Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby car » May 5th, 2018, 9:08 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
car wrote:
cutthroatInt wrote:
car wrote:
sMASH wrote:
hindian wrote:
car wrote:Anyone knows where sells metal lathe locally. A bench top 1.
Looking to seabox 1 from amazon but want to see what is available locally.
Looking to get this before budget day.

ive been looking for a while mihself for one but nada. cah afford to pay them ridiculous machine shop price for simple non precision lathe work. a man charge me $150 to turn a 3/4" drill bit shank to 1/2" to fit in a drill. the bit cost about $80 :?

Post a link for an example of what u had in mind.

... and does raptor still operate?

Grizzly G8688 Mini Metal Lathe, 7 x 12-Inch https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0000DCZ7D/re ... HzbH9J5W0P

Or

Grizzly G0768 Variable-Speed Lathe, 8 x 16" https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0121VB63A/re ... Hzb07KEDHM

Hey man, u ever got to buy ur lathe? Inbox plz..

Yep. End up buying a precision Matthews.
Post a 2 pictures nah

It’s a grizzly lathe. The mill is the precision Matthews. ImageImage

Postby *KRONIK* » May 5th, 2018, 9:09 pm

Awesomeeeeeee!

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » May 5th, 2018, 9:15 pm

car wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
car wrote:
cutthroatInt wrote:
car wrote:
sMASH wrote:
hindian wrote:
car wrote:Anyone knows where sells metal lathe locally. A bench top 1.
Looking to seabox 1 from amazon but want to see what is available locally.
Looking to get this before budget day.

ive been looking for a while mihself for one but nada. cah afford to pay them ridiculous machine shop price for simple non precision lathe work. a man charge me $150 to turn a 3/4" drill bit shank to 1/2" to fit in a drill. the bit cost about $80 :?

Post a link for an example of what u had in mind.

... and does raptor still operate?

Grizzly G8688 Mini Metal Lathe, 7 x 12-Inch https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0000DCZ7D/re ... HzbH9J5W0P

Or

Grizzly G0768 Variable-Speed Lathe, 8 x 16" https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0121VB63A/re ... Hzb07KEDHM

Hey man, u ever got to buy ur lathe? Inbox plz..

Yep. End up buying a precision Matthews.
Post a 2 pictures nah

It’s a grizzly lathe. The mill is the precision Matthews. ImageImage
Can u give an idea of price and where you got both lathe and mill?

Postby Morpheus » May 5th, 2018, 10:42 pm

That lathe

Postby Chimera » May 5th, 2018, 11:08 pm

Car you working acme?

Postby X_Factor » May 5th, 2018, 11:44 pm

im loving that anvil...

car

:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby car » May 6th, 2018, 8:11 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Car you working acme?

Nar.
These just items I use for my hobbies.
Lathe cost me around 12.5k from Samlalsingh. Mill 14k imported-by SeaBox.
I already bought about 6k of accessories for them.
If I had imported the lathe myself it would have cost bout 10k
Lathe is about 180lbs and mill is about 280lbs.
Built the mill stand myself.

car

Postby car » May 6th, 2018, 8:14 am

This is my wood lathe. Built the stand and case for the cutting tools. Image

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » May 6th, 2018, 8:32 am

Got both my mill and lathe from precision mathews as well...great company to deal with. Really nice machines!

car

Postby car » May 6th, 2018, 8:40 am

[X]~Outlaw wrote:Got both my mill and lathe from precision mathews as well...great company to deal with. Really nice machines!

The Precision Matthews is one of the better built machines than the cheap Chinese version.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » May 6th, 2018, 8:46 am

Some custom M10 thumb nuts I made the other day.

Postby pugboy » May 6th, 2018, 9:44 am

your place neat and clean

car wrote:This is my wood lathe. Built the stand and case for the cutting tools. Image

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » May 6th, 2018, 10:12 am

I ordered my machines with 3PH motors and did the VDF wiring myself. These are the control panels I made for each machine.

PM1340GT Lathe:

Factory Control Panel on the left, my control panel on the right.

The legend plate sits on an Aluminum back plate which was also machined in house.

Control Panel for my PM949TS mill:

Panel being engraved on my CNC mill:

I wanted my controls mounted to the knee of my mill so I designed and machined a custom mount for the control box.

Parts for my custom mount:

Installed and wired up:

Quick look at the VFD enclosures I built for each machine using the Hitachi WJ200 Inverter for control and phase conversion from single phase to three phase 220v. I used a 2.2Kw unit for the Mill's 3HP motor and a 1.5KW unit for the lathe's 2HP motor.

The lathe also has a custom control. This was designed and built by my friend Mark Jacobs from USA. Its main features include: electronic proximity stop, 2 stage braking, electronic variable speed.

Here is the control system installed:

NR8

Postby NR8 » May 6th, 2018, 10:23 am

I aspire to one day attain this level of awesome.

car

Postby car » May 6th, 2018, 11:37 am

[X]~Outlaw wrote:I ordered my machines with 3PH motors and did the VDF wiring myself. These are the control panels I made for each machine.

PM1340GT Lathe:

The legend plate sits on an Aluminum back plate which was also machined in house.

I wanted my controls mounted to the knee of my mill so I designed and machined a custom mount for the control box.

Installed and wired up:

Quick look at the VFD enclosures I built for each machine using the Hitachi WJ200 Inverter for control and phase conversion from single phase to three phase 220v. I used a 2.2Kw unit for the Mill's 3HP motor and a 1.5KW unit for the lathe's 2HP motor.

The lathe also has a custom control. This was designed and built by my friend Mark Jacobs from USA. Its main features include: electronic proximity stop, 2 stage braking, electronic variable speed.

I ain’t reach your level yet. Always wanted to get a knurling attachment for the lathe.
Also wanted to get a VFD for my home made belt grinder but can’t justify the price. One day.
This is the grinder I made below. Also make a matching stand to go with the mill.ImageImageImage

car

Postby car » May 6th, 2018, 11:39 am

[X]~Outlaw wrote:Some custom M10 thumb nuts I made the other day.

I have to try this one day.

Postby Gladiator » May 6th, 2018, 1:14 pm

[X]~Outlaw wrote:I ordered my machines with 3PH motors and did the VDF wiring myself. These are the control panels I made for each machine.

PM1340GT Lathe:

Installed and wired up:

Looking good man.... bringing back some memories of us setting up that 2 Ton machine.... LOL

Postby Morpheus » May 6th, 2018, 1:15 pm

Wow. Next level stuff.

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 6th, 2018, 2:07 pm

And I thought I in the game when I bought a fancy hammer yesterday.

I ketch arse with a tap and die set but it have man making they own knurling.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » May 6th, 2018, 3:47 pm

Gladiator wrote:Looking good man.... bringing back some memories of us setting up that 2 Ton machine.... LOL

Thanks man...I don't think anyone involved would ever forget that day, wrestling that machine into place LOL!!

Car nice 2x72 grinder man! I've been meaning to build one myself (for years LOL) but haven't gotten around to it yet. When I build mine it will have a VFD setup.

I could give you some tips to get nice Kurls. At least what works for me.

1. Use a scissor type knurling tool as it puts no pressure on the cross slide and carriage.
2. You get best results if your diameter is a multiple of your knurling pitch.
3. Do your knurling in one pass.
4. Flood your knurling tool with cutting fluid as you advance your carriage.
5. If you see chips of material coming of your work that means you have dialled in too much pressure. Remember knurling just displaces metal instead of removing it (There is such a thing as cut knurling though).
6. The process is done at a slow speed and I usually hand feed the carriage but you can do it under powerfeed.
7. If you buy a cheap Chinese knurling tool make sure and change out the dies to good quality ones. I personally like Eagle Rock's tool and their dies.

Chevy

Postby Ted_v2 » May 6th, 2018, 9:15 pm

JESUS, diff level. Thought was a USA garage journal ched for a min yes.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » May 6th, 2018, 9:30 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:And I thought I in the game when I bought a fancy hammer yesterday.

I ketch arse with a tap and die set but it have man making they own knurling.

Same here when i make a stainless steel weld day before... Men have me feeling to stay in a kitchen instead of garage

Postby supercharged turbo » May 7th, 2018, 2:29 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:allied is the spot, saw it in the lane as u walk in, where have the bolts ect, they include the bit with the purchase too.
Will check them for it

Anybody know where I can get GMA 315mA 250v fast blow fuses locally?Need them ASAP.Its the fuse for a multimeter.

Postby supercharged turbo » May 7th, 2018, 2:29 pm

Outlaw and Car just carry this thread to another level yes

Postby adnj » May 7th, 2018, 3:16 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:
Ted_v2 wrote:allied is the spot, saw it in the lane as u walk in, where have the bolts ect, they include the bit with the purchase too.
Will check them for it

Anybody know where I can get GMA 315mA 250v fast blow fuses locally?Need them ASAP.Its the fuse for a multimeter.

Some auto shops and many electronic stores carry mini glass fuses.

You can go to Montrose Electronics or Detour/Radio Shack. I can't say that you will get 312mA but you may be able to get something that is a bit less.

Postby supercharged turbo » May 7th, 2018, 3:42 pm

I doh mind less..once its the correct size.Also,where allyuh does buy A/C tools and parts?I looking for a R134 gauge.Checked Maraj already.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » May 7th, 2018, 6:09 pm

Hey guys, I'm looking for a nice small gas less mig welding machine. Any recommendations?

Postby Ted_v2 » May 7th, 2018, 7:13 pm

theres this place in sando, just before RIG just after achievors, general appliance or electric, i know its general something. They have alot of gauges and fittings, i bought my 134a adapters from them. saw gauges there too.

also just before duncan village gas station, after rons have a ac place, they selling some excellent prices too.

i looking for a brass hammer, who having that ?

Postby nervewrecker » May 7th, 2018, 8:56 pm

Wilog freeport and Rushwood st sando also has some nice prices.

Reficool is the place in duncan village.

Atlantic air and servair sells the uniweld and yellow jacket manifold gauges. Those are my choice (yellow jacket). They dont do 134a though, you will need a pressure temp chart.

Gaps is right before prive entrance. Easy to miss

Postby Chimera » May 7th, 2018, 9:06 pm

So i was in bhags today and decide to price some things

M18 battery 1400 4amp
M12 battery 650 4amp
M18 charger 800

Lol.wtf