Real Reasons Why Real Estate is So Expensive in T&T

mitsutt

Re: Real Reasons Why Real Estate is So Expensive in T&T

Postby mitsutt » August 1st, 2017, 6:39 pm

wtf wrote:
matr1x wrote:Also, important to know who actually owns the land. Just because you paid money and got a copy of the deed, does not mean you are the legal owner.

Also this would come up when a proper search is done...

Even if a proper search is done you could still be defrauded

Postby matr1x » August 1st, 2017, 9:46 pm

Yup, the search has to be thorough. More accurately, the info on legal affairs database is accurate. .you have to watch the lawyer.

Postby The_Honourable » March 4th, 2018, 10:14 pm

Ok fellas, how real estate prices looking so far? Prices came down? Sellers more reasonable?

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » March 5th, 2018, 1:40 am

The_Honourable wrote:Ok fellas, how real estate prices looking so far? Prices came down? Sellers more reasonable?
I won't say down..free hold harder to find and if u getting is further out and no final approvals..I does be down rousillac a lot that's like one of the places is see more easily accessed..but other wise the newspapers have but very slight..Grande have too if u want on the eastern side..mostly im seeing caroni land for sale..

Fadakartel

Postby Fadakartel » March 5th, 2018, 1:57 am

Saw the prices for land in Trinity Minimum Vision side prices all 1.9M just for the land alone. I wonder if Terra Caribbean even gets these sold for these prices like wth.

Postby eliteauto » March 5th, 2018, 4:29 am

prices have dropped but only on the upper end of the market, on the lower end (sub $2M) prices have remained stable but the buyers aren't there so sales are slowing down. What is gaining traction are land sales with unapproved land and seller-financing especially in Central and East also some developers are doing units with self-financing which allows more self-employed persons to access property on their own terms. Overall it's a buyers market now, those with cash can and are calling the shots

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 5th, 2018, 6:58 am

urbandilema wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Ok fellas, how real estate prices looking so far? Prices came down? Sellers more reasonable?
I won't say down..free hold harder to find and if u getting is further out and no final approvals..I does be down rousillac a lot that's like one of the places is see more easily accessed..but other wise the newspapers have but very slight..Grande have too if u want on the eastern side..mostly im seeing caroni land for sale..

land in Grande is way overpriced...it have men diverting river and selling lots for 300k and up....you should see what happens when a good shower passes through..

then there are those "developments", 400k and well if two houses are built around the vacant lot, 500k...the only way you getting something "cheaper" is without T&C approvals

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » March 5th, 2018, 3:06 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
urbandilema wrote:

land in Grande is way overpriced...it have men diverting river and selling lots for 300k and up....you should see what happens when a good shower passes through..

then there are those "developments", 400k and well if two houses are built around the vacant lot, 500k...the only way you getting something "cheaper" is without T&C approvals
True that l really think just now ppl won't be able to buy land

GOAT

Postby GOAT » March 5th, 2018, 3:13 pm

Yep land real expensive.
A relative sold a Caroni lot in Diamond/Picton area for $460K mid last year after originally asking $500K I think, probably could've gotten that too but didnt want to wait.

Another 1 is selling a lot right there for $450 non-negotiable, want a deal done quickly thats why the price is a lil lower.

Wish I had that money, good investment especially if they decide to open the UWI there, that price gonna sky rocket.

But if when I ready to build and I have to look to buy land, I scared to think of what the prices will be then

Cen-Serv Ltd

Postby Cen-Serv Ltd » March 5th, 2018, 4:31 pm

So true....

Postby nervewrecker » March 5th, 2018, 6:05 pm

urbandilema wrote:
And land price down there real nice :D

Esp if is on an alternative route that runs parallel to the main road.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » March 5th, 2018, 6:31 pm

urbandilema wrote:

That's diamond where again?

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » March 5th, 2018, 6:44 pm

Anyone has info on land in Penco Lands Longdenville...what's the development like?

Postby nervewrecker » March 5th, 2018, 7:57 pm

urbandilema wrote:

That's diamond where again?
Rouscillac.

There is a road that runs parallel to the main road, well kinda.
Im not sure if it connects on the next side by fowl play but I understand it does. The road was left neglected for years. Who have land there just left it until now. Some actually looking to develop it.
The road is solid, drivable but it has grass all over it. Really dont wanna see it right now. Waiting on fire season.

Not solmed drive btw

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 7th, 2018, 11:52 am

A general observation is that land prices are relatively stable, not much fluctuation downward unless sellers are motivated.

House + land seems to have lost some of the artificial valuation though, depending on the area you can save 1-300k on original asking price. This does not apply to the house flippers tho, maybe original owners kinda deal

Postby Redman » March 7th, 2018, 12:30 pm

All the Land banks starting to off load as the tax looms....who holding fuh who.

Sunlight is a great disinfectant.

Postby rspann » March 7th, 2018, 12:53 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:A general observation is that land prices are relatively stable, not much fluctuation downward unless sellers are motivated.

House + land seems to have lost some of the artificial valuation though, depending on the area you can save 1-300k on original asking price. This does not apply to the house flippers tho, maybe original owners kinda deal

Correct assessment.

Postby rspann » March 7th, 2018, 12:54 pm

mitsutt wrote:
wtf wrote:
matr1x wrote:Also, important to know who actually owns the land. Just because you paid money and got a copy of the deed, does not mean you are the legal owner.

Also this would come up when a proper search is done...

Even if a proper search is done you could still be defrauded

If a proper search is done ,how can you be defrauded?

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » June 27th, 2018, 12:42 pm

From this report, it claim that real estate prices is down.

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/busines ... e34bc.html

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 27th, 2018, 12:59 pm

That report is sheit...cuz as we speak it have a man developing some land in grande and calling 500k per lot

Postby *KRONIK* » June 28th, 2018, 7:24 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:That report is sheit...cuz as we speak it have a man developing some land in grande and calling 500k per lot
Whey that is?

Daran

Postby Daran » June 28th, 2018, 7:51 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:That report is sheit...cuz as we speak it have a man developing some land in grande and calling 500k per lot

Report is not sheit, it's done based on the prices the land was sold for.

That man in grande calling 500k a lot aint selling sheit.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 28th, 2018, 7:59 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
Whey that is?

Up foster...after express on the left

Postby *KRONIK* » June 28th, 2018, 8:03 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
Whey that is?

Up foster...after express on the left
Lol

I saw it on FB
But DG having lots in sangre chiquito for 300k approved

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 28th, 2018, 8:48 am

300k I could live with...but 500 is ah scene

frydry

Postby frydry » June 28th, 2018, 3:03 pm

Did they factor in the effect of drug money in the system?

Postby pugboy » June 28th, 2018, 3:24 pm

Many properties obtained with monies from bobol contracts too
So many available for rent in pos last couple years and landlords happy to leave them empty.

Postby j.o.e » June 28th, 2018, 5:51 pm

Property prices have fallen. Anyone can see that

Postby The_Honourable » December 9th, 2018, 4:59 pm

Tuners, need some assistance.

How do you know if the price of a property is too high? I know that valuation surveyors have their methods on arriving at a price, but what methods do you use to get a preliminary idea that a seller or agent is offering a property too high?

Thanks!

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » December 9th, 2018, 6:11 pm

Comparable evidence. Its what is used for the absolute majority of cases of residential land.

Look for land of a similar size, topography and accessibility in the area or similar areas. They use factors like those, among some others to determine a unit rate per sq. foot (or metre) and multiply it back by the size of the subject parcel to determine a market value.

But before all that; real estate agencies ask for way too much, way in excess of market value in all cases.