3ne2nr fishermen

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby dougla_boy » November 8th, 2017, 9:09 am

went out sunday and realize i was more productive relaxing that fishing..... full moon doh ever get much catch nah....
anybody have experience with timing the moon and sh!t? or could point to reading material that could apply to trini waters?

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » November 8th, 2017, 12:09 pm

dougla_boy wrote:went out sunday and realize i was more productive relaxing that fishing..... full moon doh ever get much catch nah....
anybody have experience with timing the moon and sh!t? or could point to reading material that could apply to trini waters?

Yes I experienced this. The only thing biting was sand-fly.

proton17

Postby proton17 » November 8th, 2017, 7:22 pm

September 6th 2017 was full moon and me and my cuz alone caught a lot of regular banking fish, current was hard on the falling but the fish still bit and when the current eased up they were biting crazy...one big cooler and one smaller cooler of fish that day....
ImageImage
Cubera snapper always bite better and are more active around full moon periods, we always try for them on full moon...

But sometimes we blank on full moon also but catch on the quarter moons and new moon. It is not only the moon that factors in but also at different stages of the tide when fish bite better.
So if ur fishing while tide is rising and not catching anything but didn't stay for the falling tide, that might be the time the fishes bite.

Certain spots we go the fish mostly bite falling tide and or a next spot during the rising, so its tide times, bait availability in the water that makes the fish congregate on certain banks, weather patterns, good underwater structure, sometimes having the right bait and other factors that affect fishing success....

There is a spot we go that the salmon there only want bonito and not eat the cut herring or Joshua, most times the red snapper only want bonito, the cavalli schools around Sunday were thick and didn't really want dead bait but sure if we had live, maybe that would hv worked...

Anyhow just my lil two cents....

Meccalli can add a lot more info than me...

Meccalli add some more info that we missed or do not know...

Postby meccalli » November 8th, 2017, 8:40 pm

There's so much factors involved, not only moon phase. Consider if you usually catch in whatever area, if you aren't getting bit. It might be that the fish simply aren't there and feeding elsewhere where they would choose to actively forage. Also, alot of species spawn according to lunar phases, particularly full moons, so feeding may not be a number one priority during those times.

Weather is alot more influential I think when it comes to feeding habits with fish, particularly when it comes to fish with sizeable swim bladders. Depending on the weather, which influences atmospheric pressure- fish will migrate to depths at which they feel comfortable. Low pressure situations will tend to drive fish deeper in order to reduce internal pressure in their swimbladders. High steady pressure periods are much more conducive to longer and predictable active feeding periods in shallower water, also there's shorter more intense periods before a low pressure system rolls in- fish sense this and will feed voraciously before it comes in.

But again, if you're simply in areas where fish are traversing and not actually feeding where you'll pick them off one by one as they swim along, naturally you'll catch less in that area if the fish are at their favourite restaurant on a moon that they're actively seeking food. You have to find those areas which are going to be holding bait.

Keeshan Bachan

Postby Keeshan Bachan » November 11th, 2017, 6:20 am

Guys morning. I got some cascadura to sell. Have 30 in a tank. Want $10 for 1. Pm if interested

proton17

Postby proton17 » November 19th, 2017, 6:48 pm

Somebody post a lil fish pic nah...

I doubt is only me or Ryan does fish alone in this forum...

BUSHMASTER

Postby BUSHMASTER » November 19th, 2017, 9:00 pm

ImageImage la Ruffin moruga today

Postby X_Factor » November 19th, 2017, 9:12 pm

brave to fish on that side yes

proton17

Postby proton17 » November 19th, 2017, 9:59 pm

Nice catch, plenty melwish on dat side...

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » November 19th, 2017, 10:15 pm

Was busy doing over the gears room

Some nice chairfoot from the gulf

Postby meccalli » November 19th, 2017, 10:28 pm

I spy a single ugly stik in that sea of shimanos lol.

ryan99tt

3ne2nr fishermen

Postby ryan99tt » November 19th, 2017, 10:35 pm

Your eyes gd but daz ah friend one that just stayed back
Last edited by ryan99tt on November 19th, 2017, 10:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

BUSHMASTER

Postby BUSHMASTER » November 20th, 2017, 9:21 am

X_Factor wrote:brave to fish on that side yes

Wam dey?

Postby X_Factor » November 20th, 2017, 11:29 am

drugs... pirates etc

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » November 20th, 2017, 11:34 am

Shoreline safe in moruga, was down on dat side day before yeaterday...did some inshore and caught ah few snook...

BUSHMASTER

Postby BUSHMASTER » November 21st, 2017, 8:45 am

X_Factor wrote:drugs... pirates etc

U hada make fren with dem lol jk

proton17

Postby proton17 » November 27th, 2017, 6:40 am

A lil banking yesterday, patos and gulf side, fish was biting one, one..

This is half d catch...

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » November 28th, 2017, 9:00 am

Did some deep dropping on Sunday on ah few new spots...caught some nice reds over 20lbs...biggest being 26lbs...

Postby meccalli » November 28th, 2017, 10:41 am

Nice catch guys, i don't those are ars though, every red snapper I've seen has a distinctive red iris coloration. I think it's most likely a southern variant L. purpureus max reported size is around 40lbs. They probably are preferential with depths compared with the genuine red snappers, what depth did you get them at? Interesting how we have both ars and this subspecies here.
http://www.fishbase.org/summary/171
ImageD71_6922 by meccalli, on Flickr

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » November 28th, 2017, 2:35 pm

We caught both types...they are usually called yellow eyes...depth was 650-680ft....

Postby meccalli » November 28th, 2017, 4:03 pm

Yeah people call them that but what deep droppers in the upper Caribbean/ Gulf of Mexico call Yellow eye snapper is a much smaller species actually called silk snapper, that 25 lber would be an all time world record lol.
http://www.fishbase.org/summary/185
max. published weight: 8.3 kg
Cool catch! You should probably upload that image to fishbase, they don't have any of a mature specimen.

Postby pugboy » November 28th, 2017, 4:06 pm

any pics of plumhead and what is big deal about them ?

Postby meccalli » November 28th, 2017, 4:16 pm

There's one in plain view in ryan's third pic in the cooler.
It's vermillion snapper, also called a beeliner. Idk what's the fuss about locally, US anglers use them as live bait for gags/black grouper. You know trinis get excited about anything red lol, you can catch all you want west of Chac, shallow and deepwater.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » November 28th, 2017, 5:30 pm

I rather b-liner over those other snapper but it all depends on what u planning on doin with it and personal preference...

Postby meccalli » November 28th, 2017, 5:45 pm

That's precisely how I feel about white grunts lol, lots of flavour, best broth you'll ever eat!

Postby pugboy » November 28th, 2017, 6:04 pm

ok, I have had small plumhead a few times palm sized
fried whole, good tasting

I once heard a guy saying that is all he likes to target for export

Postby dougla_boy » November 30th, 2017, 8:58 am

is the plumhead known locally as the marian also? excuse the spelling eh.....

Postby meccalli » November 30th, 2017, 11:33 am

dougla_boy wrote:is the plumhead known locally as the marian also? excuse the spelling eh.....

It's possible and I don't doubt some do lol, but what's commonly referred to marianne or merium is squirrelfish and bigeyes.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Priacanthidae
Cookeolus japonicus Longfinned bullseye
Heteropriacanthus cruentatus Glasseye
Priacanthus arenatus Atlantic bigeye Catalufa
Pristigenys alta Short bigeye
These are the native species.

Postby meccalli » December 13th, 2017, 3:40 pm

Hey guys, just a heads up for those of you looking for a quality spinner, mankees has a christmas sale on the new slammers as well as the conflicts starting this friday, you won't find them at those prices anywhere on the web, they're are cheaper than online msrp figures. The slammers use a multi stack underspool drag system that will max out at 50lbs + up to 60lbs in the larger models, that's enough lockdown to pull 2 men overboard in addition to a machined brass pinion, main gear AND oscillation gear. They're also using duradrag carbon drag washers which is the new material they use in their conventionals including the internationals. I barely use my spinners anymore but it's a good investment if you're into spinning for big game.

Postby dougla_boy » December 14th, 2017, 8:46 am

i swear you real bright

this is my thought every time i read something yuh type on d forum.... hommuch degree yuh have? 12 awa?