Kidnapping in south Trinidad

Joshie23

Re: Kidnapping in south Trinidad

Postby Joshie23 » September 11th, 2018, 11:51 am

Les Bain wrote:So how am I supposed to react moving forward, if a team of officers want to kick down my burglarproof and front door, or an unmarked police vehicle pull me over?
Should I ask them to bear with me while I whatsapp Gary for instructions?

This is a damn good point. It's messed up because we have men/women in police gear riding in unmarked vehicles and at the same time, we have men/women in civilian clothing, riding in marked police vehicles. This is why (and knock me if you want) I take those 'he was resisting arrest' videos with a pinch of salt. Yes there are the miscreants that should be thrown in the back of an X-Trail (or Rav-4 8-) ) no questions asked. But it gets a lot more interesting when the miscreants are the ones driving the X-Trails and the Rav-4s or worse yet, wearing kha.....

Since it's apparent that Faris and Stuart 'played a part' in the rescue efforts, they should continue playing a part where they play best; draft up legislation to bring to Parliament (iirc, I think there were plans to do so already, stand to be corrected) to introduce body cameras on all police officers and dash cams on the vehicles, to be active once the respective officer is on duty and the videos to be live-streamed and backed up to a secure server. Sure, it won't help with situations external to the T.T.P.S., but it's a start for GG to clean up his squad and Faris and Co. to (try to) look good.

Edit: I digressed a bit from what this thread was actually about. Well done to the officers that actually upheld their oath to protect and serve and I'm thankful that at least one out of the many distressed families that have fallen victim to kidnapping scum, has been restored.

Postby j.o.e » September 11th, 2018, 12:11 pm

Don’t agree with Young talking however the flip side is that the public has allowed crime to be politicized so much ..... we pretty much asked for it.

Postby Redman » September 11th, 2018, 12:13 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
Redman wrote:I see Jerlean John play the race card...smh

I doh see y doh cuz judging from the pics of the arrested they dont belong to one race

Cuz it's cheap political points to imply that the woman was found because she is white and rich.

So the implication is TTPS solve it cuz she white

Postby The_Honourable » September 11th, 2018, 12:24 pm

Front page of the express put more fire in the argument.

Postby aaron17 » September 11th, 2018, 12:34 pm

Hell , I speeding to the nearest police station...Unmarked police my foot.

Postby rspann » September 11th, 2018, 12:49 pm

Redman wrote:

I doh see y doh cuz judging from the pics of the arrested they dont belong to one race

Cuz it's cheap political points to imply that the woman was found because she is white and rich.

People like to bring race in everything. The TTPS has been solving kidnapping for ransom for quite a few years now. As long as a phone call is made they can find the culprits. Sometime the family might rush and pay against the advice of the police because they are scared so the police does not have control over the situation. There are some trained officers on the team that have had many successful results. It started a few years back and since then kidnapping for ransom has been virtually eliminated. At the time a good family friend was in charge so I had a little insight into the workings . The other types of kidnapping are harder to deal with since nobody calls in . The ones where the husband gets rid of his wife / kidnapping for murder . One time I even helped a very vocal tuner find his sister who was "kidnapped" . If he's lurking he knows what I'm talking about. :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Postby timelapse » September 11th, 2018, 2:21 pm

maj. tom wrote:all the stink, dirty cops better scurry under Gary!

Then TTPS would be operating on less than ten employees :evilbat:

Daran

Postby Daran » September 11th, 2018, 2:22 pm

Redman wrote:

Well let's be real, that's the truth. White or upper class victims will always be given high priority because of their influence (or perceived influence).

Doesn't mean to say they won't attempt to solve other cases, but top resources will be allocated to cases like this, there's not denying it.
Last edited by Daran on September 11th, 2018, 2:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Daran

Postby Daran » September 11th, 2018, 2:23 pm

timelapse wrote:
maj. tom wrote:all the stink, dirty cops better scurry under Gary!

Then TTPS would be operating on less than ten employees :evilbat:

The other 1%

Postby aaron17 » September 11th, 2018, 2:51 pm

Wonder how much money it cost to pull off a operation like this.300k usd? Lol

Postby rspann » September 11th, 2018, 2:54 pm

aaron17 wrote:Wonder how much money it cost to pull off a operation like this.300k usd? Lol

After all that drama, imagine having to face 15 yrs jail, pay lawyer and no money made off the job.

X-Axis

Postby X-Axis » September 11th, 2018, 3:03 pm

Lol. Stop looking at it at face value.

Postby The_Honourable » September 11th, 2018, 4:17 pm

Police say only two officers held for kidnapping

Southern Division police are confirming that only two officers were arrested during yesterday’s operation that led to the rescue of Natalie Pollonais.

Contrary to reports last night that a corporal attached to the Highway Patrol Unit was also held, a senior officer said this was not true.

The senior officer said that the person in question even contacted his seniors to express his hurt at being labelled as a kidnapper.

According to the police, San Fernando CID was working in tandem with other operational units on Monday night.

When the Organised Criminal Intelligence Unit and the Anti Kidnapping Units retrieved Pollonais in El Socorro, San Juan and arrested a suspect, a team comprising ASP Ramdeen, Insp Gajadhar, Cpl Bacchus, Cpl Pulchan, PC George, PC Lange, PC Moses and PC Acevero moved on the two constables.

The constables were on duty at the La Romaine police post at the time of their arrest.

They were being held at an undisclosed location yesterday.

Guardian Media understands that over the weekend, the errant officers were being monitored while other intelligence units gathered information about Pollonais’ location

Pollonais, 49, of Palmiste, is the wife of Ja­son Pol­lon­ais, a di­rec­tor of the South Oropouche-based Inland and Offshore Contractors Ltd (IO­CL)

Last Thursday, she dis­ap­peared af­ter vis­it­ing the Cen­tral Ath­let­ic Club gym and some stores at C3 Cen­tre.

CCTV footage showed she left in her BMW 5308 hy­brid sedan around 11.30 am. Her hus­band re­port­ed her miss­ing when she did not re­turn home.

On Thurs­day night, San Fer­nan­do CID and South­ern Di­vi­sion Task Force found her car aban­doned in the park­ing lot of an apart­ment build­ing at Cy­press Hills, Union Hall.

Al­so on that night, her kid­nap­pers con­tact­ed her fam­i­ly and de­mand­ed a US$300,000 ran­som for her re­turn.

The kid­nap­pers al­lowed her to speak to her hus­band as proof she was alive. How­ev­er, they hung up when the is­sue of the cur­ren­cy of the ran­som arose. A source said that the fam­i­ly had gath­ered the mon­ey and was pre­pared to pay.

Around Monday night, the OCIU and AKU con­ducted sur­veil­lance on a white Nis­san AD Wag­on that went to a ho­tel in Ca­roni and left min­utes lat­er.

The wagon was intercepted several minutes lat­er and Pol­lon­ais was rescued.

CCTV footage ob­tained from C3 Cen­tre had al­so shown two men wear­ing tac­ti­cal po­lice uni­forms en­ter­ing a white Nis­san AD Wag­on re­sem­bling the one she was res­cued from.

In­tel­li­gence sug­gest­ed that the kid­nap­pers were mov­ing Pol­lon­ais around, the Guardian Media was told.

A tac­ti­cal unit was de­ployed and the Wag­on was in­ter­cept­ed. A Ford Ranger, which was said to be ac­com­pa­ny­ing the wag­on, was found aban­doned in St Au­gus­tine.

The two ve­hi­cles were tak­en to the Spe­cial Ev­i­dence Re­cov­ery Unit (SERU) in Cu­mu­to for foren­sic test­ing.

- by Kevon Felmine

Source: http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/pol ... kidnapping

Postby shogun » September 11th, 2018, 5:28 pm

Les Bain wrote:So how am I supposed to react moving forward, if a team of officers want to kick down my burglarproof and front door, or an unmarked police vehicle pull me over?

Think it's time to start looking at mandatory body-cams/dash-cams for officers. Not to mention even more stringent and ongoing scrutiny of the quality of the people being brought in to the service. This case really brings home that it's time for a change in strategy.

Postby The_Honourable » September 11th, 2018, 5:39 pm

TTPS issues statements
41515107_2080956898589647_4237231639777771520_o.jpg
41482817_2080826565269347_7034544445252960256_o.jpg

Postby Chimera » September 11th, 2018, 6:42 pm

Ian alleyene is saying that highway patrol intercepted a ford ranger belonging to a big time contractor....and using a phone number belonging to the contractor they were able to track the ad wagon and retrieve pollinais

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 11th, 2018, 6:56 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Ian alleyene is saying that highway patrol intercepted a ford ranger belonging to a big time contractor....and using a phone number belonging to the contractor they were able to track the ad wagon and retrieve pollinais

Allyuh does still listen to she

Postby bluefete » September 11th, 2018, 7:55 pm

Who was crying crocodile tears?

Postby Redman » September 11th, 2018, 8:37 pm

shogun wrote:

Think it's time to start looking at mandatory body-cams/dash-cams for officers. Not to mention even more stringent and ongoing scrutiny of the quality of the people being brought in to the service. This case really brings home that it's time for a change in strategy.

Yes to the mandatory dash and body cams....

Postby MaxPower » September 11th, 2018, 10:56 pm

Ian Alleyene is a coward and know who to come rong....he irrelevant and a lil boy....with that stupid white glasses

Postby Ben_spanna » September 12th, 2018, 8:10 am

rspann wrote:
aaron17 wrote:Wonder how much money it cost to pull off a operation like this.300k usd? Lol

After all that drama, imagine having to face 15 yrs jail, pay lawyer and no money made off the job.

ONLY 15 years??? :fist: :fist: :fist: this kind of Trauma leaves people paranoid for life, LIFE SENTENCE should be given immediately AFTER a Good WHIPPING! or stoning!!! firetruck corrupt officers! pieces of sh1t scum!

Postby matr1x » September 12th, 2018, 10:09 am

This smells of a scam.

Postby K74T » September 12th, 2018, 12:26 pm

Alrighty then

Postby timelapse » September 12th, 2018, 1:17 pm

On this topic, I wanted to find out if police should be asking a series of personal questions at a roadblock for example, where I work and how much money I make.
Can I refuse to answer their questions?
Right now I don't trust anything resembling police

Postby aaron17 » September 12th, 2018, 1:18 pm

I calling police station when i get stop by police. And texting number plate and ting.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » September 12th, 2018, 2:34 pm

dunno if thiz wuz poster arready...

WHAT ABOUT RIA?
Family begs Griffith after Pollonais rescue

AS THE second anniversary of her kidnapping approaches, Ria Sookdeo’s father is calling on Police Commissioner Gary Griffith to review her case especially in light of the rapid rescue on Monday of another kidnap victim, Natalia Pollonais, four days after she was snatched.

Frankie Rajkumar said he was extremely happy that Pollonais was back safe with her family and is hoping the diligence shown by the police to rescue Pollonais, can be used to find his daughter who was snatched back in 2016.

Rajkumar, 66, said he has learnt some “shocking details” about his daughter’s personal life that she kept hidden from her parents and siblings. Contacted for comment yesterday, Commissioner Griffith said he is willing and ready to meet with Rajkumar as he will make time for any citizen affected by crime. However, Griffith said he is not prepared to discuss cases or sensitive information in the media.

September 22 will mark two years since Ria was abducted outside her children’s primary school by men dressed in police tactical gear – a detail that is identical to Pollonais’ kidnapping. A police sketch of a suspect in Ria’s case was released and Rajkumar said this sketch bears a striking resemblance to a photo of one of the men said to be in custody for Pollonais’ kidnapping.

Although several people were detained, no one was ever arrested for Ria’s kidnapping and no ransom was ever demanded. Rajkumar said he is hoping Griffith can crack Ria’s case and his family can finally have answers about what happened to the Debe hairdresser.

“Mr Griffith seems to be taking a different approach that is getting results and I would grateful if he could look into Ria’s case and see what he can find,” Rajkumar said. “I have found out some things that can make any father’s heart hurt and I want to let the police know, after all this time we still pray for her and wish that she could come home.”

He said Ria would have celebrated her 36th birthday in March. “My wife and I bought a small cake for her 35th birthday, but it was too emotional for us. We haven’t really thought about doing anything to mark the day she was kidnapped. We will pray for her like we do every day.”

Newsday spoke to Ria’s husband Mark Sookdeo, who echoed Rajkumar’s call. Mark and Ria have two children, Elena, who is now 11, and Torres, seven. Mark said he would be grateful if his family could get some closure on Ria’s case, as his children often come to him with questions about their missing mother that he cannot answer.

“I see Gary is doing a good job as CoP, he seems to have a good head on his shoulders, and I hope he can bring this to an end,” Sookdeo said.

https://newsday.co.tt/2018/09/12/what-about-ria/

Postby pugboy » September 12th, 2018, 3:06 pm

I know a few ppl this nonsense survey happened to on ave

If they stop me I going straight to a station and bussing it after

timelapse wrote:On this topic, I wanted to find out if police should be asking a series of personal questions at a roadblock for example, where I work and how much money I make.
Can I refuse to answer their questions?
Right now I don't trust anything resembling police

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 12th, 2018, 3:49 pm

wickedtuna wrote:Take a look at this tuners and do give ur honest opinion
IMG-20180911-WA0027.jpeg
I hope they get some info outta him and find outbwhat he did to ria

VII

Postby VII » September 12th, 2018, 9:34 pm

really happy she made it...and hope.for some closure for the other ladies,great to see the dad come forward willing to share info with Gary,this is what confidence does creates an environment for real.possibilities .

and I think these recent developments with catching the rogue officers is a credit to the police rather than an indictment,and it's symbolic to the cause. I have no doubt those rogue officers arw getting serious bellars and will be late for court..and you know police officers can't take that kinda pressure, I really hope some leads can be had on Ria etc from those woman abducting cowards.

Right now Gary looking like the best man in T&T and trust me criminals taking note,I know.i spoke to a big one today and he saying gangster getting out ah style,he say strike back touch up. some of his associates real bad and if dem ain't wanna change dais dem"

I told him he must support our new commissioner he said yeah boy for real,tings really gettin out ah order!

Lol go Gary!!
Last edited by VII on September 13th, 2018, 11:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MaxPower » September 12th, 2018, 9:54 pm

TGI Gary