***The Official 2021 Formula 1 season thread***

worksux101

Re: ***The Official 2019 Formula 1 season thread***

Postby worksux101 » August 14th, 2019, 7:21 pm

kamakazi wrote:yeah...the last statement was a bit open-ended :)

Let's see how the second half of the season goes.
Still waiting on the decision that Toto is going to make

Do you think bottas deserves the chance though?
Or should ocon be groomed in much like albon now

Postby Monk BANzai » August 14th, 2019, 7:57 pm

worksux101 wrote:
kamakazi wrote:yeah...the last statement was a bit open-ended :)

Let's see how the second half of the season goes.
Still waiting on the decision that Toto is going to make

Do you think bottas deserves the chance though?
Or should ocon be groomed in much like albon now

my issue with Ocon is ...smh... a pansy?...has a history of not following team orders(asking here).... racing when he shud'nt? (Brazil last year)....something that was mentioned on one of the yuchoob podcasts.....can Albon handle the top three rows of bullying?..

as for the Albon move... RB have the spread to test the three drivers... you put Gasly back in a torro and see how he battles against Kyvatt...while you test the mettle of Albon up front... but either way (As one of you said).. RB has work to do to beat Ferrari into second place in constructors.... But honestly...the car was clearly designed to suit RBs golden boy Max. Gasly wouldn't have been allowed to have been as quick or quicker than Max anyway. Yes...Golden Boy Max...stop flaring yuh nostrils.

sigh..me and these missives i type. lol

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » August 14th, 2019, 9:31 pm

Agreed but when you hear Ocon's history it's understandable. Other than appeasing Ham, I cant see any reason for keeping bottas much longer.

Max is in the same boat as Ham...a team designed for him to win with a car setup to his style.
Even Seb struggled at the start of the season when they admitted that the car's design suits Charles' style better. Nature of a top team I suppose

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » August 14th, 2019, 9:33 pm

Also...I'm certain if Ocon gets the seat, he will crash into Ham lol

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 16th, 2019, 8:58 pm

worksux101 wrote:Agreed but when you hear Ocon's history it's understandable. Other than appeasing Ham, I cant see any reason for keeping bottas much longer.

Max is in the same boat as Ham...a team designed for him to win with a car setup to his style.
Even Seb struggled at the start of the season when they admitted that the car's design suits Charles' style better. Nature of a top team I suppose

A bit strange considering Seb is in the team almost 3 years now... And Charles now come in.

I say, keep Bottas, poach George Russell or lando Norris later.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » August 16th, 2019, 9:40 pm

kamakazi wrote:
worksux101 wrote:Agreed but when you hear Ocon's history it's understandable. Other than appeasing Ham, I cant see any reason for keeping bottas much longer.

A bit strange considering Seb is in the team almost 3 years now... And Charles now come in.

I say, keep Bottas, poach George Russell or lando Norris later.

Dont think it was intentional...just coincidence. Ferrari used a different concept to the others and it shows in the slower tracks.

Russell contracted to Merc so likely would be him.

Postby Monk BANzai » August 23rd, 2019, 1:40 am

2021 car wind tunnel testing...

src1983

Postby src1983 » August 23rd, 2019, 9:47 am

Monk BANzai wrote:2021 car wind tunnel testing...

Funny how in the video they say “closer racing” but if you just make a slight touch they quick to penalize

Postby teems1 » August 23rd, 2019, 11:19 am

This isn't NASCAR.

F1 cars are super light/strong however are quite brittle.

A "slight touch" can ruin your race as you can break aero parts, have to change front wing, cause a puncture etc.

When they mean closer racing, they mean easier to follow and overtake. Right now following in someone's wake ruins your downforce and shreds your tires.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » August 23rd, 2019, 6:19 pm

i cant wait to see newey and co have a field day with this one. reintroducing ground effect opens a million pathways, unless they standardise alot. love the new look also minus the rims and low nose

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 29th, 2019, 9:18 am

estaban ocon has signed a deal with Renault

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » August 29th, 2019, 9:20 am

I wonder if merc released him or just for the contract period..

Also, albon and kvyat taking engine penalties

DTAC

Postby DTAC » August 29th, 2019, 9:49 am

kamakazi wrote:estaban ocon has signed a deal with Renault

Like he take the same chain up Ricciardo took. So Bottas racing for Mercedes in 2020 for sure then. Otherwise Ocon have to be mad to sign so early when there is a chance at Bottas's seat next year.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 29th, 2019, 12:38 pm

Maybe not so much.
French driver, french brand. Will do well for the brand, doubly so if he does well in the car

Postby teems1 » August 29th, 2019, 2:26 pm

DTAC wrote:
kamakazi wrote:estaban ocon has signed a deal with Renault

Like he take the same chain up Ricciardo took. So Bottas racing for Mercedes in 2020 for sure then. Otherwise Ocon have to be mad to sign so early when there is a chance at Bottas's seat next year.

Lewis winning WDC while Merc win WCC is the ideal scenario for Toto and company.

Why mess up a winning recipe if it's working with Lewis and Valteri.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » August 29th, 2019, 3:20 pm

I used to like Ocon a lot but he too soft and gets bobolised too much. He lacks the killer instinct needed to be at the sharp end of the grid.

But this makes way for George Russell at Mercedes so GO OCON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ADONI

Postby ADONI » August 29th, 2019, 5:27 pm

Talks is Nico Hulkenberg might take Romain Grosjean seat at at HAAS...
Last edited by ADONI on August 29th, 2019, 5:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » August 29th, 2019, 5:27 pm

Bottas signed for 2020 with Merc. They'll probably choose between Russell and Ocon after that

DTAC

Postby DTAC » August 30th, 2019, 10:38 am

Russell all the way. You want real young talent to mix it with Verstappen and Leclerc in the future. Hamilton would much prefer Russell as well. A young protege to take under his wing and craft as a future talent. Ocon will want to see a Championship trophy one time at the expense of Hamilton and that ain't happening. Russell will play the role of protege knowing as long as he plays the role of heir apparent and not waste the capabilities of the car or do anything stupid, he's the future #1 driver honed by Hamilton.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » August 31st, 2019, 1:05 pm

RIP Hubert

Postby bluefete » August 31st, 2019, 4:40 pm

Postby Monk BANzai » August 31st, 2019, 5:38 pm

Postby teems1 » August 31st, 2019, 6:18 pm

It looks like Alesi caused it all, you can see his car through Eau Rouge first without a rear wing.

Postby teems1 » August 31st, 2019, 11:59 pm

Postby teems1 » September 1st, 2019, 11:16 am

Who would have thought Vettel would make such a great #2 driver.

He held up Lewis for a good 4-5 seconds giving LeClerc the win.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 7th, 2019, 12:23 pm

Very interesting quali to put Charles on pole

Postby Monk BANzai » September 8th, 2019, 12:42 am

kamakazi wrote:Very interesting quali to put Charles on pole

hehehehe and inno if dey level penalities on the front runners they gonna crei "Jostiss!!"

Smooth Operator's take on it was interesting tho...(scroll to 8:02)

Postby teems1 » September 8th, 2019, 10:37 am

2 in 2 for Ferrari

Not a bad weekend for them again.

Seb is on the way down sadly.

Postby Monk BANzai » September 8th, 2019, 7:38 pm

teems1 wrote:2 in 2 for Ferrari

yup... but I think what Charles did in Quali has strained the LeClerc/Vettel relationship... yes im saying it..it was deliberate.

Fite me.

Good showing by the Mercs..Keeping Charles honest throughout the race.

antlind

Postby antlind » September 8th, 2019, 8:50 pm

Monk BANzai wrote:
teems1 wrote:2 in 2 for Ferrari

yup... but I think what Charles did in Quali has strained the LeClerc/Vettel relationship... yes im saying it..it was deliberate.

Fite me

Agreed. But the whole qualifying process needs to be changed.

https://www.google.ca/amp/s/amp.formula ... rHsOH.html