Should Ministers get personal vehicle tax exemptions?

Should Ministers get vehicle tax exemptions?

Postby MaxPower » October 6th, 2017, 2:25 pm

It dont matter if Imbert buy a Mustang or an average Joe....allyuh will still jealous and tote regardless...

Stop bumpin allyuh stink gum, work harder and buy 4 mustang

Re: Should Ministers get vehicle tax exemptions?

Postby streetbeastINC. » October 6th, 2017, 4:31 pm

i have been a travelling officer for over 17 years and counting and to this day i have never used my loan, or any exemptions tht i am entitled too

airuma

Postby airuma » October 6th, 2017, 5:05 pm

toyolink wrote:I have always felt that this particular facility extended to various office holder must be conditional eg
-Vehicles must be limited by engine size, fuel type, match to purpose, and value of exemption capped by office.
In addition the availability of this facility must be limited by time (eg once every 5 years).
I do believe there are some conditionalities at present but generally they are quite slack and its actually viewed by many office holders as a very significant financial benefit.
If the MOF used the facility to buy a Mustang as described, he really doesn't believe his own rhetoric.

You think anyone in the responsible ministries is capable of understanding those conditions..... simple solution.... NO EXEMPTION..... NONE...... they should put themselves in a position to FULLY understand the effects of the decisions they make!
Can this not put them in a position to do something similar to "insider trading"?

ras_elmo

Postby ras_elmo » October 6th, 2017, 7:09 pm

No, or at least limit it to once every 5 years ans all of the other allowances to a max total of 10% of their annual salary.

Postby zoom rader » October 7th, 2017, 8:14 am

Imbert should buy what ever car he what's. You all put him there so don't complain

Postby Chimera » October 7th, 2017, 8:33 am

streetbeastINC. wrote:i have been a travelling officer for over 17 years and counting and to this day i have never used my loan, or any exemptions tht i am entitled too

You is a idiot

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 7th, 2017, 8:45 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:
streetbeastINC. wrote:i have been a travelling officer for over 17 years and counting and to this day i have never used my loan, or any exemptions tht i am entitled too

You is a idiot

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 7th, 2017, 10:28 am

17 years yuh say... boy soon as I get my number I take loan. the facility there, use it!

Re: Should Ministers get personal vehicle tax exemptions?

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 7th, 2017, 7:26 pm

Yes, but not big price car

They need transport, but they don't need temperature controlled cupholders.

Buy a Nissan Note and a thermos

Postby shogun » October 9th, 2017, 1:11 am

Should Ministers Get Vehicle Tax Exemptions?

No.

The only way to give the politicians the political will to solve the problems of the average citizens is to have them experience all the bureaucracy and costs that average citizens have to face. And that goes WAY beyond just vehicle tax exemptions. It's time for their perks to be lessened. See how quickly things will change then.

Postby De Dragon » October 9th, 2017, 2:11 am

shogun wrote:Should Ministers Get Vehicle Tax Exemptions?

No.

The only way to give the politicians the political will to solve the problems of the average citizens is to have them experience all the bureaucracy and costs that average citizens have to face. And that goes WAY beyond just vehicle tax exemptions. It's time for their perks to be lessened. See how quickly things will change then.

The wrinkle in all of this of course is that these politicians are the same ones who have to agree to give up the perks, and we all know that is never happening.

Postby zoom rader » October 9th, 2017, 4:42 am

shogun wrote:Should Ministers Get Vehicle Tax Exemptions?

No.

Yes they should get it.
Next time think hard about who you voting for and question then hard when they come at your doorsteps.

Postby streetbeastINC. » October 10th, 2017, 6:51 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:

You is a idiot

lol....nah....buddy i does get fed up of a car in 5 months ...so i sell i cant keep a car for 3 years....

Postby Dizzy28 » October 10th, 2017, 7:11 pm

The TV 6 special going on now on tax breaks for cars for parliamentarians freaking hilarious!!! 30m in tax breaks for the know purchases they could have found info for.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 10th, 2017, 7:19 pm

So afterbirth bringing in multiple cars tax free while chiding people for bringing in said cars tax free?

Revolution is required!

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » October 10th, 2017, 7:21 pm

Yes they should get it

Duncey head Taxi men enjoy massive exemptions & minister mustn’t?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 10th, 2017, 7:24 pm

Yes but those guys abusing it AL Warie 3 luxury cars in 5 years?

That's why I could never be a sheep.

I could never vote for the same party in 2 consecutive elections

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 10th, 2017, 7:36 pm

They should get it but with limits of some kind. Who buys three of the same model in less than 5 years? Al rawi and wade mark need three Prado each in 5 years?

Postby A172 » October 10th, 2017, 7:45 pm

yes they should get it
if plebs could have gotten huge exemptions & as much as they want on whatever pos they driving dey would take it too so stfu

Ibis Electronics

Postby Ibis Electronics » October 10th, 2017, 11:12 pm

D Diesel Report

Postby D Diesel Report » October 11th, 2017, 12:23 am

He who does not use his connections or advantages given to him in life is a happy fool. :drinking: :drinking:

Leave all of them with their perks. What yall go do anyway? Ent some of yall were supposed to riot on Monday...wham with that? :drinking: :drinking:

Y'all not going to change anything, come 2020, it's red and yellow gonna be filled in that house, and perks gonna remain. :evilbat: :evilbat:

I say leave it for them. God bless the Blackest and Best PM and the best party that has the country's interest at heart. :angel:

Postby The_Honourable » October 11th, 2017, 12:39 am

Ibis Electronics wrote:https://www.tv6tnt.com/news/7pmnews/hefty-tax-breaks-on-cars-for-parliamentarian/article_4f1a862e-ae1d-11e7-8ec6-2724da618405.html

That story was well done!

Ibis Electronics

Postby Ibis Electronics » October 11th, 2017, 6:02 am

The_Honourable wrote:
Ibis Electronics wrote:https://www.tv6tnt.com/news/7pmnews/hefty-tax-breaks-on-cars-for-parliamentarian/article_4f1a862e-ae1d-11e7-8ec6-2724da618405.html

That story was well done!

Yes!
The arrogance of some of these ministers really is disappointing though, not surprising, but disappointing.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » October 11th, 2017, 6:26 am

kjaglal76v2 wrote:Yes they should get it

Duncey head Taxi men enjoy massive exemptions & minister mustn’t?

What makes you think these politicians aren't duncy head also?
The criteria for selection to be a minister isn't intelligence but loyalty to their respective parties, competence is irrelevant in the selection process.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 11th, 2017, 12:00 pm

The news report also did not take into consideration the profit made when they sell those vehicles.
We do not have capital gains tax on the disposal of PERSONAL assets in T&T. So when the Ministers sell those vehicles used, they are selling it at market value (not what they paid) which includes the tax they didn't pay thereby making a PROFIT!

Buy a Porsche Cayenne valued at $829,000 but get tax exemptions and only pay $420,000, sell it at market value a year later for 20% less at $663,000. Profit = $243,000. Then buy a next one and repeat. That's why they bought 2 and 3 in 5 years.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 11th, 2017, 12:01 pm

Yup

Postby rspann » October 11th, 2017, 12:31 pm

Duane ,there are also those who buy for other people and leave it in their name till the appropriate time.

Postby pete » October 11th, 2017, 12:51 pm

How long before they are allowed to sell?

Also, wasn't this talked about a few years ago with Anand buying expensive cars without taxes?

Postby Chimera » October 11th, 2017, 12:55 pm

They don't have to pay the taxes if they decide to sell ? Like with returning residents who sell in under 3 years

Postby Chimera » October 11th, 2017, 12:55 pm

Then again plenty of them does do agreements for the time period that it being leased or rented by whoever "buying" it