Back to Doubles in serious!

Postby Ben_spanna » December 18th, 2017, 7:25 am

Wayz....... its time for me to really forget about the alternative brekfass and go back to meh roots of d doubles.
Just bought a few pies this morning and couldn't believe the prices: :shock: :shock: :shock:

PAstry Cheese Pie is $6 for ONE, Sausage Roll is now $9 for ONe and spicy beef pie is also $6, yikes, is level doubles for me from now on oui! :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Re: Back to Doubles in serious!

Postby hydroep » December 18th, 2017, 7:33 am

...and doubles is practically a complete meal too.

But you cannot really fault the "pie" makers either. Prices of some ingredients have increased significantly, for example a stick of margarine is $ 9 - $ 10 depending on the retailer (up from $ 7 last year... :|).

Sundar

Postby Sundar » December 18th, 2017, 7:48 am

Doubles went up to $5..... El up north anyways. Down south is still $2-$4

Postby Dave » December 18th, 2017, 7:55 am

1% prices again. Regular bakery prices are still relatively decent

Postby pugboy » December 18th, 2017, 7:58 am

dunno how ppl could buy them dried up sausage roll

Postby redmanjp » December 18th, 2017, 8:32 am

Sundar wrote:Doubles went up to $5..... El up north anyways. Down south is still $2-$4

How doubles vendors does earn a profit at $2 and $3 though, flour and channa cheap in south?

Postby meccalli » December 18th, 2017, 8:41 am

How much for chadon beni, pepper and the other additives?

Postby Dizzy28 » December 18th, 2017, 8:54 am

redmanjp wrote:
Sundar wrote:Doubles went up to $5..... El up north anyways. Down south is still $2-$4

How doubles vendors does earn a profit at $2 and $3 though, flour and channa cheap in south?

By moving volumes I suppose??

Postby RedVEVO » December 18th, 2017, 8:59 am

hydroep wrote:...and doubles is practically a complete meal too.

But you cannot really fault the "pie" makers either. Prices of some ingredients have increased significantly, for example a stick of margarine is $ 9 - $ 10 depending on the retailer (up from $ 7 last year... :|).

Doubles is NOT a complete meal :D

Sundar

Postby Sundar » December 18th, 2017, 9:53 am

meccalli wrote:How much for chadon beni, pepper and the other additives?

Some doubles vendors provide multiple sauces at $4 others just put one sauce for $2-$3. Of course the debe doubles shed.

Cooloh

Postby Cooloh » December 18th, 2017, 10:41 am

Time to start eating at home.

Postby sMASH » December 18th, 2017, 11:39 am

The market eventually balanced itself out with supply/ demand, cost of production/ purchasing power of the customer.

Where disposable Income Was significant previously, and people were content to overpay for certain niceties, they have dialed back, and a lot of services and products aren't as lucrative, or even profitable.
With so many layoffs, informal Business sector got a lot of people scrambling to make a living. Thus inflating the supply. U need to get competitive or u fold.

This is why increasing the cost of living by increasing taxation on the populace isn't the wisest way to stymy recession.

When u cut back on pie, the beef man gonna loose sales. Then he Hadda cut back on making market to reduce his spending. The market men will contract and cutback on doubles. Doubles men will Cut back on goods. Whole sale men will cutback and so on and so on.

Postby Rovin » December 18th, 2017, 11:42 am

a 1\3 sada roti with vegetables for $8 is waaaay better & healthier than any doubles or other stuff mentioned , otherwise better u buy kiss sliced bread & make ur breakfast sandwich at home & carry it to work .....

Postby Dizzy28 » December 18th, 2017, 11:50 am

Rovin's Audio wrote:a 1\3 sada roti with vegetables for $8 is waaaay better & healthier than any doubles or other stuff mentioned , otherwise better u buy kiss sliced bread & make ur breakfast sandwich at home & carry it to work .....

Where have 1/3 sada for $8?
Everywhere has 1/4 for between $10 - $12 (veges only)

Postby Rovin » December 18th, 2017, 11:53 am

used to have a place close to my shop that had that size & price but they close down , maybe due to landlord renovation or they was selling too cheap, i dunno how much others sell it for nowadays

even if is $10 i still prefer that than some oily doubles

u cud get a currents roll & coconut drops for around $11 ...

Postby RedVEVO » December 18th, 2017, 1:48 pm

Rovin's Audio wrote:used to have a place close to my shop that had that size & price but they close down , maybe due to landlord renovation or they was selling too cheap, i dunno how much others sell it for nowadays

even if is $10 i still prefer that than some oily doubles

u cud get a currents roll & coconut drops for around $11 ...

Trini Currents Roll and Coconut Drops have waaaay too much sugar :x

You go dead before 30th Birthday :(

Postby paid_influencer » December 18th, 2017, 2:15 pm

a doubles is only 300 calories or so. is not as bad as people think it is

Postby sMASH » December 18th, 2017, 2:18 pm

1500 calories... Total.

Postby paid_influencer » December 18th, 2017, 2:38 pm

is battle of the nutritious breakfast on the go. There’s no cholesterol, but there’s high protein and less fat than a pie. Throw in some nice cucumber, mango or tamarind chutney and you even have some semblance of a fruit or vegetable for breakfast.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/lifestyle/201 ... les-or-pie

The doubles is the healthiest breakfast fast food locally, other than plain sada and veggies

Sundar

Postby Sundar » December 18th, 2017, 3:36 pm

But I buy doubles on pos the other day and is plenty sauce and 7-10 grain of channa. ...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 18th, 2017, 5:13 pm

As someone just said...time for allyuh to wake up half hour earlier and make yuh own sheit...saves a lot and is healthier

Postby pugboy » December 18th, 2017, 5:23 pm

microwave quaker oats and milk
1min or less

Miktay

Postby Miktay » December 18th, 2017, 5:38 pm

Doubles for bfast iza healthiest road to bypass surgery....

ck4star

Postby ck4star » December 18th, 2017, 5:51 pm

Oats, cinnamon, water that’s my breakfast at least 5 times per week, takes just a few seconds.

Postby meccalli » December 18th, 2017, 6:37 pm

Just skip breakfast. I eat at 1pm and 8pm. Lunch and Dinner. Doubles is extremely nutritious, the negative being the fried flour. A cup of channa is the next best thing for those who like it for breakfast.

Postby sMASH » December 18th, 2017, 7:04 pm

How I operate these days, it's just a drink before 5 for breakfast and lunch with a light dinner.

Postby skylinechild » December 18th, 2017, 7:34 pm

Dave wrote:1% prices again. Regular bakery prices are still relatively decent

Actually by me they bakery price is really good - will buy some typical pastries and take pics with actual measurements.

in cases where the pastry small - the item is actually PROPERLY FILLED with whatever - cheese pie - beef pie...turkey and cheese....chicken...sausage roll.....

Postby streetbeastINC. » December 18th, 2017, 8:14 pm

Never heard anyone complain about cinemabun prices

Sundar

Postby Sundar » December 18th, 2017, 9:56 pm

Doubles is not my breakfast but once in a way you could treat yourself. My wife is an awesome chef so I buy food twice for the month if so much.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 19th, 2017, 5:55 am

I never buy breakfast or lunch...only time I eat out is if I liming...moms always say "once yah making groceries why buy food outside"...and I will pass this on to my children