buying car parts on Amazon to ship to Trinidad

cueball1990

buying car parts on Amazon to ship to Trinidad

Postby cueball1990 » April 27th, 2018, 9:45 am

hey guys do i need any special import license to ship car parts that i buy on amazon or does this only apply to full vehicles?

thelem-again

Re: buying car parts on amazon

Postby thelem-again » April 27th, 2018, 10:08 am

What kind of car parts?

Because as far as I'm aware and based on experience....no.

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » April 27th, 2018, 10:15 am

ordering a new ac compressor because the prices local are stupid

Lance

Postby Lance » April 27th, 2018, 10:19 am

Nah parts can be imported without any sort of special approval.

My only piece of advice (in general), is to be aware of parts that are sold with USDM ONLY application.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 27th, 2018, 10:26 am

Nope...I buy all kinda thing already and no worries...I ship via sea though...lil cheaper...

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » April 27th, 2018, 10:28 am

cueball1990 wrote:ordering a new ac compressor because the prices local are stupid

Okay cool.

But my advice is to still calculate the shipping, duties and customs costs to ensure you're really getting a value. Also have an invoice on hand from Amazon.

I once ordered a pair of headlights and the skybox company tried to charge me some exorbitant fees and tried to blame customs. I refused to pay based on the value of the item and I left it right there till they came to their senses and reduced the price.

gtiracer

Postby gtiracer » April 27th, 2018, 10:30 am

Be sure to factor in your freight costs, 30% Duty and 12.5% VAT. In some instances i've come very close to what the local suppliers have parts for..

Also, there are many parts that you can get on Amazon that are not USDM specific.. once searching for your part number you should be safe.. Many alternatives to OEM also.

Postby black start » April 27th, 2018, 10:49 am

I actually believe you need you apply for a special permit for the ac compressor

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » April 27th, 2018, 10:52 am

already checked the prices and its cheaper even with shipping and taxes included.

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » April 27th, 2018, 11:03 am

the compressor is for an nze 121 and locally its $4000 dollars. i can get an oe replacement on amazon for landed cost about $2000 approximately. thats a huge difference that im not willing to pay. foreign used comrpessors are $2500 so by that logic its better i buy the new one than the used one for that price

Postby nervewrecker » April 27th, 2018, 11:37 am

black start wrote:I actually believe you need you apply for a special permit for the ac compressor
Nope, coworker bought a 350z ac comp 2 weeks ago.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » April 27th, 2018, 11:52 am

cueball1990 wrote:the compressor is for an nze 121 and locally its $4000 dollars. i can get an oe replacement on amazon for landed cost about $2000 approximately. thats a huge difference that im not willing to pay. foreign used comrpessors are $2500 so by that logic its better i buy the new one than the used one for that price

Original toyota parts is expensive because they last long. I have to get one for a 141 fielder so I may prefer buy a original fu one rather than an aftermarket new one because I have no idea how good it may be. The problem with mine is the solenoid valve and apparently u have to buy a whole compressor for that, or take the chance an take out the solenoid and find an aftermarket one on amazon

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » April 27th, 2018, 1:19 pm

Musical Doc wrote:
cueball1990 wrote:the compressor is for an nze 121 and locally its $4000 dollars. i can get an oe replacement on amazon for landed cost about $2000 approximately. thats a huge difference that im not willing to pay. foreign used comrpessors are $2500 so by that logic its better i buy the new one than the used one for that price

Original toyota parts is expensive because they last long. I have to get one for a 141 fielder so I may prefer buy a original fu one rather than an aftermarket new one because I have no idea how good it may be. The problem with mine is the solenoid valve and apparently u have to buy a whole compressor for that, or take the chance an take out the solenoid and find an aftermarket one on amazon

sister has the same problem with hers, apparently its a default with the clutchless compressors. most techs recommend switching to the clutch type as they are more reliable and tend to last longer. wish i could afford the oem parts but working with a budget so trying to see how i can work with it. but like i said its better i buy a new one after market than a used one as i have no idea how long the used one will be good for.

grad

Re: buying car parts on Amazon to ship to Trinidad

Postby grad » April 27th, 2018, 2:23 pm

I have bought in shocks, air suspension compressor and others parts with no problem. Just make sure and factor in ur weights cost properly and even if the skybox company overcharges, u wud still pay less than buying it over here.

vinke

Postby vinke » April 27th, 2018, 3:16 pm

Musical Doc wrote:

You can get the solenoid for 800 and have it replaced for a 300

airuma

Postby airuma » April 27th, 2018, 3:19 pm

I think the duties on vehicle parts is 50% though....

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » April 27th, 2018, 3:26 pm

vinke wrote:
Musical Doc wrote:

where? and how long does it last?

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 27th, 2018, 4:24 pm

airuma wrote:I think the duties on vehicle parts is 50% though....

Nope, 30%.

craig lee quay

Postby craig lee quay » April 27th, 2018, 8:00 pm

You need import license for AC comp. something to do with R134a. Sometimes they want it. Sometimes they don’t. I don’t know why but for some reason every time I bring a comp for European cars. They request for it. It’s easy to do. Nothing to worry about. just go TTMA barataria getting it same day.

Postby Rovin » April 27th, 2018, 8:33 pm

Musical Doc wrote:
vinke wrote:
Musical Doc wrote:

where? and how long does it last?

i now coming to ask d same question cause its d same problem for all of us 141 owners .... is that solenoid available for tt$800 locally & by who\where to get it ???

with d kinda hot sun these days it uncomfortable without a good working a\c ....... :(

Postby nervewrecker » April 27th, 2018, 9:00 pm

craig lee quay wrote:You need import license for AC comp. something to do with R134a. Sometimes they want it. Sometimes they don’t. I don’t know why but for some reason every time I bring a comp for European cars. They request for it. It’s easy to do. Nothing to worry about. just go TTMA barataria getting it same day.
The comp does not come with 134a in it..

craig lee quay

Postby craig lee quay » April 28th, 2018, 6:06 am

craig lee quay wrote:You need import license for AC comp. something to do with R134a. Sometimes they want it. Sometimes they don’t. I don’t know why but for some reason every time I bring a comp for European cars. They request for it. It’s easy to do. Nothing to worry about. just go TTMA barataria getting it same day.

Well that’s what they make me full out in forms every single time. Take it up with them. Not me.

craig lee quay

Postby craig lee quay » April 28th, 2018, 6:12 am

rebound

Postby rebound » April 28th, 2018, 7:07 am

cueball1990 wrote:ordering a new ac compressor because the prices local are stupid
Op, did you check Ryanair in Trincity? I got a new one for an NZE a few years ago for about 2400. Not sure about now but its worth a try to call if you didnt.

Postby nervewrecker » April 28th, 2018, 7:32 am

craig lee quay wrote:

Well that’s what they make me full out in forms every single time. Take it up with them. Not me.

But them real dotish.

Customs know better than to give me headache.

Postby black start » April 28th, 2018, 8:08 am

That's what I remember

Postby Chimera » April 28th, 2018, 8:22 am

right now i hadda get some glow plugs for a 2012 sportero

$850 x 4 from the firm

$50 us for all four on ebay

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » April 28th, 2018, 10:29 pm

Guna ship it with seabox instead should come down to about 1700 total. But honestly if the compressor has no Freon in it why even need a permit. Customs here really dumb for real

Postby nervewrecker » April 28th, 2018, 11:38 pm

Challenge them..
Or just call my name.

Postby RedVEVO » April 29th, 2018, 12:01 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:right now i hadda get some glow plugs for a 2012 sportero

$850 x 4 from the firm