2019 and Already Grocery prices GONE UP

Re: 2019 and Already Grocery prices GONE UP

Postby MG Man » January 8th, 2019, 10:13 am

try dat in chaguanas market nah....by time yuh done chat up de one smallie that look nice, yuh done making place downstairs for mammy to move een and Uncle Popo and neighbour Lall done wining up on each other

Postby Slartibartfast » January 8th, 2019, 10:48 am

zoom rader wrote:Don't see what's de beat up here , you all wanted this goverment. Be happy prices in view should be more

Maybe the beatup is from some of the people that were part of the 70% of our voting population that did not vote for PNM.

Just cuz you enjoy swinging from rowley cocolooks doesn't mean that everybody else does to. Why don't you go chill with your red and ready crew.

Postby MG Man » January 8th, 2019, 10:58 am

Slartibartfast wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Don't see what's de beat up here , you all wanted this goverment. Be happy prices in view should be more

Maybe the beatup is from some of the people that were part of the 70% of our voting population that did not vote for PNM.

Just cuz you enjoy swinging from rowley cocolooks doesn't mean that everybody else does to. Why don't you go chill with your red and ready crew.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby matr1x » January 8th, 2019, 11:10 am

Maybe Marlene will eat less

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » January 8th, 2019, 1:37 pm

matr1x wrote:Maybe Marlene will eat less

Government ministers doh get no cut . performance or non performance their paycheck in the bank , tax free cars , travelling allowance and them idiots eating off taxpayers money in fancy restaurants.
Doh now why rowley did not put up a graph showing how much money the country could have saved if they stopped using taxpayers money for their pleasure

Postby Rovin » January 8th, 2019, 2:24 pm

do what i doing for d past few yrs buy\consume only what u need : d basics , no fancy this\that ... keeps ur life living simpler & saves u $$$ too

Postby Slartibartfast » January 8th, 2019, 4:22 pm

Rovin's Audio wrote:do what i doing for d past few yrs buy\consume only what u need : d basics , no fancy this\that ... keeps ur life living simpler & saves u $$$ too

That's the way to go. It's also a lot easier and more cost efficient if you plan you your meals so that you reduce how much you waste.

If anyone into budgeting check out a program called "You need a budget". Version 5 is a paid subscription which is a waste of time and money but Version 4 is really good and easy to find a crack copy of online.

Postby zoom rader » January 8th, 2019, 4:33 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
Rovin's Audio wrote:do what i doing for d past few yrs buy\consume only what u need : d basics , no fancy this\that ... keeps ur life living simpler & saves u $$$ too

That's the way to go. It's also a lot easier and more cost efficient if you plan you your meals so that you reduce how much you waste.

If anyone into budgeting check out a program called "You need a budget". Version 5 is a paid subscription which is a waste of time and money but Version 4 is really good and easy to find a crack copy of online.
Slartibartfast wrote:

Keep voting PNM bro, it working wonders for the masses

Good thing you don't understand my post

Postby Slartibartfast » January 8th, 2019, 6:47 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:

So funny. How about next time I want my comeback I tell you to spit instead of swallow.

UDR WOFT. Racists gonna race I guess.

Postby zoom rader » January 8th, 2019, 8:11 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:

So funny. How about next time I want my comeback I tell you to spit instead of swallow.

UDR WOFT. Racists gonna race I guess.
So it's racist for grocery prices to be pushed up

Postby paid_influencer » January 8th, 2019, 8:43 pm

prices are not going up though.

what is happening is that some companies are trying to 'pass on' increased costs (-- all directly created by this wicked and uncaring PNM government).

But, there is always another company that will accept the lower profits to remain viable in a dismal economy. So prices overall are remaining the same or dropping in this PNM-induced stagnation.

the lack of price increase, relative to the increased costs, is a very worrying sign.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » January 8th, 2019, 9:22 pm

dean_spleen09 wrote:op you dont have to buy , you could always eat the money

Spoken like a true PNM

Postby RedVEVO » January 9th, 2019, 4:15 am

Prices will increase . Taxes will increase .

What is keeping it back ?

PM say he increasing Agri investments and will diversify .

It's a lie.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » January 12th, 2019, 4:57 am

Ac­cord­ing to doc­u­ments com­piled and sent to the In­tegri­ty Com­mis­sion by for­mer Unit­ed Na­tion­al Con­gress (UNC) min­is­ter De­vant Ma­haraj, ques­tions are be­ing asked about why this mas­sive dis­count was giv­en to Nu­trim­ix di­rec­tor Shameer Ron­nie Mo­hammed, who is al­so the chair­man of two State agen­cies, Caribbean Air­lines and the Es­tate Man­age­ment and Busi­ness De­vel­op­ment Com­pa­ny (EM­BD).

In Au­gust, Gov­ern­ment gave land at Rivulet Road, Cou­va for Nu­trim­ix to con­struct its $30 mil­lion fa­cil­i­ty. Prime Min­is­ter Dr Kei­th Row­ley turned the sod to start con­struc­tion and praised Mo­hammed for work­ing to­wards di­ver­si­fy­ing the econ­o­my and boost­ing lo­cal em­ploy­ment.

i want 10 acres ah land to plant baigan come PNM govt give me the land also. what good for one citizen have to be good for the other. baigan was $6 and is $10 this week. if i plant 10 acres ah baigan the entire counrty go benefit at $1 ah pong. i go hire immigrants who want the wuk that locals refuse.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 12th, 2019, 5:51 am

This

Plus make yah own damm breakfast and lunch..idk how people does buy both everyday nah...that saves ah sheit load of $$

Postby Dizzy28 » January 12th, 2019, 10:29 am

You are not a friend or financier of the party. If you were you would have your land already. Ronnie Mohammed's approval coincidentally happened at the same time he was in Australia with sheit kickers
screwbash wrote:
Ac­cord­ing to doc­u­ments com­piled and sent to the In­tegri­ty Com­mis­sion by for­mer Unit­ed Na­tion­al Con­gress (UNC) min­is­ter De­vant Ma­haraj, ques­tions are be­ing asked about why this mas­sive dis­count was giv­en to Nu­trim­ix di­rec­tor Shameer Ron­nie Mo­hammed, who is al­so the chair­man of two State agen­cies, Caribbean Air­lines and the Es­tate Man­age­ment and Busi­ness De­vel­op­ment Com­pa­ny (EM­BD).

In Au­gust, Gov­ern­ment gave land at Rivulet Road, Cou­va for Nu­trim­ix to con­struct its $30 mil­lion fa­cil­i­ty. Prime Min­is­ter Dr Kei­th Row­ley turned the sod to start con­struc­tion and praised Mo­hammed for work­ing to­wards di­ver­si­fy­ing the econ­o­my and boost­ing lo­cal em­ploy­ment.

i want 10 acres ah land to plant baigan come PNM govt give me the land also. what good for one citizen have to be good for the other. baigan was $6 and is $10 this week. if i plant 10 acres ah baigan the entire counrty go benefit at $1 ah pong. i go hire immigrants who want the wuk that locals refuse.

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » January 12th, 2019, 10:48 am

We have a broken economy. The reason locally produced goods will always be so expensive is because all governments have let the general inflation get out of control. Farmers need to live too. They can't sell it cheaper than they already are because their cost of living is high too. This endless cycle drives up food prices, in combination with us having higher transport costs, zero rated vat removed etc.

Something has to be very wrong when i see almost everything food relared is cheaper is cheaper in London.

Postby sMASH » January 12th, 2019, 10:52 am

hoss, if they let the exchange rate increase, slowly over a few years, it would cause the foreign imports to go to their natural high prices. that would allow the local produce to be competitive. yes it would cause every thing to go up, but that is just the reality.

right now, we are importing becuase it is artificially cheaper to import food. why this is bad, is because the normal person cant get USd, but the big shot could get, so the advantage unfairly goes in favor of the large business... keeping the rich rich, and the poor man struggling.
why? cause u cant eat the money .

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » January 12th, 2019, 10:58 am

sMASH wrote:hoss, if they let the exchange rate increase, slowly over a few years, it would cause the foreign imports to go to their natural high prices. that would allow the local produce to be competitive. yes it would cause every thing to go up, but that is just the reality.

right now, we are importing becuase it is artificially cheaper to import food. why this is bad, is because the normal person cant get USd, but the big shot could get, so the advantage unfairly goes in favor of the large business... keeping the rich rich, and the poor man struggling.
why? cause u cant eat the money .

I agree with this, our currency is valued too high.

Postby hydroep » January 12th, 2019, 11:19 am

One thing to consider with respect to a devaluation is that it does not automatically mean all locally produced goods would be cheaper on the export market.

Since a lot of raw materials are imported, a drop to let's say TT$ 10: US$1 could increase the costs of production and commensurately both domestic and export prices. That would impact any potential competitive benefit on the international market AND simultaneously increase the cost of living locally.

Postby sMASH » January 12th, 2019, 1:41 pm

but at least, the local part of the cost can be COMPARATIVELY lower, so that locals would get incentive to produce, and then more poeple will get a living. the higher priced foreign stuff, whom so ever want it, will just pay more, as they please. who cant, like me, will just satisfy with local.

Postby hydroep » January 12th, 2019, 1:50 pm

No doubt some aspects of businesess would benefit, I suppose what I'm getting at is that it's not a "one size fits all" solution.

Instead of spouting general platitudes the politicians and economists should do some actual work and evaluate which industries would be impacted by such a move and whether or not the country as a whole would benefit as a result.

Postby sMASH » January 12th, 2019, 1:54 pm

as it stands now, it is relatively cheap. but it is regulated as to who could get. it makes no sense, from the average business man point of view, for the exchange rate to be low, but u cant get it, but the is only they big businesses getting it.

so, its even more corrupt cause the in addition to the the small man not getting at all, the big man getting it substantially cheaper.