.::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Which major party will you be voting for in G.E. 2015?

Poll ended at April 9th, 2014, 7:52 pm

People's National Movement
26%
People's Partnership
53%
Independent Liberal Party
2%
Neither/Abstain
20%

Total votes: 388

AbstractPoetic

Re: .::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Postby AbstractPoetic » September 10th, 2015, 11:37 am

Habit7 wrote:Ppl are racist by their own nature. It is inculcated in their homes, places of worship and communities. Politicians only position themselves to feed off of the racial bubbling stew. This racial divide we are seeing now was always there subtlety waiting for a catalyst.

Overt displays of racism in civilized culture is uncool, and most choose to not express it. But when emotions are high, many cant control themselves.

It will take time for Dr. Rowley to continue to act graciously to those who supported the personal attacks on him and his family and Kamla needs to be subservient and accept her new role as Opposition Leader. I think it well help make racism more uncool again, but if both or one of them don't do this we are in for a rough ride.

You see this type of thinking:

Since when some Indo-Trinis have the opinion, whether overt or implicit, that they are naturally superior to Afro-Trinis? Are these Indo-Trinis not direct descendants of indentured servants that are NOT from the Brahmin caste? Even if from Brahmin blood, why the feeling of superiority? Do they not realize even their own Indians in India view them as beneath them? No human being has the right to feel this way on the basis of race. I am so livid these type of individuals are living and breathing in TT.

Postby RASC » September 10th, 2015, 11:44 am

I am actually fixated in the fight for UNC leadership as I think it to be even more exciting than the GE.

daas

Postby daas » September 10th, 2015, 11:55 am

Ah the oracle has spoken

Postby desifemlove » September 10th, 2015, 11:57 am

AbstractPoetic wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Ppl are racist by their own nature. It is inculcated in their homes, places of worship and communities. Politicians only position themselves to feed off of the racial bubbling stew. This racial divide we are seeing now was always there subtlety waiting for a catalyst.

Overt displays of racism in civilized culture is uncool, and most choose to not express it. But when emotions are high, many cant control themselves.

It will take time for Dr. Rowley to continue to act graciously to those who supported the personal attacks on him and his family and Kamla needs to be subservient and accept her new role as Opposition Leader. I think it well help make racism more uncool again, but if both or one of them don't do this we are in for a rough ride.

You see this type of thinking:

Since when some Indo-Trinis have the opinion, whether overt or implicit, that they are naturally superior to Afro-Trinis? Are these Indo-Trinis not direct descendants of indentured servants that are NOT from the Brahmin caste? Even if from Brahmin blood, why the feeling of superiority? Do they not realize even their own Indians in India view them as beneath them? No human being has the right to feel this way on the basis of race. I am so livid these type of individuals are living and breathing in TT.

Bahamas and Barbados is largely black....and the richest CARICOM countries. Guyana is mostly Indo..and poorer than Trinidad looolol.....it's a free country/world, but then i doh see why the police ent being more proactive in arresting/charging these people, since free expression has limits.... Zoom or whoever won't believe Bahamas is wealthier, but most global indices does say so.

Postby RASC » September 10th, 2015, 12:12 pm

You're opening a can of worms there buddy.
"Richer" doesn't necessarily mean better.
Bahamians own nearly NOTHING on the island...its majority all foreigners...etc etc etc

We can go on for pages. Point is, do some better research but I understand your angle none the less.

daas

Postby daas » September 10th, 2015, 12:15 pm

ok then

Postby AllTrac » September 10th, 2015, 12:20 pm

#Brahmincrew u mud?

Postby 1UZFE » September 10th, 2015, 12:26 pm

RASC wrote:You're opening a can of worms there buddy.
Bahamians own nearly NOTHING on the island...its majority all foreigners...etc etc etc

We can go on for pages. Point is, do some better research but I understand your angle none the less.

Rasc train dem.. men getting tie up with Gdp and gnp then how it trickle down to d citizens.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 10th, 2015, 12:27 pm

intern wrote:EDIT: nvm thanks for the reply EliteAuto. Then, very good, there is nothing to stop UNC from putting Vasant in charge, except stupidity.

I feel as though there might be certain people who won't want Vasant because he is too clean and straight up kind of a guy. The cabal may not want Vasant because with Vasant they won't get their way like they did with Kamla.

One of the things to note, Vasant picked St Joseph to fight because he said he wants a seat where he can prove his worth, he actually did NOT want a safe seat he made it clear as he was tired of safe seat he wanted to help a constituency that needed help while man like Ganga Singh (the known NON performer) was begging for safe seat, this alone shows you the character of someone.

The first thing UNC has to do is get rid of that Cabal. A lot of people now are calling for the resignation of Moonilal and Rambachan aswell but how do you even move people who won their seat?

Postby desifemlove » September 10th, 2015, 12:31 pm

RASC wrote:You're opening a can of worms there buddy.

jus saying it's not a matter of race. Bahamas has no natural resources, so has to sell land or get tourists. All countries must live in their means. he also neglects to see dat Guyan and Suriname are largely Indo yet poorer, and Haiti has 200 years of French debt and internal issues to handle. T&T only richer cos of oil. Barbados as inferior Afro country loolol...has no oil but outperforms T&T in most living standards measures. jus saying his rationale his/her/its rationale dim...

thatlife

Postby thatlife » September 10th, 2015, 12:37 pm

trinidad is too corrupt and racially divided
ppl also forget very quickly of things that happened in the past

it was the numerous corruption allegations that caused the PNM to lose to the UNC
its too much to state, so just click here https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television ... 3425297996

while all may not be true, there are alot there that is.

and thats for the PNM.

as for the UNC for the past 5 years
- life sport
- section 34
- numerous ministers fired
- Jack Warner, South Highway, etc.

I'm unable to find an easy list online on their alleged corruption, but we all know that list extends.

Its just in the mentality of the people and one man/woman cannot make that change in a short term.

/truth.

Postby Habit7 » September 10th, 2015, 1:10 pm

Kamlamania’ campaign missed the boat
Gary Griffith:
Published on Sep 9, 2015, 8:46 pm AST
By Camille Hunte

United National Congress (UNC) campaign manager Rodney Charles says neither he nor the party has any regrets about the “No Rowley” campaign for the 2015 general election.
Charles, who spoke with the Express via telephone yesterday, was responding to criticism from former national security minister Gary Griffith, who blamed the party’s campaign strategy for the People’s Partnership’s (PP) defeat to the People’s National Movement (PNM) at the polls on Monday.
Griffith, who appeared on CCN TV6’s Morning Edition yesterday, described the campaign as “Kamlamania” and said ministers were instructed by Charles to praise former prime minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar in every public appearance.
Griffith said Charles had come in as the party’s campaign manager “out of nowhere” and was hired by the PM because “her blood took him”.
“That was how she operated, it was not based on Rodney Charles having a massive track record. So he turned up here and he said every two words we say must be Kamla, ‘Pleasant good morning to you, praise to Kamla. We built this road, thank you to Kamla. It’s a very nice day, thanks to Kamla’.”
Griffith said after one appearance, he was chided by a colleague for not praising the former PM enough.
He added that ministers were “shocked” at the suggestions put forward by Charles with regard to the party’s election campaign, one of which was to run the campaign similar to a Coca-Cola advertisement.
“Coke is it, so let’s go Kamla is it,” Griffith said. “They felt that everything was this ‘Kamlamania’.”
Griffith added that the campaign sought only to please the party’s base “UNC till ah dead” voters and not to convince the “floating voters”.
“That is where Rodney Charles totally missed the boat,” he said.
The former minister said the aim was to portray Persad-Bissessar as a “great messiah”, while painting newly-elected Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley as a demon.
He said more focus should have been placed on the Partnership as a team and on the policies of the party rather than simply telling the electorate that “Kamla has a plan”.
Griffith also had severe criticism for Congress of the People (COP) leader Prakash Ramadhar, referring to that party as the “Congress of the Prakash” as Ramadhar was the only COP candidate to secure a seat.
Another former government minister, Ralph Maraj, also slammed the campaign, saying it was “very flawed” and the demonising of Rowley only served to earn him sympathy from the electorate.
He knocked the singular focus on Persad-Bissessar, saying the ruling party failed to highlight the “enormous talent and experience” of the other candidates.
However, Charles, who secured a landslide victory in the Naparima constituency, told the Express that the campaign was collaborative and fair.
“We ran a fair campaign guided by a collaborative process which included our consultant. It offered voters a clear choice between two leaders, two visions and two teams for taking Trinidad and Tobago into the 21st century. We have no regrets about the campaign.”
Asked for his response to Griffith’s criticisms, Charles was dismissive.
“This is not the time to engage in scapegoating, nitpicking and petty acrimony,” he said. “It really serves no useful purpose.”
He added that the Partnership would work with the new Government in the interest of the country.
“We in the People’s Partnership, consistent with our constitutional remit, will work with the incoming administration for the betterment of all of Trinidad and Tobago. We will vigorously represent the people we were elected to serve and all citizens of T&T,” he said.
“We will do the necessary introspection and on the basis of that introspection and analysis we will chart the way forward.”

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20150909 ... d-the-boat

And sadly, they still continuing it.

Postby janfar » September 10th, 2015, 1:14 pm

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » September 10th, 2015, 1:39 pm

eliteauto wrote:
desifemlove wrote:Vasant ent got no seat. Can he constitutionally be leader of UNC if the knives do come out for she?

Yes he can, political leader and Leader of the Opposition in the house can be 2 different persons if necessary

While that is correct, remember what happened when Dookeran was UNC leader, but Kamla was Opposition Leader.

The problem is the Opposition Leader is the one with all the perks-- TV time in Parliament, appointment of Senators.

A non MP political Leader go struggle.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 10th, 2015, 1:43 pm

EmilioA wrote:
eliteauto wrote:
desifemlove wrote:Vasant ent got no seat. Can he constitutionally be leader of UNC if the knives do come out for she?

Yes he can, political leader and Leader of the Opposition in the house can be 2 different persons if necessary

While that is correct, remember what happened when Dookeran was UNC leader, but Kamla was Opposition Leader.

The problem is the Opposition Leader is the one with all the perks-- TV time in Parliament, appointment of Senators.

No I can't. When did this happen?

intern

Postby intern » September 10th, 2015, 1:47 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:Since when some Indo-Trinis have the opinion, whether overt or implicit, that they are naturally superior to Afro-Trinis? Are these Indo-Trinis not direct descendants of indentured servants that are NOT from the Brahmin caste? Even if from Brahmin blood, why the feeling of superiority? Do they not realize even their own Indians in India view them as beneath them? No human being has the right to feel this way on the basis of race. I am so livid these type of individuals are living and breathing in TT.

There is no point in being angry. This is all about religion. Religion is a powerful thing. You are angry because you were brought up in a certain way with certain beliefs based on some religious system, even if you weren't "devout". Castes are very important in Hinduism and they will always be. You are livid about them, well they are livid about you! And we all think we are right!
Last edited by intern on September 10th, 2015, 1:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » September 10th, 2015, 1:51 pm

EmilioA wrote:
eliteauto wrote:

2005 to 2006. That is what led Dookeran to leave the UNC and form the COP.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 10th, 2015, 1:56 pm

EmilioA wrote:
eliteauto wrote:

And why was Kamla the Opposition leader? Wouldn't Panday have still been there?

Postby wagonrunner » September 10th, 2015, 1:56 pm

thatlife wrote:as for the UNC for the past 5 years
I'm unable to find an easy list online on their alleged corruption
hope this is helpful. http://www.pnm.org.tt/reasonstoremember/#p=4

Postby Dizzy28 » September 10th, 2015, 1:57 pm

intern wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:Since when some Indo-Trinis have the opinion, whether overt or implicit, that they are naturally superior to Afro-Trinis? Are these Indo-Trinis not direct descendants of indentured servants that are NOT from the Brahmin caste? Even if from Brahmin blood, why the feeling of superiority? Do they not realize even their own Indians in India view them as beneath them? No human being has the right to feel this way on the basis of race. I am so livid these type of individuals are living and breathing in TT.

There is no point in being angry. This is all about religion. Religion is a powerful thing. You are angry because you were brought up in a certain way with certain beliefs based on some religious system, even if you were "devout". Castes are very important in Hinduism and they will always be. You are livid about them, well they are livid about you! And we all think we are right!

Ya'll know 51% of all Indo Trinidadians are not Hindus right?

intern

Postby intern » September 10th, 2015, 1:59 pm

intern wrote:

There is no point in being angry. This is all about religion. Religion is a powerful thing. You are angry because you were brought up in a certain way with certain beliefs based on some religious system, even if you were "devout". Castes are very important in Hinduism and they will always be. You are livid about them, well they are livid about you! And we all think we are right!

Did I say that all Indo Trinidadians are Hindu?

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » September 10th, 2015, 1:59 pm

EmilioA wrote:
eliteauto wrote:

And why was Kamla the Opposition leader? Wouldn't Panday have still been there?

Panday had gotten convicted of fraud wrt the Integrity Act I believe . His seat was declared vacant since a person under a term of imprisonment for more than 2 years cannot be an MP.

Postby desifemlove » September 10th, 2015, 2:02 pm

EmilioA wrote:
eliteauto wrote:

you only just knew panday went to jail? Loooolol.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 10th, 2015, 2:03 pm

intern wrote:

Did I say that all Indo Trinidadians are Hindu?

Did "Randy", whose post Abstract Poetic was angry at in her subsequent post ever indicate he was Hindu?

Postby desifemlove » September 10th, 2015, 2:10 pm

AllTrac wrote:#Brahmincrew u mud?

If yuh name sharma or panday you exempt.

intern

Postby intern » September 10th, 2015, 2:11 pm

Did "Randy", whose post Abstract Poetic was angry at in her subsequent post ever indicate he was Hindu?

This is my last reply on the matter, it's a useless discussion. Things are what they are. Everybody knows the facts, if they don't know then they can use Google.

Doesn't matter if Randy is a practicing Hindu or not. His comment clearly shows that he is influenced by the same beliefs about inferiority and superiority based on race. When I see certain colorist comments from Americans I also label that as Hindu influence. In the same way, some atheists talk about things being "right" or "wrong", and you immediately know they are influenced by Biblical beliefs. Why? Because in certain matters, there is no other religious book that would define those things as "right" or "wrong" - they are ideas unique to the Bible. The Caste system as a religious belief is something unique, and encourages a unique way of thinking and doing. So I can identify that way of thinking as being influenced by Hinduism.

Postby Habit7 » September 10th, 2015, 2:12 pm

Caste system is not Hindu

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » September 10th, 2015, 2:14 pm

intern wrote:

This is my last reply on the matter, it's a useless discussion. Things are what they are. Everybody knows the facts, if they don't know then they can use Google.

Doesn't matter if Randy is a practicing Hindu or not. His comment clearly shows that he is influenced by the same beliefs about inferiority and superiority based on race. When I see certain colorist comments from Americans I also label that as Hindu influence. In the same way, some atheists talk about things being "right" or "wrong", and you immediately know they are influenced by Biblical beliefs. Why? Because in certain matters, there is no other religious book that would define those things as "right" or "wrong" - they are ideas unique to the Bible. The Caste system as a religious belief is something unique, and encourages a unique way of thinking and doing. So I can identify that way of thinking as being influenced by Hinduism.

Sounds like he was inspired by Adolf Hitler...

Postby Dizzy28 » September 10th, 2015, 2:14 pm

intern wrote:

The Daran Zone yes!!!

Picasso

Postby Picasso » September 10th, 2015, 2:27 pm

intern wrote:

The Daran Zone yes!!!

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: