The official tropical weather thread 2018

Re: The official tropical weather thread 2018

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 20th, 2018, 10:53 am

^ Last year one was actually nothing you could ah walk through the flood with normal tall boots, nothing remotely close to this and just think that was a storm. So I eh know what this was, I experienced all kinda flooding and even 2 hurricanes in my lifetime but never anything like this.

Postby K74T » October 20th, 2018, 10:56 am

Yeah ok cool crystal clear.

Postby K74T » October 20th, 2018, 10:57 am

Keyser Soze wrote:hearing 11 people died in greenvale.... unconfirmed report.
not sure of the number but some people did drown there.

No fatalities were reported.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 20th, 2018, 11:01 am

The 11 dead was just a mischief rumor Rowley said.

Postby aaron17 » October 20th, 2018, 11:04 am

Ent a vid with a rig circulating that more bad rain coming?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 20th, 2018, 11:07 am

aaron17 wrote:Ent a vid with a rig circulating that more bad rain coming?

From what I was told we have a better chance of it NOT happening than happening.

This seems to be the end of it most likely.

Postby shogun » October 20th, 2018, 11:09 am

brainchild wrote:
K74T wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:What I frighten about is that forecast for more rain, we can't handle that hoss what on earth would happen if an actual hurricane hit us? the government needs to wake the fck up

Yet last yr...
Was thinking bout that earlier...smh

Lawdahmercy. :shock: :lol:

Karma, that b!tch.

Postby Gladiator » October 20th, 2018, 11:09 am

K74T wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:What I frighten about is that forecast for more rain, we can't handle that hoss what on earth would happen if an actual hurricane hit us? the government needs to wake the fck up

Yet last yr...

Talk bout kicking a man when he already down... or rather drowning him when he done underwater!

Postby aaron17 » October 20th, 2018, 11:21 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

From what I was told we have a better chance of it NOT happening than happening.

This seems to be the end of it most likely.
Yeaa, ......nah

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 20th, 2018, 11:24 am

Real sorry to hear ED
has the water started to subside?

it's raining heavily again in San Fernando right now

Postby The_Honourable » October 20th, 2018, 11:25 am

Men pulling out receipts for Effectic... but ED, i hope you get thru safely.

Photo 3hrs ago from the EOG Osprey platform courtesy Traffic Spotters
44487732_10156835647058619_8766338133026406400_o.jpg

whizzard

Postby whizzard » October 20th, 2018, 11:27 am

K74T wrote:

Yet last yr...

Be careful what you ask for, because this still isn't a storm or hurricane.

Postby X_Factor » October 20th, 2018, 11:30 am

radar images looking like round two/three in a few hrs

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 20th, 2018, 11:40 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Real sorry to hear ED
has the water started to subside?

it's raining heavily again in San Fernando right now

Yes the water has started to go down but now suddenly it stopped and is remaining at one point, or going down VERY slowly.

Rowley said only boats can come through right now but I call BS, I have seen a number of trucks and tractors driving through this.

Only good thing I could say is its no longer neck high but more belly high. We get flood every year here sometimes twice a year, so we are always prepared for flooding but this one is something completely out of the scope of what we have come to expect with flooding.

This one family by me here was on their house roof with water actually creeping up on the galvanize. Luckily the boat came to their rescue in time. We accustom to flood here in the roads that don't even get into your houses, not this. To me this reminded me of when Trinis say we doh get real flood and that real flood is when the Mississippi river overflows. But the flood we get hoss was just like that as I tried to help the neighbor on the ladder come across with his toddler I could see the flood rising from chest to neck height on me. That is when I had to tie myself down with a rope I swear I was dead boy I not lying. And even worse I had the kid in my hands ontop my head and when I walk the slush on the ground and current pushing me I swear i was going to fall over with the child yes. To me having to dive into that water and help these people was like diving into the actual caroni river when you can't swim and to make matters even worse I am afraid of deep water and heights.

Postby ismithx » October 20th, 2018, 11:46 am

Guys more rain is coming, don't be all optimistic. What we going through is a clear spot in the weather system

Postby ismithx » October 20th, 2018, 11:48 am

Also keep note of the tides with respect to runoff, high tide is 13:40 and low is 19:53

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 20th, 2018, 11:49 am

ismithx wrote:Guys more rain is coming, don't be all optimistic. What we going through is a clear spot in the weather system

Doh say that nah padner, the water now starting to go down. I can't help nobody again and my food is almost done much of it I spent feeding my brother kids and my neighbor, I didn't prepare because my boss demanded that I come to work Friday so I had no choice and nobody is coming no coast guard no nothing is coming to help us. Everybody here in this whole area is stranded with no food all their food is soaked. People are starving here and no supplies, again nobody expected hell on earth flooding.

Postby sMASH » October 20th, 2018, 11:50 am

Shaft, no grease there Ed.

Is that the taxi in the front yard?

Postby ismithx » October 20th, 2018, 11:52 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
ismithx wrote:Guys more rain is coming, don't be all optimistic. What we going through is a clear spot in the weather system

Doh say that nah padner, the water now starting to go down. I can't help nobody again and my food is almost done much of it I spent feeding my brother kids and my neighbor, I didn't prepare because my boss demanded that I come to work Friday so I had no choice and nobody is coming no coast guard no nothing is coming to help us. Everybody here in this whole area is stranded with no food all their food is soaked. People are starving here and no supplies, again nobody expected hell on earth flooding.

Satellite imagery don't care, I just telling you what the reality is brother... Reality is prepare for more

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 20th, 2018, 11:56 am

sMASH wrote:Shaft, no grease there Ed.

Is that the taxi in the front yard?

nah thats my brother Ek3, it is totally ruined water was above the wind screen last night. And mind you he park that in the flood spot is an area we raised in the lawn to park the vehicle incase we got flood.

Yeah if more flood and rain come we dead for sure cause the water is taking very long to go down, like it standstill now, Everybody vehicle around here was submerged in water brand new Ford Ranger, Corolla, you name it. Situation is VERY serious no different than La Horqueta.

Rowley says he will send the coast guard and food supplies here but we have yet to see even a biscuit, I more worried about my neighbors and their kids they have toddlers etc, old people who can't move, the disabled and the list goes on

Postby meccalli » October 20th, 2018, 12:01 pm

I think south is gonna get most of the rain today, tomorrow may be worse for the north. Seems we dodged a bullet last night.

Postby sMASH » October 20th, 2018, 12:03 pm

My father y11 was covered nearly to the top.
The car worked so we thought we got away. Until we had to change the tranny , so bought both an engine and tranny. And then had to change the engine.

Look out fir deals on flood cars from next week.
Non Fukushima, local.

Postby K74T » October 20th, 2018, 12:08 pm

zorced

Postby zorced » October 20th, 2018, 12:20 pm

This could be the worst ever... now saw the express today... post more info about roads if you all have.

Postby hydroep » October 20th, 2018, 12:26 pm

Total mess...

Postby teems1 » October 20th, 2018, 12:30 pm

meccalli wrote:I think south is gonna get most of the rain today, tomorrow may be worse for the north. Seems we dodged a bullet last night.

Loud thunder in Chaguanas area.

Postby toyolink » October 20th, 2018, 12:31 pm

This event has gotten personal since a friend and other families with kids have to get supplies urgently.
I am mobilizing to try and help, so no more business today.
My old Hilux can handle about everything, but since I just don't know the water levels, all I can do is a pre-arranged drop-off.
…..Let the community spirit rein!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 20th, 2018, 12:39 pm

toyolink wrote:This event has gotten personal since a friend and other families with kids have to get supplies urgently.
I am mobilizing to try and help, so no more business today.
My old Hilux can handle about everything, but since I just don't know the water levels, all I can do is a pre-arranged drop-off.
…..Let the community spirit rein!

Does it have the air breeder above the hood? I know the old Hilux can go through water even with your feet submerged in water at the clutch and pedal. If its a diesel even better.

On another note a very dear friend of mine is in his wingroad coming from south he lives Santa Cruz, he is currently stuck by moroe road he says no vehicles can pass even truck shutting down.

What are his options now? he tried going down the mainroad and cars are turning back aswell he said even there the water is too deep for his car.

He needs to get home because his grand mother is a sickly person and she is 94 years old.

Worse case scenario if he has to sleep in his car overnight how long can we be looking at until cars can pass through that charlieville / monroe road / caroni area?

Whatever information is provided to me here I will relay it back to him ASAP.

Postby Chimera » October 20th, 2018, 12:44 pm

wreckers are pulling a steady hustle at grand bazaar and munroe road, to load up and drive you across the flood. not sure how much they charging though

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 20th, 2018, 12:48 pm

Driving through grande atm
2018-10-20 12.43.35.jpg
2018-10-20 12.43.53.jpg
2018-10-20 12.44.26.jpg
2018-10-20 12.45.08.jpg
2018-10-20 12.45.23.jpg