Car Search vs GPS Tracking Systems

Re: Car Search vs GPS Tracking Systems

Postby Ted_v2 » February 14th, 2018, 6:45 pm

Cool thanks, will work on getting it installed.

Postby nervewrecker » February 15th, 2018, 5:52 am

V2NR 3.0 wrote:Good Morning Tuners

I used to be a customer of car-search. On the contract you sign, you are required to initial next to a clause that gives car-search the authority to use "any force" necessary. I really do like this concept. After I have been terrorized and traumatized, I do want angry men with shot guns giving these bandits real therapy - fatal therapy.

However, what cause me to leave is their customer service and workmanship. The CSR's suck and their workmen. After they did an install for me, the side panel never lined back up, clips were broken and also they re-wired my alarm system which caused issues (wing mirrors to focus backwards in reverse) stopped working.

On they other side, had two "accidental" triggers with car-search and them men don't play. Absolutely brutal.
Yea, dem don't mix matters.

My system was triggered a day and I didn't have my phone on me. They had called to see if I ok and when I didn't answer they set out to retrieve it.
Had called home and I got the message a few minutes later. Had to verify my location and provide proof that I was ok before they call off their men. They also asked me to bring in the car for them to make a check.

Car search is car thief worst enemy.

Postby Chimera » May 11th, 2018, 8:15 pm

bumping this thread

does anyone know if tstt/digicel sells a certain type of sim for use in GPS systems?

i see most of these gps companies providing a sim that you dont have to top up, are they putting regular post paid sims in all thes devices?

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 12th, 2018, 1:48 pm

Bumping this thread.
Hearing from a couple colleagues in TTPS that thieves immediately search for GPS devices, since they can't really be hidden and the vehicle integration limits placement.
Thinking to go Carsearch instead for my new ride.

Postby Chimera » May 12th, 2018, 2:58 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Bumping this thread.
Hearing from a couple colleagues in TTPS that thieves immediately search for GPS devices, since they can't really be hidden and the vehicle integration limits placement.
Thinking to go Carsearch instead for my new ride.

plenty of the newer companies have wireless battery powered systems

you can hide it anywhere on the vehicle, in the seats, fully magnetic so even in engine bay or on chassis etc

and you just need to charge it for a 4 hours every couple weeks

its what type of sims they using i wanna know

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » May 12th, 2018, 4:50 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:bumping this thread

does anyone know if tstt/digicel sells a certain type of sim for use in GPS systems?

i see most of these gps companies providing a sim that you dont have to top up, are they putting regular post paid sims in all thes devices?

I found this to be contraindicative as well. When I offered to supply my own digi-cell SIM card which is what most of them use, they declined saying they would provide their own sims which I found quite strange. I would like to provide my own sim with exclusive access, but it seems this wasn’t the approach.

Aside to our GPS partner higher up in the thread, do your research.

I say car search is the best bet aside to their shitty workmanship and CSR. Them men come to kill and you have to initial by a clause “retrieval by any means necessary”

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 12th, 2018, 8:53 pm

which branch you went? Curious - might avoid that one

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » May 12th, 2018, 11:02 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:which branch you went? Curious - might avoid that one

St. Augustine is the head office and it’s there I went when I had my previous vehicle.

Postby mero » May 14th, 2018, 1:27 pm

So which one better?

slingingshot15

Postby slingingshot15 » October 24th, 2018, 9:34 pm

I recently got car search. They told me i need to call them then they will go after the car.

I don’t think if you have this package you need to worry about them getting any alarms and will try to go after your car with you driving it.

NR8

Postby NR8 » October 24th, 2018, 10:02 pm

slingingshot15 wrote:I recently got car search. They told me i need to call them then they will go after the car.

I don’t think if you have this package you need to worry about them getting any alarms and will try to go after your car with you driving it.

I seem to recall someone saying, whether it was in this thread or another, that Car Search was alerted and called them after they removed their battery terminals.

I have recently come across Gaffar GPS Solutions in south. Does anyone have any experience with them? Their Facebook reviews are pretty good.

Postby goalpost » October 25th, 2018, 8:30 am

Car Safe?

V2NR 3.0

Car Search vs GPS Tracking Systems

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 25th, 2018, 8:51 am

In order to avoid a lawsuit, since everybody getting sued these days - one of the groups on this thread had an excellent PR campaign. However, when you call, the CSR has no clue about their products and what they offer. This was unacceptable - it doesn't take much sense to put someone to answer the phone who is competent and who is knowledgeable.

I've been communicating over the last week with another group based in south and their experience is so much better. They've even invited me to come in and see how their system works. Really good customer service - I haven't made the time to swing by as yet though....will do and come back to your guys.

Postby Redman » October 25th, 2018, 8:54 am

NR8 wrote:
slingingshot15 wrote:I recently got car search. They told me i need to call them then they will go after the car.

I seem to recall someone saying, whether it was in this thread or another, that Car Search was alerted and called them after they removed their battery terminals.

I have recently come across Gaffar GPS Solutions in south. Does anyone have any experience with them? Their Facebook reviews are pretty good.

Only good things to say about Gaffar

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 25th, 2018, 9:07 am

Redman wrote:
NR8 wrote:

A family member used their services as well. Didn't get to ask but do they offer recovery services as well?

NR8

Postby NR8 » October 25th, 2018, 9:12 am

Joshie23 wrote:
Redman wrote:
NR8 wrote:

A family member used their services as well. Didn't get to ask but do they offer recovery services as well?
Gaffar said they work with TTPS to do free recovery.

slingingshot15

Postby slingingshot15 » October 25th, 2018, 9:53 am

Yes they offer recovery

Postby Redman » October 25th, 2018, 4:47 pm

Yes they offer recovery and NR8 is very correct- Baari is very accessible and the support is great

m@x

Postby m@x » October 25th, 2018, 5:06 pm

Any1 has carsafe by air support tactical security? Any good?

NR8

Postby NR8 » October 25th, 2018, 10:11 pm

m@x wrote:Any1 has carsafe by air support tactical security? Any good?
I would like to know same. I've been checking out their offerings but put off by the fact that their devices have to be externally charged every 2-3 weeks. Someone like me will definitely forget about that after the first couple times.

sickbad

Postby sickbad » March 14th, 2019, 5:44 am

Feel i gonna put 2 car search stickers on my car and 4 antenna pon top

Postby Ted_v2 » March 14th, 2019, 6:17 am

V2NR 3.0 wrote:In order to avoid a lawsuit, since everybody getting sued these days - one of the groups on this thread had an excellent PR campaign. However, when you call, the CSR has no clue about their products and what they offer. This was unacceptable - it doesn't take much sense to put someone to answer the phone who is competent and who is knowledgeable.

I've been communicating over the last week with another group based in south and their experience is so much better. They've even invited me to come in and see how their system works. Really good customer service - I haven't made the time to swing by as yet though....will do and come back to your guys.

pm a contact na, thinking about going carsearch or with a gps unit soon. prefer to go with a company than with any fly by night gps dealer

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » March 23rd, 2019, 7:44 pm

Guys I’m looking to install a gps system on my vehicle. Could you all recommend one please? Much appreciated.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 26th, 2019, 12:21 pm

Whats the cost for car search ?

Postby Ted_v2 » March 28th, 2019, 6:03 am

1500 a year for call when stolen
1500 a year for live monitoring, full works however the install price for this is a bit more than package1 i cant remember exactly but its a bit over 600$

a pricesmart card giving u either 10 percent or 15% off .

eitech

Postby eitech » March 28th, 2019, 6:33 am

Ted_v2 wrote:1500 a year for call when stolen
1500 a year for live monitoring, full works however the install price for this is a bit more than package1 i cant remember exactly but its a bit over 600$

Actually i pay 1150 maybe after discounts for the last 8 years. Each service i ask how do i know d system wukkin? D lady shows me a monitor with an arrow . Sometimes i am tempted to make a false call to test it but...

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » March 28th, 2019, 8:57 am

eitech wrote:
Ted_v2 wrote:1500 a year for call when stolen

Actually i pay 1150 maybe after discounts for the last 8 years. Each service i ask how do i know d system wukkin? D lady shows me a monitor with an arrow . Sometimes i am tempted to make a false call to test it but...

same here. 10 years with car search @1150 with Pmart card discount.
also thought about making a false call to see it they actually have live tracking.

dogg

Postby dogg » March 28th, 2019, 11:31 am

are there other businesses that offer discounts to pricesmart members? Or is it just Payless and Carsearch?

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » March 29th, 2019, 12:55 pm

dogg wrote:are there other businesses that offer discounts to pricesmart members? Or is it just Payless and Carsearch?

mileagemack offers a discount with Pmart card

dogg

Postby dogg » April 17th, 2019, 9:03 pm

mitch1980 wrote:
dogg wrote:are there other businesses that offer discounts to pricesmart members? Or is it just Payless and Carsearch?

mileagemack offers a discount with Pmart card

Thank you!