest motion to begin this afternoon.
Maximum sustained winds are near 65 km/h with
higher gusts.

On the forecast track and at the present forward
speed, the center of Isaac should pass to the
south of the Virgin Islands and Puerto Rico today
and approach the Dominican Republic tonight. Isaac
poses NO immediate threat to Trinidad and Tobago,
Grenada and its dependencies. However, associated
cloudiness with showers and thundershowers will
extend over the southern Windward Islands
including Trinidad and Tobago.

As the system tracks across the Caribbean Sea
today, seas can become choppy with waves reaching
up to 2.0 metres in sheltered areas and up to 3.0
metres in open waters.

Repeating the present position of Tropical Storm
Isaac:
Latitude 15.3 North and Longitude 64.0 West or
about 410 km South-Southeast of San Juan Puerto
Rico.

WE WISH TO UNDERSCORE THAT TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO AND
GRENADA AND ITS DEPENDENCIES ARE NOT UNDER ANY
TROPICAL STORM THREAT, WATCH OR WARNING.

The Trinidad and Tobago Meteorological Service is
monitoring this system and will issue an update at
6:00 pm today earlier if the situation warrants.

Bagwandeen Ramdatt
Meteorologist

In case anyone's wondering "what's next?"

Isaac

TD#10

Postby brams112 » August 23rd, 2012, 7:14 am

Grudge wrote:megadoc1

Tell your neighbours stop dumping dey ole tyre, fridge, stove etc etc into the river

What the fcuk ur saying,that is not the concern of most people untill it affect them,then they will complain the goverment not cleaning the river or drain.Plus they want to live with the view.