Truck Spills Water Bottles Across Both Lanes Of Uriah Butler Causing Major Traffic Backup, Deaths

Re: Truck Spills Water Bottles Across Both Lanes Of Uriah Butler Causing Major Traffic Backup

Postby The_Honourable » February 5th, 2019, 11:49 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
SR wrote:I have seen the vid inside the bus....cant post that on social media...

post it here with a warning

Not so bad as i thought as they removed the body, but viewer discretion is advised. I'm not gonna lie, death was travelling in that bus today. Study the bible page.

speedist wrote:My instincts tell me to stay off the road this morning yes. Somebody PM me the vid nuh. I might regret it later but say what.

Press "click to view".

speedist

Re: Truck Spills Water Bottles Across Both Lanes Of Uriah Butler Causing Major Traffic Backup

Postby speedist » February 5th, 2019, 11:51 pm

skylinechild wrote:
speedist wrote:My instincts tell me to stay off the road this morning yes. Somebody PM me the vid nuh. I might regret it later but say what.

careful what you wish for.......you just might get it......also i HIGHLY recommend you dont get the vid......christine might get some ideas......
Christine been trying to kill me for years. Just now she trying less. Wangan midnight style.

speedist

Postby speedist » February 5th, 2019, 11:52 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
SR wrote:I have seen the vid inside the bus....cant post that on social media...

Not so bad as i thought as they removed the body, but viewer discretion is advised. I'm not gonna lie, death was travelling in that bus today. Study the bible page.

Press "click to view".
Guess my phone to ancient. Can't open it from the app. Oh well....

Postby gastly369 » February 6th, 2019, 1:39 am

speedist wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

Press "click to view".
Guess my phone to ancient. Can't open it from the app. Oh well....
Not phone...tuner app been broken for some time now

Postby aaron17 » February 6th, 2019, 4:28 am

Ent cable barriers better than concrete?

Postby Kenjo » February 6th, 2019, 4:45 am

That part there has a widen elevated concrete type culvert . Between that part and the cable wires there has been a drastic reduction in crossing over the highway . The majority of cross overs before were when it had absolutely nothing but the grassy median and these are extreme accidents that I fought even the wires could have sufficiently stopped

Postby pugboy » February 6th, 2019, 5:31 am

I wonder what exactly is the costing that makes the cable barriers so expensive to utilize

even if cost is an issue they could use a single cable in the middle of the median instead of one on either side of the median.

pjfred

Postby pjfred » February 6th, 2019, 5:50 am

pugboy wrote:I wonder what exactly is the costing that makes the cable barriers so expensive to utilize

even if cost is an issue they could use a single cable in the middle of the median instead of one on either side of the median.
Last week I saw on a section of that highway where cable Barriers were installed that they were removing them claiming that the government instructed such. What really going on in this country?

Postby pugboy » February 6th, 2019, 5:57 am

surely contracts boy, contracts

pjfred wrote:
pugboy wrote:I wonder what exactly is the costing that makes the cable barriers so expensive to utilize

Last week I saw on a section of that highway where cable Barriers were installed that they were removing them claiming that the government instructed such. What really going on in this country?

Kronik

Postby Kronik » February 6th, 2019, 6:15 am

It had accidents where they hit through the cable barriers in their side, and is the barriers in the next side that stop them, depends on how fast the hit it and what angle and type/height of vehicle too

Postby Redman » February 6th, 2019, 6:26 am

RIP to the victims.

The fact that this accident occurred between 3 heavy vehicles is fortunate....the blue waters truck prevented the dump truck from possibility of crossing the median, and the bus was big enough to keep the BW truck from plowing through the other traffic head on.

FWIW the drivers did well too.

Postby sMASH » February 6th, 2019, 7:00 am

how did the truck tire blow out?

Postby Chimera » February 6th, 2019, 8:03 am

this is from a US site....so the prices are US

http://www.mankatofreepress.com/news/as ... c7b18.html

I often drive Owatonna to New Ulm and notice that a lot of areas have cable catch wires between four-lane roads to keep people from going up into the other lanes. There are some on Highway 14 but none between North Mankato and Nicollet. Will they be putting more in? How do they decide where to put them?

A: The question came from a caller who said he was a firefighter who lives east of Mankato and he's seen firsthand on crash calls that the cable barriers seem to prevent more serious accidents.

Stand-in Ask Us Guy talked to Scott Thompson, a Minnesota Department of Transportation traffic engineer in Mankato, who said the high-tension cable barriers have been a boon for traffic safety.

"Statewide there has been a 95 percent reduction in fatal and serious injuries in areas where high-tension median barriers are installed," he said.

"It's an incredibly effective tool, but unfortunately it's incredibly expense — $150,000 per mile to install, and that doesn't include maintenance.

"It's without a doubt one of the biggest safety improvements. From a cost-benefit standpoint, even though it's $150,000 a mile, compare that to buying more land and creating more median space. Ninety-five percent fewer serious and fatal accidents, that's huge."

http://www.dot.state.mn.us/trafficeng/r ... rrier.html

Cost
Material and installation:

Workers installing a cable median barrier.Concrete median barrier: $400,000 to $500,000 per mile
Cable median barrier: $125,000 to $150,000 per mile
Maintenance (annual cost):

$5,400 per mile in the Twin Cities metro area
$3,600 per mile in Greater Minnesota
As traffic volumes grow and the cable median barrier system expands, there will be a significant increase in the cost to maintain the barrier system statewide.

so...a million TT a mile....minimum

Postby maj. tom » February 6th, 2019, 8:20 am

maintenance? in Trinidad? say no more.

Postby gastly369 » February 6th, 2019, 8:30 am

sMASH wrote:how did the truck tire blow out?
Ever see any trucks with good tires in Trinidad ever?

Postby sMASH » February 6th, 2019, 8:34 am

if any one passing that part of the highway could obseve the road condition, where they truck tire blew out, just to confirm if its good or bad. pothole wise.

Postby pugboy » February 6th, 2019, 8:35 am

Wow, I wonder what exactly is the cost composed of. The hydraulic machine doesnt appear to be anything special.
Backhoes have an attachment which can do similar hammering.

I suspect a lot of that cost is in certifications and liability papers.

They look like galvanized i-beams and cables. They must be some kind of hardened steel.

Once while cycling with police escort south on ubh and idiot fully loaded dump truck tried to over take us and ran off
into the barriers, the near barriers held the truck fully, was quite surprised.

Most of the damage though seems to be from vehicles hitting at almost parallel to the cables which ends up damaging the beams more than anything.

Postby pugboy » February 6th, 2019, 8:42 am

that truck was filled to the brim. Who knows if the material was wet which would add significant weight to the load.

I wonder if licensing officers ever did tests to see what the actual weight of a load on a truck weighs and if it crosses the mgw.
that truck's tray looks to be not really centered over the rear wheels, so the front half of the load would be supported by the two front wheels

gastly369 wrote:
sMASH wrote:how did the truck tire blow out?
Ever see any trucks with good tires in Trinidad ever?

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » February 6th, 2019, 11:20 am

[quote="pugboy" I wonder what exactly is the costing that makes the cable barriers so expensive to utilize

even if cost is an issue they could use a single cable in the middle of the median instead of one on either side of the median.[/quote]

Bobol

Postby teems1 » February 6th, 2019, 11:44 am

Even if they don't want to use cable barriers, why not just use Armco?

It is used throughout the world.

Even at 1m per mile, that's still not too bad for the North/South highway as the government wastes way more than that on bloated HDC contracts.

Postby Rovin » February 6th, 2019, 11:46 am

we boast of 57yrs of independence , 45yrs of being a banana republic , a couple oil booms , numerous mega projects , projects that were done 1\2 way or abandoned , govts\politicians that came\went a few times yet none of them cared to implement barriers along ALL of our nations highways & major roads

authorities finding it hard or chinksing on what it cost to maintain d barriers we actually have in south

billions were squandered\stolen so we cant say cost is an object when it come to human lives ...

Postby adnj » February 6th, 2019, 12:28 pm

Myth: Tire tread debris on the highway is mainly caused by retreads.

The main causes of tire failure are road hazards and low tire pressure.

New and retread tires are equally vulnerable to failure and tire maintenance is critical to successful performance.
pugboy wrote:true, but how come every half a mile on the highway it have a piece of somebody recap, many of them practically brand new ?

Zim wrote:I sure d truck had a recap tyre
Idk why men doesn't have proper tyres on dey trucks nah.

RIP to the fallen

what exactly wrong with recaps? Every fleet in the world runs on recaps, as do commercial airliners...commercial tyres are actually designed to be recapped
https://www.bandag.com/en-us/research-center/retread-reliability

Postby adnj » February 6th, 2019, 12:36 pm

Guardrail should be preferred over a concrete wall and wire rope cable barrier should be preferred over guardrail - where the road and traffic conditions allow.
teems1 wrote:Even if they don't want to use cable barriers, why not just use Armco?

It is used throughout the world.

Even at 1m per mile, that's still not too bad for the North/South highway as the government wastes way more than that on bloated HDC contracts.
pugboy wrote:Wow, I wonder what exactly is the cost composed of. The hydraulic machine doesnt appear to be anything special.
Backhoes have an attachment which can do similar hammering.

I suspect a lot of that cost is in certifications and liability papers.

They look like galvanized i-beams and cables. They must be some kind of hardened steel.

Once while cycling with police escort south on ubh and idiot fully loaded dump truck tried to over take us and ran off
into the barriers, the near barriers held the truck fully, was quite surprised.

Most of the damage though seems to be from vehicles hitting at almost parallel to the cables which ends up damaging the beams more than anything.
http://www.csppacific.co.nz/news-item/concrete-vs-wire-rope-safety-barrier-whatandrsquos-more-effective

Postby redmanjp » February 6th, 2019, 1:40 pm

Redman wrote:RIP to the victims.

The fact that this accident occurred between 3 heavy vehicles is fortunate....the blue waters truck prevented the dump truck from possibility of crossing the median, and the bus was big enough to keep the BW truck from plowing through the other traffic head on.

FWIW the drivers did well too.

i wouldn't say 48 injured 15 serious being fortunate though

Postby Redman » February 6th, 2019, 4:30 pm

well i said the fact that it was 3 heavy vehicle is what is fortunate.

So its not absolute but relative to the possibility of the BW truck not being there-and 2 cars in its space....what would have stopped the dump truck upon losing control from crossing the median into head on traffic?

If the bus was not there....replace with 3 cars- where would have the BW truck ended up?

Postby De Dragon » February 6th, 2019, 4:36 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Says he not being political....proceeds to make politically based statements.

One day I hope you get the help you need for that complex you harbouring
randolphinshan wrote:
adnj wrote:There appears to be no median barrier to prevent a vehicle from crossing into oncoming traffic.

This is indeed a tragic incident.RIP to the deceased and a speeedy recovery for those injured. Not being political in any regard but we can blame Rambachand for the lack of median barriers there, man plant bougainvillea in the middle yea. Say what he leader was accustomed to flying helicopter most of the time. Remember a few years ago a garbage truck crossed the median close to there and people unfortunately died on an Eid holiday.

Being a total and absolute kant is a "complex?" :?

Postby Slartibartfast » February 6th, 2019, 4:49 pm

sMASH wrote:if any one passing that part of the highway could obseve the road condition, where they truck tire blew out, just to confirm if its good or bad. pothole wise.

I used to live very close to there. The road is as good as it gets on both sides. Further up north on the north bound lane has some asphalt patches that could get a little bumpy. The road is definitely not as issue.

Postby hydroep » February 7th, 2019, 6:50 am

Metal on UBH may have caused fatal crash
Rhondor Dowlat

A for­eign ob­ject ly­ing on the Uri­ah But­ler High­way may have caused the ac­ci­dent on Tues­day that re­sult­ed in the death of two women and not a de­fec­tive tyre as ini­tial­ly be­lieved.

This was yes­ter­day dis­closed to the Guardian Me­dia by a se­nior li­cens­ing of­fi­cer who re­ceived in­for­ma­tion di­rect­ly from the in­ves­ti­gat­ing po­lice of­fi­cer and the in­spec­tor as­signed to the Li­cens­ing Au­thor­i­ty (Trans­port Di­vi­sion) of the Min­istry of Works and Trans­port. Both of­fi­cers were on the scene of the fa­tal ac­ci­dent in Char­lieville on Tues­day.

Ac­cord­ing to a po­lice re­port, at about 9.45 am one of the tyres on a dump truck head­ing south blew out. The truck then col­lid­ed with a Blue Wa­ters truck next to it that in turn slammed in­to a PTSC Deluxe Coach in the north­bound lane. Two of the bus­es pas­sen­gers – Tara Ba­boolal, 66, of Debe and Judy Clarke, 61, of Diego Mar­tin, were killed in­stant­ly while 48 oth­er pas­sen­gers were in­jured and tak­en to hos­pi­tal.

The se­nior Li­cens­ing Of­fi­cer ex­plained that be­cause of the con­di­tion of the blown tyre it was hard to tell its pri­or con­di­tion. How­ev­er, he added that the in­spec­tor looked at the re­main­ing nine tyres on the truck and found them to be in good con­di­tion.

“The blown tyre would have dis­in­te­grat­ed on the road, shred­ding it, so it would be of no use, but what the in­spec­tor did was in­spect the oth­er nine tyres that would have giv­en him a fair in­di­ca­tion as to the con­di­tion of the one that blew,” the se­nior li­cens­ing of­fi­cer said.

“It was said that all the oth­er tyres seem to be in good con­di­tion. So to say neg­li­gence as the cause is not so, as it is with re­spect to the find­ings of the pre­lim­i­nary in­ves­ti­ga­tions.”

Guardian Me­dia was told that one of the in­ves­ti­gat­ing po­lice of­fi­cers at the scene re­port­ed that he ob­served a piece of met­al on the road­way and be­lieved that it may have pen­e­trat­ed the truck’s tyre, caus­ing it to blow.

“Pre­lim­i­nary in­ves­ti­ga­tions al­so sug­gest that the piece of met­al that was re­cov­ered from the scene did not seem to have come from any one of the ve­hi­cles that was in­volved in the ac­ci­dent so its quite pos­si­ble that this may have caused the tyre to blow whilst not con­clu­sive but it is pos­si­ble,” the se­nior Li­cens­ing Of­fi­cer told Guardian Me­dia.

When con­tact­ed for com­ment yes­ter­day, act­ing Trans­port Com­mis­sion­er Bas­deo Go­sine said he was yet to re­ceive the in­spec­tor’s re­port on the ac­ci­dent. Asked what mea­sures are in place to in­spect trucks and oth­er heavy ve­hi­cles that fre­quent­ly use the na­tion’s road­ways, Go­sine said the Li­cens­ing Of­fice has been car­ry­ing out spot checks over the past sev­er­al months.

“For quite a while we have been car­ry­ing out spot checks through­out T&T – San Fer­nan­do, Ca­roni, Rivulet Road in Cou­va just to name a few where big trucks are re­strict­ed to par­tic­u­lar routes. They are giv­en a route pass which is a doc­u­ment that they get from the Trans­port Board telling them which roads in T&T that they are al­lowed to dri­ve on.”

In­ves­ti­ga­tions are con­tin­u­ing.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/metal-on-ubh-may-have-caused-fatal-crash-6.2.774690.783938fccf

Postby maj. tom » February 7th, 2019, 7:00 am

They reported anything about the speed of the fully loaded dump truck? Would a single tire blow out at 65 km/hr have the same catastrophic loss of control on the vehicle as one traveling at... what you want to guess these truck men does be driving on the highway? Overtaking you at 100 km/hr and more...

But I know it's still speculation and there's so much anger and frustration when these things happen. We all really want to hang somebody for these incidents. Yet they will keep happening because no steps are taken by the Government to enforce road safety each time.

Postby adnj » February 7th, 2019, 7:44 am

maj. tom wrote:They reported anything about the speed of the fully loaded dump truck? Would a single tire blow out at 65 km/hr have the same catastrophic loss of control on the vehicle as one traveling at... what you want to guess these truck men does be driving on the highway? Overtaking you at 100 km/hr and more...

But I know it's still speculation and there's so much anger and frustration when these things happen. We all really want to hang somebody for these incidents. Yet they will keep happening because no steps are taken by the Government to enforce road safety each time.

It's the driver's side front in your photo. Immediate loss of control with a steering tire blowout at any velocity above 40 km/h in my experience.