Re: Which Credit Card Would give you best returns/points

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 30th, 2019, 4:20 pm

jl6106 wrote:Scotia aero platinum visa. Points for days

Agreed

Postby goalpost » August 30th, 2019, 9:36 pm

I guess the only way to redeem theAero points involves going thru Scotia directly to find and book flights?

Postby pete » August 31st, 2019, 12:00 am

goalpost wrote:I guess the only way to redeem theAero points involves going thru Scotia directly to find and book flights?
Kinda. Just look up the flights you want on Expedia/the airlines, write down flight numbers and dates then call Scotia and give them the information and they will have their travel agent book the flights. You just need to pay the taxes.

Postby goalpost » September 13th, 2019, 8:51 pm

I went ahead and got the Scotia aero visa.

But hear this nah, I know I could've asked the CSR but time did not permit, & i also forgot:
I saw there was a scotia aero rewards website. It prompts a membership number and password. This site is for trini? Whey I getting that from?
Also are points posted on Scotia online account? How long does it take to update?

Thanks.

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 13th, 2019, 8:56 pm

goalpost wrote:I went ahead and got the Scotia aero visa.

But hear this nah, I know I could've asked the CSR but time did not permit, & i also forgot:
I saw there was a scotia aero rewards website. It prompts a membership number and password. This site is for trini? Whey I getting that from?
Also are points posted on Scotia online account? How long does it take to update?

Thanks.

Actually called them today for this. The number is on the card below the actual card number, TT..........
You will have to call them for the initial temporary password to log in though.

grad

Postby grad » September 14th, 2019, 12:48 am

I have RBC caribbean miles card. Since i have it about 6 years now...me n my wife went to st martin and orlando for free. The orlando was first class to come back. All we pay is the taxes which is about 800 total. We also gonna use it again this year and i still have about 60k miles still to use.

For me i think its best value for money to take the miles vs the cashback. It works out to to a better dollar value.

I have online banking so i clear my card like a debit card so i dont get charged interest.

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » September 29th, 2019, 11:30 pm

nismodriver wrote:
~Vēġó~ wrote:Scotia Aero Platinum ftw....each us$ spent = 1 aero point

Platinum and Black :)
And you can use points for cash back when travelling as well....
There are tons of other features for traveling on it as well.

DId they update the features on the black?
Didn't really see the point in paying extra fees for a parking space in the bank. Online banking ftw.

One that I use alot when travelling is unlimited access to airport lounges for you and a guest. If you travel alot, it works out well.
Also they offer US$25 per person at some restaurants/bars towards the bill.
So you walk out of Corona Bar in Miami Airport paying US$5 for the tip and your lunch and drink was free.

NR8

Postby NR8 » September 30th, 2019, 12:15 am

Anyone else hasn't had their last Scotia statement posted on the online system yet? Hotline CSR told said they were doing some upgrades but one week gone and still not showing up.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » September 30th, 2019, 2:57 am

most important thing for your points to work for you is pay off your entire bill on time. do not run up a balance because the interest charges way exceeds the points. If you cannot pay of your credit card every month get rid of it

Postby *KRONIK* » September 30th, 2019, 5:14 am

So, i am being forced to give up my scotia card for a republic

Anybody have both and can give a simple pro/con of each

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » September 30th, 2019, 6:10 am

*KRONIK* wrote:So, i am being forced to give up my scotia card for a republic

Anybody have both and can give a simple pro/con of each

I have a republic and i am happy with it . They on the ball and call everytime they believe a transaction is fraudulent
No issues using it on paypal or in foreign countries . Just call and notify them when you are leaving etc

Only thing is they raise your limits without asking you but once u in control of your card that is not an issue .

downside is their branches . not all branches are the same . I have stopped going to Penal branch because their service suck . Gulf is so friendly and much better costumer service . less questions and happy for you to visit their branch.

Postby goalpost » September 30th, 2019, 6:14 am

I'm the other way. Giving up my Republic platinum visa for the Scotia. The republic expires at end of October.
Had the Scotia for less than a month and already racked up 18k points, but that's with the promo they have going now.
Didnt really see any major benefits with the republic except the bonus points certificates, which really isnt that much.
My only problem is that my income doesnt come thru Scotia so I have to deposit cash at the Scotia ATM to pay off the cc. Will be closing off the republic account soon and have my salary go straight to Scotia to make it much easier.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » September 30th, 2019, 11:20 am

NR8 wrote:Anyone else hasn't had their last Scotia statement posted on the online system yet? Hotline CSR told said they were doing some upgrades but one week gone and still not showing up.

I'm having that problem too

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » September 30th, 2019, 5:08 pm

my mAjor problem with republic is there two separate balances for US and TT.
Quite an annoyance that it isn't one balance denominated at going rate like a FCB credit card (no experience with Scotia) thus forcing you to pay off the two balances independently.

Postby A172 » September 30th, 2019, 8:13 pm

scotia points changed to 5k usd every month or the lesser of your card limit if is less than 5k

so basically your points per month cut in half steups

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 30th, 2019, 8:14 pm

goalpost wrote:I'm the other way. Giving up my Republic platinum visa for the Scotia. The republic expires at end of October.
Had the Scotia for less than a month and already racked up 18k points, but that's with the promo they have going now.
Didnt really see any major benefits with the republic except the bonus points certificates, which really isnt that much.
My only problem is that my income doesnt come thru Scotia so I have to deposit cash at the Scotia ATM to pay off the cc. Will be closing off the republic account soon and have my salary go straight to Scotia to make it much easier.

Again, new to this points thing.

When do your points show up? Used about $15k on that card since August and meem see nothing bout points on the Aero site. Still says zero.

Postby *KRONIK* » September 30th, 2019, 8:21 pm

As we on points

I have some points on the scotia card
How do i redeem them?
Is not much tho

NR8

Postby NR8 » September 30th, 2019, 10:03 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Again, new to this points thing.

When do your points show up? Used about $15k on that card since August and meem see nothing bout points on the Aero site. Still says zero.
It won't update till the end of your statement cycle but it could possibly be because they say upgrades are being done to the system.

*KRONIK* wrote:As we on points

How do i redeem them?
Is not much tho
You have to call. The info can be found on the scotia aero rewards website.

My last monthly statement still hasn't been posted.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » September 30th, 2019, 11:11 pm

daxt0r wrote:my mAjor problem with republic is there two separate balances for US and TT.
Quite an annoyance that it isn't one balance denominated at going rate like a FCB credit card (no experience with Scotia) thus forcing you to pay off the two balances independently.

this actually works for me. i get to pay off the US with us cash i have or collect over the month.
when the convert it converts a their mid rate which is high

carluva

Postby carluva » October 1st, 2019, 6:17 am

NR8 wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:Again, new to this points thing.

It won't update till the end of your statement cycle but it could possibly be because they say upgrades are being done to the system.

*KRONIK* wrote:As we on points

How do i redeem them?
Is not much tho
You have to call. The info can be found on the scotia aero rewards website.

My last monthly statement still hasn't been posted.
Call them on 627-2684.

Same problem on this end. I called, spoke to a CSR, went thru all my transactions on the statement and was able to get an email with the statement sent in a link.

Postby goalpost » October 1st, 2019, 9:42 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:
goalpost wrote:I'm the other way. Giving up my Republic platinum visa for the Scotia. The republic expires at end of October.

Probably have to call them. Mine was updated last week after the first statement cycle elapsed.
It's not updated on scotia online but on the scotia aero rewards site.

Postby *KRONIK* » October 1st, 2019, 10:31 am

Whey bai

If a point is 1cent
I eh bothering to fight up
They say you could only redeem at 5000points

originalbling

Postby originalbling » October 1st, 2019, 10:35 am

1usd = 1 point/mile. I think they are using 6.80TTD to convert.

so yea you basically need to spend 20,000USD to get a free return ticket to FLL or NYC

Postby Kenjo » October 1st, 2019, 11:35 am

A172 wrote:scotia points changed to 5k usd every month or the lesser of your card limit if is less than 5k

What exactly is this ?

regone

Postby regone » October 1st, 2019, 11:38 am

A172 wrote:scotia points changed to 5k usd every month or the lesser of your card limit if is less than 5k

sauce?

Postby pete » October 1st, 2019, 1:45 pm

originalbling wrote:1usd = 1 point/mile. I think they are using 6.80TTD to convert.

so yea you basically need to spend 20,000USD to get a free return ticket to FLL or NYC

Not free though. Need to pay taxes still.

originalbling

Postby originalbling » October 1st, 2019, 1:53 pm

^^ well yea lol

terms and conditions here:

https://tt.scotiabank.com/personal/cred ... tions.html

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » October 1st, 2019, 4:26 pm

regone wrote:

sauce?

Source

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 1st, 2019, 7:12 pm

goalpost wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:

Probably have to call them. Mine was updated last week after the first statement cycle elapsed.
It's not updated on scotia online but on the scotia aero rewards site.

Was updated today on the Aero website.

Postby sMASH » October 1st, 2019, 8:45 pm

today i went scotia bank, and most persons there were there concerning their cards getting skimmed. like at least 20
one random guy had charges at HYATT and what not, up to 22k was charged to all kinda places over the week end.

but any way, i found out that sometimes tellers dont fully clear the balance of a Credit Card. they pay out the principle but leave the compound interest. it compounds every day, then show up as a big amount at the end of the month.

so, if u paying off ur CC, ensure to tell ur teller to pay off the balance, and interest. so that u dont owe any money.