New Trinidad & Tobago $ money polymer notes

Re: New $100 bill revealed

Postby maj. tom » December 16th, 2019, 6:08 pm

Scotiabank ATM Transactions
ATMs will continue to accept and pay out the existing TT$100 until December 31, 2019. ATMs are not currently dispensing the new polymer $100 bill.

We encourage you to continue using digital channels – point of sale, cash merchant services, online banking as far as possible to conduct transactions.
https://tt.scotiabank.com/personal/one- ... -note.html

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 16th, 2019, 6:20 pm

maj. tom wrote:
ATMs will continue to accept and pay out the existing TT$100 until December 31, 2019. ATMs are not currently dispensing the new polymer $100 bill.

We encourage you to continue using digital channels – point of sale, cash merchant services, online banking as far as possible to conduct transactions.
Lel

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » December 16th, 2019, 6:27 pm

any reason why scotia so far behind the curve?

Postby pugboy » December 16th, 2019, 6:31 pm

because every single thing they do has to be vetted by canadian head office.

even depositing a cheque, the teller has to send the request to a central location where somebody approves it.

ProtonPowder wrote:any reason why scotia so far behind the curve?

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 16th, 2019, 6:54 pm

pugboy wrote:because every single thing they do has to be vetted by canadian head office.

even depositing a cheque, the teller has to send the request to a central location where somebody approves it.

It's almost like they want people to leave.
From card skimming to crap service to cc fraud

assassin

Postby assassin » December 16th, 2019, 7:34 pm

Scotia started a programme to replace all ATMs with new ones prior to colm and faris masterplan to panic the country in Christmas season.

The new machines were calibrated for paper money. It seems they trying to install a majority of new machines and then do the update for polymer notes rather than to update the old machines and piecemeal updates to new machines

assassin

Postby assassin » December 16th, 2019, 7:43 pm

I went into Scotia today with 30k old bills to DEPOSIT to my account. Teller asks what's the source of funds. I say RBL. She asks for the receipt. I say I don't have it

She says wait with the cash while she asks the manager if they can accept it. I say that the official statement is that they will change 50k with an account. I'm looking to deposit so what is the issue?

She says she still has to ask her manager. I say if the guideline has changed, they need to issue an official statement. She goes, talks to the manager and then comes back and starts to count my money. Manager never comes to speak to me

Dem bankers under pressure and passing on d pressure to d public
redmanjp wrote:https://newsday.co.tt/2019/12/15/proof-of-address/

Proof of address

I laundered $1,700 this week.

Serious! Come arrest me, nah.

Actually I could have turned myself in. I was at a meeting the day before and after on nonprofits washing terrorist money, hobnobbing with the heads of the FIU and Anti-Terrorism Unit. It’s a small country! Whose size, development and lingering orderliness give us an opportunity to create people-centred policy, as policymakers aren’t hopelessly distant from small people and everyday life.

I waited over two hours at a bank, amid the horde lined up to swap old paper money for shiny plastic notes, whose cost to taxpayers seems some sort of state secret those we elected need to withhold from us.

The minimum-wage security guard in front me, on break from her shift, was counting her Christmas-season earnings decline with every minute in the line. Banks aren’t open when she’s off work. She’d stood in even longer banklines the day before for a different transaction. (This bank – and I’m not aware of any other – hasn’t thought to simply separate people, like me, there for routine business from the influx of withdrawn-banknote-redeemers.)

After an hour and a half, her counterpart at the bank, another woman, who viscerally gets this cost, came and skipped her to the head of the line. No one objected; though I imagine she’d get punished for that act of empathy if I shamed the bank by name.

Guardlady lost maybe $26.25 waiting, saved $17.50 – sums that mean far less to many others in the line.

Or not. A lawyer scoffed at my story: his old aunt asked him to line up to change a few thousand for her; no need to, he’d dispense with that cash in normal Christmas spending.

The visual contrasts and similarities were striking between these two women in their demeaning-by-design, ill-fitting uniforms and three unfashionably dressed young Indian men, each with a moxy lunchbag once full of cash, who spent most of the time I did in line at one window, chatting together, while someone at the bank was likely figuring out what to do with them.

Behind me was a woman teaching in the East. She passed some of the time chatting with a colleague who’d been ahead of us in line. He’d come from Arima to Port of Spain, not on his own business, but to support an unwell colleague, sharing turns waiting in line.

These are the differential costs to the public – and the economy – of the $100-note demonetisation measure government leaders have forced on the nation over the coming two weeks, as the Finance Minister openly admits, without having figured out, despite four years’ planning, how to cross several Is or dot a number of Ts. It’s an anti-laundering initiative they’ve half sold to the large number of us with bank accounts, credit cards, cars, flexible time, whom it shouldn’t inconvenience terribly.

Though, in my experience, it actually has. I’d avoided joining the bandwagon of naysayers for whom no authority ever gets the benefit of the doubt, rolling my eyes at the Maha Sabha’s latest lawsuit – even posting on Facebook congratulating one bank for customer responsive measures and effective communication about them.

Imagine that, eh. Me who lives to cuss and carry on in banking halls at the outrage of their profitability and utter disregard for customer orientation.

Ah, but soon enough I got to do the usual. My two hours finally got me to the head of the line. And all my reasonableness vanished.

First I got told the department for the transaction I’d arrived within banking hours to complete was now closed – too bad I’d waited so long. I couldn’t get foreign currency for my trip the next day.

Two relatives abroad had given me some small money – one eight $100 bills, another nine – they said I could either spend here before they lost value or change and bring back for them when I travelled. So I decided, let me at least do that.

I handed the teller the 17 notes wordlessly. She knew why we were all here. She looked up, asking politely what I wanted to do.

Swap them.

You can deposit them to an account and withdraw cash in new notes; or if you want to swap them you must provide a utility bill as proof of address. Regardless of amount. And ID.

And no driver’s permit that has an address (where Government is going to mail traffic tickets that will be legally delivered) – only a passport or an EBC card.

Where were the clear public notices or media reports explaining this stupidity to small people? Homeless people? It’s in the Bankers Association ad, she assured. I used an O in my social-media expletive; no polite British/American U would do.

I deposited my relatives’ paper notes in my nonprofit’s business account, and took out polymer cash. That is the definition of money laundering.

And I’m looking to join Vijay Maharaj’s lawsuit. Yesterday Colin Robinson

Postby Redman » December 16th, 2019, 7:48 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
pugboy wrote:because every single thing they do has to be vetted by canadian head office.

It's almost like they want people to leave.
From card skimming to crap service to cc fraud

I thought it was just me.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » December 16th, 2019, 8:19 pm

assassin wrote:I went into Scotia today with 30k old bills to DEPOSIT to my account. Teller asks what's the source of funds. I say RBL. She asks for the receipt. I say I don't have it

She says wait with the cash while she asks the manager if they can accept it. I say that the official statement is that they will change 50k with an account. I'm looking to deposit so what is the issue?

She says she still has to ask her manager. I say if the guideline has changed, they need to issue an official statement. She goes, talks to the manager and then comes back and starts to count my money. Manager never comes to speak to me

Dem bankers under pressure and passing on d pressure to d public

That is some serious dotishness.

Postby bluefete » December 16th, 2019, 9:18 pm

Mamoo passed out while waiting in the line.

Rakeeb Mohamed
· 11 hrs ·

This man in probably his 70s was in RBC - (edit : Chaguanas) this morning around 9 and fell down waiting to cash his little money , this lady and and an employee who is well trained in first aid assisted him . God bless this lady and the employees who assisted him . This is only one of these incidents that is taking place throughout our country caused by the government putting the people of tnt in real stress my heart goes out to all banks workers who are having a real stressful and hard time also.

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid ... =3&theater

Postby Chimera » December 16th, 2019, 9:36 pm

Normally they would refuse that 30k deposit. Their new instructions are to accept all deposits and report to fiu. Fiu will decide if to take it further

Postby MaxPower » December 16th, 2019, 9:45 pm

National ID card
Drivers License
Passport
Airport
Banks
Traffic

For years and years allyuh standing up waiting in lines in this banana country....i dont understand why now allyuh complaining about this lining up ting.

I could understand the old folks, but allyuh young ppl have to stfu and wait in line.

Postby sMASH » December 16th, 2019, 11:48 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Normally they would refuse that 30k deposit. Their new instructions are to accept all deposits and report to fiu. Fiu will decide if to take it further

they are stupid. they now thought of that. since last week i posted that on fb somewhere.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » December 17th, 2019, 2:01 am

please note the church dont want no ole 100 dollar bill for new years eve mass

Postby adnj » December 17th, 2019, 5:48 am

bluefete wrote:Mamoo passed out while waiting in the line.

Rakeeb Mohamed
· 11 hrs ·

This man in probably his 70s was in RBC - (edit : Chaguanas) this morning around 9 and fell down waiting to cash his little money , this lady and and an employee who is well trained in first aid assisted him . God bless this lady and the employees who assisted him . This is only one of these incidents that is taking place throughout our country caused by the government putting the people of tnt in real stress my heart goes out to all banks workers who are having a real stressful and hard time also.

Sorry but standing in line had nothing to with it. Old Dude was going to pass out at 9 am no matter where he was.

death365

Postby death365 » December 17th, 2019, 8:21 am

Perhaps you need to understand situational analysis.... But ah guess u is ah trini so thats out the window...

My bad.... Go back being unknowingly ignorant
adnj wrote:
bluefete wrote:Mamoo passed out while waiting in the line.

Rakeeb Mohamed
· 11 hrs ·

Sorry but standing in line had nothing to with it. Old Dude was going to pass out at 9 am no matter where he was.

Postby redmanjp » December 17th, 2019, 9:25 am

It happened to a bank worker and now a customer

Postby Dizzy28 » December 17th, 2019, 9:35 am

redmanjp wrote:It happened to a bank worker and now a customer

This is actually the 2nd pic of an elderly person collapsing in a bank that I have seen. The first was on the first or second day of the exercise

Imbutt and Stewie real showing them money launderers who is boss!!

Postby sMASH » December 17th, 2019, 9:46 am

doh vex with the bank, with this one. this one is totally imburt fault.
banks banks only at fault for charging unnecessary fees.

Postby Gladiator » December 17th, 2019, 9:47 am

redmanjp wrote:It happened to a bank worker and now a customer

This is actually the 2nd pic of an elderly person collapsing in a bank that I have seen. The first was on the first or second day of the exercise

Imbutt and Stewie real showing them money launderers who is boss!!

the bank worker died...

Postby j.o.e » December 17th, 2019, 9:49 am

Old people fall down in the bank everyday, only difference now is it’s newsworthy.
Unpopular but fact

Postby Dizzy28 » December 17th, 2019, 10:02 am

j.o.e wrote:Old people fall down in the bank everyday, only difference now is it’s newsworthy.
Unpopular but fact

Also unpopular but probably a fact is that this exercise is lipstick on a pig.
No coincidence it was preceded by the quarter with the biggest volume of suspicious transactions ever according to the FIU.

We all know where we live and know that the ruling party politicians must have tipped of the big fish that control both the political parties and the black economy long time about the need to divest.

What were are left with are a lot of poor, retired and old people suffering unjustly with their only crime being not trusting the blood sucking banks and maybe a small percentage of medium and small time criminals and idiots being caught in the net.

Postby pete » December 17th, 2019, 10:10 am

I hope the FIU has enough staff to sort through all these Source of Funds forms that will be submitted..

Postby Dizzy28 » December 17th, 2019, 10:14 am

pete wrote:I hope the FIU has enough staff to sort through all these Source of Funds forms that will be submitted..

And then what??
FIU can't investigate. Legally they have to hand off to one of 4 other agencies for investigations - Customs, Immigration, Police and BIR.

All those agencies have their own issues.
As I said lipstick on a pig

originalbling

Postby originalbling » December 17th, 2019, 10:27 am

maj. tom wrote:

Just called them. They said they hoping to get the branch ATMs updated by end of day today.

Up to yesterday Tunapuna ones were down, Couva was out of service and PPlaza wasnt doing deposits in the evening.

For the first working day of the week and you can't even use the atm is not acceptable when they pushing digital banking.

Postby MaxPower » December 17th, 2019, 10:59 am

originalbling wrote:Just called them. They said they hoping to get the branch ATMs updated by end of day today.

Up to yesterday Tunapuna ones were down, Couva was out of service and PPlaza wasnt doing deposits in the evening.

For the first working day of the week and you can't even use the atm is not acceptable when they pushing digital banking.

Expected from a country that is being managed under a mango tree.

Postby pugboy » December 17th, 2019, 11:02 am

hard luck for scotia yes
they prob trying to get folks from toronto to fly down and do the work
the other banks have in house techs as well as better working relationships with local suppliers

Postby toyolink » December 17th, 2019, 12:18 pm

Its really very difficult to observe what our elderly and infirmed citizens are being subjected to during this exercise.
The bank employees are not to be forgotten since the work load is continuous and the work hours extended.
One really wonders if this is really necessary, especially in light of the fact that the really big players are so well organized that their currency conversion issues are more or less settled.

Postby MaxPower » December 17th, 2019, 12:29 pm

Hey Trini bobolees,

When is enough enough?

When allyuh gonna start to stand up together for once?

Never?

Ok then STOP complaining.

Postby pete » December 17th, 2019, 12:35 pm

Maybe the banks should have implemented dedicated lines for the elderly with a number system and seating so they don't have to stand around in the regular line.