Then blame the minister of health and petition to replace him for plain poor judgment. Just post the videos and call the Express.bluefete wrote:adnj wrote:The only campaigning that I saw were a few cars rolling down the avenue with their little flags hanging out, following the music truck.
I did mention before that I saw a campaign walk for Terrence Deyalsingh and 90% of the people were unmasked while walking.
tropi_flakes wrote:So update, I did the test in a health center this morning, process was quick and the test itself wasn't that bad tbh. One small problem I had tho was a member of staff basically trying to force me to go privately and do the test, the man asked me about 5 times while explaining the benefits of doing it private.They gave me a sick leave for 14 days and a document to sign stating I could get fined or charged if I leave my home. All in all good work done by the staff at that institution. Only way I see a reason to run and pay all that money privately is to get quick results, but even if it comes back positive you still gotta go in a state public institution....
August 18th, 2020
MEDIA RELEASE
7 Charged with Breaching Covid-19 Regulations
Seven persons are expected to appear virtually before a Siparia Magistrate today, charged with breaching the Covid-19 Regulations.
The accused; GARNET PERSAD, 66, DAVE JASSANT, 28, SURESH RAMSAWAK, 49, RAMRAJ JASSAN, 41, HARRY RAMPERSADSINGH, 36 and RIAZODEEN KARIM, 51, all of the Penal district, were arrested by officers of the Penal Police Station, for breaching Regulation 2(a) of the Public Health Ordinance Regulations - gathering in a public place where the number of persons exceeded five.
Meanwhile, PREMCHAN SEERATTAN, 55, also of Penal, was charged with conducting the business of a bar during the specified period and providing the amenity of seated accommodation at a restaurant and bar to customers during the specified period.
They were held during an anti-crime exercise conducted in the district around 10 am on Monday 17th August, 2020.
Based on information received, officers proceeded to a restaurant and bar located at Goodman Trace Junction, Penal Rock Road, Penal, where they observed a number of persons seated within the premises consuming alcoholic beverages.
The seven men were arrested in connection with the breach.
Charges were laid by Sgt. Siew, of the Penal Police Station, on Monday 17th August, 2020.
SEE ACCOMPANYING PHOTOS
Corporate Communications Unit
August 18th, 2020
END
matr1x wrote:Dem men real dotish.
Dey ent know that police going around those areas?
Police not touching 1% areas at all.
elec2020 wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:As soon as the first unknown source of Covid arose, we should have had an immediate lockdown. Especially given all the election action. All campaigning should have stopped. Both parties are to blame but if the ruling party doesn't then that obviously puts the opposition in a predicament. But still both are to blame.
The government wanted to give the impression everything was still under control.
We the people aren't the only ones to blame. And secondly, blaming people for getting sick isn't right. Many people can be obeying the rules and get it from an mild of asymptomatic or person who isn't wearing a mask.
Remember masks don't work well in preventing you from getting it, it prevents you from spreading it.
The inconsistent mixed messaging enabled people to put their guards down..... And this is our situation now.
This wasn't February and March when things were new. We should have learned from others and not make the same mistakes. Especially the mistakes made by the US.
July 21st almost a month ago we had our first case. Now 4 weeks late we've had 450+.
This overdue lockdown will help, but I can almost assuredly tell you the actual cases are a lot more and will still continue to grow.
I don't think economically we can maintain a lockdown till the vaccine is out so we may have to go the route of Sweden for the next few months after these 28 days or so.
I figure the goal right now is solely but to overload the health care system.
Good luck to us all.
Thats foolsih. So you lockdown everytine their is a little jump in numbers. You do that till when? Till they find a cure for the virus? And till the cure is circulated to about 70 per cent of the population? Keeping in mind we don't know when that will happen. How much of that vaccine will be available for third worlders like us. How much it will cost (and if we have the money for it). How much of us can afford it and even if so how much of us will take it (cause i sure my arse aint the only person who aint taking no experimental drug). After all them lockdowns what gah be the state of tnt? Ya'll think ot so simple eh. Don't have a clue about how difficult this situation is. Imo government should just let us live with this. Cause eventually the fiscal space that allows us to proceed on lockdowns will soon be erased (debt to gsp is close to 80 per cent for example). Imo they just prolonging the inevitable. Deaths and infections are going to happen people. Just accept the reality of the situation. You can only rum away from it for so long
FrankChag wrote:You should update the phases, and do a proper citation of the model you're using (eg Guidotti et al.).Rajeevr84 wrote:I made an SIR Modeling tool for Trinidad some months ago. It's meant to be used as a guide for Lockdown removals so that we could manage the outbreak.
https://rajeev-ratan.shinyapps.io/Trinidad_Covid19_SIR/
This is in NO WAY meant to be an accurate prediction. It's best interpreted as a guide as to viral spread using standard Epidemiology models. There are way too many variables to get this right as people's behaviors and government responses contionusly change.
I haven't updated this tool in a while, death rates are definitely over estimated here based on the latest figures it will be maybe 20-30% of what I'm predicting.
Dohplaydat wrote:elec2020 wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:As soon as the first unknown source of Covid arose, we should have had an immediate lockdown. Especially given all the election action. All campaigning should have stopped. Both parties are to blame but if the ruling party doesn't then that obviously puts the opposition in a predicament. But still both are to blame.
The government wanted to give the impression everything was still under control.
We the people aren't the only ones to blame. And secondly, blaming people for getting sick isn't right. Many people can be obeying the rules and get it from an mild of asymptomatic or person who isn't wearing a mask.
Remember masks don't work well in preventing you from getting it, it prevents you from spreading it.
The inconsistent mixed messaging enabled people to put their guards down..... And this is our situation now.
This wasn't February and March when things were new. We should have learned from others and not make the same mistakes. Especially the mistakes made by the US.
July 21st almost a month ago we had our first case. Now 4 weeks late we've had 450+.
This overdue lockdown will help, but I can almost assuredly tell you the actual cases are a lot more and will still continue to grow.
I don't think economically we can maintain a lockdown till the vaccine is out so we may have to go the route of Sweden for the next few months after these 28 days or so.
I figure the goal right now is solely but to overload the health care system.
Good luck to us all.
Thats foolsih. So you lockdown everytine their is a little jump in numbers. You do that till when? Till they find a cure for the virus? And till the cure is circulated to about 70 per cent of the population? Keeping in mind we don't know when that will happen. How much of that vaccine will be available for third worlders like us. How much it will cost (and if we have the money for it). How much of us can afford it and even if so how much of us will take it (cause i sure my arse aint the only person who aint taking no experimental drug). After all them lockdowns what gah be the state of tnt? Ya'll think ot so simple eh. Don't have a clue about how difficult this situation is. Imo government should just let us live with this. Cause eventually the fiscal space that allows us to proceed on lockdowns will soon be erased (debt to gsp is close to 80 per cent for example). Imo they just prolonging the inevitable. Deaths and infections are going to happen people. Just accept the reality of the situation. You can only rum away from it for so long
You lockdown or put some mitigation factors in place when you see cases increasing. You do realize we lockdown right now? Are you calling your government foolish? It was irresponsible to not lockdown sooner, that was my point.
Stupid country filled with stupid people broPhone Surgeon wrote:I realize that supposedly educated adults don't care about themselves or their children. Let them get sick and die yes
goalpost wrote:Do ppl not realize that without a full lockdown we in major major problems?
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:The purpose of the lockdowns is to slow the spread and mitigate its effects.
Without lockdowns and mandatory measures the infection rate will be too high and it will overwhelm the healthcare system.
Which means that if you get into an accident or get sick from something else there will be no hospital facility available to treat you.
We are not under total lockdown and people are being asked to be responsible and cautious to prevent the spread without totally stopping the economy.
If our population were responsible and followed the guidelines then there would be no need for any lockdown, like in Singapore, but Sunday proved that we are incapable of operating like that and need to be force into compliance.
Rajeevr84 wrote:What to Expect with the new Lockdown Measures? [/b](assuming they are effective in reducing the Rnaught)
I imagine our state Epidemioligsts will have much more accurate and advanced models.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:The purpose of the lockdowns is to slow the spread and mitigate its effects.
Without lockdowns and mandatory measures the infection rate will be too high and it will overwhelm the healthcare system.
Which means that if you get into an accident or get sick from something else there will be no hospital facility available to treat you.
We are not under total lockdown and people are being asked to be responsible and cautious to prevent the spread without totally stopping the economy.
If our population were responsible and followed the guidelines then there would be no need for any lockdown, like in Singapore, but Sunday proved that we are incapable of operating like that and need to be force into compliance.
Penguin wrote:Rajeevr84 wrote:What to Expect with the new Lockdown Measures? [/b](assuming they are effective in reducing the Rnaught)
I imagine our state Epidemioligsts will have much more accurate and advanced models.
These graphs do show a slow down in spread due to the lockdown, at least that's what's expected?
Can you make a projection if there was no lockdown frpm August 17th?
bluefete wrote:How does the government know which sectors to close down?
Do they have evidence that Covid is being spread more from bars than from groceries?
pugboy wrote:Well at least in a grocery everybody wears a mask supposedly
Whilst in a bar nobody is and everyone in close static contact talking to each otherbluefete wrote:How does the government know which sectors to close down?
Do they have evidence that Covid is being spread more from bars than from groceries?
bluefete wrote:pugboy wrote:Well at least in a grocery everybody wears a mask supposedly
Whilst in a bar nobody is and everyone in close static contact talking to each otherbluefete wrote:How does the government know which sectors to close down?
Thanks. It would be interesting to see evidence though.
Easy to understand why they close beaches.