Prank / fraud calls of recent

Premchand1976

Prank / fraud calls of recent

Postby Premchand1976 » May 8th, 2018, 1:46 pm

Got a call last Friday and when I called back, no answer , only background music.

Got the call today and a person with a foreign english accent told me about some money I owed ( sound like they said Scotiabank ) and how I intend to repay it.......

Funny thing is.....I DONT BANK WITH SCOTIA.

Any suggestions in dealing with this and preventing others from being scammed ?

Re: Prank / fraud calls of recent

Postby skylinechild » May 8th, 2018, 1:53 pm

Premchand1976 wrote:Got a call last Friday and when I called back, no answer , only background music.

Got the call today and a person with a foreign english accent told me about some money I owed ( sound like they said Scotiabank ) and how I intend to repay it.......

take number and go to service provider.... OR do what i do.... dont answer private #'s...

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » May 8th, 2018, 1:55 pm

It's a local coded cellphone number.....when I call back, they pick up the call but saying nothing......before, they had background music playing only. Already spoke to provider, checkin dat tmrw for me

Postby Les Bain » May 8th, 2018, 1:59 pm

Got a similar text from "Scotia" yesterday but I don't bank with them.

Postby hydroep » May 8th, 2018, 2:05 pm

Some phishing going on WRT Scotiabank...received a text from 447839758556 yesterday stating:

Scotiabank Alert: We have blocked your access to your ScotiaCard. Please click here to unblock your account:

http://scotiabankmobile.com

I don't bank with Scotia either...:|

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » May 8th, 2018, 2:07 pm

Got this about 2-3 weeks aback as well. Might just go in to Scotia and report it and ask for ah interest free loan...for my troubles.....
Screenshot_20180508-140635.jpg

X-Axis

Postby X-Axis » May 8th, 2018, 2:08 pm

They're amping up their efforts.
Screenshot_20180508-111522_Messages.jpg
20180508_111734.jpg

Postby Morpheus » May 8th, 2018, 2:12 pm

You know how many prizes I won.......for a competition I didn't take part in.......in England?

airuma

Postby airuma » May 8th, 2018, 2:40 pm

I got the same "scotia bank" msg today from 447839757775

Postby 88sins » May 8th, 2018, 3:42 pm

Morpheus wrote:You know how many prizes I won.......for a competition I didn't take part in.......in England?

If you kno how nice I feel to kno that I alone could help a generous Nigerian prince keep his money & that he would pay me to do it :wink:

Postby Morpheus » May 8th, 2018, 3:47 pm

LoL ent. Send $5,000 to collect you $5,000,000 prize. What?

Postby redmanjp » May 8th, 2018, 5:14 pm

447 is from UK but are used to forward calls so it can be from anywhere including Nigeria. I think scotiabank in t&t has an ad about phishing so maybe they aware of a trend whch uses their name

Bareback

Postby Bareback » May 8th, 2018, 6:04 pm

It's called a reverse fee scam, sounds like it's combined with roaming fraud as well.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » May 8th, 2018, 6:08 pm

Morpheus wrote:LoL ent. Send $5,000 to collect you $5,000,000 prize. What?
Ah told them to take their fees from my winnings......and send the rest

Postby rspann » May 8th, 2018, 6:17 pm

I know a woman send all her savings to a rich man from Nigeria . When he come to marry her he is going to repay her all and she will live happily ever after. If you see the pic how handsome he is.

Postby Morpheus » May 8th, 2018, 6:19 pm

Premchand1976 wrote:
Morpheus wrote:LoL ent. Send $5,000 to collect you $5,000,000 prize. What?
Ah told them to take their fees from my winnings......and send the rest
I don't see what so hard in that! LoL. Smh

Postby RedVEVO » May 8th, 2018, 6:22 pm

airuma wrote:I got the same "scotia bank" msg today from 447839757775

Everybody getting that call .. :shock:

Just block or ignore and continue drinking that beastly cold Sangria :roll:

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 8th, 2018, 10:51 pm

Once last year i wake in the morning to find a missed call from a strange foreign number

Googled the area code and found out it was from Poland. Turns out its one of those expensive toll lines (think along the lines of $20/minute erotic phonelines) that send out mass calls and try to keep you on so your bill runs up/credit runs out.

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » May 9th, 2018, 1:07 pm

Premchand1976 wrote:Got a call last Friday and when I called back, no answer , only background music.

I would have engaged them because I like those kinds of things once I have the free time.
Ask a set of rhetorical questions. Frustrate them with sarcastic answers.
They would never call again.

Happened to me once when the "Canadian Embassy" called me to say I qualify for citizenship and I have to pay an application fee. Had them on the phone for a good hour + whilst i was driving in traffic. Gave them 5 fake random Credit Card numbers and kept telling them try this one and that.