Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby X_Factor » November 5th, 2015, 12:37 pm

the variety of the cucumber important as well

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » November 5th, 2015, 1:04 pm

Right now cucumber selling $250 ah bag and expedition is the best variety on the market.

Postby Chimera » November 5th, 2015, 1:23 pm

Anyone ever plant large scale cucumber? A padna of mine try planting 5 acres of it under caroni green and it failed terribly.

Dey does plant seed or seedlings? How do they set up the land?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 5th, 2015, 5:53 pm

Somefolks planted 3 Acres of cucumber where I live which is same soil as Caroni and it came real good. But offcourse they plough up the soil real good full works, real chemicals and tons of fowl manure. He had the seeds soaking in some kind of chemical over night in a bucket A black looking chemical.

I plant 200 cucumber trees in a land that was abandoned for 30 years so the soil supposed to be very fertile I guess I go see how good they gonna come or if this experiment will fail. I didn't plough though. it also needs a LOT of water

York

Postby York » November 5th, 2015, 10:26 pm

Daily prices posted on NAMIS website.

STUD 101

Postby STUD 101 » November 6th, 2015, 1:44 pm

Any registered farmers here having problems getting they incentive cheques. I put in claims since last November and nothing yet.

Postby Chimera » November 6th, 2015, 2:17 pm

yeah same here ^^^

ADONI

Postby ADONI » November 6th, 2015, 2:49 pm

Boi, I now collect this week, after waiting two years...

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » November 6th, 2015, 4:50 pm

I know this is not the thread for this but am looking for some to augar 2 holes 5 feet in deept using 8 inch or 10 inch augar.

York

Postby York » November 6th, 2015, 9:58 pm

R.P.J wrote:I know this is not the thread for this but am looking for some to augar 2 holes 5 feet in deept using 8 inch or 10 inch augar.

open or visit a construction thread.

York

Postby York » November 6th, 2015, 10:02 pm

ADONI wrote:Boi, I now collect this week, after waiting two years...

what the jail i hearing here! i now going to put in a claim for a 4x4 pickup.

this happened under PP govt, imagine under PNM. think there is the possibility it will be any better? anything is possible if they not focused on tiefing we money in the treasury...

Postby Chimera » November 7th, 2015, 4:58 am

I feel it wud be better under pnm. Avinash singh is a actual farmer who would understand the needs of farmers.

York

Postby York » November 7th, 2015, 6:21 am

Power does corrupt quickly. Hope dey spend on agri instead of only the mgmt of agri...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 8th, 2015, 3:54 am

I give up on swipering this land and decided to buy poison instead and spray it. I spray about quarter acre 2 days ago but not seeing any chance int he grass. I use Swiper Poison $120 a Gallon. Mixed it correct 250ML for 4 Gallon of water. I soaked the grass pretty good I would say, any idea on how long it would take this grass to start drying?

The grass is like 7 Feet tall solid hard bamboo grass. . Is that too tall to spray

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 8th, 2015, 7:56 am

would be difficult ^ but try 2-4-D in addition to the swiper

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » November 8th, 2015, 7:58 am

If it is raining, the swiper won't be effective.

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » November 8th, 2015, 9:24 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I give up on swipering this land and decided to buy poison instead and spray it. I spray about quarter acre 2 days ago but not seeing any chance int he grass. I use Swiper Poison $120 a Gallon. Mixed it correct 250ML for 4 Gallon of water. I soaked the grass pretty good I would say, any idea on how long it would take this grass to start drying?

The grass is like 7 Feet tall solid hard bamboo grass. . Is that too tall to spray

In about a week ..Once you spray in sunny conditions . The spray needs to penentrate for at least an hour before it rains ..you should be fine.

York

Postby York » November 8th, 2015, 10:55 am

All glyfosate are the same. I use Glyfos + __L . Takes a little over a week to start to show and should be used with a sticker. It's the best for grass, it goes thru the leaves and down to the root to kill the weeds. That's why it takes so long to notice. It is broad spectrum and systemic . Lasts longer than gramoxone to control weeds. Safer / less toxic...but doh drink it eh!

York

Postby York » November 8th, 2015, 11:04 am

Oh a tractor woulda cost $200 to cut that quarter acre. They charge $600 per acre now.

anyone knows how many pounds of cucumber is produced per plant? Tried a few seedlings today. I had tried seeds a few years back but was not productive. Did ploughing and rotovating.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 8th, 2015, 11:10 am

Ow ok thanks didn't realize it would take a week to see results, yeah I spray when it was sunny. Rain came 3 hours later so I think that should have been enough time for swiper to soak in, I know roundup advertises as rain proof in 30 minutes not sure if swiper is the same.

I would have paid a tractor but its more than quarter acre, its actually 1.25 acre I sprayed 1/4 Acre so far is what I meant. Just wanna see how it goes first before I spray more.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 8th, 2015, 1:33 pm

Fellas I have a Pommecythere tree that's basically dying branch by branch...the trunk is turning completely white as well.

There are still some healthy branches on it...was wondering if saving the tree by growing cuttings from it would actually work???...they're about 3ft long and still green

If not i'll just have to cut it down :'(

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 8th, 2015, 7:49 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Fellas I have a Pommecythere tree that's basically dying branch by branch...the trunk is turning completely white as well.

There are still some healthy branches on it...was wondering if saving the tree by growing cuttings from it would actually work???...they're about 3ft long and still green

If not i'll just have to cut it down :'(

This happened to me tree got a fungus so I chop down everything and left it to grow all over....I'd take pics to show how it is now....

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 8th, 2015, 8:09 pm

Thing is that it was previously cut down and it started back to blossom.
Was growing really quickly till the fungus started affected it. Now it's dying branch by branch

York

Postby York » November 9th, 2015, 3:18 am

Arent there any effective fungus treatments? Check Caribbean Chemicals...

Postby Chimera » November 9th, 2015, 8:10 am

ent acrobat is a fungicide

Postby Chimera » November 9th, 2015, 8:11 am

yuh hadda beware of agri shops eh

better u ask here or other farmers

dem agri shops does sell u any and everything they have

York

Postby York » November 9th, 2015, 8:30 am

From time to time, Caribbean Chemicals does have free testing on diseased samples at Southern Chemical on Ramsaran st, chaguanas. It's not just any fungicide, it's specific to the one that's causing the problem. There's a kinda greenish-blue one that attacks many fruit trees.

The benefit of a forum like this is that you can share your experiences, so....

Postby Chimera » November 9th, 2015, 8:40 am

the agri office in chase village use to do free diagnosis as well

the first or last friday in every month.....cant remember the day or if they still do it
just hadda walk with yuh branch or plant n dey guh tell u d scene

ADONI

Postby ADONI » November 9th, 2015, 10:04 am

York wrote:
ADONI wrote:Boi, I now collect this week, after waiting two years...

what the jail i hearing here! i now going to put in a claim for a 4x4 pickup.

this happened under PP govt, imagine under PNM. think there is the possibility it will be any better? anything is possible if they not focused on tiefing we money in the treasury...

Yup, now put in a claim for a van, power saw and wacker as well. Will see how that goes.

Postby Chimera » November 9th, 2015, 10:52 am

they giving incentive on power saw?