*** The official car accident thread***

Re: *** The official car accident thread***

Postby wagonrunner » March 2nd, 2019, 12:54 am

pugboy wrote:you are assuming we have time and effort to do repairs ourselves

most ppl do not have the means or assumption that insurance intends for you to go that route
unfortunately
you overthinking it.
fix it yourself, means go get it fixed. you and the garage. insurer is not involved.
the insurer already paid you.
no adjustor is coming to nitpick on the cost of parts / prices / labor.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » March 2nd, 2019, 7:19 am

pugboy wrote:heard the loss of life claims for the cyclists' deaths last year came in
a person's life value starts at $2m and they devalue based on age/profession and whatever scheme they use to avoid paying as much as possible(under the law)
That's not entirely correct. Some policies max limit for passenger liability is 250k.......some are up to 2m. This means that the policy max limit will pay up to that amount regardless of the age or profession of the victim. However, the law provided for person's to legally challenge the POLICYOWNER directly thereafter for " justified " compensation for loss of life of the person AND one can win such a case and person's can lose their house, land and assets IF they don't have cash to settle . In addition, Guardian has the option for Policyowners to purchase higher limits of coverages at an additional cost. Not sure if other companies locally offer this ?

With respect to " aged " cars. The reason they choose to write off than partial pay also is because of the difficulty in obtaining " antique " parts. Even with new cars, sometimes repairers have to order in parts by sea / air and clients get furious waiting. So it's easier to write off, give client their crash back and a cheque and let them get their repairs sorted. Some insurers have repair garages .....you can choose to use them or any repairers of your choice. Insurance companies don't repairs cars....they pay claims.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 2nd, 2019, 2:03 pm

Multiple vehicle accident, Kelly Village Piarco this morning.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 2nd, 2019, 2:32 pm

This d weekend

Postby matr1x » March 2nd, 2019, 2:50 pm

Death toll weekend has arrived

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » March 2nd, 2019, 7:04 pm

Car flip over on the southbound by Brentwood in Chaguanas. Good lil traffic coming back home this evening.

Postby adnj » March 3rd, 2019, 7:54 am

The vehicle is kept by the insurer. It is then either sold for scrap or salvage by the insurer.

What is an insurance write-off?

If your car has suffered damage as a result of a crash and your insurer considers the cost of repairs to be uneconomical - usually around 50% of the vehicle's value - then it will be classed an insurance write-off.

The car will then be kept by the insurer and you will receive a cash payout for the loss, usually the vehicle's 'market value' - the price it would have sold for at a trusted dealership before it was damaged or stolen.

How does an insurer decide if a car is a write-off?

If your car is involved in an accident and you put in a claim, an insurance assessor or engineer will normally come and inspect the damage.

The assessor follows strict criteria, but could judge your car to be a write-off if it is beyond ‘economical’ repair.

Note the word economical - if repair costs are around 50% of the car's valuation it will most likely be declared a total loss or a write-off.

If this is the case, your insurer will offer a payout in the event of a write off, which should be enough to replace your car with a similar vehicle in a similar condition in your area.

The company will, however, deduct the policy excess.

Let’s say your car is worth £10,000 and is written-off in an accident. The insurance company might offer a settlement of £10,000, less the excess of £300, to give you £9,700.

https://www.moneysupermarket.com/car-insurance/articles/rights-and-wrongs-of-insurance-write-off/

wagonrunner wrote:we're derailing this thread, but that is not a write off
pugboy wrote:but if they can find a way to value it low they choose to writeoff and not have to pay much.]
a write off is the cost to repair exceeding a percentage (35=45%) of the insured value.
they cut your cheque anyway (if repuatable), and write off (end) the insurance policy.

a write off is not a bad thing.
fully comp car, value 35k, written off for repair cost of 15k
they pay the 15k
cheque in hand.
repair vehicle yourself.
get it valuated as roadworthy yourself (before inspection days)
reinsure with same insurance company.(new policy)

Postby rspann » March 3rd, 2019, 9:30 am

Construtive Total loss could be for reasons other than repairs costing 50%. Structural damage, owner refusing a repaired vehicle, are some that come to mind. I Have a brand new RR sport in my garage that was written off due to a damaged rear suspension. The owner was a very influential businessman who had no time for repairs / didnt want a repaired vehicle. There is also another with a lot of damage that is being repaired, so it depends on the circumstances.

Postby wagonrunner » March 3rd, 2019, 5:50 pm

adnj wrote:The vehicle is kept by the insurer. It is then either sold for scrap or salvage by the insurer.

What is an insurance write-off?]
speaking from experiences
you can get a higher payout if you sell "the wreck". usually not worth it. much less than replacement of same.
It is not always the case, and still termed a write off once the insurance policy is terminated after payout.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » March 3rd, 2019, 8:09 pm

rspann wrote:Construtive Total loss could be for reasons other than repairs costing 50%. Structural damage, owner refusing a repaired vehicle, are some that come to mind. I Have a brand new RR sport in my garage that was written off due to a damaged rear suspension. The owner was a very influential businessman who had no time for repairs / didnt want a repaired vehicle. There is also another with a lot of damage that is being repaired, so it depends on the circumstances.
Correct. I know someone with a brand new RR also and had it written off due to the flooding in 2018. Payout was over 1M ...and they kept the salvage. Heard they gonna fly in a company specialist to repair .....

Postby Slartibartfast » March 4th, 2019, 8:40 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:I do not. Care to shed some light on the restrictions for all of our benefit? My car is getting there so your response would actually help me in the near future.
After 13 years, you lose coverage in event of fire, theft, etc.
you may be eligible for that in the 10-13 year period if you vehicle was valued over 25k (this was ~6 years ago). don't know if the value is different now.
what part of this did you not understand from my previous posts?

Word.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 10th, 2019, 8:15 am

Guess justice wasnt on time
image-3.1880339.jpeg

roadhog

Postby roadhog » March 10th, 2019, 12:30 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Guess justice wasnt on time

These runts will kill people with the way they drive.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 12th, 2019, 5:22 pm

Shrugs shoulders
IMG-20190312-WA0021.jpg

Postby wagonrunner » March 12th, 2019, 8:35 pm

The worst hospital to have to drive yourself too.
Carlton Center and gulf city malls have better parking facilities (multi-story with elevator)
If injured, hope for a park where you wont be wrecked, and then climb the hill.
The carparks at the top have been taken primarily for staff, so general public started using the slope.

Rain fell. Parked cars moved.

Postby shogun » March 12th, 2019, 9:12 pm

Damn.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 13th, 2019, 5:05 am

so who paying for what?? fix yuh own thing?

Postby wagonrunner » March 13th, 2019, 6:13 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:fix yuh own thing?

more than likely.
park at your own risk VS act of god.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 15th, 2019, 11:24 am

saw these floating around
54433420_420118408563370_8572626105725353984_o.jpg
53902779_420118375230040_3900553306677706752_o.jpg

Postby Kenjo » March 15th, 2019, 1:51 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:saw these floating around

Fernandes compound entrance

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 15th, 2019, 7:14 pm

Postby bluefete » March 15th, 2019, 7:22 pm

WOW. Just wow. That truck driver either had no brakes or just did not give a damn.

Postby bluefete » March 15th, 2019, 7:24 pm

Is how the white Toyota(?) just drove off after the crash.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 15th, 2019, 8:13 pm

Buh buh buh...wtmc...wah went on with truck man deh??? Brake failure, fall asleep??

Postby Spitfir3 » March 15th, 2019, 11:06 pm

lookin like truck man didn't have brakes, damn if fielder man had proceeded with that drive he could've gotten away

Postby pugboy » March 16th, 2019, 5:31 am

truckman not wearing seatbelt too

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 16th, 2019, 5:53 am

bluefete wrote:Is how the white Toyota(?) just drove off after the crash.

This...rel funny movements here

axe

Postby axe » March 16th, 2019, 6:22 am

pugboy wrote:truckman not wearing seatbelt too

Once Tare over 3000kg driver exempt from seatbelt

Postby maj. tom » March 16th, 2019, 6:40 am

lul wut!!!

hmm... you're correct according to Section 43A of the Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic Act. Exceeding 3000kg.
I'm guessing that they worked out that the kinetic energy of such a load behind would actually crush the occupants in the front cab rather than save them they way seatbelts traditionally work.

But such vehicles are supposed to have a very reinforced header board anyway to withstand that load. And if you watch the video, the header board did just that, and the driver still ended up smashing his head where a seatbelt would have saved him.

Postby pugboy » March 16th, 2019, 10:06 am

truck steering wheels at a lower angle, it prob blocked him by his waist from going forward like a seatbelt
he would have been bracing anyways
the worst injuries happen when your body is unaware