The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Swisha

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Swisha » February 23rd, 2011, 12:00 am

whoagadoi!!!

Nexus S and Nexus One get Android Gingerbread 2.3.3, which fixes random reboots and writes NFC

Your Nexus One is a second-class citizen no more: Today, Google's rolling out Android 2.3.3 to both its premier smartphones. The latest build, still referred to as Gingerbread, brings even more NFC goodies than fortold, as the Nexus S will soon be able to write (not just read) rewritable NFC tags as well as act as a glorified NFC tag itself. (You can see both possibilities in the three screenshots above.) What's more, Google tells us Android 2.3.3 will fix the random reboots that have plagued the Nexus S as of late, and offers other random bugfixes as well. You'll find the whole kit and kaboodle streaming to your phones over the air during the next few weeks to come.

Engadget

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 23rd, 2011, 12:03 am

Google disables contact sync in Facebook for Android, but only Nexus S for now

You know that Android 2.3.3 update that's trickling out to Nexus S smartphones right now? Google's decided to take this opportunity to push its data portability agenda with regards to Android. Simply put, the feature of the Facebook for Android app to provide the social network's stored contact information to your Nexus S has been revoked from here on out, and as soon as you get the update all that contact information will disappear from your phone.

We've spent a while chatting with a Google rep, and they explained that the company is actually just reinstating the official rules -- typically, apps have to use Android's contacts API, but Facebook was granted an exception which allowed its contacts to remain in the cloud. In effect, what Google's claims it's doing here is the same thing that would happen if you uninstalled the app, or deleted your Facebook account -- your contacts created and stored in the network would no longer be visible on your handset. In other words, Google's attempting to push Facebook into making that data available to itself, which would be handy (think of the other apps that could use your Facebook data on the go) but potentially worrisome in terms of privacy as well. Either way, the argument is not likely to directly affect many individuals in the short term -- Google tells us that Facebook's sync privileges will only be revoked in the Nexus S (not the Nexus One) and other "lead devices" yet to come. Read the company's full statement after the break, and decide for yourself if this is worth arguing about.

We believe it is very important that users are able to control their data. So in the over-the-air update for Nexus S, we have a small change to how Facebook contacts appear on the device. For Nexus S users who downloaded the Facebook app from Android Market, Facebook contacts will no longer appear to be integrated with the Android Contacts app. Since Facebook contacts cannot be exported from the device, the appearance of integration created a false sense of data portability. Facebook contact data will continue to appear within the Facebook app. Like all developers on Android, Facebook is free to use the Android contacts API to truly integrate contacts on the device, which would allow users to have more control over their data. We are removing the special-case handling of Facebook contacts on Nexus S and future lead devices. We continue to believe that reciprocity (the expectation that if information can be imported into a service it should be able to be exported) is an important step toward creating a world of true data liberation -- and encourage other websites and app developers to allow users to export their contacts as well.

Engadget

Postby tr1ad » February 23rd, 2011, 12:04 am

i want back a nexus one yes

or maybe that desire z

achillies

Postby achillies » February 23rd, 2011, 2:19 am

mitch wrote:whoagadoi!!!

Nexus S and Nexus One get Android Gingerbread 2.3.3, which fixes random reboots and writes NFC

Your Nexus One is a second-class citizen no more: Today, Google's rolling out Android 2.3.3 to both its premier smartphones. The latest build, still referred to as Gingerbread, brings even more NFC goodies than fortold, as the Nexus S will soon be able to write (not just read) rewritable NFC tags as well as act as a glorified NFC tag itself. (You can see both possibilities in the three screenshots above.) What's more, Google tells us Android 2.3.3 will fix the random reboots that have plagued the Nexus S as of late, and offers other random bugfixes as well. You'll find the whole kit and kaboodle streaming to your phones over the air during the next few weeks to come.

Engadget

that whoagadoi crack me up wii

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 24th, 2011, 8:56 pm

me eh stickin! going to update nao!

Official Android 2.3.3 updates for Nexus One and Nexus S unearthed, available to the impatient

Waiting sucks, doesn't it? Yes, yes it does -- which is why we're delighted to see that direct links to the official, final updates to Android 2.3.3 for the Nexus One and Nexus S have both been turned loose. This is especially exciting news for Nexus One owners who've stayed on the straight and narrow and haven't moved to a cooked Gingerbread ROM already, since they're still on Froyo -- but it's also good news for developers working on NFC apps with the Nexus S and Android's freshly-baked NFC API, since it means they'll have real-world devices to start playing with. So go on, get to it -- we know you're not going to wait for the over-the-air notification anyway.

Engadget

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 24th, 2011, 9:37 pm

w00t! officially on Gingerbread 2.3.3

Postby M_2NR » February 24th, 2011, 10:00 pm

Check and see if Google voice still works for meh deh mitchy. my boy in the UK telling me along with others saying it stop since he update from froyo to ginger

achillies

Postby achillies » February 25th, 2011, 6:12 am

M_2NR wrote:Check and see if Google voice still works for meh deh mitchy. my boy in the UK telling me along with others saying it stop since he update from froyo to ginger

What allyuh do to het Google Voice to work, all that did was take alot of money from my phone when i try to activate

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 26th, 2011, 10:25 am

achillies wrote:
M_2NR wrote:Check and see if Google voice still works for meh deh mitchy. my boy in the UK telling me along with others saying it stop since he update from froyo to ginger

What allyuh do to het Google Voice to work, all that did was take alot of money from my phone when i try to activate

yeah i never bothered with Google Voice cos i thought it was restricted to US customers only.

would have tried it by using the market enabler app to fake the SIM but i lost root when i upgraded to Gingerbread. havent checked to see if i can root Gingerbread yet...

btw, M_2NR check pm

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 26th, 2011, 10:36 am

Google Cloud Connect for Microsoft Office

Google Cloud Connect for Microsoft Office brings collaborative multi-person editing to the familiar Microsoft® Office experience. You can share, backup, and simultaneously edit Microsoft Word, PowerPoint®, and Excel® documents with coworkers.

Watch the videos below to learn how Google Cloud Connect teaches your old docs new tricks.

Google Cloud Connect for Microsoft Office

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 26th, 2011, 10:42 am

Visualized: Android activations mapped geographically, chronologically, breathtakingly (video)

Do you ever wish for an easier way to show your uninitiated friends what you mean when you say Android is growing? Well, here's the video for you: a Google-produced map of the world that throbs with Android activations over time, highlighted by some truly eye-opening flourishes in the immediate aftermath of marquee handset launches. The Google guys have even given us handy countdown timers -- "Droid launch in 3, 2, 1..." -- and broken things down by continent for easier viewing. Only thing missing is a soundtrack, so just have your Tron: Legacy OST loaded up and ready before jumping past the break.

Engadget

Postby M_2NR » February 26th, 2011, 3:01 pm

mitch wrote:
achillies wrote:

yeah i never bothered with Google Voice cos i thought it was restricted to US customers only.

would have tried it by using the market enabler app to fake the SIM but i lost root when i upgraded to Gingerbread. havent checked to see if i can root Gingerbread yet...

btw, M_2NR check pm

O_O all a dat?! dayum. If only there was talkatone app for android. I thought it worked :shock:

and replied oui.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » February 26th, 2011, 3:06 pm

Nice vid

Postby RASC » February 27th, 2011, 3:50 am

So the first Dual Core reviews are hitting the market.

SIGH

Lag everywhere...Geez an ages. The commentators on Phone Dog were even a bit surprised. Something needs to be done. Do we have to wait for a "pure" Google iteration in Dual Core before we can finally see a lag free Android headset?

The review in question is below...the culprit...you guess it MOTOBLUR :roll:
But even if, this is NEXT generation chipsets within an Android eco-system-someone has to be blamed here...either the OEM manufacturers are rushing the brush, or Android just can't run properly-one wonders what size Ghz would these phones need to run at to finally see iPhone or WP7 levels of smoothness? 2Ghz Dual Core maybe? Who knows :(

1Ghz Tegra 2 Dual Core...still can't handle the heat. :|

Postby RASC » February 27th, 2011, 4:19 am

Look that pinch to zoom at around 11:00

WOW disgusting :S Thas what allyuh call "NONE LAGGY?" Thas a DUAL CORE phone jed, that stuff inexcusable.

WP7 just got copy and paste, and its butter ppl...Mitch ah waiting for yuh :drinking:

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 27th, 2011, 11:51 am

lol yeah keep waiting.

and for the millionth time, the obvious problem is the stupid custom UIs that cause all the lag. y cant these companies produce phones with stock Android i'll never know.

so i'll keep enjoying my N1 with Gingerbread until the next Nexus phone with dual core comes out...

achillies

Postby achillies » February 27th, 2011, 12:09 pm

Who say Tablet for the win

achillies

Postby achillies » February 27th, 2011, 12:13 pm

mitch wrote:lol yeah keep waiting.

and for the millionth time, the obvious problem is the stupid custom UIs that cause all the lag. y cant these companies produce phones with stock Android i'll never know.

so i'll keep enjoying my N1 with Gingerbread until the next Nexus phone with dual core comes out...

Mitch, doh study RASC, he obviously doesn't understand anything about Optimization, and as i read somewhere, GOOGLE should mandate that all phones have a Vanilla version ready and easy to install just in case someone doesn't like the skins, and believe it or not, there are ppl out there that loves MotoBlur and the other Custom UI's and Android is the only OS that can give u that type of choice

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 27th, 2011, 12:23 pm

me eh studying he and he mickey mouse OS :lol:

Postby RASC » February 27th, 2011, 7:41 pm

:lol: Watch nah, I am more an an expert than both of y'all seeing as I've played EXTENSIVELY with both devices. You calling it a Mickey Mouse OS without even USING it. You're never even seen one in real life :lol:

Thas a TEGRA 2 DUAL CORE...what the flyingfuckwe all been waiting for, and it still can't handle motoblur. Motoblru is enough to cripple the bestestestestest chip set on the market right now? You kidding me?

Nah jed-what we hadda wait for Android to be smooth vanilla or not? 16 cores? 4 Gigs of Ram? What Mitch...WHAT :x

Now I hearing the thunderbolt delayed...guess why? So many fricking cores to make the thing run normal-battery life is in the dumps. Come nah man. Vanilla Android any better? You better pray for your sake that when a dual core vanilla android drop that it's as smooth or smoother than WP7 or iPhone.

Check the Endgadget comments sections. Android is being shitted on :?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 27th, 2011, 8:57 pm

buh wait nah, what exactly in that video u see that was "crippling"? d man saying he have to repeat certain gestures b4 it register? yeah blame Motoblur for that not Android. WTF Motorola know about software? steups gimme a break nah man.

imagine Android so "laggy" yet it continues to be the fastest growing OS ever :roll:

achillies

Postby achillies » February 28th, 2011, 7:01 am

Imagine android so laggy, Sony decided to use it on their Gaming Phone

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 28th, 2011, 7:48 am

imagine WP7 so great and yet still no one gives a sheit :lol:

RASC make 2 posts in a row bout WP7 in d Apple thread and up to now nobody eh take him on lol.

i figure we should do d same now yes. let him go populate d WP7 thread. it just might be d least popular thread on 2nr :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby RASC » February 28th, 2011, 10:25 am

FANdroid wrote: Don't worry when dual cores come, all that would be fixed. It's the OEM's fault NOT google...more cores would sort out the lag

OUCH :lol:

Imagine Motoblur is enough to cripple a phone like this... "oh no no but we scored really high on the benchmark" :? HAHAHA

Get real man, get some more cores, 24 is a nice number. Don't forget your 3000MaH battery with a built in solar pack backpack attachment :lol:

achillies

Postby achillies » February 28th, 2011, 11:05 am

But wait a minute, my HTC Magic does really pinch and zoom smoother than that, MotoBlur is really shyt boi

Vanilla android FTW, and to some extent, HTC Sense, i use to get a lil lag with sense on my phone, but browsing n ting was really smooth, pinch n zoom was smooth, never cared for Motoblur and this jus proves that Motorola has not optimized MotoBlur cause its been slow ever since inception

Glad My phone (HTC Magic) is lag free, CyanogenMod will release a wicked ROM for that phone once the SDK has support for the dual core so all ATRIX buyers need not worry

oh and BTW, 2.3 does not have full support for dual cores, 2.4 will, as i said earlier RASC, stop exaggerating, there is no need for it

achillies

Postby achillies » February 28th, 2011, 11:32 am

Blackberry Rep: PlayBook Will Support Android Apps

We’re not exactly huge Blackberry fans here at Phandroid, obviously, but we do cover any and everything Android. Having said that, a new video has come out of a RIM representative confirming that the Blackberry Playbook tablet will – at some point – support Android applications.

We’ve heard those murmurs a while ago, and recent testimonials from the folks who develop Shop Savvy have all but confirmed this to be true. RIM has yet to make any official announcement mentioning this, but this is as good as it’s going to get. We’re not saying we’re going to go out and snatch up a Playbook because of it, but it’s still good news. It’s at the 14 second mark in the video above

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 28th, 2011, 11:34 am

even Blackberry is jumping on the Android bandwagon :lol:

Postby tr1ad » February 28th, 2011, 11:47 am

they would need to... seeing that all they have going for them is BBM.... corporate emails can be accessed on Android and others with ease

for me a RIM device with Android will pwn all

achillies

Postby achillies » February 28th, 2011, 1:28 pm

Battery Issues Rumored as Reason for Thunderbolt Delays

Here we are, February 28th, nearly two months since the debut of the HTC Thunderbolt. Long expected to have arrived by now, we're still wondering if and when we'll ever see Verizon announce a launch date. We've seen the rumored release slip a couple of times over the last few weeks with no known reasons. The last we heard, it may be March 4th or 10th before the phone shows up. Why? The intel we've gathered points to battery issues.

According to Engadget sources, the phone will burn through the battery in 2-3 hours without breaking a sweat. Considering the large screen and 4G LTE radio, were not surprised. Everyone knows about how great the EVO is save for its battery life. An updated ROM is said to be in the works, hopefully addressing the situation.

Looking back, it makes sense that we've seen a handful of firmware updates leak to the internet over the last few weeks. In fact, today sees yet another one arriving on 911Sniper. Perhaps this was known internally and has been getting tweaked a bit over time. Is this the one that fixes it all?

achillies

Postby achillies » February 28th, 2011, 1:37 pm

Use Your Android Device As A Bluetooth Input Device for the PS3

An application from the ranks of XDA called BlueputDroid is now in beta. The application allows you to pair your Android phone up with your PlayStation 3 and use the phone as an input device. You can use the phone’s keyboard to input text and there’s a virtual trackpad that lets you move the cursor inside the web browser. Not all devices are supported, but this is a beta so that could change. You can find the list of devices over atXDA. You’ll also need to disable any ad blocker you may be using as the app will refuse to work otherwise