COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 552 cases, 11 deaths, 401 active, 140 discharged in T&T

Postby redmanjp » August 17th, 2020, 11:16 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
wing wrote:
maj. tom wrote:Soon the authorities will have to start blaming someone else for this to save face.
Probably blame the patients themselves.
Can someone contract covid if they have on a mask, exercise social distancing, limit interaction at work or in public, sanitise rigorously etc?

Yes but the risk is lower.

According to the latest studies just being in the same room with a Covid+ person for a day, even if you both wear masks and stay 10ft apart, you still have a relatively high chance of contracting it. Especially if the room is poorly ventilated.

But like many have said, practicing social distancing and mask wearing will reduce your risk significantly, but it's definitely not foolproof

can you cite a source? would like to send it to some work colleagues

wing

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 552 cases, 11 deaths, 401 active, 140 discharged in T&T

Postby wing » August 17th, 2020, 11:17 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
wing wrote:
maj. tom wrote:Soon the authorities will have to start blaming someone else for this to save face.
Can someone contract covid if they have on a mask, exercise social distancing, limit interaction at work or in public, sanitise rigorously etc?

According to the latest studies just being in the same room with a Covid+ person for a day, even if you both wear masks and stay 10ft apart, you still have a relatively high chance of contracting it. Especially if the room is poorly ventilated.

But like many have said, practicing social distancing and mask wearing will reduce your risk significantly, but it's definitely not foolproof
Thanks, the point I'm making is that the majority of patients will have themselves to blame. It will be interesting to see the figures in the next couple of weeks after the events of yesterday.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 17th, 2020, 11:23 am

redmanjp wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
wing wrote:

I haven't researched it, but Dr. Fauci mentioned this is a few of his latest recent videos, I'm sure the references exist if you look up those videos. The one with Matthew Mcconaughey mentioned it as well I believe.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 17th, 2020, 11:25 am

https://www.ucsf.edu/news/2020/07/41818 ... 0Francisco.
redmanjp wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
wing wrote:

Postby maj. tom » August 17th, 2020, 11:26 am

I agree with you fully wing. What i meant, and should have been clearer, is the politics that will always be at play. That there will always be someone else to blame in politics. Not the medical authorities. And while the majority of patients are going to have to be blamed for their own situation regarding the acute spread of this virus, a number of persons can get the virus even while following the health measures 100%. We should not think we're immune and be complacent regardless of following the guidelines carefully.

I still remember on the last day of July how the PM said they observed the outbreaks following this exact pattern in NY and other places , but they will continue to flaunt those observation by trusting the public to do the right thing (the public is stupid and everyone knows this). And he should have been more strict right there like he finally did yesterday. Elections could have happened still and the same results would be there. It's useless now to discuss this because the past is done and gone, but i'm sure you know how politics are played out.

Postby redmanjp » August 17th, 2020, 11:34 am

so how do we get questions to the media conference ?

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 17th, 2020, 11:36 am

How do we contact the media anonymously

Postby toyolink » August 17th, 2020, 11:40 am

Honestly blue dots mean very little at this stage.
Everyone need to assume both of our islands are blue.
Our population density and high mobility means the virus is all over.
Panic, fear and mental fatigue are not the answer......just manage your availability to be exposed.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 17th, 2020, 11:50 am

Wikipedia page could do with some updating
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/COVID-19_ ... and_Tobago

Screenshot 2020-08-17 at 11.50.02 AM.jpg

Postby The_Honourable » August 17th, 2020, 11:58 am

Claims of Covid chaos at Caura Hospital

Suiting up: Nurse Paul yesterday tries on a hazmat suit, which will be worn at the Caura Hospital by staff treating anyone who may be affected by the coronavirus.

Days after being sent to the Caura Hospital, some patients are complaining that they are yet to know whether they are Covid-19 positive or negative as they have received no results.

One woman, who preferred to remain anonymous, reached out to the Express this morning to complain that diabetic patients and those with other underlying medical conditions are among about a dozen patients on one ward waiting to receive results of their polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test.

The woman said after displaying flu-like symptoms, she went to the Arima General Hospital on August 5 and was given a document to sign agreeing to home quarantine for 14 days.

She said when her condition worsened and she began experiencing shortness of breath and chest pains, she returned to the hospital on August 7.

She said she overnighted at the hospital and the following morning hospital officials told her she had to wait for the thoracic medical director at Caura Hospital Dr. Michelle Trotman to decide the next move.

“They did two x-rays. One said I had a chest infection and the other said I had pneumonia. That was when Dr. Trotman decided that she would send me to Caura to be monitored. They told me I would get the results of a Covid-19 test soon,” she stated.

“Today is the tenth day I’ve been here and I’ve never received results. When I arrived at Caura I was here by myself. Now there are about 13 other people on the ward. They too are waiting for results. Some are severely ill and some have underlying health issues like diabetes. Some came and don’t even know why they are here because they just went to the health centre because of pains or diarrhea and they were sent here,” the Caura patient told the Expres.

“I was now talking to a lady and she said she wasn’t ill. She was getting a pain and she was in the health centre overnight and she was getting diarrhea and they never dealt with her. They sent her to Mt. Hope and from Mt. Hope they sent her here. There’s even a mom here with her daughter. The mom was not sick before but she’s starting to get ill. The doctors who are here can’t tell us anything because they don't know what’s happening,” she went on.

“There’s a lady here who was in quarantine at home, then she was sent to Mt. Hope and then here. She’s been in quarantine for over 16 days and she is still awaiting her test results. They keep telling us we will get the results and to hold strain and that if we need to talk to a psychiatrist to let them know,” she said.

The woman said she hopes health officials look into the matter as patients are becoming weary.

Source: https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/c ... 843b3.html

Postby pugboy » August 17th, 2020, 12:08 pm

Yup, man say he spoke to other countries and they said that is the tipping point but yet they went ahead with wine and jam elections plus relaxed the hours for bars without blinking an eye.

maj. tom wrote:
I still remember on the last day of July how the PM said they observed the outbreaks following this exact pattern in NY and other places , but they will continue to flaunt those observation by trusting the public to do the right thing (the public is stupid and everyone knows this). And he should have been more strict right there like he finally did yesterday. Elections could have happened still and the same results would be there. It's useless now to discuss this because the past is done and gone, but i'm sure you know how politics are played out.

Postby K74T » August 17th, 2020, 12:10 pm

FB_IMG_1597680206744.jpeg
FB_IMG_1597680203804.jpeg
FB_IMG_1597680156914.jpeg

X-Axis

Postby X-Axis » August 17th, 2020, 12:16 pm

12 deaths now

Postby redmanjp » August 17th, 2020, 12:21 pm

K74T wrote:FB_IMG_1597680156914.jpegFB_IMG_1597680203804.jpegFB_IMG_1597680206744.jpeg

where u get the graphs?

Postby redmanjp » August 17th, 2020, 12:39 pm

X-Axis wrote:12 deaths now

so that's 4 ppl for this wave so far. how much allyuh think we would reach for this wave? 20? 50?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 17th, 2020, 12:43 pm

redmanjp wrote:
X-Axis wrote:12 deaths now

so that's 4 ppl for this wave so far. how much allyuh think we would reach for this wave? 20? 50?

Honestly from now till the end of the year, probably 200+

Postby aaron17 » August 17th, 2020, 12:50 pm

How much you think they should be charging ppl who not wearing masks?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 17th, 2020, 12:50 pm

Figures reaching that 800 mark by friday

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » August 17th, 2020, 12:54 pm

88sins wrote:So I was watching the news yesterday.
Seems the virus has mutated, US based researchers have discovered that several samples of the virus have mutated, developing characteristics that would allow it to attach itself to cells easier and more securely, making it more contagious and more difficult for the body's immune response system to battle than earlier samples.
As of now, they're awaiting the results of peer review testing to confirm.

It was always expected to mutate #D614G. That's what viruses do. So far, it's not that bad yet, which is why the vacc needs to come out sooner. Saw this in my feed last week...

Postby redmanjp » August 17th, 2020, 12:55 pm

so in the absence of community testing at the beginning of the first wave- do u think there could have been just as much cases then & they went undetected, or is it still more now?

Postby redmanjp » August 17th, 2020, 12:59 pm

aaron17 wrote:How much you think they should be charging ppl who not wearing masks?

$5000-20000, and maybe made to pay their hospital bill if they positive

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 17th, 2020, 1:00 pm

redmanjp wrote:so in the absence of community testing at the beginning of the first wave- do u think there could have been just as much cases then & they went undetected, or is it still more now?

It's unlikely imo. There are definitely much more now.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » August 17th, 2020, 1:05 pm

//followup

Will D614G Make Infections More Severe?

So far there is no evidence that infection with SARS-CoV-2 containing the G614 variant will lead to more severe disease. By examining clinical data from 999 COVID-19 cases diagnosed in the United Kingdom, Korber et al. (2020) found that patients infected with viruses containing G614 had higher levels of virus RNA, but they did not find a difference in hospitalization outcomes.

Grubaugh et al., Making Sense of Mutation: What D614G Means for the COVID-19 Pandemic RemainsUnclear, Cell (2020), https://doi.org/10.1016/j.cell.2020.06.040 URL:https://www.cell.com/cell/pdf/S0092-8674(20)30817-5.pdf

.. also https://www.sciencemag.org/news/2020/07 ... -dangerous

Postby pugboy » August 17th, 2020, 1:07 pm

the question is if covid mutates just like the common cold which is the reason there is no vaccine for the common cold

Postby aaron17 » August 17th, 2020, 1:17 pm

pugboy wrote:the question is if covid mutates just like the common cold which is the reason there is no vaccine for the common cold

bruhh

Postby redmanjp » August 17th, 2020, 1:20 pm

pugboy wrote:the question is if covid mutates just like the common cold which is the reason there is no vaccine for the common cold

H1N1 mutated but it got less severe or deadly, perhaps because we retain some level of immunity from the original pandemic H1N1 it gives a little protection from the mutated form- so i hope that's the case with covid.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 17th, 2020, 1:30 pm

To add to this...let's say the vaccine has been created(as claimed by some countries) would it stand up to the mutated virus?? Or back to drawing board again

Postby pete » August 17th, 2020, 1:32 pm

redmanjp wrote:
aaron17 wrote:How much you think they should be charging ppl who not wearing masks?

$5000-20000, and maybe made to pay their hospital bill if they positive

No way.

$100-300 fine max for not wearing a mask.

Really what's needed is a heavier fine for business places permitting persons to enter without masks on. That could be in the $5k-20k range.

In outdoor spaces people should be given a mask FREE and if they refuse to put it on then be given a fine.

Postby pugboy » August 17th, 2020, 1:39 pm

maybe they can make a new version of the vaccine for the new mutation but then it’s gonna be a moving target.

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

To add to this...let's say the vaccine has been created(as claimed by some countries) would it stand up to the mutated virus?? Or back to drawing board again

Postby adnj » August 17th, 2020, 1:40 pm

PariaMan wrote:https://www.ucsf.edu/news/2020/07/418181/one-more-reason-wear-mask-youll-get-less-sick-covid-19#:~:text=It's%20likely%20that%20face%20masks,specialist%20at%20UC%20San%20Francisco.
redmanjp wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
wing wrote:

Poor ventilation is always an issue unless you are wearing a hazmat suit with a N100 respirator.

https://www.businessinsider.com/south-k ... art-2020-4

https://www.businessinsider.com/coronav ... low-2020-5

https://asiatimes.com/2020/07/covid-19- ... ion-study/