****the official CRICKET thread*****

fallen18

Re: ****the official CRICKET thread*****

Postby fallen18 » June 22nd, 2019, 5:02 pm

Full credit to braithwaite, roach, cotterill and thomas. The rest of them, smh and that includes gayle and hetmeyer despite their contributions. We bat (slog) like we bowl (short) , most times. One trick ponies who feel like there is only one way to play. Gayle is excluded a bit cus this is his game and he has been tremendously successful at it in all formats. Poor shot selection time and time again when we were ahead of the game and only needed to play sensibly. Sensible cricket just doesnt go hand in hand with WI anymore. It was the same vs AUS. Before the WC i was worried about the middle order cus I didnt see any player who was capable of stitching the innings together and batting deep like how in recent time chanderpaul would have done. It was really only Hope and well he didnt have the best of WCs. Maybe and opportunity missed to try and prep chase and/or dowrich. I could understand why they wanted to include bravo cus he has the ability but he has been out of form for years. It was the same for Lewis, he was out of form coming into the WC and also had very little game time in recent time so the including him wasn;t ideal imo. Also IMO pooran is not a ODI player (yet) doesnt have the maturity. On his day, he can help accelarte the innings and might contribute a quick fire 50 but the maturity to convert that into a 100 esp when the team needs you. I don't see. I guess the same could of been said of braithwaite and he delivered this time, but atleast with him he does give you an alright bowling option. If you tell me Pooran as a backup WK finebut not as a middle lower batsman. Ultimately WI only have themselves to blame for being out of the WC. This game (NZ), AUS and Bangladesh should of been wins, yet it was thrown aware with the most amateurish of displays time and time again.

eitech

Postby eitech » June 22nd, 2019, 5:10 pm

5 duck yes

Postby Dizzy28 » June 22nd, 2019, 5:18 pm

Switched off the TV when Roach was dismissed. Didn't realize till just now WI got within 1 hit of winning

Postby bluefete » June 22nd, 2019, 5:31 pm

eitech wrote:5 duck yes

Dem fellas was studying river lime.

Postby hydroep » June 22nd, 2019, 7:45 pm

Give jack he jacket, that was a boss knock by C.B.

Buh lehwee be honest eh. The man had 7 balls to make six runs, so he coulda take he time. Instead he tried to finish in style and ended up throwing away the match. Unforgivable...:|

Postby bluefete » June 22nd, 2019, 8:09 pm

hydroep wrote:Give jack he jacket, that was a boss knock by C.B.

Buh lehwee be honest eh. The man had 7 balls to make six runs, so he coulda take he time. Instead he tried to finish in style and ended up throwing away the match. Unforgivable...:|

My thoughts exactly. Brainless cricket again!

I was hoping that he would take a single from the last ball of the 49th over. That would have left them with 5 runs to get in 6 balls. But no............

I have not seen Shakes come in as yet. I hope his heart is okay.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 22nd, 2019, 10:28 pm

bluefete wrote:
hydroep wrote:Give jack he jacket, that was a boss knock by C.B.

My thoughts exactly. Brainless cricket again!

I was hoping that he would take a single from the last ball of the 49th over. That would have left them with 5 runs to get in 6 balls. But no............

I have not seen Shakes come in as yet. I hope his heart is okay.

Ah reach :lol:

Sensible batting was all they needed as mentioned above, gayle, shimron& sad to say carlos just gave it away...there was still one over to go, all the work done...

Then windies terrible in the field...oh well, there goes the windies cup run...meh next team still unbeaten doh

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » June 23rd, 2019, 7:18 am

Snatching defeat from the jaws of victory is what they're accustomed doing. Nothing great about yesterday I.m.o., we have all seen innings like that each and every year with each and every team.......example.......Kane Williamson innings against South Africa to carry his team to victory 2 days ago AND getting a century......THAT mindset is what's lacking for WI cricket.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 23rd, 2019, 8:04 am

Premchand1976 wrote:Snatching defeat from the jaws of victory is what they're accustomed doing. Nothing great about yesterday I.m.o., we have all seen innings like that each and every year with each and every team.......example.......Kane Williamson innings against South Africa to carry his team to victory 2 days ago AND getting a century......THAT mindset is what's lacking for WI cricket.

As i said before, windies batsmen need a few pages from koli et al

cornfused

Postby cornfused » June 23rd, 2019, 9:10 am

Carlos was batting with the tail, what really irks me is the how Hetty, Holder, and Pooran got out, shot selection. We need a proper ODI spinner. All who hailing Kholi we also have a top five ODI batsman in Shai Hope. We were competitive. The tail and Carlos took us close.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 23rd, 2019, 10:35 am

cornfused wrote:Carlos was batting with the tail, what really irks me is the how Hetty, Holder, and Pooran got out, shot selection. We need a proper ODI spinner. All who hailing Kholi we also have a top five ODI batsman in Shai Hope. We were competitive. The tail and Carlos took us close.

class is class padna, can't beat Sharma, Kohli, Rahul & Dhawan with text book cricket shots...one could actually check how much times Koli played a sweep shot or hit across the line throughout his career...Only Hope shows characters with the bat, everyone else still have that t20 nature in them

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » June 23rd, 2019, 10:49 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
cornfused wrote:Carlos was batting with the tail, what really irks me is the how Hetty, Holder, and Pooran got out, shot selection. We need a proper ODI spinner. All who hailing Kholi we also have a top five ODI batsman in Shai Hope. We were competitive. The tail and Carlos took us close.

class is class padna, can't beat Sharma, Kohli, Rahul & Dhawan with text book cricket shots...one could actually check how much times Koli played a sweep shot or hit across the line throughout his career...Only Hope shows characters with the bat, everyone else still have that t20 nature in them
Agreed. I watched Rohit bat a few games aback when he got his hundred.....even the commentators were saying it was an error free innings by him......no forced shots, no hit and hope and nothing risky.....just played each ball at it's merit and converted his singles to boundaries and sixes as he settled in . Mental strength makes the difference

Postby Dizzy28 » June 24th, 2019, 9:48 am

WI and Afghanistan winning on Saturday would have really thrown the top 4 race into a nice position with England having lost the day before.
England's last three matches are against the other top 3 sides and they are by no means certain of a top 4 spot and Saturday would have given more context to matches to come had WI and Afg won.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 24th, 2019, 10:36 am

Agreed....im firm on the top 3...that lost spot is open till the end

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » June 24th, 2019, 3:38 pm

So Russell is out for the rest of the WC, replaced by Sunil Ambris. An opener to go with Gayle at the top and push Hope to 3 where he belongs, Lewis is probably out next game so Brathwaite probably stays in.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 25th, 2019, 7:34 am

Doesnt make a difference...windies out of the tournament...

Postby pugboy » June 25th, 2019, 8:19 am

i suspect russell have cartilage wear and tear damage in his knee
very long term damage and not easy to fix

ot heard lara hospitalized with chest pain in india

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 25th, 2019, 9:01 am

Lara prolly eat some bad curry...hope he is fine

Postby hydroep » June 25th, 2019, 9:03 am

Like the after-party effects now kicking in...:|

Lara admitted to hospital with chest pain
Jelani Beckles

WEST Indies batting legend Brian Lara has been admitted to hospital in India after suffering from chest pain.

Lara, who had week long celebrations in Trinidad for his 50th birthday in May, was taken to the Global Hospital in Parel, Mumbai, after complaining of pain in the chest, today.

The severity of Lara’s situation is unclear, but according to India Today Lara is expected to be discharged from the hospital soon. Lara is in India working for Star Sports during the ICC Cricket World Cup, which is being held in England and Wales.

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/06/25/lara-admitted-to-hospital-with-chest-pain/

Postby hydroep » June 26th, 2019, 7:42 am

Pakistan decimate the NZ top order: 46/4.

They cyar read Afridi at all.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 26th, 2019, 8:34 am

84-5
Wkt taking spin...this would be a nice game

Postby hydroep » June 26th, 2019, 2:39 pm

Pakistan buss dem up. Is a real dogfight for that 4th spot...

Postby bluefete » June 26th, 2019, 3:00 pm

Happy that Pakistan won a game.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 26th, 2019, 3:22 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Agreed....im firm on the top 3...that lost spot is open till the end

:mrgreen:

Postby hydroep » June 26th, 2019, 3:43 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Agreed....im firm on the top 3...that lost spot is open till the end

Call a name nah man...:lol:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 26th, 2019, 5:55 pm

hydroep wrote:

It swinging between Eng, Pakistan and dare I say Bangladesh....England have two tough games ahead while Pakistan have two okayish games left....

Next interesting thing is who tops the table...Ind or the Aussies

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » June 26th, 2019, 8:53 pm

Australia picking up some serious momentum their last two games ..... especially their last game against New Zealand there.....saw a faultless team in batting and bowling. If they continue this way....they gonna run through everyone like a tornado . I hope they run out of steam by next 3-4 games tho

Postby hydroep » June 27th, 2019, 4:18 am

hydroep wrote:

It swinging between Eng, Pakistan and dare I say Bangladesh....England have two tough games ahead while Pakistan have two okayish games left....

Next interesting thing is who tops the table...Ind or the Aussies

The commentators were having a field day comparing Pakistan's 1992 run with this year's tournament. After yesterday's win #7 is a perfect match as well.

Now, if I was a superstitious fella...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 27th, 2019, 5:48 am

You saw it too^ lmao....daz some freaky sheit there...let's see if the windies can salvage some pride today

Postby Dizzy28 » June 27th, 2019, 9:14 am

WI have that much vaunted Indian batting line up in a bind. The real question is can they chase down whatever the eventual score is?

India has shown that their middle order is more brittle than expected and not just today. The loss of Dhawan has seriously impacted them more than they can afford.

Australia has seriously jumped to the top of my list of favourites and Pakistan is hitting a crescendo right about now to