COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 552 cases, 11 deaths, 401 active, 140 discharged in T&T

Postby Gem_in_i » August 17th, 2020, 1:47 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Figures reaching that 800 mark by friday

:crazyeyes: :skurry:

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 552 cases, 11 deaths, 401 active, 140 discharged in T&T

Postby adnj » August 17th, 2020, 1:58 pm

pugboy wrote:maybe they can make a new version of the vaccine for the new mutation but then it’s gonna be a moving target.

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
pugboy wrote:the question is if covid mutates just like the common cold which is the reason there is no vaccine for the common cold

To add to this...let's say the vaccine has been created(as claimed by some countries) would it stand up to the mutated virus?? Or back to drawing board again
The vaccine's efficacy depends on how closely related the mutations are. A wide variation potentially requires a new vaccine. That is what happens with influenza vaccines currently. This year's vaccine is based on the strain that is expected to be circulating.

SARS-CoV-2 (Covid-19) has been shown to be susceptible to the similar SARS virus vaccine. That vaccine was never fully tested because the infections burned out long before trials could begin.

There are over 100 cold viruses that circulate every year and there is no vaccine for more than a fraction of those per shot.

ron_28

Postby ron_28 » August 17th, 2020, 2:01 pm

Social welfare in Rio claro shutdown as a homeless person came in a dropped a letter from the health center. Letter stated that he was tested an awaiting results.

Postby pugboy » August 17th, 2020, 2:02 pm

soon govt will to do a website with daily info on which offices shutdown

Postby redmanjp » August 17th, 2020, 2:11 pm

ron_28 wrote:Social welfare in Rio claro shutdown as a homeless person came in a dropped a letter from the health center. Letter stated that he was tested an awaiting results.

and i was just thinking about homeless persons as i saw a couple just now without masks- Min. of Social Dev. should be handing out masks for them- they obviously won't be allowed into stores to buy one unless already wearing one, and even so they dirty so they won't be allowed in anyway.

Postby redmanjp » August 17th, 2020, 2:13 pm

pugboy wrote:soon govt will to do a website with daily info on which offices shutdown

at this stage they should be working from home as far as possible- alternate days not enough

Postby pugboy » August 17th, 2020, 2:26 pm

But the public needs to know otherwise it’s a wasted trip to a closed office,

redmanjp wrote:
pugboy wrote:soon govt will to do a website with daily info on which offices shutdown

at this stage they should be working from home as far as possible- alternate days not enough

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 565 cases, 12 deaths, 413 active, 140 discharged in T&T

Postby K74T » August 17th, 2020, 2:39 pm

FB_IMG_1597689522609.jpeg
FB_IMG_1597689246901.jpeg

tropi_flakes

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 308 cases, 8 deaths, 161 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby tropi_flakes » August 17th, 2020, 2:45 pm

redmanjp wrote:
pete wrote:Once you submit a sample you have to sign the quarantine letter?

i didn't get tested so i doh know what procedure there is for that- i just asked the CMOH to send me a letter via email so i can forward it to my boss. I only sign it when i print it for HR- not to give to the CMOH.
Can you pm me some info on this letter or the process to get one, was feeling a bit under the weather this morning and informed my office, they told me to stay home but hr called back telling me to get a quarantine letter. Calling 800-well is a waste, called 7 times for the day was on hold for over and hour in most of them and still unable to speak to an agent. And I don't want to venture outside unnecessarily trying to find out where to go or what to do.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 565 cases, 12 deaths, 413 active, 140 discharged in T&T

Postby pugboy » August 17th, 2020, 2:53 pm

Who is the second private lab apart from st Augustine medical which can do testing?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 17th, 2020, 2:56 pm

pugboy wrote:Who is the second private lab apart from st Augustine medical which can do testing?

St Claire I believe

asmr26

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 308 cases, 8 deaths, 161 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby asmr26 » August 17th, 2020, 2:58 pm

tropi_flakes wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
pete wrote:Once you submit a sample you have to sign the quarantine letter?

i didn't get tested so i doh know what procedure there is for that- i just asked the CMOH to send me a letter via email so i can forward it to my boss. I only sign it when i print it for HR- not to give to the CMOH.
Can you pm me some info on this letter or the process to get one, was feeling a bit under the weather this morning and informed my office, they told me to stay home but hr called back telling me to get a quarantine letter. Calling 800-well is a waste, called 7 times for the day was on hold for over and hour in most of them and still unable to speak to an agent. And I don't want to venture outside unnecessarily trying to find out where to go or what to do.

From my experience, I got the letter after getting a PCR swab done at SFGH. You sign after submitting a sample and the letter is then signed by the medical officer and stamped. I don't think you can get the letter without being tested, but I could be wrong.

You also get a 14-day sick leave certificate and a form to take to your local health centre to get a Fit to Work issued after completing quarantine.

Postby pugboy » August 17th, 2020, 2:59 pm

No, St Clair uses St aug

Dohplaydat wrote:
pugboy wrote:Who is the second private lab apart from st Augustine medical which can do testing?

St Claire I believe

Postby MaxPower » August 17th, 2020, 3:05 pm

Friends,

Does anyone know the ethnicity of the majority of those testing positive?

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » August 17th, 2020, 3:27 pm

Why would someone pay for a test that can be done free? If you test positive they HAVE to inform the MoH and you going in a state facility anyhow.

Postby pugboy » August 17th, 2020, 3:30 pm

Because moh only testing you if you have visible symptoms.

If a member of your family was positive or was in close contact you may want to get yourself tested out of caution to avoid spreading if you are asymptomatic.

fokhan_96 wrote:Why would someone pay for a test that can be done free? If you test positive they HAVE to inform the MoH and you going in a state facility anyhow.

Postby The_Honourable » August 17th, 2020, 4:00 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:Why would someone pay for a test that can be done free? If you test positive they HAVE to inform the MoH and you going in a state facility anyhow.

Unless you living in the west........

Re: COVIDIOTS in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 17th, 2020, 5:09 pm

T&T reports that the age of Covid positive patients are now younger than previously expected.
The average age of the covid-19 female patients is now 35-39 and in males it is now 25-29 in T&T

Postby maj. tom » August 17th, 2020, 5:49 pm

Now that it's here spreading for all, frontpage this and highlight it please. As well as what to do next locally.

The main symptoms of coronavirus are:

**a high temperature – this means you feel hot to touch on your chest or back (you do not need to measure your temperature)

**a new, continuous cough – this means coughing a lot for more than an hour, or 3 or more coughing episodes in 24 hours (if you usually have a cough, it may be worse than usual)

**a loss or change to your sense of smell or taste – this means you've noticed you cannot smell or taste anything, or things smell or taste different to normal

Most people with coronavirus have at least 1 of these symptoms.

https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/coronavir ... /symptoms/

Symptoms of COVID-19
Symptoms of COVID-19 can vary from person to person. Symptoms may also vary in different age groups. Some of the more commonly reported symptoms include:

**new or worsening cough
**shortness of breath or difficulty breathing
**temperature equal to or over 38°C
**feeling feverish
chills
fatigue or weakness
muscle or body aches
**new loss of smell or taste
headache
gastrointestinal symptoms (abdominal pain, diarrhea, vomiting)
feeling very unwell
Children have been more commonly reported to have abdominal symptoms, and skin changes or rashes.

In severe cases, infection can lead to death.

Symptoms may take up to 14 days to appear after exposure to COVID-19.

Evidence indicates that the virus can be transmitted to others from someone who is infected but not showing symptoms. This includes people who:

have not yet developed symptoms (pre-symptomatic)
never develop symptoms (asymptomatic)
https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/ ... oms.html#s

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 17th, 2020, 6:02 pm

^ done

Postby K74T » August 17th, 2020, 6:06 pm

FB_IMG_1597701797865.jpeg

Postby K74T » August 17th, 2020, 6:42 pm

23+

FB_IMG_1597704124178.jpeg

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » August 17th, 2020, 6:49 pm

K74T wrote:23+

So they stop stating if it's pending investigation....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 17th, 2020, 6:51 pm

Data is from a few days ago but check out the comparison
EfoXKUCX0AIzR6t.jpeg

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 588 cases, 12 deaths, 436 active, 140 discharged in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » August 17th, 2020, 7:12 pm

so 36 cases today.

not great, not terrible

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 588 cases, 12 deaths, 436 active, 140 discharged in T&T

Postby Chimera » August 17th, 2020, 7:26 pm

shakes what you say about the "rumour" that for the past several weeks before election there has been covid related deaths but they list cod it as pneumonia and other related illnesses

Postby zoom rader » August 17th, 2020, 7:33 pm

Guilable people got played before election on Covid

What a stupid country filled with stupid people.

Postby redmanjp » August 17th, 2020, 7:34 pm

tropi_flakes wrote:
K74T wrote:23+

So they stop stating if it's pending investigation....

and if is for the past 24 hrs or a few days

Postby goalpost » August 17th, 2020, 7:39 pm

paid_influencer wrote:so 36 cases today.

not great, not terrible

True eh
Again, perception changes. Just two weeks ago, 2 cases was terrible. Now 36 cases not terrible.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » August 17th, 2020, 7:39 pm

Low-cost measurement of facemask efficacy for filtering expelled droplets during speech

https://advances.sciencemag.org/content ... dv.abd3083

Summary

https://advances.sciencemag.org/content ... .large.jpg

You should be wearing N95 and the fitted ones are the best if not Surgical or Polymer Cotton blend.

Bandanas, knitted or fleece material are not good.
F3.large.jpg