COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 588 cases, 12 deaths, 436 active, 140 discharged in T&T

Postby pugboy » August 17th, 2020, 7:53 pm

monday is usually a low day across the world

goalpost wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:so 36 cases today.

not great, not terrible

True eh
Again, perception changes. Just two weeks ago, 2 cases was terrible. Now 36 cases not terrible.

ST Auto

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 588 cases, 12 deaths, 436 active, 140 discharged in T&T

Postby ST Auto » August 17th, 2020, 8:06 pm

Only 36... Government restrictions working already. Maybe out of this in two weeks. Then back to normal. *Sarcasm*

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 17th, 2020, 8:15 pm

goalpost wrote:

not great, not terrible

True eh
Again, perception changes. Just two weeks ago, 2 cases was terrible. Now 36 cases not terrible.

Just to put this in perspective. The US has had roughly 200 new cases a day per million over the last month or two.

However, their testing rate per million is 215,000 per million while we are at 11,000 per million.

Studies in the US show they're only detecting between 10 to 20% of Covid cases.

So one can safely assume we're having at least 200 new infections per day. Which is not good, not good at all.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 17th, 2020, 8:21 pm

zoom rader wrote:Guilable people got played before election on Covid

What a stupid country filled with stupid people.

Give the election talk a rest. The recount done. UNC lost ok

Postby zoom rader » August 17th, 2020, 8:25 pm

elec2020 wrote:

So right after elections we get a two deaths and an increase in Covid.

Politics was played on people's health by giving the assurance that things were ok

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 17th, 2020, 8:49 pm

Is it the governments fault that people are irresponsible? That they not sanitizing or wearing masks properly? Is it their fault that people still hosting parties and congregating like is normal? Is it their fault that people refuse to stand 6 feet apart from one another? Is it their fault that after people get tested they roaming tnt like nothing happen and ain't sit down their ass till they get results on the test? Pray tell how the hell is pnm fault people playing the ass and causing the virus to spread. Explain to me that maths please. ZR stop your sheit pls.

Postby paid_influencer » August 17th, 2020, 8:50 pm

things were definitely not okay on Aug 10.

FB_IMG_1597680206744.jpeg

Blame doh cure COVID. Lockdown cure COVID. we need lockdown. Giwwe Keith, giwwe now

Postby paid_influencer » August 17th, 2020, 8:53 pm

elec2020 wrote:Is it the governments fault that people are irresponsible? That they not sanitizing or wearing masks properly? Is it their fault that people still hosting parties and congregating like is normal? Is it their fault that people refuse to stand 6 feet apart from one another? Is it their fault that after people get tested they roaming tnt like nothing happen and ain't sit down their ass till they get results on the test? Pray tell how the hell is pnm fault people playing the ass and causing the virus to spread. Explain to me that maths please. ZR stop your sheit pls.

who fault it is doh matter to covid.

stop blaming people. Start advocating for the only proven solution we have in this particular country to a coronavirus outbreak.

Postby zoom rader » August 17th, 2020, 8:57 pm

elec2020 wrote:Is it the governments fault that people are irresponsible? That they not sanitizing or wearing masks properly? Is it their fault that people still hosting parties and congregating like is normal? Is it their fault that people refuse to stand 6 feet apart from one another? Is it their fault that after people get tested they roaming tnt like nothing happen and ain't sit down their ass till they get results on the test? Pray tell how the hell is pnm fault people playing the ass and causing the virus to spread. Explain to me that maths please. ZR stop your sheit pls.
Proper measure was not put in place and is was not long enough to flatten the curve.

We can see that from the spikes and deaths.

Postby pugboy » August 17th, 2020, 9:04 pm

depending on folks to behave is like asking drivers to stay within speed limit under an honor system with no penalties

Postby zoom rader » August 17th, 2020, 9:06 pm

pugboy wrote:depending on folks to behave is like asking drivers to stay within speed limit under an honor system with no penalties
Then you put harsh sunset laws in place to deal with them. Curfews are needed with heavy fines.

Postby pugboy » August 17th, 2020, 9:06 pm

yuh ain’t see how they had eased the bar hours in the blink of an eye.
so they didn’t want to piss off the drinkers

elec2020 wrote:

Politics was played on people's health by giving the assurance that things were ok

Postby pugboy » August 17th, 2020, 9:09 pm

we will likely go past jamaica by next week even though they have a much bigger population and city sizes

Postby goalpost » August 17th, 2020, 9:11 pm

I see Rowley hosting a media conference tomorrow, but it in Balisier House, so probably not about covid.

abducted

Postby abducted » August 17th, 2020, 9:15 pm

elec2020 wrote:

The stupid people wait until after elections to dead ent, just to make PNM look good, why you so dotish?

Lou Screuz

Postby Lou Screuz » August 17th, 2020, 9:16 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

who fault it is doh matter to covid.

stop blaming people. Start advocating for the only proven solution we have in this particular country to a coronavirus outbreak.

what is that solution ?

anyhow

it is interesting to me that when there was the perception that everything was under control

and that "we are the best in the world according to oxford" or what have you i was seeing ( from facebook)

"all of you who are alive and well OWE your very LIVES to Dr. Rowley and his government"

"if that woman was in power we would all be DEAD"

but when reality unfolds

immediately after the election :wink: :

"is them people who kamla did bring in causing this"

"Pray tell how the hell is pnm fault"

"Is it the governments fault ? "

we waited too long to act

to be fair - we were in uncharted waters

but clearly - perception is not reality

Postby paid_influencer » August 17th, 2020, 9:19 pm

goalpost wrote:I see Rowley hosting a media conference tomorrow, but it in Balisier House, so probably not about covid.

I see they published some letters relating to caricom/commonwealth observers. Lots of talk about COVID19 but not much public health discussion.

I propose this thread be limited to Public Health issues, for the benefit of ZR and elect2020.

Postby pugboy » August 17th, 2020, 9:20 pm

^yeah once you have good numbers you could boast all you want
Just hope you don’t have to eat them Oxford words.

Postby paid_influencer » August 17th, 2020, 9:25 pm

Lou Screuz wrote:what is that solution ?

anyhow

The solution will hopefully be announced by the PM this Saturday. He knows what it is, I know what it is, and you know what it is.

Is like children scared of the needle. But the needle will save us from having to chop off an arm or a leg when the infection worsens.

Postby bluefete » August 17th, 2020, 9:37 pm

Postby Gladiator » August 17th, 2020, 10:08 pm

Yeah boy goalpost... They keep moving you around to suit the narrative
goalpost wrote:

not great, not terrible

True eh

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 17th, 2020, 10:11 pm

As soon as the first unknown source of Covid arose, we should have had an immediate lockdown. Especially given all the election action. All campaigning should have stopped. Both parties are to blame but if the ruling party doesn't then that obviously puts the opposition in a predicament. But still both are to blame.

The government wanted to give the impression everything was still under control.

We the people aren't the only ones to blame. And secondly, blaming people for getting sick isn't right. Many people can be obeying the rules and get it from an mild of asymptomatic or person who isn't wearing a mask.

Remember masks don't work well in preventing you from getting it, it prevents you from spreading it.

The inconsistent mixed messaging enabled people to put their guards down..... And this is our situation now.

This wasn't February and March when things were new. We should have learned from others and not make the same mistakes. Especially the mistakes made by the US.

July 21st almost a month ago we had our first case. Now 4 weeks late we've had 450+.

This overdue lockdown will help, but I can almost assuredly tell you the actual cases are a lot more and will still continue to grow.

I don't think economically we can maintain a lockdown till the vaccine is out so we may have to go the route of Sweden for the next few months after these 28 days or so.

I figure the goal right now is solely but to overload the health care system.

Good luck to us all.

abducted

Postby abducted » August 17th, 2020, 10:22 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Remember masks don't work well in preventing you from getting it, it prevents you from spreading it.

Say that again your head and tell us if that makes any sense, if both people have on a mask won't that prevent you from getting it?

Dohplaydat wrote:The inconsistent mixed messaging enabled people to put their guards down..... And this is our situation now.

No, stupidity made people put their guard down, this is global pandemic, who in their right mind would put their guard down? If people followed the protocol that is being advised all over the world then we would not have to lock down, why do people have to be forced to wear a mask, wash their hands and protect themselves? But let's blame the government.

abducted

Postby abducted » August 17th, 2020, 10:24 pm

I agree we can blame the government for lack of public PPE, blame the government for lack of health facilities, but anyone who is blaming the government for the spread, are admitting that their fellow citizens are too stupid to think for themselves
Last edited by abducted on August 17th, 2020, 10:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby maj. tom » August 17th, 2020, 10:26 pm

Yes the mask is to prevent you from spreading it, doesn't really go a long way from you receiving it.

That's why it's important for everyone to wear a mask to bring down the total risk to a very low percentage. Social distancing, hand washing AND masks by all parties bring the risk down close to less than 1%

*You could spread COVID-19 to others even if you do not feel sick.
*The mask is meant to protect other people in case you are infected.
*Everyone should wear a mask in public settings and when around people who don’t live in your household, especially when other social distancing measures are difficult to maintain.
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-nc ... ntion.html

Postby pugboy » August 17th, 2020, 10:34 pm

those masks with exhale valves help you spread

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 17th, 2020, 10:34 pm

abducted wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:Remember masks don't work well in preventing you from getting it, it prevents you from spreading it.

Say that again your head and tell us if that makes any sense, if both people have on a mask won't that prevent you from getting it?

Dohplaydat wrote:The inconsistent mixed messaging enabled people to put their guards down..... And this is our situation now.

No, stupidity made people put their guard down, this is global pandemic, who in their right mind would put their guard down? If people followed the protocol that is being advised all over the world then we would not have to lock down, why do people have to be forced to wear a mask, wash their hands and protect themselves? But let's blame the government.

When you have a government boasting how well they handled Covid and then allowing election campaigning to continue, and then constantly making up classifications of cases (local cluster, sporadic etc) to downplay the situation.....honestly do you expect the average trini to feel fearful of Covid? We know trinis, the Covid fear we felt back in March and April is long gone.

And back to the masks issue. In mid July almost no one was wearing masks outside of mandatory areas, hence why I said you can't blame the people getting sick. You don't even know if they were wearing masks.

I wasn't taking the blame off persons not wearing their masks. It is extremely complacent and irresponsible to interact with someone right now without wearing a mask.

Postby adnj » August 18th, 2020, 12:21 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
abducted wrote:

When you have a government boasting how well they handled Covid and then allowing election campaigning to continue, and then constantly making up classifications of cases (local cluster, sporadic etc) to downplay the situation.....honestly do you expect the average trini to feel fearful of Covid? We know trinis, the Covid fear we felt back in March and April is long gone.

And back to the masks issue. In mid July almost no one was wearing masks outside of mandatory areas, hence why I said you can't blame the people getting sick. You don't even know if they were wearing masks.

I wasn't taking the blame off persons not wearing their masks. It is extremely complacent and irresponsible to interact with someone right now without wearing a mask.

The parties did the campaigning. The same people that got the votes. So shouldn't you be calling YOUR member of parliament AND their opponents and beat them up instead of everyone on the forums?

The only campaigning that I saw were a few cars rolling down the avenue with their little flags hanging out, following the music truck.

CoVID Mamaguy

Postby RedVEVO » August 18th, 2020, 1:14 am

The topic needs a separate thread as follows:

Was there a collusion to " mamaguey " the T&T population regarding CoVID 19 ?

1. Why is there such a SURGE in CoVID-19 cases within 8 days ?

2. The borders are closed so why did the CoVID 19 surge to over 552 cases ?

3. Why NOW are masks important in a mandatory plan ?

4. Why were bars, restaurants with sit down etc., allowed to open freely ?

5. What was the thinking THEN and NOW ?

A Public Inquiry is needed - The President - PM and Opposition !!!

https://www.google.com/search?client=sa ... 8&oe=UTF-8

Re: CoVID Mamaguey

Postby RedVEVO » August 18th, 2020, 1:18 am

Corporate secretary of Fishermen and Friends of the Sea Gary Aboud states :

"Today, hundreds of people are sick and dying, because of the excessive socialising during this snap election .. "

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/08/16/fisher ... his-hands/