What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

Re: What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 1st, 2018, 10:43 am

Yeah I think they do they say they are pros so i would assume so.

BTW how much you does sell them Lennox installed for? I not feeling like spending money to fix the board in a old AC like this, bess I just buy a new one this thing is 9 years old and it get real licks.

So you saying Lennox is better than Delta? better quality parts etc? Neil Kool say they don't have lennox in stock so I hadda wait.

Postby nervewrecker » August 1st, 2018, 10:53 am

Have real men saying they are pros and dont use one. At the same time, he not from my area so I dont consider him competition (yet) :drinking:
Saw some of his installs and can say for a fact that they have NO warranty. I spoke to the dealer about an ac unit recently. A guy did it and bolted, he didnt know how to do the electrical. Now, the unit seems to have been either defective or mishandled. Asked about the warranty and explained the situation to the boss himself. He explained to me a criteria for warranty to be met. So I can say for a fact a lot of installs done have NO warranty.

I usually do $2600.00 downstairs install, back to back. Lennox and Daikin.
My last lennox was sold yesterday. I buy and keep a reserve for when times like these come around but needed space for wedding etc so ended up selling from my reserve. Hoping to move within the next year or two so I will have more space to stock goods.
You can get a Daikin.

I am not saying any is better than any. I am saying one may be better suited for an application better than the other. Basically, you get what you pay for.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 1st, 2018, 11:25 am

Hmm that Daikin that is the one with the copper fin?

I know Daikin uses Gree Fan motor which is supposed to be a good thing its the same motor used in lennox atleast from what I heard.

And by chance how much you normally sell Lennox for installed?

Also the Daikin does it have a turbo fan mode? and if not how does the daikin fan power compare to Lennox?

Also parts how easy it is to get parts to fix it down here etc?

Give me some more info on this Daikin

Postby nervewrecker » August 1st, 2018, 11:33 am

Parts easy to get.
Supplier has full stock of parts..
This was a free job.

Notice the distance from the ceiling. Just note it....ImageImageImageImageImage

All lines are copper.
Only a few units I know of came with aluminum lines..
I sell the lennox and daikin for the same price.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 1st, 2018, 11:39 am

^ that model is the one for $2600?

X-Fan means turbo I assume? I am going to assume the Daikin is just as powerful as the Lennox? and out of curiosity how much you was to sell the Lennox for installed?

And if you install it for me would it be the same $2600? is a high house but its easy to install the compressor I could help you we can rest it on the step which is right next to where the bracket the banister is like 2 feet away from the brackets in my current AC. The holes and thing done buss is just to replace the AC.

I studying how to take down the current AC though. And could I get it sold for small money for parts?

Also also when next u would get back Lennox AC in stock? and price of previous lennox ac u had?

Postby nervewrecker » August 1st, 2018, 11:56 am

Yes, same model, same price for the lennox.

All my lennox sold out. When the dealer gets, I will get.

Send me some pics of where you want it.

Remote has a green button that says turbo dan.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 1st, 2018, 12:28 pm

BTW when I asked copper I didn't mean copper lines I meant if the fins on the outdoor Daikin is copper.

But judging from the pictures you posted I assume it is copper? or is it some sort of corrosion coating?

1kingmed

Postby 1kingmed » August 1st, 2018, 12:44 pm

I had a 36000 btu McQuay by Daikin Applied installed by Neil Kool November 2017. The outdoor unit has copper fins and works really good. I have no issues.

Postby gastly369 » August 1st, 2018, 1:05 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Yes, same model, same price for the lennox.

All my lennox sold out. When the dealer gets, I will get.

Send me some pics of where you want it.

Remote has a green button that says turbo dan.
Turbo ting is de way

Postby nervewrecker » August 1st, 2018, 1:18 pm

I dont think those fins are copper you know. Gold plated maybe, but not copper.
Copper gets green and oxidises quick.

1kingmed

Postby 1kingmed » August 1st, 2018, 1:32 pm

Thanks for the insight “nervewrecker” you seem very apt in your knowledge of Airconditioning. What’s your perspective on McQuay units? I asked this question a couple pages back but no one responded to it.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 1st, 2018, 1:49 pm

Its funny niel kool says their delta has no turbo mode but my neighbor has a delta installed by someone from piarco and it has a turbo mode and the remote looks even expensive aswell.

Postby nervewrecker » August 1st, 2018, 2:05 pm

1kingmed wrote:Thanks for the insight “nervewrecker” you seem very apt in your knowledge of Airconditioning. What’s your perspective on McQuay units? I asked this question a couple pages back but no one responded to it.
A guy here on tuner deals them.
Havent heard any issues. I think some have wifi.
I think those, midea and comfee have the same dealer.
Only reason why I dont deal them is cuz I dont wanna step on his territory.

ED, could be the remote is the same as another model. Similar to how mine and the lennox have a wifi button. Cant day for sure as I never deal them.

1kingmed

Postby 1kingmed » August 1st, 2018, 2:18 pm

Thanks “nervewrecker” can you service peake and pioneer units? Please PM Me your details. I don’t mind giving you the business bro.

Postby RedVEVO » August 1st, 2018, 3:49 pm

1kingmed wrote:Thanks “nervewrecker” can you service peake and pioneer units? Please PM Me your details. I don’t mind giving you the business bro.

Run Nervy, Run ..

Peakes A/C are the worst :cry:

Lennox - Tops

Postby nervewrecker » August 1st, 2018, 3:52 pm

Some of the older peake are built like tanks.

I do some governemnt work and 99% of the units are peake. Sadly they were not properly maintained until now. They holdong up pretty good.

As a matter of fact I have one at home working on. Its maybe about 10 years old. Pretty alright condition.
Not sure about the new peake.

Postby RedVEVO » August 1st, 2018, 4:02 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Some of the older peake are built like tanks.

I do some governemnt work and 99% of the units are peake. Sadly they were not properly maintained until now. They holdong up pretty good.

As a matter of fact I have one at home working on. Its maybe about 10 years old. Pretty alright condition.

Peaks A/C disposal like Hybrid . Hybrid disposal like bic razor .

Nervy, RedVEVO have 4 commercial Fedder A/C .. ( 5 Ton ) the outside part tingy

You want them ? Can you fix them ? They are like 5 years old .

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 1st, 2018, 4:58 pm

Nerve yuh think yuh could do the Daikin for me for $2500? I go assist you and hand you the compressor unit from the step you won't have to walk up the ladder with it or anything. It going on the bracket from the step I could send u pics
The hole in the wall and everything done buss, me and my brother remove the old unit today

Or what if you check your supplier you could get the Delta from them?

I was originally getting the Delta from Neil for $2250, their Lennox is $2500 but they don't have any lennox in stock, the funny thing is Delta and Daikin and Lennox all using the same parts built by the same Gree Factory. My UNC neighbor has a Delta I test it out today its the same AC as others even has turbo fan speed etc

1kingmed

What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

Postby 1kingmed » August 1st, 2018, 5:13 pm

I seriously laughed at “redvevo” up above and the negative comment about peake units considering that I’ve had My peake unit for 7 years and only serviced once. The unit is cold as can be and trouble free, all I do is clean the filters once per month.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 1st, 2018, 5:31 pm

1kingmed wrote:I seriously laughed at “redvevo” up above and the negative comment about peake units considering that I’ve had My peake unit for 7 years and only serviced once. The unit is cold as can be and trouble free, all I do is clean the filters once per month.

All the AC except Panasonic and LG are the exact same AC using the exact same parts.

This is why the brand name is done with a piece of paper and glue and hence why its called a sticker brand.

Everything is made by Gree including the new Daikin. The old Daikin was like $8000 and thing for a 9K btu etc Them used to be never done AC back then. The new Daikin is a Gree clone with a sticker the Peakes is the exact same thing

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gree_Electric

Postby RedVEVO » August 1st, 2018, 8:26 pm

1kingmed wrote:I seriously laughed at “redvevo” up above and the negative comment about peake units considering that I’ve had My peake unit for 7 years and only serviced once. The unit is cold as can be and trouble free, all I do is clean the filters once per month.

It's RedVEVO

No service 7 years ! And COLD .. :shock:

Maybe you need to take some medication .

Maybe you have cancer.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 1st, 2018, 8:57 pm

What is hard in believing he serviced his unit once in 7 years?

I have a Split unit frigidaire and I serviced it only 3 times in 9 years and thats because I used mine a LOT. The only servicing these AC needs is when the inside unit gets clogged up with dust because you failed to wash out the filters in time.

Once filters are washed out every month you should not have to service an AC more than once in 7 years. And the outside unit easy to just use a hose and pitch up some water on it. I made sure to clean my filters very regular in the inside unit to avoid having to bring a pressure washer to service the inside unit but I was still forced to service 3 times in 9 years because fine dust particles still go through the filters.

Postby SR » August 1st, 2018, 10:51 pm

Who has the quietest 24000 split unit.

Postby nervewrecker » August 1st, 2018, 11:22 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:What is hard in believing he serviced his unit once in 7 years?

I have a Split unit frigidaire and I serviced it only 3 times in 9 years and thats because I used mine a LOT. The only servicing these AC needs is when the inside unit gets clogged up with dust because you failed to wash out the filters in time.

Once filters are washed out every month you should not have to service an AC more than once in 7 years. And the outside unit easy to just use a hose and pitch up some water on it. I made sure to clean my filters very regular in the inside unit to avoid having to bring a pressure washer to service the inside unit but I was still forced to service 3 times in 9 years because fine dust particles still go through the filters.
It depends on how you use it..
I seen some that gets the drain pan full of gel in 3 months and back drain pan clogged in under 6 months.

By service I mean pump down, take off the wall, remove board, motor, blower, coil and clean coil with chemical, leave it new....6 months later, it full with gel and black gunk.
Mine, I service it every 2 years. It's clean as a whistle. Living room ac, once every 3 years. And the water is clean, nothing comes out.
So what you saying may not be far fetched.

Its not only the filter needs cleaning in the evap and its not only particles that get past it.
The coils are wet, it accumulates algae. When that starts building up it will clog the coils.

Wrt sr question, the inverter units are the quietest.
And by quiet, I mean the air the condenser fan blowing is noisier than the compressor. I kid you not.
The fan blowing air is noisier than the compressor in my 12000btu inverter.

Postby nervewrecker » August 1st, 2018, 11:40 pm

Old peake were rebadged miller units btw.
Took in one for a repairs and it had a toshiba comp. Looked original.

The comfort star is rumoured to have a toshiba comp..

There are some cheap yonan units sold by ramkal hardware in penal that look like toshiba clones. They didnt allow me to see the comp. Guy said "yea, it bess, same as a GE". Not sure if he trying to sell me or for me to tell him hymc.

Those old peake / miller are monsters. I worked on some innovair that were the same as them but these have the board in the condenser. Peake didnt.

Supposed to have pics of an old peake scrapped out. I put it up in a tuner house.

here they are:

Peake

Miller

Both belong to tuner's.

Disclaimer:
These jobs were not procured on tuner. Both are coworkers and both know my page from the beginning.
Last edited by nervewrecker on August 2nd, 2018, 12:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » August 1st, 2018, 11:48 pm

RedVEVO wrote:

What is wrong with it? The condenser.
Single or 3 phase? Brand? Has it been pumped down or line cut and valve open?

I want to build a mini chill water system with a plc control. Might be too big to start witj but might be a good choice for my new home and probably showroom. Wanna try a precision cold room storage for like medicine, flowers, vegetables etc. And it will be a chill water system. Offshore platforms usually have those and some huge buildings. Newer chill water are vrf and have a smaller footprint as opposed to cfr that are usually around. And their electronics are more versitile as it is isolated from the mains.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 2nd, 2018, 6:20 am

Ooh didn't know you took down the inside and carried it outside to clean out, that is really good service then if the case. How much do you charge to do a service like that? most AC people does just use a bag of some sort to collect water and wash it without taking down anything. But when you take it apart that does be a much better service plus no wetting up inside your house

Postby RedVEVO » August 2nd, 2018, 6:47 am

RedVEVO wrote:

What is wrong with it? The condenser.
Single or 3 phase? Brand? Has it been pumped down or line cut and valve open?

I want to build a mini chill water system with a plc control. Might be too big to start witj but might be a good choice for my new home and probably showroom. Wanna try a precision cold room storage for like medicine, flowers, vegetables etc. And it will be a chill water system. Offshore platforms usually have those and some huge buildings. Newer chill water are vrf and have a smaller footprint as opposed to cfr that are usually around. And their electronics are more versitile as it is isolated from the mains.

Nothing ..

the inside part tingy just got replaced ..

And the outside part tingy ( condenser ) went into exile.

Postby RedVEVO » August 2nd, 2018, 6:52 am

SR wrote:Who has the quietest 24000 split unit.

Lennox real quiet .

Especially when it is OFF.

Postby nervewrecker » August 2nd, 2018, 8:51 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Ooh didn't know you took down the inside and carried it outside to clean out, that is really good service then if the case. How much do you charge to do a service like that? most AC people does just use a bag of some sort to collect water and wash it without taking down anything. But when you take it apart that does be a much better service plus no wetting up inside your house
I dont. I service it on the wall.
Only if it really bad you have to take it down. Price starts at $400.00 in that instance.