if haiti get that... that go be so much sh1t eh

Re: The official tropical weather thread: image updates on p

Postby tr1ad » October 31st, 2010, 2:20 pm

Toyopet wrote:
tr1ad wrote:ent playerskrew wanted rain....hope he flood out

And you get to be a mod...real small minded people

if he wishes it on me in another thread, i can wish it upon him as well not so?

zcarz
that will be ultimate pwnage by mother nature
then the religious folks will say how it's their evil doings in haiti that caused it

Postby redmanjp » October 31st, 2010, 4:24 pm

pioneer wrote:allyuh realise this thing do a zigzag n bypass trinidad :|

and considering we get tropical waves a lot which causes flooding it mean we are in fact in the hurricane belt & could get storm too- Tomas was a wave just hrs b4- buh it realize we weren't prepared & headed North- otherwise we woulda be like New Orleans after Katrina

we could consider it a drill- btw ODPM had issued a txt saying 'tropical wave intensifying...' my coworker got it around 2pm but i got it after it became a storm, but like they didnt bother to issue another one for 'Tropical Storm Warning'- or it eh reach yet :lol:

Postby redmanjp » October 31st, 2010, 4:39 pm

a couple hrs late but might still be relevant

http://metoffice.gov.tt/bulletins/article.aspx?id=5981
Bulletin#2

Date: Sunday 31st of October 2010
ISSUED AT:12:52PM

FLOOD POSSIBILITY EXISTS FOR TOBAGO AND NORTHERN
AND EASTERN TRINIDAD.

Over the past twelve (12) hours, Tobago and
specifically Northern and Eastern parts of
Trinidad, experienced prolonged periods of
rainfall, some of which were heavy and
accompanied by gusty winds.
The feeder band into Tomas remains over both
islands and while satellite and radar imagery
show some degree of weakening there are still few
areas of intense convection in the vicinity of
Tobago that can produce additional rainfall.

Grounds are waterlogged in the above mentioned
areas and with surface runoff there is the
possibility of further flooding to those regions
already inundated. There have also been reports
of landslides in eastern parts of Tobago.
Trinidad but more so Tobago will continue to see
some periods of light rain and/or showers and the
isolated thundershower with improvement to more
settled conditions as the day progresses.

Citizens are advised to be vigilant and cautious
given the forecast weather conditions. All
necessary measures must be adopted to preserve
life and property from any flood waters or
landslides.

THIS IS NOT A TROPICAL STORM / HURRICANE WARNING.

The Trinidad and Tobago Meteorological Service is
closely monitoring this weather situation and
will only issue another bulletin if the situation
warrants.

S. Shakeer
Meteorologist

ODPM:

Parts of Tobago- Plymouth, Roxborough, Speyside, Mt St George, Pembroke have been affected by flooding & landslides. The ODPM is working with the Tobago Emergency Mg'ment Agency to provide relief to the affected areas & communities. In T'dad, flooding & landslides have been reported in parts of Toco & Rio Claro.Min of ...Works, CEPEP, URP & the corporations are in these areas assisting with clean up & debris removal.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » October 31st, 2010, 5:37 pm

Some more bad weather on the way.
USA.gif

Postby redmanjp » October 31st, 2010, 5:49 pm

ITCZ?

apple

Postby apple » October 31st, 2010, 6:54 pm

redmanjp wrote:ITCZ?

Inter-Tropical Convergence Zone
The Inter-Tropical Convergence Zone (ITCZ) appears as a band of clouds consisting of showers, with occasional thunderstorms, that encircles the globe near the equator. The solid band of clouds may extend for many hundreds of miles and is sometimes broken into smaller line segments. The ITCZ follows the sun in that the position varies seasonally. It moves north in the northern summer and south in the northern winter. The ITCZ (pronounced "itch") is what is responsible for the wet and dry seasons in the tropics. LINK

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » October 31st, 2010, 9:08 pm

itch?

brickman

Postby brickman » November 1st, 2010, 1:35 am

Watching that lil ball of sunshine that formed east of us......

Postby Chimera » November 1st, 2010, 9:32 am

So a electrician suppose to come by me this morning for 7:30, i call him about 10 mins ago, ask him where he is

he say "nah man i coming tomorrow , because of the storm and thing na"
i ask him "the storm that didnt happen friday"
he say "yeahh dredd...that one"

steups...lazy freaking trinis

Postby redmanjp » November 1st, 2010, 9:50 am

M_2NR wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
M_2NR wrote:redmanjp, check previous page...

anyone know for sure if the works on the highway still on? norstar2k?

i meant to the media as in tv6 & C- they had their 4pm update and was still saying we NOT under warning

i also think their should be a headline on the homepage of the met office if a warning is in place- not just in the warnings section

hoss... right above this post and under mines and pete's...

not flaming you eh.. but check good and see..

zitanos wrote:offical warning seems to be out:

http://metoffice.gov.tt/watches/article.aspx?id=8347" target="_blank" target="_blank

8)
its official

what I meant was the media wasn't updated so whereas people online who know the Met office website would know, but other people who just watching TV wont, and for a storm that crept up on us (was only a wave a few hrs b4) quickly a 1 hr delay is significant

geodude

Postby geodude » November 1st, 2010, 11:22 am

why was this removed form the important announcements thingy?
mods????

Postby redmanjp » November 1st, 2010, 11:55 am

apple wrote:
redmanjp wrote:ITCZ?

Inter-Tropical Convergence Zone
The Inter-Tropical Convergence Zone (ITCZ) appears as a band of clouds consisting of showers, with occasional thunderstorms, that encircles the globe near the equator. The solid band of clouds may extend for many hundreds of miles and is sometimes broken into smaller line segments. The ITCZ follows the sun in that the position varies seasonally. It moves north in the northern summer and south in the northern winter. The ITCZ (pronounced "itch") is what is responsible for the wet and dry seasons in the tropics. LINK

yeah i know what it is i was just asking if the impending weather is due to it

didnt know however its pronounced 'itch' lol

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » November 1st, 2010, 12:33 pm

Damnit I just washed my car... more rain again. I only hope Tomas doesn't hear me and come back...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 1st, 2010, 1:12 pm

Thanks god once more that we were spared......

Bezman

Postby Bezman » November 1st, 2010, 1:17 pm

it aint coming back anytime soon, but plenty rain still to come

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 1st, 2010, 2:48 pm

Several parts of Barbados have been without electricity for almost 60 hours.

Postby M_2NR » November 1st, 2010, 2:56 pm

geodude wrote:why was this removed form the important announcements thingy?
mods????

When there is another threat Duane will restick it.. but as pios said.. most ppl scroll pass anyway.
Nigson wrote:Thanks god once more that we were spared......

x2 we were really saved.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 1st, 2010, 3:05 pm

pioneer wrote:allyuh realise this thing do a zigzag n bypass trinidad :|

it made an arc

seems that Tomas broke up into two pieces and some of the broken off peice is affecting the north-west peninsula of T&T up to today

Mon, 1 Nov 2010 08:37
Tomas has to be redefining hurricane path prediction models. It's done very little the "experts" said and continues to defy historical norms. The drunken driver behavior continues, somebody should breathalyse this looney of a hurricane.

Now I see the rear mass of this system heading south and growing. Margarita and Venezuela are about to get a taste of "Two-mas".

It even looks like it wants to spread eastward toward Trinidad, or certainly the western Gulf of Paria.

I am keepng an eye on this.

Additionally there is a system to the east of us in the Atlantic that seems to be winding up, there is certainly some "steam" coming out of that funnel. Very busy end of the season here!

Amazing!

Robert Krucia
Port of Spain

Mon, 1 Nov 2010 10:42
A thunderstorm has begun over the north western peninsular, from around Diego Martin westward. I am watching to see if this will spread eastward along the Northern Range as this is a natural (relief) rainmaker with north/northeasterly winds.

There are many houses along the hills, on both sides, some on steep slopes with pillars supporting deck type structures. I'd not want to own one of these even in "normal" weather.

In the foothills of the Northern Range we have many little "nooks" and valleys like Petit Valley, The Upper Bournes Road area north of St. James, St. Anns, Maraval and many more going eastward that suffer flood damage during the rainy season when we have heavy showers. I am praying that we do not get too much of this northerly flow.

It is totally overcast at the moment with a warm westerly.
Nothing from the met office that I know of, hopefully I am concerned for nothing.

I was looking at the pics of St. Lucia and Barbados. Heartbreaking.

Robert Krucia
Port of Spain
Trinidad.

geodude

Postby geodude » November 1st, 2010, 3:13 pm

it coming back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Last edited by geodude on November 1st, 2010, 3:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » November 1st, 2010, 3:15 pm

Epic rain in POS.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » November 1st, 2010, 3:21 pm

we gettin half day? oh no wait d day done :|

half day tomorrow?

W2J

Postby W2J » November 1st, 2010, 3:23 pm

FRUCT!!! I drove the evo today noooooo

cornfused

Postby cornfused » November 1st, 2010, 3:24 pm

Heavy rains in POS, Abercromby is a river

Postby wagonrunner » November 1st, 2010, 3:35 pm

I ended up picking another good day to not be in PoS.
problem is i'm running out of them now.

Postby Country_Bookie » November 1st, 2010, 3:44 pm

Heard there was water in front Riverside plaza, traffic on one lane only.

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 1st, 2010, 4:08 pm

launch d pix nah man

brickman

Postby brickman » November 2nd, 2010, 12:26 pm

Heavy dark clouds,thunder & lightning over p.o.s,now heading out steups.

Postby redmanjp » November 2nd, 2010, 12:39 pm

brickman wrote:Heavy dark clouds,thunder & lightning over p.o.s,now heading out steups.

same here in Aranguez with heavy rain- yuh heading out quick b4 flood :D

Shameer_k

Postby Shameer_k » November 2nd, 2010, 12:49 pm

heavy rain with thunder and lightning in Valsayn