Skybox companies: Buy less things online

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 7th, 2017, 6:57 pm

CNC3 - Courier companies are appealing to their customers to buy less online. At least two companies are pleading with their customers to buy local where possible. This as courier companies now have to source US currency to pay for your packages.

And the Bankers Association is saying that international banking relation is at risk.

Judy Kanhai has the details in Business Watch.

Drea

Re: Skybox companies: Buy less things online

Postby Drea » November 7th, 2017, 7:26 pm

Well dem bold..... and you wait till the BUSIEST season to say this men already geared up for Thanksgiving, Cyber monday and Christmas sales.

So how they making money to stay in business if we shopping less? :?:

Postby gastly369 » November 7th, 2017, 7:37 pm

Rofl tf....

Postby Chimera » November 7th, 2017, 7:38 pm

Lol...hear na
I have a brother multifunction printer from psmart. Use to pay 450 or 600 for a toner by them. No one else have the toner and they eh get toner in weeks or months...i almost reach the point of buying a new printer or paying a local company $1000 for a single toner....then i find a generic toner on amazon and 4 of them cost me $800 total landed.......and ppl saying buy local? Ent the local ppl still hadda buy abroad

Postby hydroep » November 7th, 2017, 8:05 pm

LOL...ah yes. Shortage of US buh PDS speeding along...:|

Postby matr1x » November 7th, 2017, 8:05 pm

They smoking crack.

airuma

Postby airuma » November 7th, 2017, 8:39 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Lol...hear na
I have a brother multifunction printer from psmart. Use to pay 450 or 600 for a toner by them. No one else have the toner and they eh get toner in weeks or months...i almost reach the point of buying a new printer or paying a local company $1000 for a single toner....then i find a generic toner on amazon and 4 of them cost me $800 total landed.......and ppl saying buy local? Ent the local ppl still hadda buy abroad

Exactly!!!!! How stupid does the media think the population is? Are we hearing more unemployment here? Of course this is the obvious fallout from the forex shortage...... it will be almost impossible to cut out the middle man and they will have more control over prices.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » November 7th, 2017, 9:30 pm

Well, the government could try to get some foreign investment or try to encourage entrepreneurship​ and also aid these small businesses to become exporters???
I mean taxing locals ain't gonna cut it, cause TT dollars worth less than toilet paper outside this country. If nobody encouraging de locals and everybody only saying thing bad, don't be surprised when de economy finally collapses...

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 7th, 2017, 9:37 pm

On another note, it hadda be a record for Websource for "taking in front" during peak season.

Postby matr1x » November 7th, 2017, 9:40 pm

And websource cut down deliveries

Postby skylinechild » November 7th, 2017, 10:12 pm

would buy local.....if local suppliers knew how to not dig out ppl eye with pricing....
sadly the rich just want to keep on getting rich and well it makes more sense - even the 7% online tax and other factors- to buy online...

still getting the better deal online.

we need to stop the USD addiction

why we buying cars from japan but payin in USD.??
its funny how AS SOON as Govt announce restrictions on importation of cars japanese car companies already know about it and start selling you cars that meet that requirement.....nothing less than 2 yrs old now..... and as if by miracle.....they showin u 2014 and up cars for sale....

i wonder if they put a ban on payment types....take your YEN as payment...if u want USD you pay your bank conversion fees to convert it bk to USD...or no business....you in japan..why you want USD for?? you have no faith in your own currency ??

same goes for other good imported...we import stuff from china...?
take chinese $$$ in payment...

cheese from new zealand...??
take new zealand $$$$

sadly the only one who benefits from this USD issue is the ppl who run businesses and the sellers....

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » November 7th, 2017, 10:17 pm

All currency conversion is done in USD because it is the world's reserve currency.

Postby skylinechild » November 7th, 2017, 10:22 pm

[X]~Outlaw wrote:All currency conversion is done in USD because it is the world's reserve currency.

somehow i guessed you missed my point........if the seller wants to do business.....YOU (the car seller in japan) convert it to USD at your charge...not ours....

if we ( T&T john public ) buy a car from japan....we already pay
1 price of car
2. price to ship car
3 insurance for shipping if CIF
4.bank fees - wire transfer - both fees - sending and accepting.

all those are in USD.

want to do business.....take some japanese YEN

something has to be done otherwise we wont survive......simple.

the rate we goin at jus now licensing office will start accepting payment in USD by the cashier......?? :lol: :lol:

Postby matr1x » November 7th, 2017, 10:23 pm

The 7% tax had nothing to do with forex shortage. Local businesses facing competition from the fact that citizens could pay much less, pressure the government to do something about it. At their beck and call, the government complied.

Notice courts, massy and ansa have not slowed down imports?

Postby pete » November 7th, 2017, 11:34 pm

skylinechild wrote:
[X]~Outlaw wrote:All currency conversion is done in USD because it is the world's reserve currency.

somehow i guessed you missed my point........if the seller wants to do business.....YOU (the car seller in japan) convert it to USD at your charge...not ours....

1 price of car
2. price to ship car

all those are in USD.

the rate we goin at jus now licensing office will start accepting payment in USD by the cashier......??
Where you getting Yuan to buy?

Postby skylinechild » November 7th, 2017, 11:43 pm

pete wrote:
skylinechild wrote:

1 price of car
2. price to ship car

all those are in USD.

the rate we goin at jus now licensing office will start accepting payment in USD by the cashier......??
Where you getting Yuan to buy?

well banks are there to control the trade and flow of all currencies. whose fault is it if all everyone asks for is USD and not other countries currencies....if we start paying in other countries native currency for goods provided...you dont think the banks will start having those currencies.??

so is either the buyer (importer) here in T&T start getting their act together...(start payin in the seller native currency) and start holding the banks to their jobs in providing currencies for use and not just raising prices for every little thing ( how much threads are there abt this on tuner now btw)

if the seller in china / japan / new zealand doesnt want to do accept their native currency to do business....hard luck for them...other countires out there will be more than willing to do business.....its simple..... its called BUSINESS....not charity....

simply put...this is payment...take it out leave it....

Postby MaxPower » November 7th, 2017, 11:43 pm

Buy Local? STEUPS

Sheit products and stink customer service? Id rather starve and do without...

Postby RedVEVO » November 7th, 2017, 11:50 pm

matr1x wrote:The 7% tax had nothing to do with forex shortage. Local businesses facing competition from the fact that citizens could pay much less, pressure the government to do something about it. At their beck and call, the government complied.

Yes ..

All the goods in Massy, Courts & PriceSmart & Everybody etc., is foreign.

Went to purchase a parrot cage - Cost $3,800 TT in Trinidad.
Amazon have it for $120 US ..

Carry on ..

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 8th, 2017, 3:30 am

the thing is everyone hoarding the US from the big business to the small man cause everyone know they going to devalue the dollar
All the manufacturing which sells abroad sell in us dollars but they save that and try to get more us to to buy raw materials .

Fcuk buying local bringing it in yourself paying all the taxes still works out much cheaper . And when we buy foreign,there is so many more middle men to get a cut . Local business men just getting richer on the small man hard work.

Postby Redman » November 8th, 2017, 4:31 am

And we not even sure that the paying the duties they supposed to pay.

Postby zoom rader » November 8th, 2017, 4:46 am

All thanks to PNM .

You all got what you voted for

cosmo

Postby cosmo » November 8th, 2017, 5:21 am

zoom rader wrote:All thanks to PNM .

You all got what you voted for

You can't even buy what you want any more, not forgetting you can't buy your needs either.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 8th, 2017, 7:46 am

Dear Valued Members,

We at Tropical Express feel compelled in addressing the current situation and how it will affect, or rather not affect, our company. Confirming the news, yes there is great difficulty in getting USD but we are looking into ways and means of mitigating these difficulties. With this in mind, I assure you not to worry when it comes to using our services as we continue to ship five (5) days a week. We will not inhibit you in any way from doing your holiday shopping on-line, actually we encourage you to do so. This is especially true as you all would definitely not want to miss out on Black Friday and Cyber Monday, the biggest sale events of the year which are creeping up on us quickly. We want to reassure you that you can count on us to service your shipping needs this holiday season and rest assure that we will be working tediously in making sure everyone gets their packages in an affordable, reliable and timely manner. In making sure of this and with our continued efforts in improvement of our services, we have totally prepared, reorganized and made major improvements in our Miami office just in time for peak season. We promise you that we will deliver and excel in our caveats of Affordability, Reliability, Simplicity and Timeliness. We would like to thank you all for your loyalty and patronage and we look forward in serving you this holiday season and beyond.

bladett

Postby bladett » November 8th, 2017, 8:42 am

From IBC/Zipx

The Business Watch segment which aired on CNC3 Monday 6th November 2017 (Courier companies appeal to customers to buy less online) does not reflect the views of IBC Express / ZipX Package Service.

IBC Express / ZipX Package Service encourages its customers to purchase online as the price and quality is better than local offerings.

IBC Express / ZipX Package Service will not be turning down any business and will be delivering packages for the Christmas Season as usual.

Thank You,
Management and Staff of IBC Express / ZipX Package Service

Postby redmanjp » November 8th, 2017, 8:49 am

Lol wouldn't skybox companies lose business if ppl buy local

airuma

Postby airuma » November 8th, 2017, 9:36 am

MaxPower wrote:Buy Local? STEUPS

Sounds like a capitalistic, dictatorial comment! If it's the same products, that we would buy online ourselves then it cannot be called "Sheit" products. Starving should not be the only option either..... reminds me of the days TSTT used to charge $4.50 per minute for an overseas call!
Stink customer service..... now this seems like a "white elephant" in the realm of commerce wrt Trinidad and Tobago, especially wrt warranty. A good warranty/ replacement policy is something that will persuade me to purchase locally, not this seven days for refund, you will keep repairing it until I get fed up or the warranty period expires and the best of all "SALE ITEM, NO WARRANTY" and everything is always on sale in the store!

But how can we get to this level if the only option is to "starve and do without"?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 8th, 2017, 9:45 am

airuma wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Buy Local? STEUPS

Sounds like a capitalistic, dictatorial comment! If it's the same products, that we would buy online ourselves then it cannot be called "Sheit" products. Starving should not be the only option either..... reminds me of the days TSTT used to charge $4.50 per minute for an overseas call!
Stink customer service..... now this seems like a "white elephant" in the realm of commerce wrt Trinidad and Tobago, especially wrt warranty. A good warranty/ replacement policy is something that will persuade me to purchase locally, not this seven days for refund, you will keep repairing it until I get fed up or the warranty period expires and the best of all "SALE ITEM, NO WARRANTY" and everything is always on sale in the store!

But how can we get to this level if the only option is to "starve and do without"?

of course is sheit products but we buy them any way . i buy the same sheit products online and shipped to my door for less than half the price it is sold locally.

Postby Chimera » November 8th, 2017, 9:56 am

lol look how dred it is na

people taking advantage of online shopping, add OPT, stifle access to USD credit card usage, force people to buy local

people taking advantage of hybrid exemptions and importing their own vehicles, stifle access to USD and kill the promised exemption so people once again have to turn to local firms

Miktay

Postby Miktay » November 8th, 2017, 10:11 am

RedVEVO wrote:
matr1x wrote:The 7% tax had nothing to do with forex shortage. Local businesses facing competition from the fact that citizens could pay much less, pressure the government to do something about it. At their beck and call, the government complied.

Yes ..

All the goods in Massy, Courts & PriceSmart & Everybody etc., is foreign.

Went to purchase a parrot cage - Cost $3,800 TT in Trinidad.
Amazon have it for $120 US ..

Carry on ..

Allyuh seem to forget...

Suma dem Massy big boy does have to pay for outside redwoman who playing front line Tribe...taking 4 forin vacation/shopping trips per year...and living West Maurings...

Yuh tink it easy :D

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 8th, 2017, 10:16 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:lol look how dred it is na

people taking advantage of online shopping, add OPT, stifle access to USD credit card usage, force people to buy local

people taking advantage of hybrid exemptions and importing their own vehicles, stifle access to USD and kill the promised exemption so people once again have to turn to local firms

yet the prices local companies charging is enough to have people still wanting to buy online