Venezuelans offered amnesty to register legally, opposition fears voter padding

Re: Venezuelans offered amnesty to register legally, opposition fears voter padding

Postby pugboy » February 28th, 2019, 9:02 pm

Global statistics are that in cases of folks fleeing their country only 1% ever relocate under proper arrangements
Ie they does end up at first port of call

Redman wrote:I think that there is no good solution to this problem.

We can't kick them out and we really shouldn't.
We can't absorb many more we already straining in terms of public services.

Sheet sandwich either way

Moobs

Re: Venezuelans offered amnesty to register legally, opposition fears voter padding

Postby Moobs » February 28th, 2019, 11:12 pm

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/young-a ... b7d852864d

Young: Amnesty for all Venezuelans in T&T
by

Shaliza Hassanali
1 hour ago
Thu Feb 28 2019
A man carries a set of used tires into Venezuela, through a blind spot on the border near the Simon Bolivar International Bridge in La Parada, Colombia, yesterday. The tires were bought in Cucuta, Colombia and carried across the border into Venezuela.

Martin Mejia

Na­tion­al Se­cu­ri­ty Min­is­ter Stu­art Young says there will be no cap on the reg­is­tra­tion process for le­gal and il­le­gal Venezue­lans in T&T.

Young first raised the is­sue while an­nounc­ing an amnesty for il­le­gal Venezue­lans in T&T on Tues­day, say­ing they could reg­is­ter with his min­istry and would be al­lowed to work for a year. He re­it­er­at­ed his call for them to take ad­van­tage of this fa­cil­i­ty dur­ing yes­ter­day’s post-Cab­i­net me­dia brief­ing at the Diplo­mat­ic Cen­tre, St Ann’s. He ad­vised that the reg­is­tra­tion process was not for refugees or asy­lum seek­ers but for Venezue­lans who are al­ready in T&T. The reg­is­tra­tion, he said, will help pre­vent em­ploy­ers from ex­ploit­ing and ill-treat­ing Venezue­lans.

“So once they are le­gal and they reg­is­ter with the BIR (Board of In­land Rev­enue) they will now have rights,” he said.

Asked if the Venezue­lans would not now in­fil­trate the lo­cal work­force, deny­ing lo­cals op­por­tu­ni­ties, Young said jobs would be open to every­one and may the “best per­son win. We will see how that un­folds.”

Young said he in­tends to take a pol­i­cy deal­ing specif­i­cal­ly with Venezue­lans to Cab­i­net at its next sit­ting, which would in­volve a lot of plan­ning. A date has not been set for the amnesty, but Young said his rec­om­men­da­tion for the reg­is­tra­tion was two weeks, which his min­istry would sole­ly han­dle.

Asked if there would be a cap for the reg­is­tra­tion process, Young said: “Not in the first in­stance. In the first in­stance, what I in­tend to take to Cab­i­net, let’s say, for a pe­ri­od of time, it may very well be two weeks...it could be a month. That has not been de­ter­mined as yet and we would have to make sure that wher­ev­er it is they have to be reg­is­tered, it is prop­er­ly manned and have prop­er in­fra­struc­ture.”

Once reg­is­tered, Young said Venezue­lans will be al­so al­lowed to trav­el back and forth to their home­land for the one year.

“Cer­tain­ly, if we see from a na­tion­al se­cu­ri­ty point of view now, where we see per­sons trav­el­ing too fre­quent­ly to cer­tain places and sus­pi­cion aris­es the nor­mal law will ap­ply. We may be en­ti­tled to pull you in to be in­ter­viewed and in­ter­ro­gate you and ask ques­tions,” he said.

If a Venezue­lan is found to be in­volved in crim­i­nal ac­tiv­i­ty, Young said they will be sent pack­ing.

“If we find that any­one pro­vides us with false in­for­ma­tion dur­ing the reg­is­tra­tion process we will de­port you,” he al­so warned.

Asked if there could not al­so be an in­flux of Venezue­lans flee­ing the tur­moil in their coun­try be­fore the reg­is­tra­tion process, Young said the amnesty was not in place as yet.

“If you come here to­mor­row...if you come here to­day. But when it be­comes a pol­i­cy we are not go­ing to bend the law.”

He ad­mit­ted it would be dif­fi­cult to do a back­ground check on those reg­is­ter­ing, but as­sured that the process will be strin­gent and sim­i­lar to when some­one ap­plies for a visa.

The pub­lic, Young said, feels “there is a high num­ber of Venezue­lans who are here and they would flood the place.” But he said cit­i­zens would on­ly know the pre­cise fig­ure fol­low­ing reg­is­tra­tion, adding he ex­pects be­fore reg­is­tra­tion takes place Venezue­lans may try to make en­try in­to our shores.

“The short­er the pe­ri­od (for reg­is­tra­tion) the less risk there is.”

Young said once Venezue­lans find work and their month­ly pay is above $6,000 they will be re­quired to pay tax­es. De­duc­tions will al­so be tak­en out for health sur­charge and they will be en­ti­tled to health care, while chil­dren of reg­is­tered Venezue­lans will have ac­cess to free ed­u­ca­tion.

Health Min­is­ter Ter­rence Deyals­ingh, who joined Young at the press con­fer­ence, made it clear that T&T health ser­vices are free. Deyals­ingh al­so did not feel Venezue­lans here would over­bur­den our pub­lic health care sys­tem. He said in 2016 the Gov­ern­ment had tak­en a de­ci­sion to treat every­one, in­clud­ing Venezue­lans, since it makes good pub­lic health sense.

“So what is good for them from a pub­lic health per­spec­tive is al­so good for you.”
Last edited by Moobs on February 28th, 2019, 11:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

airuma

Postby airuma » February 28th, 2019, 11:12 pm

Redman wrote:I think that there is no good solution to this problem.

We can't kick them out and we really shouldn't.
We can't absorb many more we already straining in terms of public services.

Sheet sandwich either way

There may be no good solution but the right thing to do is to see about your own first. Mi Casa es su Casa is as ideal as communism and cannot work in a less than ideal society.

Postby Redman » March 1st, 2019, 6:11 am

So suggest a solution..
The people here.
I certainly am not comfortable with this,but there is no way that has a good ending.

Postby De Dragon » March 1st, 2019, 6:10 pm

Agree that the horse has bolted, but we seem to be waiting for others to bolt as well! Clamp down hard on the entries, do like Curacao and send them back, fack UNHCR and everyone else. Who wants to insist that we take them, could make a deal with us for money to do so like Turkey did with the influx of Syrian refugees.

Postby pugboy » March 1st, 2019, 6:19 pm

So are the indian expo chaps who run away from their employers(expo) get the same courtesy ?
many of them claim slave like conditions

alcom2222

Postby alcom2222 » March 1st, 2019, 6:38 pm

One thing I want to know, so the government saying them giving them rights to work , so what all these venes doing in Trinidad right now?
Third world country mentality

Postby The_Honourable » March 1st, 2019, 7:15 pm

We reach VICE news

Postby matr1x » March 1st, 2019, 8:57 pm

Many of them engage in fraud. I see a vene with last name ramjass

Postby paid_influencer » March 1st, 2019, 9:18 pm

they should allow the children to register for school. if they go to school, the children might become productive and even caring people in 10 years.

by rejecting them from school, you going to create bad social problems. if they living here anyway, you rather have them in school than on the street.

primary and preschool at least.

Postby aaron17 » March 2nd, 2019, 8:53 am

What if more than 1 million venez come to trinidad? Who controls that?

airuma

Postby airuma » March 2nd, 2019, 9:27 am

Redman wrote:So suggest a solution..
The people here.
I certainly am not comfortable with this,but there is no way that has a good ending.

Assist Trump with sending US aid to Venezuela, this way Maduro would secure our borders for us and we can hire the Venezuelans here to take it to their home country.

FordeG

Postby FordeG » March 2nd, 2019, 10:19 am

Latinos are some of the most racist people around, watch and see PNM can give them everything and they'll end up going UNC

airuma

Postby airuma » March 2nd, 2019, 11:51 am

FordeG wrote:Latinos are some of the most racist people around, watch and see PNM can give them everything and they'll end up going UNC

IMHO, Venezuelans and Indians (native) are very similar, they treat their own bad, everybody else worse and stick to their own. Real “cut throat” people.

D Diesel Report

Postby D Diesel Report » March 2nd, 2019, 11:59 am

rspann wrote:
MaxPower wrote:^ and we must embrace them

I see two Vene come out from Malick today, definitely worth embracing.

A firm stiff embrace with your 10 seconds of action self ah sure. :drinking: :drinking:

I say leh dem come through, they working better than locals and will make locals actually start to do things right. :drinking: :drinking:

And all who disagree, I hope you like it when they give allyuh a hard time in US and Canada when yuh run away from d crime to start better life. :drinking: :drinking:

Postby matr1x » March 2nd, 2019, 12:56 pm

The works better than locals is a myth.

It will be the jobs of locals to round them up. Give them a choice, go back in boats...or bags. Many of them coming over and trying to forge documents.

Who verified they are not murderers and rapists?

D Diesel Report

Postby D Diesel Report » March 2nd, 2019, 9:45 pm

aaron17 wrote:What if more than 1 million venez come to trinidad? Who controls that?

It go be funny if they form their own political pattie, win with sheer numbers, and den make Trini and Tobago socialist and all of allyuh will have to give up allyuh nice thing for the young fellas in the ghetto because equality and thing. :drinking: :drinking:

Postby hydroep » March 2nd, 2019, 10:08 pm

D Diesel Report wrote:
aaron17 wrote:What if more than 1 million venez come to trinidad? Who controls that?

It go be funny if they form their own political pattie, win with sheer numbers, and den make Trini and Tobago socialist and all of allyuh will have to give up allyuh nice thing for the young fellas in the ghetto because equality and thing. :drinking: :drinking:

To add to the funniness — imagine if they set up businesses and eventually displace those same local businesspersons who encouraging the influx (in the hopes of accessing a cheap, productive source of labour).

On second thought, that would be poetic justice...:|

agent007

Postby agent007 » March 3rd, 2019, 12:26 am

This was a stupid decision and it is just another reminder that T&T has no where to go except downwards. We cant even take care of our own yet this amnesty can lead to regularisation of a couple hundred thousand illegal immigrants. This will change all the dynamics of this country and life as we know it will keep getting worse.

We are subservient to Venezuela in our discussions and therefore have no choice but to accept Venezuelan illegals. When they take jobs from trinis, drain our resources, fill our hospitals, further upset forex woes and help increase inflation etc., it is the legit born trinbagonian who will suffer. Organized crime and gang activity will increase and the PNM becomes well poised through repeat voter padding techniques to secure future terms in office.

Our general infrastructure will continue to deteriorate and our rate to fix and repair things etc would further fall back and never catch up. T&T will eventually become a failed state which thanks to current and previous regimes, each had their hand in perpetuating this inevitable environment.

T&T will just be a place that houses people that
1. Dont have any choice and cannot leave
2. The greedy business people who profit in the short term.
3. The powers that be that run the show because it profits them to have this amnesty.

T&T has lost its true essence that made us once a beautiful rich island nation that would never ever see the times of its hay days.

Perhaps T&T would eventually be a nation filled with:
1. Business people and politicians
2. Servants to business people and politicians
3. Servants who just like Carnival and Venezuelan women.

Moobs

Postby Moobs » March 3rd, 2019, 7:45 am

53398529_2262418493825053_954429676921552896_n.jpg
Great is the pnm...
(Photo taken at pnm fete)

52868949_10161435231805055_66028765624401920_o.jpg

Chiny man stewart basically say f**k you to the population.
This man, just like the rest of politicians have some deep hate for our locals.

Postby Redman » March 3rd, 2019, 8:25 am

What choice do we have?

I think its a threat- but we dont have any alternative that has a good outcome.

Keeping them here is a threat to our culture and the way of life

Sending them back is at our expense and doesnt do anything-since its the current law.

We cant close the borders-cuz the interdiction of these immigrants will include finding coke coming across.
And thats a can of whoopass no one wants.

Postby MaxPower » March 3rd, 2019, 8:34 am

Moobs wrote:Chiny man stewart basically say f**k you to the population.
This man, just like the rest of politicians have some deep hate for our locals.

More like f**k you to the population that will be affected.

And nothing wrong with having deep hate for locals...most of them that is...woft

Postby RedVEVO » March 3rd, 2019, 9:59 am

vaiostation wrote:Hopefully by now we have about over a 100000.
More will most likely keep coming during and after the amnesty.
After these people flood the job market, medical system and education system,our economy will destabilize.
Food prices in the market will greatly increase.
So the cost of living will be too high for the common man.

When the year amnesty is over, who sending them back? Them vene not like we. We might take BS from the government and humble, not them. If imbert wanna see riot he go see.

Hopefully the 1% use the cheap labour and make some more billions and fly out after.

Note: Not just Venezuelans coming here, so the amount of illegal immigrants overall will be extremely high.

Very funny analysis :D

Postby zoom rader » March 3rd, 2019, 10:03 am

Redman wrote:What choice do we have?

I think its a threat- but we dont have any alternative that has a good outcome.

Keeping them here is a threat to our culture and the way of life

Sending them back is at our expense and doesnt do anything-since its the current law.

We cant close the borders-cuz the interdiction of these immigrants will include finding coke coming across.
And thats a can of whoopass no one wants.
Vennys were here before all of us. They was always here and kept coming and going . A good bit of our last names are Spanish.
The older ones are deep rooted in trini culture. Our music is part Spanish/Venny.
The newer Vennys will take about a generation to adapt. Their kids will adapt easily to our culture.

Like all other Immigrants that came here (except 1%) they will do the jobs that most trinis refuse to do.

The venny womem folk will have it easy as they will marry fast . Local women already feeling it.

Once word reaches back to their homeland expect more to arrive .

At least the local parang will be boosted and our CXC Spanish results will be tops in the region.

Let's face the only population that never wanted to come here was the Africans and they came by force. All others came on their own free will.

Jah bless them vennies, next 20 years trini population will be revampt and carry a different skin tone.

Postby RedVEVO » March 3rd, 2019, 10:05 am

agent007 wrote:This was a stupid decision and it is just another reminder that T&T has no where to go except downwards. We cant even take care of our own yet this amnesty can lead to regularisation of a couple hundred thousand illegal immigrants. This will change all the dynamics of this country and life as we know it will keep getting worse.

We are subservient to Venezuela in our discussions and therefore have no choice but to accept Venezuelan illegals. When they take jobs from trinis, drain our resources, fill our hospitals, further upset forex woes and help increase inflation etc., it is the legit born trinbagonian who will suffer. Organized crime and gang activity will increase and the PNM becomes well poised through repeat voter padding techniques to secure future terms in office.

Our general infrastructure will continue to deteriorate and our rate to fix and repair things etc would further fall back and never catch up. T&T will eventually become a failed state which thanks to current and previous regimes, each had their hand in perpetuating this inevitable environment.

T&T will just be a place that houses people that
1. Dont have any choice and cannot leave
2. The greedy business people who profit in the short term.
3. The powers that be that run the show because it profits them to have this amnesty.

T&T has lost its true essence that made us once a beautiful rich island nation that would never ever see the times of its hay days.

Perhaps T&T would eventually be a nation filled with:
1. Business people and politicians
2. Servants to business people and politicians
3. Servants who just like Carnival and Venezuelan women.

So what YOU saying is that give amnesty and the sky will fall ?

It reminds me when SuperPharm was about to open their business in Trinidad ALL the
pharmacies we in a " riot " .

Trinidad is run by the business men and they dictate our every move .

The politicians are just the pawns .

Postby matr1x » March 3rd, 2019, 12:45 pm

If vene so hard working, why don't they go back and fix their country???

Postby aaron17 » March 3rd, 2019, 12:51 pm

matr1x wrote:If vene so hard working, why don't they go back and fix their country???
Hard working or smart working?

Postby zoom rader » March 3rd, 2019, 12:53 pm

matr1x wrote:If vene so hard working, why don't they go back and fix their country???
Same reason as trinis in New York

Postby paid_influencer » March 3rd, 2019, 1:45 pm

"i will work harder"

- Boxer from animal farm

boxer died of exhaustion

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » March 3rd, 2019, 3:29 pm

“They take our doc­u­ments and then make us work from morn­ing to night,” he said.

Sounds like some local businessmen.
Working harder or Slave labour?

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/some-ve ... irculation