Re: New $100 bill revealed

Postby gastly369 » December 11th, 2019, 6:22 pm

MaxPower wrote:Trinis,

Allyuh eh fed up get bobolize?

Look at the chaos the govt have allyuh doing on this rainy day. And allyuh just bending over taking it deep in the ass like some coonoomoonoos.

But this is what allyuh vote for, this is what allyuh wanted....allyuh LIKE IT SO ent?

Postby Chimera » December 11th, 2019, 6:22 pm

brickman wrote:Reported robbed of 61k,find it hard to believe that you walk to the bank with that & no kind of security.
https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_ ... 7841270384

you would be surprised that business owners going to the bank with 100k-150k in their pockets and laptop bag normal normal every 2 days

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » December 11th, 2019, 6:23 pm

MaxPower wrote:Trinis,

Allyuh eh fed up get bobolize?

Look at the chaos the govt have allyuh doing on this rainy day. And allyuh just bending over taking it deep in the ass like some coonoomoonoos.

But this is what allyuh vote for, this is what allyuh wanted....allyuh LIKE IT SO ent?

I pissed AF today because I gone ATM to pay for some stuff from a store in South. The man tell me he not accepting no new $100. I get on vex and tell him he lost me as customer.

But then he explained his side, saying that he can't keep going back to the bank to change this money. He doesn't have someone to trust to do it for him and wasting a couple hours everyday in the bank will make him lose too much money. I get it but this is just the worse freaking time to ever implement something like this.

I wasn't against it at all, honestly supported it but this is causing far more chaos than its worth.

This should have been implemented after Xmas, give the population 3 months and seriously why the firetruck aren't the ATMs updated yet? FFS

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » December 11th, 2019, 6:24 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
brickman wrote:Reported robbed of 61k,find it hard to believe that you walk to the bank with that & no kind of security.
https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_ ... 7841270384

you would be surprised that business owners going to the bank with 100k-150k in their pockets and laptop bag normal normal every 2 days

61k is no kinda of money.

Postby goalpost » December 11th, 2019, 6:32 pm

Diaz it dey.
I ent voting for this Govt again dey.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » December 11th, 2019, 6:57 pm

So based on an interview with Republic Bank's Nigel Baptiste, who spoke on behalf of his bank this morning, the following is important:

1. At Bank ATMS will begin dispensing polymer notes by tomorrow. Machines needed software to be tweaked in order to dispense the new notes.

2. Unbanked persons (ppl without accounts) can change up to $10k in cash but have to provide ID and proof of address. For larger amounts they must go to Central Bank.

3. Deposits can be made via ATMS of around $2000 - $2,500 at a time. Some people have done multiple transactions of this nature, so if your overall deposit is an unusual amount you will eventually have to fill out a source of funds form.

4. After Dec 31st you will have to exchange your paper notes at the Central Bank.

5. Persons living abroad can visit the Central Bank to exchange notes after Dec 31st. Currently there is a 3-month window.

6. Republic's branches will be offering extended hours. Branches that work 8 am to 2pm will work from 8 am to 4pm. On Fridays they will work from 8 am to 5pm. Selected branches will be opened on a Saturday until Dec 31st. Mall banks will carry their usual hours.

#RealBlues. https://www.facebook.com/575067811/post ... 12?sfns=mo

Postby redmanjp » December 11th, 2019, 7:16 pm

US Embassy only accepting new polymer note from Dec. 13th for some transactions

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 11th, 2019, 8:17 pm

Ok so how long we have again until we can use these $100 notes in supermarkets etc?

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » December 11th, 2019, 8:48 pm

I believe you can use it as soon as you have it.

Ent some places already stop accepting the old ones.

A man tell me that they want to bring out bigger value notes like 200 and up but how they have to wait until everything switch to 'polermer'

Postby Dizzy28 » December 11th, 2019, 9:55 pm

Is how the sycophants defending this whole process as foresight in crime fighting. Same names I remember for being so against the SOE because of the inconvience to citizens.

Postby zoom rader » December 11th, 2019, 10:06 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Is how the sycophants defending this whole process as foresight in crime fighting. Same names I remember for being so against the SOE because of the inconvience to citizens.
I glad you spotted it, was waiting to see who would observer this.

Had this been the UNC doing this all hell would have broken on tuner.

Postby De Dragon » December 11th, 2019, 10:13 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Is how the sycophants defending this whole process as foresight in crime fighting. Same names I remember for being so against the SOE because of the inconvience to citizens.

Then the PNM kant crew, which is all of them, will gang up and accuse you of being pro-criminal.

Postby The_Honourable » December 11th, 2019, 10:46 pm

Deposit option unavailable at scotiabank smart ATMs so if you want to deposit a check, line up.

Postby zoom rader » December 11th, 2019, 10:53 pm

Then the PNM kant crew, which is all of them, will gang up and accuse you of being pro-criminal.
Elite would have been the first

Postby zoom rader » December 11th, 2019, 11:05 pm

Racist statements made by Impsbert and Jenny primeass on hard working folk that sell pumpkin and bhaji.

The PNM Kant tuners yet to respond to this.

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/i ... ium=social

Postby De Dragon » December 11th, 2019, 11:38 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Deposit option unavailable at scotiabank smart ATMs so if you want to deposit a check, line up.

Which location? There were people depositing in Couva early this morning.

Postby RedVEVO » December 12th, 2019, 12:39 am

Plenty pumpkin ? Plenty spinach ?

https://www.guardian.co.tt/article-6.2. ... 9fc4b6db94

Anil: Imbert must explain why so much $$ at home

Wed Mar 20 2013

" .. Min­is­ter of Sport Anil Roberts yes­ter­day trained his guns on the PNM's Colm Im­bert say­ing the Diego Mar­tin North MP must ex­plain why he had more than $.5 mil­lion in T&T and US cur­ren­cy stashed away in his Hills­bor­ough, Mar­aval, home when rob­bers pounced on Mon­day .. "

Postby The_Honourable » December 12th, 2019, 1:09 am

The_Honourable wrote:Deposit option unavailable at scotiabank smart ATMs so if you want to deposit a check, line up.

San Fernando - High St and Cipero St.

The old "Diebold" ATMs still accepting deposits where you put your money or check in an envelope to deposit. Couva probably still have them and didn't switch out to the smart ATMs as yet.

Princes Town still have the old machines as I used it earlier to deposit a check.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » December 12th, 2019, 1:14 am

hong kong phooey wrote:the rush is probably to give the pee onm voters a christmas present . within the next few days we will see how many people get robbed
Suspect the PNM media houses will keep robbies out of their garbage news propaganda.

this is very true couple people get robbed in south nothing made the news

Postby hydroep » December 12th, 2019, 1:44 am

Tourists caught up in the melee too...:|

Customers frustrated
Disappointed, frustrated customers still receiving ‘old’ $100, but....
Leah Sorias

MANY customers trying to access the new polymer $100 notes via automated teller machines (ATMs) were again left disappointed and frustrated yesterday as they were only able to get “old” $100 notes.

At an RBC Royal Bank ATM in Fiver Rivers, Arouca, an elderly man blurted out expletives after receiving $1,400 in paper-based $100 bills.

“What nonsense is this? I thought they said we could get the new money from today? Some pla­ces not taking this!” he exclaimed.

“How them doing things back to front so? Before they bring out the new money, they should make sure all the ATMs have it first,” he added.

Another man posted on Facebook that he tried withdrawing money at both RBC and Republic Bank (RBL) ATMs yesterday morning, but was given old bills.

“It’s madness. Both RBC and Republic ATMs are circulating old hundred dollar bills. What sense does that make? All banks should have swapped out all bills on hand. That way, they would not add to the already crazy madness....

“We have tourists at Republic Bank Crown Point (Tobago) that are also being denied changing their old bills to new as they don’t have an account,” he added.

Later yesterday, Republic Bank confirmed most of its branch ATMs were dispensing polymer notes.

Managing director Nigel Baptiste responded to Express enqui­ries, saying: “Most of the branch ATMs are now dispensing the new notes...all the in-branch ones should be operationalised by the weekend and the offsite ones within a few days thereafter.

Scotiabank was also yesterday continuing to configure its machines to dispense new $100 notes.

As it was on Tuesday, there were long lines at commercial banks in Port of Spain and along the East-West Corridor yesterday as customers tried to exchange their old $100 bills for new polymer notes.

Others who visited the banks to conduct regular business were caught up in the long lines.

“I have so much to get done before I travel (abroad). This is frustra­ting. All I came here to do is to get a few US dollars,” said a woman waiting in line at RBC Royal Bank in Trincity Mall.

The scene was no different at RBL and First Citizens in Port of Spain.

Few ATMs dispensing new bills

Another bank confirmed yesterday that customers were already able to withdraw the new banknotes from ATMs.

Responding via e-mail to questions from the Express, RBC’s seni­or manager, corporate communications, personal and commercial banking, Andrew McGrath confirmed that ATMs at San Juan and Park Street, Port of Spain, were dispensing the polymer bills.

Asked how long it will take for all RBC Royal Bank ATMs to be configured to dispense the new notes, McGrath noted: “Our teams are working diligently around the clock to ensure our entire ATM network is able to dispense the new banknote well in advance of the December 31 demonetisation of the old paper banknotes.”

An official at Scotiabank said the polymer notes were not yet available at the bank’s ATMs, and customers will be advised when they will become available.

US Embassy: New notes for consular services

In a statement, the United States Embassy in Port of Spain advised that as of December 16, it will only accept the new $100 polymer note for in-person cash payments for consular services, including passport and other services for US citi­zens; non-immigrant visa reciproci­ty and petition-based application fees and immigrant visa fees.

“This notice does not pertain to the payment of the $160 non-immigrant visa application fee, which must be paid at a Scotiabank location prior to the visa interview. As a reminder, the US Embassy does not accept online payments for this fee,” the embassy said.

The embassy advised applicants to consider paying fees via credit card during the transition period to the new polymer notes.

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/customers-frustrated/article_872e4e3c-1c85-11ea-8f69-634a1c5ce235.html

screwbash

Postby screwbash » December 12th, 2019, 2:05 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Ok so how long we have again until we can use these $100 notes in supermarkets etc?

most supermarkets use secure cash pickup with armored gards and trucks and they take the money to the banks so once the money in the bank the supermarket have nothing to worry about. i assume the grocery with cut off end of day on the 31st and the armored truck will take the money to the bank and thats it.

Postby De Dragon » December 12th, 2019, 4:49 am

The_Honourable wrote:

San Fernando - High St and Cipero St.

The old "Diebold" ATMs still accepting deposits where you put your money or check in an envelope to deposit. Couva probably still have them and didn't switch out to the smart ATMs as yet.

Princes Town still have the old machines as I used it earlier to deposit a check.

Couva has the newest machines with touchscreens and "no envelope" depositing up to $5000.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » December 12th, 2019, 5:25 am

You should get rid of your old notes as soon as possible and forget about that deadline. The problem is that even though it's legal tender until the 31st many businesses, especially the smaller ones would stop taking the old bills way before that. The problem is more people are paying via cash now for items they probably would have paid with card or smaller change ($50, $20,$10). So many people now buying a bottle water.... and paying with $100, ah pack of biscuit... and paying with $100... ah pen, ah pvc fitting, etc ...
So these businesses simply have no change to give people when they pay with $100 bills, until they go to the bank to face the long lines which they would be doing less frequently now.
screwbash wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Ok so how long we have again until we can use these $100 notes in supermarkets etc?

most supermarkets use secure cash pickup with armored gards and trucks and they take the money to the banks so once the money in the bank the supermarket have nothing to worry about. i assume the grocery with cut off end of day on the 31st and the armored truck will take the money to the bank and thats it.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 12th, 2019, 5:48 am

fokhan_96 wrote:You should get rid of your old notes as soon as possible and forget about that deadline. The problem is that even though it's legal tender until the 31st many businesses, especially the smaller ones would stop taking the old bills way before that. The problem is more people are paying via cash now for items they probably would have paid with card or smaller change ($50, $20,$10). So many people now buying a bottle water.... and paying with $100, ah pack of biscuit... and paying with $100... ah pen, ah pvc fitting, etc ...
So these businesses simply have no change to give people when they pay with $100 bills, until they go to the bank to face the long lines which they would be doing less frequently now.
screwbash wrote:

WOW holy crap

Ok going and change out these $100 bills quick yes. Hadda go and buy some dollar fiesta biscuits and thing yes

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » December 12th, 2019, 7:18 am

Some are able to do deposits

Postby zoom rader » December 12th, 2019, 7:24 am

PNM bandit robbies is not being reported by the PNM media houses.

Postby pugboy » December 12th, 2019, 7:35 am

Mint condition current $100 bills sell for about $30usd on eBay
So keep a few old ones if you have in mint condition.

Will certainly sell for more after they become invalid.

Postby zoom rader » December 12th, 2019, 7:51 am

pugboy wrote:Mint condition current $100 bills sell for about $30usd on eBay
So keep a few old ones if you have in mint condition.

Will certainly sell for more after they become invalid.

Hoss hushhh that's my hustle.

I sell the 1977 notes for $300US each

Nexus

Postby Nexus » December 12th, 2019, 8:07 am

Serious question,
How does a farmer or other persons in the informal sector prove their source of funds. Most probably do not keep proper records (their fault perhaps), are not registered businesses and would conduct their day to day activities in all cash mostly. At the market, they aint writing receipts out for every bundle of bhagi sold and the middle men that buying from them not either.

Look at the case of india who did this same thing about two years ago, it largely failed.... no money launderers were held and the biggest impact was on those most vulnerable in the society.

Seriously, who taught this out? What was the real intent?

Postby MaxPower » December 12th, 2019, 8:15 am

The tourists should have known better and done their research before they came here.

Next time they would know not to waste their time and money in allyuh banana country.