quietdevil

Re: TTEC Tax ?

Postby quietdevil » June 11th, 2019, 7:19 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
boxy wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
boxy wrote:I think u need to rework your mathematics. By raising the rate they will remove part of the subsidy even if they remove all you seriously think a big firm gonna be running the country only Electricity company just to break even?

That private firm going and be Colm Imbert x 10 talking rubbish bout they in riot yet. Heck The firm might be owned by he family

Think again FPL (Miami).
Efficiency.
I did think maybe if u put (Trinidad) in them brackets u might feel diffrently

TTEC should be privatized .

Gov't cannot handle management .

FPL is private . They have a nuclear generator .

TTEC should install a nuclear generator in Tobago.

Maybe then it can be of use to mankind.

Can we really maintain a nuclear plant? I give it a year before a Chernobyl event. What we need to look into is using the mud volcanoes for geothermal plants

Postby 88sins » June 11th, 2019, 8:14 pm

quietdevil wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
boxy wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
boxy wrote:I think u need to rework your mathematics. By raising the rate they will remove part of the subsidy even if they remove all you seriously think a big firm gonna be running the country only Electricity company just to break even?

That private firm going and be Colm Imbert x 10 talking rubbish bout they in riot yet. Heck The firm might be owned by he family

Think again FPL (Miami).
Efficiency.

Can we really maintain a nuclear plant? I give it a year before a Chernobyl event. What we need to look into is using the mud volcanoes for geothermal plants

Son, if only you knew how much bs ppl does hadda go thru to install a a simple back up power generator or solar power system in their private property in this place, and you want T&TEC consider using our tiny low heat mud volcanoes for geothermal power generation. & mind you, with enough properties that generate their own solar power, they can easily supply T&TEC with power.

None of these things are ever gonna happen

Postby The_Honourable » June 11th, 2019, 10:53 pm

The Oilfield Workers Trade Union is accusing the government of breaking the law by withholding an electricity rate increase.

The statement comes just days after it was revealed that T&TEC is owed $700 million by customers.

Union vice president Peter Burke says a rate increase is more than overdue and its time for the state to review its agreements with industrial and commercial clients before the impact affects the commission and its workers.

Xecutive

Postby Xecutive » June 11th, 2019, 11:42 pm

quietdevil wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
boxy wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Think again FPL (Miami).
Efficiency.

Son, if only you knew how much bs ppl does hadda go thru to install a a simple back up power generator or solar power system in their private property in this place, and you want T&TEC consider using our tiny low heat mud volcanoes for geothermal power generation. & mind you, with enough properties that generate their own solar power, they can easily supply T&TEC with power.

None of these things are ever gonna happen

Let’s not forget land space and setbacks required to establish these types of plants. Then you have to factor in costs for site preparation, construction, operation and maintenance. Might as well remove the subsidy and increase rates. The returns might be greater this way.

Postby 88sins » June 12th, 2019, 6:46 am

Nah, the rates could remain as is, but if it increases in should be by no more than 25%
& the reason why I say it could remain as is, is because prectically all that $700M owed is owed by state agencies and increasing the rates will not make them pay for power, so an increase will be akin to a tax, telling the population they have to pay for state agencies electricity usage.

When you consider the thing carefully tho, T&TEC is owed in arrears approximately 7-8% of the annual budget, so it's not an unmanageable amount. I suspect that the only reason it remains unpaid is because either somewhere monies are being wasted & others diverted from paying utilities to cover this wastage, or they just want to say there needs to be an increase as a way to get more $$ from so the public.

But if it were easier and more ppl were able or allowed to install solar power in their homes and buildings, there'd be less of a drain on T&TEC, & ppl could supply them with power. But dem eh go want that, cuz dat could lead to less money for some fool to frig up.

Postby Ben_spanna » June 12th, 2019, 7:34 am

our stupid minister should shut da fkcu up! if they really want to conserve on energy for the future they should be encouragning everyone to go GREEN and offer refunds for anyone who can send power to the grid!.
Until they can announce similar or put any plan like this In place they can hush their crunts and stop yapping!

Postby 88sins » June 12th, 2019, 8:13 am

Glad to see ppl eh chupid like dem sinisters

Postby adnj » June 12th, 2019, 8:59 am

The cost of electricity in much of the Caribbean typically lies between USD $0.30 - $0.40 per kWh and fluctuates with prevailing oil prices.  In comparison the cost of electricity in Trinidad & Tobago is steady at around $0.05 per kWh.  Many attribute this large discrepancy to T&T having cheap and abundant gas resources, and to an extent this is true.  However, the bulk of the benefit comes in the form of a subsidy on electricity.  While not as popular in the public domain as the fuel subsidy, the electricity subsidy is one of the major barriers to the uptake of renewable energy penetration in T&T.

The history of the electricity subsidy

In T&T all electricity is produced using natural gas making our twin island state the second nation in the world to achieve this feat (the first being Qatar). 

The mechanics of the electricity subsidy

The electricity subsidy is at its core an opportunity cost subsidy.  T&Tec purchases gas from the NGC at a rate that is significantly below the prevailing market rate. T&Tec then pays the independent power producers (Powergen, Trinity Power or TGU) to convert the chemical energy inherent in the natural gas to electrical energy at a negotiated rate outlined in the respective power purchase agreements (PPAs). Therefore the cost price of electrical generation is equal to the following formula:

Cost of natural gas + Cost of conversion = Cost Price of Electricity Generation

Adding in the cost of distribution, O&M and capital depreciation brings you to the fully loaded cost of electricity in T&T. From the formula it is therefore clear that the main driver for the low price of electricity is the subsidized natural gas price.  As a result, the NGC is foregoing an opportunity to sell this gas at a higher price.

While low cost electricity is a benefit to any population, the extremely low cost of electricity in Trinidad and Tobago results in wasteful practices and a nonchalant attitude to energy efficiency which puts an undue strain on our natural resource base.

Ben_spanna wrote:our stupid minister should shut da fkcu up! if they really want to conserve on energy for the future they should be encouragning everyone to go GREEN and offer refunds for anyone who can send power to the grid!.
Until they can announce similar or put any plan like this In place they can hush their crunts and stop yapping!
88sins wrote:Glad to see ppl eh chupid like dem sinisters
https://energynow.tt/blog/understanding-the-electricity-subsidy-in-tt

Postby Dizzy28 » June 12th, 2019, 10:19 am

Apart from rate hikes GORTT really needs to fix its own house. All those Government offices that have lights and A/C on all weekend.

Postby 88sins » June 12th, 2019, 10:39 am

adnj,
When we take into consideration that the electricity subsidy from the perspective of the price paid for natural gas to produce it, yes, our rates are very low. & it's one of the very few direct benefits of our having the asset of natural gas to the citizenry at large

But that doesn't take away from the fact that it's GoRTT agencies that owing the bulk of this massive amount, and that increasing rates will not make them pay it off. So the idea they have is to w/o the amounts owed by state entities, increase the rates, reduce the gas subsidy on electricity & let T&TEC recoup the loss of the w/o from the consumers usages in their private homes & residences over time. So, the public going to pay for state entities wastage, as usual. But there's a problem there, in that the expense will add up again, because if they neglected to pay the lower rates for literally years in some instances, they are not likely to pay the increased rates, so this will inevitably result arrears being accrued even higher and faster than before. Unless it is mandated that the state pays its bills in full & on time from that point onward. & considering past experiences we kno that eh happening at all.

What we really need is a massive push to that would allow people that wish to do so to run alternative energy solutions in their private properties, thus reducing load on the grid in addition to lowering the amount of gas used in electricity production. This can be done by means of private citizens utilizing green energy options, or even carbon based power generation on an individual level, that can even be fed back into the grid supplying T&TEC with power. Solar, hydro, and wind power, all are viable and can be rather cost effective if done correctly. Or if they prefer, persons can install their own carbon fuel burning generators, and pay for the costs of their energy needs on their own. So if you prefer a gas powered generator over green energy, you can buy your own fully unsubsidized fuel to run it.

Postby maj. tom » June 12th, 2019, 10:40 am

Yeah they should plan a smart power upgrade to rollout gradually in 10 years. Smart lights, Smart AC units, etc., controlled by network hubs. Create more jobs too for local UWI computer and electrical people. Get a few expert consultants down to teach them the systems and they will maintain this. Smart hubs will save a lot of money for TTEC in the long run.

Dizzy28 wrote:Apart from rate hikes GORTT really needs to fix its own house. All those Government offices that have lights and A/C on all weekend.

Postby adnj » June 12th, 2019, 11:55 am

88sins wrote:adnj,
When we take into consideration that the electricity subsidy from the perspective of the price paid for natural gas to produce it, yes, our rates are very low. & it's one of the very few direct benefits of our having the asset of natural gas to the citizenry at large

But that doesn't take away from the fact that it's GoRTT agencies that owing the bulk of this massive amount, and that increasing rates will not make them pay it off. So the idea they have is to w/o the amounts owed by state entities, increase the rates, reduce the gas subsidy on electricity & let T&TEC recoup the loss of the w/o from the consumers usages in their private homes & residences over time. So, the public going to pay for state entities wastage, as usual. But there's a problem there, in that the expense will add up again, because if they neglected to pay the lower rates for literally years in some instances, they are not likely to pay the increased rates, so this will inevitably result arrears being accrued even higher and faster than before. Unless it is mandated that the state pays its bills in full & on time from that point onward. & considering past experiences we kno that eh happening at all.

What we really need is a massive push to that would allow people that wish to do so to run alternative energy solutions in their private properties, thus reducing load on the grid in addition to lowering the amount of gas used in electricity production. This can be done by means of private citizens utilizing green energy options, or even carbon based power generation on an individual level, that can even be fed back into the grid supplying T&TEC with power. Solar, hydro, and wind power, all are viable and can be rather cost effective if done correctly. Or if they prefer, persons can install their own carbon fuel burning generators, and pay for the costs of their energy needs on their own. So if you prefer a gas powered generator over green energy, you can buy your own fully unsubsidized fuel to run it.
You are presenting two different points simultaneously:

1. Wastage by government agencies and the delinquency of payments by those government agencies to another quasi-government agency.

2. The lack of initiatives to introduce conservation best practices and technologies to the electrical consumer base.

I can, and did, speak to why conservation initiatives don't have more traction in the T&T market.

Regarding government department wastage, I said nothing. It is a political problem that requires a political solution.

Postby De Dragon » June 13th, 2019, 1:06 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Apart from rate hikes GORTT really needs to fix its own house. All those Government offices that have lights and A/C on all weekend.

Some of those outstanding sums have been owed for many years. If the ministries/industries owing them couldn't/wouldn't pay them then and now, what will happen after a rate increase?

Postby sMASH » June 13th, 2019, 1:53 pm

quietdevil wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
boxy wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Think again FPL (Miami).
Efficiency.

We can, if its not government run

Postby RedVEVO » June 15th, 2019, 2:43 pm

sMASH wrote:
quietdevil wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
boxy wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Think again FPL (Miami).
Efficiency.

We can, if its not government run

Call the Russians . They will assist .

They working in Venezuela as we speak .