Former Minister of Health addresses Fat Shaming, 'There is no such thing as "Thicc" yuh blasted Obese'

Re: Former Minister of Health addresses Fat Shaming, 'There is no such thing as "Thicc" yuh blasted Obese'

Postby Rovin » March 9th, 2019, 6:13 pm

foul language warning ....

Re: Former Minister of Health addresses Fat Shaming, 'There is no such thing as "Thicc" yuh blasted Obese'

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 9th, 2019, 6:59 pm

Darryl Dookoo talking about how he eh eating no carbs and he going to the gym and he belly still big. But sometimes I does hadda wonder what kind of dotish advice them dieticians does be giving people in this place.

Weight loss is all about calories and nothing more, if you burn more calories than you put in you will lose weight it is as simple as that I know cause I used to be real fat and that is how I lose weight.

The issue is people do not realize just how few calories you have to eat per day, for most people who on a "diet" if they bother to count the calories they will realize that the amount of calories they need to eat per DAY they does already max it out by 12 noon. For women even worse some of them does max it out at breakfast.

Let that sink in and you will realize just how much of a sacrifice you have to make to lose weight. If you eh willing to starve yuhself to some degree you eh going to lose one facking inch.

You know how much walking and thing you hadda do to burn out just one 20oz soda? I does cycle to work everyday and I does have to cycle 6 miles to burn that 1 soda. That alone gives you an idea what we talking about

Postby pugboy » March 9th, 2019, 7:05 pm

Yes calories in and out
Also not all calories are equal

Postby Monk BANzai » March 9th, 2019, 7:07 pm

*awaits pics of OP and others own physiques to show us what they mean in their perfect world.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 9th, 2019, 7:21 pm

Monk BANzai wrote:*awaits pics of OP and others own physiques to show us what they mean in their perfect world.

Whatever a normal BMI is go wuk, nobody eh hadda be no super model Ras, yuh eh even hadda be a normal BMI self but for the very least can we stop calling everything "thicc"

I know men watching big big mampie and calling it thicc

Just the other day a woman telling me how I eh hadda lose no weight, I put she in she place my BMI says I overweight but its a huge improvement over my former Obesity

Postby zoom rader » March 9th, 2019, 7:22 pm

pugboy wrote:Yes calories in and out
That was old thinking.

Carbs and sugar are the real culprits.

Eat carbs and it raises your insulin that stores it as fat.

Also fruit raises your blood sugar which ends up as stored fat.

Wanna loses weight then eat once a day and kill all crabs and sugar. Break the sugar. Eat more fat , veggies and lil protein.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 9th, 2019, 7:29 pm

^ in my case I have diabetes and I do a lot of manual work so I does be a bit worried about losing too much sugar incase my sugar run low

Re: Former Minister of Health addresses Fat Shaming, 'There is no such thing as

Postby pugboy » March 9th, 2019, 7:31 pm

That’s what I meant by calories being different

That was old thinking.

Wanna loses weight then eat once a day and kill all crabs and sugar. Break the sugar. Eat more fat , veggies and lil protein.

Postby pugboy » March 9th, 2019, 7:32 pm

Fuad should offer to help the girl and Darryl with some medical adsistance

Postby zoom rader » March 9th, 2019, 7:39 pm

pugboy wrote:Fuad should offer to help the girl and Darryl with some medical adsistance
What is needed is nutrition education at school and some sort of Tax on sugar. All flour foods are real bad.

There should be some national drive on nutrition especially on carbs and sugar.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 9th, 2019, 7:52 pm

That is true cause just 3 hops bread does skyrocket your sugar.

"wholewheat" even worse, what it actually is, is food coloring and sugar in white bread and they calling it whole wheat. with just a small sprinkle of bran lol

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » March 9th, 2019, 8:06 pm

Fat, obese and morbidly obese are three diff things....she is the latter and while fuad is the first. Some ppl need d cold truth than a comforting lie for their betterment in the long run.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » March 9th, 2019, 8:20 pm

I remember the sitcom " the parkers "......she used to always pick on and insult the slim and skinny ladies .......that being said, people need to understand the mid to long term I'll effects of being overweight. The stress on our organs and joints directly. Can you imagine the amount of fatty tissue around the heart, liver etc of an overweight person and the threats to their health and life ? When we look at Trinidad over the last 10-15 years.....almost everyone you see either have a dhalbelly or some flabby arms etc.......we need to really change the direction we are heading as a nation. It won't auger well for future generations.

Postby pugboy » March 9th, 2019, 8:24 pm

the worsest is pricesmart
Very high concentration of obese families

Postby meccalli » March 9th, 2019, 8:54 pm

That was old thinking.

This is nonsense.
https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/a ... 7815000599
An acute surplus of carbohydrates, and other substrates, can be converted and safely stored as lipids in adipocytes via de novo lipogenesis (DNL). However, in obesity, a condition characterized by chronic positive energy balance,DNL in non-adipose tissues may lead to ectopic lipid accumulation leading to lipotoxicity and metabolic stress.
The process of converting sugars into lipids is costly and inefficient, the body is efficient at storing fat far more easily.
Of course you don't want to be consuming highly processed anything, including carbs, but lets not be stupid about it. You secrete amylase in your saliva.
Here's the truth, people need to stop eating like elite athletes and living like sloths.

Obesity in relation to an individual's genetic adipose cells is variable and once it's essentially filled, you run into all sorts of health issues related to metabolic syndrome which is why you sometimes see obese persons who are still relatively healthy to an ectomorphic individual who gets some fat on his waist and his health rapidly declines.
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4344365/
https://health.ucdavis.edu/medicalcente ... cells.html

Either way, despite genetic predispositions in number and size of adipocytes, losing the extra pounds improves everything.
Case in point, the twinkie diet, the guy who lost weight and improved all his major health parameters by eating nothing but twinkies but at a caloric deficit.
Also, Walter Kempner who treated patients for hypertension, obesity, kidney disease and papilledema using nothing but rice, sugar, fruit and juice.
https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/a ... via%3Dihub

Postby MaxPower » March 9th, 2019, 9:27 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Darryl Dookoo talking about how he eh eating no carbs and he going to the gym and he belly still big. But sometimes I does hadda wonder what kind of dotish advice them dieticians does be giving people in this place.

Darryl Dookoo is obese and scornful looking.

Blame his parents for lack of house training to begin with.

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » March 9th, 2019, 9:33 pm

Wrt calories...it's not a one size fits all due to genetic disposition but the takeaway is that if you cut back on the refined stuff and have simple/natural dietary food sources, you tend to stand a better chance of reducing fat deposits...with exercise ofc. Trial and error is the only way.

Postby shogun » March 9th, 2019, 10:12 pm

Jesus Christ! Fuad handled that dreadfully. Can't believe he held the office of Health Minister no less? Seems out of character for Fuad too? Personalizing the issue, insulting the woman, what the fcuk? lol

Well, at least Fuad had the good sense to not be a PNM minister while doing/saying this, or many of the comments in this thread would have been WAY less forgiving.
Last edited by shogun on March 9th, 2019, 10:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby meccalli » March 9th, 2019, 10:18 pm

INHUMAN wrote: Trial and error is the only way.

Reduced-calorie diets result in clinically meaningful weight loss regardless of which macronutrients they emphasize.
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2763382/
Aside from hormonal or other more complex issues, it pretty much comes down to energy intake, regardless of what you choose to put in your mouth.
Fats, protein, carbs, it's all carbon essentially. The same thing you exhale, and is the basis of human calorimetry as measured in a respiration chamber.

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 9th, 2019, 10:43 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Shenseea is not obese... wtf ed?

She's on the way there. Watch her elbows. She have that weird fat tricep thing obese people tend to have

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 9th, 2019, 10:58 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Shenseea is not obese... wtf ed?

She's on the way there. Watch her elbows. She have that weird fat tricep thing obese people tend to have

:| yea, the "tricep" fat.

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » March 9th, 2019, 11:01 pm

Well ppl does confuse thick for fat just like they confuse weight loss and fat loss. She is getting more lipid indeed.

Postby zoom rader » March 10th, 2019, 12:48 am

meccalli wrote:
That was old thinking.

This is nonsense.
https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/a ... 7815000599
An acute surplus of carbohydrates, and other substrates, can be converted and safely stored as lipids in adipocytes via de novo lipogenesis (DNL). However, in obesity, a condition characterized by chronic positive energy balance,DNL in non-adipose tissues may lead to ectopic lipid accumulation leading to lipotoxicity and metabolic stress.
The process of converting sugars into lipids is costly and inefficient, the body is efficient at storing fat far more easily.
Of course you don't want to be consuming highly processed anything, including carbs, but lets not be stupid about it. You secrete amylase in your saliva.
Here's the truth, people need to stop eating like elite athletes and living like sloths.

Obesity in relation to an individual's genetic adipose cells is variable and once it's essentially filled, you run into all sorts of health issues related to metabolic syndrome which is why you sometimes see obese persons who are still relatively healthy to an ectomorphic individual who gets some fat on his waist and his health rapidly declines.
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4344365/
https://health.ucdavis.edu/medicalcente ... cells.html

Either way, despite genetic predispositions in number and size of adipocytes, losing the extra pounds improves everything.
Case in point, the twinkie diet, the guy who lost weight and improved all his major health parameters by eating nothing but twinkies but at a caloric deficit.
Also, Walter Kempner who treated patients for hypertension, obesity, kidney disease and papilledema using nothing but rice, sugar, fruit and juice.
https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/a ... via%3Dihub
Horse you go ahead and eat crabs and sugar. It's your grave.

Postby hydroep » March 10th, 2019, 6:36 am

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » March 10th, 2019, 7:23 am

I like the above video.i struggled with weight loss myself as well and tried almost all programs from p90x/ 10 min trainer etc.
But in all my years I finally found something and I’m on my journey to being there.
Keto is working for me and a few friends so far.
Google it lol

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 10th, 2019, 7:30 am

Pablo660 wrote:I like the above video.i struggled with weight loss myself as well and tried almost all programs from p90x/ 10 min trainer etc.
But in all my years I finally found something and I’m on my journey to being there.
Keto is working for me and a few friends so far.
Google it lol

The reason it working for you has more to do with it having less calories than it being a low carb diet or any fancy stuff they claim it to be.

90% of weight loss has and always will be how much you eat, if you starve yourself you will lose weight be it muscle and fat or fat alone. I lost 40 pounds on mainly drinking Supligen and eating kiss cake and tortillas. Those things are nowhere near what is recommended for a diet, the reason I was able to do it is because at the time it was the easiest way for me to count the calories and just keep track of it.

There is a reason fat is measured in calories and not carbs, 3500 calories = 1 pound of fat.

Now the idea that a low carb diet helps is true, but fat weight is calories.

Postby meccalli » March 10th, 2019, 7:32 am

zoom rader wrote:Horse you go ahead and eat crabs and sugar. It's your grave.

The ratio of macronutrients, not caloric intake, dictates cardiometabolic health, aging, and longevity in ad libitum-fed mice.
https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/a ... 3114000655
Highlights

Food intake is regulated primarily by dietary protein and carbohydrate

Low-protein, high-carbohydrate diets are associated with the longest lifespans

Energy reduction from high-protein diets or dietary dilution does not extend life

This reflects what we find in blue zones, the longest living communities of people on earth prioritise carbohydrates in the form of fruit, roots, tubers, beans and grains.

Postby zoom rader » March 10th, 2019, 7:47 am

meccalli wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Horse you go ahead and eat crabs and sugar. It's your grave.

The ratio of macronutrients, not caloric intake, dictates cardiometabolic health, aging, and longevity in ad libitum-fed mice.
https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/a ... 3114000655
Highlights

Food intake is regulated primarily by dietary protein and carbohydrate

Low-protein, high-carbohydrate diets are associated with the longest lifespans

Energy reduction from high-protein diets or dietary dilution does not extend life

This reflects what we find in blue zones, the longest living communities of people on earth prioritise carbohydrates in the form of fruit, roots, tubers, beans and grains.
^^^ Totally flawed and misleading

https://www.dietdoctor.com/cardiologist ... killing-us

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » March 10th, 2019, 8:25 am

As a guy who has struggled with my weight most of my life.

One factor you guys arent mentioning is how the body adapts to being on low calorie diets if all one required was to remove 500 calories from their daily intake to lose 1lb of fat a week their would be alot less fat people going around. But the body quickly adapts and lowers your base metabolism within 3 to 5 weeks this is where exercise particularly weight training comes in.

Also let use put some real numbers behind these terms and it will open some eyes: healthy weight BMI (from 18.5) up to 25->overweight BMI between (25.1 to 29.9)->Obese (30 to 34.9)-> morbidly obese over 35. There is only 60lbs between healthy and morbidly obese . Alot of these thick people medically are morbidly obese by BMI

These are rough estimates

5ft height - Normal 128; Overweight (129 to 152); Obese (153 to 177); Morbidly Obese over 178
5ft 5ft - Normal 150; Overweight (151 to 179); Obese (180 - 209); Morbidly Obese over 210
5ft 10ft - Normal 174; Overweight (175 to 208); Obese (209-242); Morbidly Obese over 243

All of that being said BMI is only a guide body fat, viseral fat also factor in since a person can have some muscle to offset this but let us be honest very few fat folks walking around with significant amounts of muscle.

Postby maj. tom » March 10th, 2019, 8:32 am

Open the papers this morning and check the number of weak cuckold men it have marching in women thing. And then the disgusting message from the PM wife how boys should be feminists "I want you young men to be feminists, to have a belief in gender equality."

And of course womantra had to do their "Save the Whales" march and put down Dr. Fuad Khan, instead of facing the reality of the obesity crisis in the world and attempting to do something useful about it. Dr. Kahn btw apologised for the harsh tone but he is not backing down on the message of obesity.

What a f*cking upside down clown show the world is.