Got into a fender bender

Postby nemisis » July 2nd, 2018, 8:57 am

Got into a fender bender and man agreed to pay just got the quote as $1500 to push out back panel a bit to align back trunk re affix and flush out bumper and flash over the bumper and flash over where necessary. The man said he want to go to his man because he can do it for half the price. Am I unreasonable for saying no I’m only using someone I’m familiar with in my immediate vicinity?

ADONI

Re: *** The official car accident thread***

Postby ADONI » July 2nd, 2018, 9:01 am

Tell the man insurance for it!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 2nd, 2018, 9:52 am

allyuh make the report?

Kronik

Postby Kronik » July 2nd, 2018, 10:49 am

nemisis wrote:Got into a fender bender and man agreed to pay just got the quote as $1500 to push out back panel a bit to align back trunk re affix and flush out bumper and flash over the bumper and flash over where necessary. The man said he want to go to his man because he can do it for half the price. Am I unreasonable for saying no I’m only using someone I’m familiar with in my immediate vicinity?
Boy is either he pay for your person or he insurance deal with it, cuz chances are they gonna use the cheapest material to fix you back. A man break a red light and hit the front of my car and telling me he have a fella who could fix back all the parts and he could pay me back the repair cost every month I say no thanks I will let your insurance pay me and I will replace the parts

ADONI

Postby ADONI » July 2nd, 2018, 11:52 am

Kronik wrote:
nemisis wrote:Got into a fender bender and man agreed to pay just got the quote as $1500 to push out back panel a bit to align back trunk re affix and flush out bumper and flash over the bumper and flash over where necessary. The man said he want to go to his man because he can do it for half the price. Am I unreasonable for saying no I’m only using someone I’m familiar with in my immediate vicinity?
Boy is either he pay for your person or he insurance deal with it, cuz chances are they gonna use the cheapest material to fix you back. A man break a red light and hit the front of my car and telling me he have a fella who could fix back all the parts and he could pay me back the repair cost every month I say no thanks I will let your insurance pay me and I will replace the parts

Well said Kronik!

Postby skylinechild » July 2nd, 2018, 4:03 pm

no. youre in the right to demand - Not ask- demand you car be fixed where u want it and how u want it.

as another tuner aid. men go put filler and use cheap paint and fit it and few mths later... it bubble out and lookin like ta-ta.

use my simple rule. if the car was built without filler....why are you putting filler into the car ??

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » July 2nd, 2018, 4:43 pm

Tell him you will.prefer to deal.wirh his insurance to be settled and he can always repay his insurance company to ensure his No Claim Discount isn't lost. Unless he decides to settle outside insurance on YOUR REASONABLE terms ....

Postby nemisis » July 3rd, 2018, 7:12 am

Yea made a report

Postby Morpheus » July 3rd, 2018, 8:08 pm

NEVER let someone bully you into going by their straightener. WDA. Someone told me that already. I tell him insurance for it. He pay up one time yes. Tell you blasted wife doh be a tuntun and hit a parked car next time....

shameemh

Postby shameemh » July 3rd, 2018, 9:05 pm

Y would you even think u being unreasonable?! He want to do it for half the price, what would you do when u get half the work done and the straightener dont want to complete the job and the other driver is nowhere to be found?

Postby nemisis » July 7th, 2018, 8:56 am

So as i suspected the man disappear. He asked for a week grace to put together the cash. Then on Friday making excuses as if any of his personal issues are of concern to me ( He have two tickets to pay, he children graduation ceremony is that week, he not working, he have to go by he family to borrow the money but he won't know if he get through till that evening, how i trying a smart thing on he and that is too much to fix the car because people does only try smart thing when they get hit). He will let me know when i getting my money at 3pm on friday. Phone switch off since then. As a friend of mine said you see why crime in this place so high!! Will notify my insurance on Monday and let them handle that.

Postby nemisis » July 7th, 2018, 8:57 am

Also I didn't get a receipt of the report and the officer over the phone said i would have to pay for a copy of the report is that the norm??

Postby Kenjo » July 7th, 2018, 9:25 am

nemisis wrote:Also I didn't get a receipt of the report and the officer over the phone said i would have to pay for a copy of the report is that the norm??

Oh gosh no receipt why this chat going around in circles about all the smart men after accidents. It like people being told that they need to make a police report at a specific police station.

Postby nemisis » July 7th, 2018, 9:31 am

^^^ to be fair the officer said normally with them the insurance company would send the request for a copy of the report..

Postby nemisis » July 7th, 2018, 9:33 am

Mon Repos police station was where the report was made, Accident was on the by pass at pleasantville lights/newbold street intersection so it was within their area so they didn't tell me i needed to go else where to make a report.

Postby pugboy » July 7th, 2018, 9:47 am

You should never leave without a receipt
It has been emphasized over and over in beyond the tape by senior officers that that is the only way to avoid bobol down the road.

There are many instances in the past where when the insurance company goes to get a copy of the report and you are miraculously listed as the wrong party....,

nemisis wrote:Also I didn't get a receipt of the report and the officer over the phone said i would have to pay for a copy of the report is that the norm??

Kronik

Postby Kronik » July 7th, 2018, 1:15 pm

Well as I learned, there is a form to fill out to request a copy of the road traffic accident report, you just need the info of the vehicles involved and the date, I thought after you made the report and you have your receipt you can go collect the report, but no you have to fill out another form to request the report. And a report is $50, pay when you collect I guess cuz I didn't have to pay when I filled out the form, waiting for them to call me when it ready

Postby skylinechild » July 8th, 2018, 7:43 am

pugboy wrote:You should never leave without a receipt
It has been emphasized over and over in beyond the tape by senior officers that that is the only way to avoid bobol down the road.

There are many instances in the past where when the insurance company goes to get a copy of the report and you are miraculously listed as the wrong party....

a dash cam usually solves the problem in red thou...

with my accident recently, i took the footage showed it to the insurance agent....and said "if you can explain this to me & say nothing wrong then i would not file a claim against your client".

got my cheque a week later.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 8th, 2018, 8:15 am

pugboy wrote:You should never leave without a receipt

There are many instances in the past where when the insurance company goes to get a copy of the report and you are miraculously listed as the wrong party....,

Dont take chain up from sen supts who have no idea of what going on in stations. Many times receipt books finish and stations have to wait to get new ones and stations have to resort to using copies of receipts to give civilians. As long as there is a report in the station diary op will have no issue. And yes an accident report costs $50.

toyota2nr

Re: Got into a fender bender

Postby toyota2nr » July 8th, 2018, 8:21 am

He can't tell you where to get your repairs

supernedd

Postby supernedd » July 8th, 2018, 8:26 am

aye aye .. u see that BS.. i remember my first bounce .. i was wrong .. we make a report. police was feeling lazy n say .well all u agree ..so no sense in he making a report. then we went by d victim straightener first. man say 6grand .. for a old as b14.. i say nah . i use a bredrin straightener. n he quote 4500$ . which i still find was robbery .. n i even fall out with d bredrin.. nex time use insurance.. once is a certain amount yes . n insurance n all stink.. n these bastards does watch what type of vehicle u driving also .. if is new thing or big van or suv .. smh

Postby pugboy » July 8th, 2018, 9:13 am

my dad once got into an accident in st james near poorhouse, woman hit him from behind on side

the next week the insurance broker come back and say the accident happened down on cocorite when he made a u turn by the big tree.............and well of course he was suddenly the wrong party

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 8th, 2018, 11:46 am

A big problem is that people like to be too busy to report accidents as soon as they happen. Doesnt matter what you were going to do as long as you dont need medical attention, exchange all information with the other driver and head to the nearest police station. When both parties report at the same time if the facts are conflicting then 2 separate reports are taken, when you wait to report you open an avenue for the other party to lie. Also if you making an agreement out of insurance, get a piece of plain paper and write up a short agreement and have all parties sign it.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 8th, 2018, 11:47 am

Also the 24 hours to report an accident is bullsheet, its immediately

Postby hydroep » July 8th, 2018, 12:17 pm

Got into a fender bender once and the other party agreed to fix my car but didn't want to make a report. On my insistence we went to the station. The WPC on duty explained that once an agreement was reached between both parties there was no need to report it. I said "But what if they decide not to pay me?" to which she responded, "make sure you settle within 24 hours. If you don't you can come and report it".

Felt so much was wrong with that eh. For example what if the accident occurred on a a Saturday afternoon. How man getting a quotation over the weekend or going to the bank if monies have to be withdrawn etc.?

Still ended up making the report just in case things went south...:|

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 8th, 2018, 12:55 pm

hydroep wrote:Got into a fender bender once and the other party agreed to fix my car but didn't want to make a report. On my insistence we went to the station. The WPC on duty explained that once an agreement was reached between both parties there was no need to report it. I said "But what if they decide not to pay me?" to which she responded, "make sure you settle within 24 hours. If you don't you can come and report it".

Felt so much was wrong with that eh. For example what if the accident occurred on a a Saturday afternoon. How man getting a quotation over the weekend or going to the bank if monies have to be withdrawn etc.?

what was the eventual outcome of that?

kstt

Postby kstt » July 8th, 2018, 2:02 pm

You could go by his straightener and get a quote from him too to ease his mind.

Postby hydroep » July 8th, 2018, 2:07 pm

hydroep wrote:Got into a fender bender once and the other party agreed to fix my car but didn't want to make a report. On my insistence we went to the station. The WPC on duty explained that once an agreement was reached between both parties there was no need to report it. I said "But what if they decide not to pay me?" to which she responded, "make sure you settle within 24 hours. If you don't you can come and report it".

what was the eventual outcome of that?

He paid for the bodywork the following day and delivered a door mirror a few days later (he got it cheaper than what my straightener quoted), no problems.