Rumour- govt looking to slap a 65% duty on cell phones

Re: Rumour- govt looking to slap a 65% duty on.......

Postby Chimera » November 17th, 2017, 3:24 pm

i now realize what boxy say

lol you can bring 500 bottles of alcohol through customs with you, you will just have to pay the duties on it

if you refuse to pay the duty, they can seize it to "destroy" it

Postby nervewrecker » November 17th, 2017, 4:32 pm

customs moving brutal cuz xmas coming up, rum haffi seize. Party go be big

boxy

Postby boxy » November 17th, 2017, 4:58 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:i now realize what boxy say

lol you can bring 500 bottles of alcohol through customs with you, you will just have to pay the duties on it

if you refuse to pay the duty, they can seize it to "destroy" it
That's correct. Alot of people get carried away with the duty free purchases of alcohol an overspend and don't have enough to pay taxes on them.
With regards to the $3000 that is the value limit that u are allowed to bring in on personal effects u purchase overseas. It's not really enforceable unless u bring in alot of expensive crap and stuff it in your suitcase. Otherwise u are never guaranteed to meet the same officer twice. For the year.

Re: Rumour- govt looking to slap a 65% duty on cell phones

Postby zoom rader » November 17th, 2017, 5:24 pm

If this true then I support it because you all voted for PNM

Postby RedVEVO » November 17th, 2017, 5:49 pm

redmanjp wrote:The 65% duty is ridiculous by itself- u telling me dey go charge yuh duty when coming in from abroad as well? How they know you didn't buy it here?

Have to walk with a receipt ?

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » November 17th, 2017, 6:16 pm

meem mind payin a 60% on meh $300 blu

C.Brown

Postby C.Brown » November 17th, 2017, 6:28 pm

Postby RedVEVO » November 17th, 2017, 8:44 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
redmanjp wrote:The 65% duty is ridiculous by itself- u telling me dey go charge yuh duty when coming in from abroad as well? How they know you didn't buy it here?

if you have a new box in your suitcase or the phone is in a box....obviously they would wanna jam yuh

right now they moving dred and heartless in customs

if you have ANY alcohol at all and have travelled already for the year, they will "Assume" you have used your yearly limit already and tax you on whatever you have.

Or travel with an infant!!!!
Came back last week Friday. Green line was a female customs officer who ended up talking with my son the entire time we were at the counter. Almost everyone in green line had to put their luggage in the scanner once you had more than carry on. She took our forms and sent us through with no questions asked except if we had anything from duty free. I say just three bottles which she didn't even ask to see.
I regret not taking more liquor - only took 1 rum and two wines (all 750ml)

Did you say Liquor ?

4 Bottles and Custom Officers don't bat an eye lash ..

* slap bottom & bounce *