How Much Does A Root Canal Cost?

Re: How Much Does A Root Canal Cost?

Postby maj. tom » July 2nd, 2019, 11:49 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
maj. tom wrote:Oh you too? My dentist insists on never using alcohol mouthwash because it irritates and damages the cell lining in the mouth and also kills the good bacteria.

So why is Listerine still rated as one of the top mouthwashes?

This is what my dentist told me, I believe that's what the man learned in school compared to what laypeople learned from ads on TV. Listerine now has an entire range of alcohol-free mouthwash. Listerine is a very popular brand that will be on the market forever. Its original purpose was an antiseptic for surgery in the 19th century: "in 1879, Listerine antiseptic (developed as a surgical antiseptic but nowadays best known as a mouthwash) was named after Joseph Lister."

Original Listerine with 29% ethanol is a very old formula (1914) and the alcohol is used as a preservative and a solvent for other menthol type compounds, rather than and antibacterial. It also makes bad breath worse. Original Listerine with alcohol is still around because of tradition with older people. I think you will see fewer alcohol mouthwashes on the shelf in the future, except for cheaper brands because it's cheaper to make.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » July 2nd, 2019, 12:01 pm

what about ACT?

Postby Rovin » July 2nd, 2019, 7:48 pm

cud remember d Listerine ads back in d day dat encouraged u to feel d burn

this time none of d actors in d ads eh put a damn ting in they mouth but pretending they swishing it around then rising & smiling... :lol:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 2nd, 2019, 7:58 pm

Sundar wrote:what about ACT?

Highly recommended

Postby rspann » July 2nd, 2019, 9:53 pm

Root canal does give another meaning to Bluetooth.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 3rd, 2019, 2:00 pm

My dentist recommends ACT.
But its availability is spotty (in Pennywise at least). So using Scope now because last month didn't get ACT.

neexis

Postby neexis » July 5th, 2019, 5:50 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
maj. tom wrote:Oh you too? My dentist insists on never using alcohol mouthwash because it irritates and damages the cell lining in the mouth and also kills the good bacteria.

So why is Listerine still rated as one of the top mouthwashes?

Probably because of good marketing and decades of brand establishment

neexis

Postby neexis » July 5th, 2019, 5:54 am

My dentist recommends ACT.
But its availability is spotty (in Pennywise at least). So using Scope now because last month didn't get ACT.

The main reason for recommending ACT is for the fluoride that can supplement what's in your toothpaste.
The other mouthwash with fluoride is actually the purple Listerine Total Care/Anticavity.

I dunno bout you, but that Scope had a a weird taste and made everything I ate taste funny.

Postby zoom rader » July 5th, 2019, 6:51 am

Do like them old injun and use dattwain all yuh theet will stay in your mouth.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 5th, 2019, 8:50 am

All the old people I knew had no teeth or false teeth. Modern oral hygiene for me
zoom rader wrote:Do like them old injun and use dattwain all yuh theet will stay in your mouth.

Postby pugboy » July 5th, 2019, 1:43 pm

Yeah boy
Flossing important too

HSA

Postby HSA » July 5th, 2019, 2:11 pm

paid 2800 by caribbean smiles. dr gajadar. 4 years and still good.

ary1

Postby ary1 » July 5th, 2019, 4:24 pm

I had a root canal horror story that is too long to go into. My advice is to go to an endodontist. They specialize in this procedure.

eitech

How Much Does A Root Canal Cost?

Postby eitech » July 5th, 2019, 4:31 pm

I remember when my root canal issue came up and i initially went to mt hope dentistry. Dr came in an exam my mouth. Then invited his 8 students to poke dey finger in my gum. I was like wth

Postby pugboy » July 5th, 2019, 4:33 pm

What scary is if the ok file extractor tip break off deep inside the tooth
Is pressure to get it out

Postby maj. tom » July 5th, 2019, 8:50 pm

eitech wrote:I remember when my root canal issue came up and i initially went to mt hope dentistry. Dr came in an exam my mouth. Then invited his 8 students to poke dey finger in my gum. I was like wth

lol is that how teaching hospitals work? I wonder...

Postby rspann » July 5th, 2019, 8:57 pm

eitech wrote:I remember when my root canal issue came up and i initially went to mt hope dentistry. Dr came in an exam my mouth. Then invited his 8 students to poke dey finger in my gum. I was like wth

Just be thankful it wasn't a prostate exam.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » July 6th, 2019, 3:18 pm

Did 2 r/canals and one extraction in 2007, by Kassam in Sando. Took 8 visits in total One failed last year and had to remove ( it fractured and filling detached) at the new place outside of ptown. Was reasonable enough. A cleaning cost me 250.

Postby tr1ad » July 7th, 2019, 10:34 am

Over the cost of 3 visits it cost me 3500 not too long ago at Victoria Dental (Victoria Nursing Home) in South

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 7th, 2019, 12:19 pm

dan, you went in ah dental school..wah u expect...just because it free nah

viedcht

Postby viedcht » July 7th, 2019, 2:42 pm

I remember doing that Mt Hope specimen/medical display thing long ago when I was 18... Wasn't dental, but it was no fun. Money was okay though haha.

eitech

Postby eitech » July 7th, 2019, 3:42 pm

Well the root canal issue i had led me to do something called apicetomy. Google that. Did it by marcus daniel bout 6 yrs ago. He is really good. Anyways cost me $13k.

eitech

Postby eitech » July 7th, 2019, 3:45 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

dan, you went in ah dental school..wah u expect...just because it free nah

Well boi i was given a number and was told i will be called. Dat was 6 yrs ago and i haven’t been called yet. Good thing i went privately to get the procedure done

Postby bluefete » July 7th, 2019, 3:53 pm

^^ I used to go to NYU dental school and let them practice on me. It was waayy cheaper than going to established dentists. Got most of my amalgam fillings from them back in the day.

They were quite good and lasted for years until they started chipping or falling out. Replaced them in T&T with the white stuff they use today.

Postby bluefete » July 7th, 2019, 3:56 pm

Dr. Marcus Daniel is very good. He took out a couple of my wisdom teeth. Cost about $3k each. He put me to sleep and a couple minutes later is waking me up full of laughing gas, tooth removed gum sanitized and no pain.

You have to be very careful with that gas though, because it causes you to say things ..........