Coffee drinkers

Re: Coffee drinkers

Postby eliteauto » January 5th, 2019, 2:17 pm

nick639v2 wrote:No one on the cold brew scene?? It seems to be d new lil hype

Been making cold brew since February last year as a pick me up standby for busy periods like carnival. make it pretty concentrated so I can do an intense shot (think cold espresso) or dilute it with a homemade vanilla coffee creamer for a nice cold drink

Postby eliteauto » January 5th, 2019, 2:21 pm

Also taken to Vietnamese egg coffee when I have some downtime

Zetski

Postby Zetski » January 5th, 2019, 4:47 pm

Meen understand how men could drink that nah..

Postby RedVEVO » January 7th, 2019, 4:20 pm

RedVEVO is a Starbuck groupie .

Order the FLAT WHITE

Postby RedVEVO » January 7th, 2019, 4:20 pm

RedVEVO is a Starbuck groupie .

Order the FLAT WHITE

Postby X_Factor » January 12th, 2019, 7:43 pm

how good is the jamaica blue mountain?

Postby pugboy » January 12th, 2019, 8:54 pm

Near impossible to get the real thing
The ones you see selling everywhere are tourist grade junk and stale. The good stuff is exported far away, Japan etc
Note plain packaging and not the gaudy blue

F8CE8198-7217-4A88-AE52-02A9C4823849.jpeg

I’ve been lucky to get fresh beans and it’s very good, padna wife is jcan and have contacts

X_Factor wrote:how good is the jamaica blue mountain?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » January 12th, 2019, 9:06 pm

pugboy wrote:Near impossible to get the real thing
The ones you see selling everywhere are tourist grade junk and stale. The good stuff is exported far away, Japan etc

I’ve been lucky to get fresh beans and it’s very good, padna wife is jcan and have contacts

The wicker bags with the coffee in norman manley airport is low grade? Only got into coffee after i stopped visiting Ja so i have no clue

Postby pugboy » January 12th, 2019, 9:23 pm

Yep, don’t even bother
I’ve seen them selling here too lol

Postby Dizzy28 » January 12th, 2019, 10:40 pm

Have Blue Mountain Instant. Not very impressive even by instant mediocre standards

Postby pugboy » January 13th, 2019, 8:11 am

The popular brand is jablum
Real bad crap

Have Blue Mountain Instant. Not very impressive even by instant mediocre standards

kevin310

Postby kevin310 » January 13th, 2019, 5:24 pm

Where in Trinidad sells the single serve k cups at a reasonable price ?

Postby Rovin » March 22nd, 2019, 12:21 pm

not gonna search thru 20 pages so in case this is repost doh ruff me up :|

i 1st tried this a few mths ago , not as intense as hong wing but milder , i like it ...

Postby crazybalhead » March 25th, 2019, 4:15 pm

pugboy wrote:Near impossible to get the real thing

Folks, this is NOT blue mountain coffee, it is an inferior high mountain blend. True 100% Blue mountain has to be certified and will say so. I've had a few recently and will say the coffee roasters and jablum 100% Blue Mountain are very good. Locally, roastel has some nice blends. I tried a single origin in the blue mountains many years ago. You can still get it here and there in JA.

I actually visited and did the tour on the farm, enjoy the video.

https://youtu.be/OfZkUNvRUK4

Postby X_Factor » March 25th, 2019, 6:13 pm

I got this from vietnam recently
Would grind it soon
1553551923762.jpeg

Kish

Postby Kish » March 25th, 2019, 7:17 pm

Hey all. By chance anyone has Arabica seeds or plants for sale in south/central? Would like to try growing in my aqua/hydro systems.

Postby pugboy » March 25th, 2019, 7:19 pm

Boy ignorance is really bliss
Been drinking high mountain horse pee and enjoying it

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » March 25th, 2019, 9:20 pm

kevin310 wrote:Where in Trinidad sells the single serve k cups at a reasonable price ?

Prices locally is high, I usually buy in bulk eg 60 pack , works out to about 3 TT each.

Allied & Peppercorn has but expensive.

Usually I buy in Cosco when I travel 30 pack Pike Place ~US$20.

Postby pugboy » March 25th, 2019, 10:18 pm

If you have a good grinder and access to nonstale beans you can get the refill cups to use in a kcup machine.
I use that in my cuisinart kcup machine.

not_a_monkey

Postby not_a_monkey » March 26th, 2019, 7:48 am

Kish wrote:Hey all. By chance anyone has Arabica seeds or plants for sale in south/central? Would like to try growing in my aqua/hydro systems.
Arabica type coffee can't grow properly in TnT. What we have alot of here is robusta coffee. Long ago hongwing used to use ground roasted corn as a filler.

Kish

Postby Kish » March 26th, 2019, 9:12 am

not_a_monkey wrote:
Kish wrote:Hey all. By chance anyone has Arabica seeds or plants for sale in south/central? Would like to try growing in my aqua/hydro systems.
Arabica type coffee can't grow properly in TnT. What we have alot of here is robusta coffee. Long ago hongwing used to use ground roasted corn as a filler.

ah, thanks. I always wanted to try growing it.

X-Axis

Postby X-Axis » March 29th, 2019, 7:40 am

Anyone into salted coffee? Or coffee with butter? Been seeing other cultures praising those and I'll try it soon.

Postby pugboy » April 6th, 2019, 9:38 pm

Got a bag of the so-called authentic stuff
Smells fresh and not stale for sure
Will use in morning

552D318B-F46D-4215-9224-2325E5F6CCC6.jpeg

Postby 609 » April 8th, 2019, 5:55 am

been drinking Hongwing a while now thinking bout changing to something else ... i fine its getting weak

Postby crazybalhead » April 8th, 2019, 11:02 am

pugboy wrote:Boy ignorance is really bliss
Been drinking high mountain horse pee and enjoying it

LOL doh beat up, I like it as well. Bought some the other day.

Postby X_Factor » April 8th, 2019, 1:12 pm

Thoughts on the Turkish way of brewing coffee?
Ultra fine powder and let it settle before drinking

Postby Dizzy28 » April 8th, 2019, 1:27 pm

X_Factor wrote:Thoughts on the Turkish way of brewing coffee?

Need to taste it before passing judgement.
But from what I have see on travel vlogs the Turks add way too much sugar to their coffees for my liking.

Postby pugboy » April 8th, 2019, 1:31 pm

Cubans too, they make a cafecito thick like syrup

X_Factor wrote:Thoughts on the Turkish way of brewing coffee?

Need to taste it before passing judgement.
But from what I have see on travel vlogs the Turks add way too much sugar to their coffees for my liking.

Postby adnj » April 8th, 2019, 7:56 pm

The sugar helps to take away the bitterness and balance the flavor.

If you like espresso, Turkish coffee will have a somewhat similar taste.

Cafezinho in southern Brazil (where American coffee is referred to as tea) is sweeter, in my experience, than the Cuban coffee that I have had in Miami. Coffee in Brazil is very sweet and very strong.

Postby pugboy » April 8th, 2019, 8:38 pm

Boy that Turkish coffee does be grind so fine it guaranteed to be real bitter and strong
Hence the need for plenty sugar.
Local 1% drink that everyday.
You can buy ready ground Turkish style coffee from Lawrence of Arabia Arabic food place in shoppes of maraval