National Budget 2017-2018 - LIVE STREAM on pg9 @ 1:30pm

wickedtuna

Re: National Budget 2017-2018 - LIVE STREAM on pg9 @ 1:30pm

Postby wickedtuna » October 2nd, 2017, 6:15 pm

Zetski wrote:Ohhhh God!!!!!! Gas gone up! Noooooo...I go hadda pay more now! I thought they say they was gonna leave it. T&TEC and WASA raise oh gad oyeeeee.. and 15% VAT back.. how ah go buy meh bread to eat..

Mid year review u will hear revenue was not what we projected .....soooo um austerity measures may have to be even more stringent. ......aka tighten ur belt

Postby rspann » October 2nd, 2017, 6:16 pm

MG Man wrote:*cough*
crime goin up too
*cough*

Now that is inevitable.

Postby redmanjp » October 2nd, 2017, 6:16 pm

PariaMan wrote:Buy a hybrid dan

When electricity raise that might be a problem too

Postby nervewrecker » October 2nd, 2017, 6:17 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
redmanjp wrote:So do we have a chance to full up gas tank tonight at the old prices or would gas stations have already adjusted?

No...
As soon as the announcement is made...they shut down the pumps if the technician is present and change the price immediately.
Some owners use discretion and leave the pumps at the old price until the technician arrives.
Thats how ramatally in fyzabad does it.
As price raise is pull chain bizness.
Greedy

C.Brown

Postby C.Brown » October 2nd, 2017, 6:18 pm

Dem scaremongers quiet bai...dan money does come and go but de pressure to get by was always on for some ppl since birth...yet they persevere ..
Tuck and roll fellas

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 2nd, 2017, 6:18 pm

novastar1 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:The way economists hype the budget, and two lists circulating all weekend on what suppose to happen... yuh swear we dead. It wasn't that bad.

You got served

Agreed. I thought it was going to be much worse (mid year review pending, of course). I'm pleased with the fact that we're closing in on the deficit, let's just wait and see how much of the $50.5B is used effectively. So up for discussion;
1) I saw something about a community initiative to reduce crime being put in place; wasn't the CCP (iirc) something along those lines and scrapped by the current administration?

2) Why do we never see (or push for) our leaders (to) lead by example, by virtue of declaring they've put a freeze on exploiting their perks i.e. no taxes on vehicle purchases or they've relinquished their housing allowances until better days, instead of crying to us about rainy days when we're the only ones actually getting wet?

Dgsm2789

Postby Dgsm2789 » October 2nd, 2017, 6:20 pm

Them want people to hate the pnm even more. Great is the pnm. Well done peeps. We will gladly vote them back in, and keep tightening our belts until d effing belt buss, but great is the pnm. The poor man just got poorer, and the rich man with the 'diesel x5' just steups and keeps fulling his tank. Great is the pnm. Diesel is what this country moves on, great is the pnm. Everything goes up now.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 2nd, 2017, 6:22 pm

redmanjp wrote:
PariaMan wrote:Buy a hybrid dan

When electricity raise that might be a problem too

Only plugin hybrid use electricity dan

Postby MaxPower » October 2nd, 2017, 6:22 pm

pugboy wrote:which casino really reports their gambling revenues ?

This roulette table tax will hit them chinee bad
but the 1% casinos with slot machines get away scot free

If the Chinee have 2 fortune cookie in the bag it dont mean he have 2 fortune cookie in the bag...

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 2nd, 2017, 6:28 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
redmanjp wrote:So do we have a chance to full up gas tank tonight at the old prices or would gas stations have already adjusted?

No...
As soon as the announcement is made...they shut down the pumps if the technician is present and change the price immediately.
Some owners use discretion and leave the pumps at the old price until the technician arrives.
Thats how ramatally in fyzabad does it.
As price raise is pull chain bizness.
Greedy

Hoss, the prices of some of their other items alone is enough to demonstrate how their mentality. The only reason I patronize them is because of Unipet's double filtered diesel, but our diesel in general is still crappy. With the gap in prices between diesel and super closing in, in tandem with the high(er) maintenance costs incurred with owning a diesel vehicle, especially a common rail diesel, gas/hybrid vehicles are becoming more appealing yes (with that removal of the concession, Massy will make their name with that IoniQ).

Re: National Budget 2017-2018

Postby bluefete » October 2nd, 2017, 6:31 pm

redmanjp wrote:
ingalook wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
ingalook wrote:Everything is now pointing to T&T hitting a MASSIVE boom during 2018... possibly bigger than we have ever seen - if the government comes with a doom and gloom scenario and pushes more austerity when the social cost of these measures are taking their toll - we know that they are just putting on a show to the benefit of their corporate overload

Boom based on what?

Projected oil price around $100 USD
Many of the big Rigs etc coming on stream massively increasing production

Exactly how is more oil on the market going to increase the price?

Economics 101 - T&T Style!

Postby The_Honourable » October 2nd, 2017, 6:36 pm

bluefete wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
ingalook wrote:
ingalook wrote:Everything is now pointing to T&T hitting a MASSIVE boom during 2018... possibly bigger than we have ever seen - if the government comes with a doom and gloom scenario and pushes more austerity when the social cost of these measures are taking their toll - we know that they are just putting on a show to the benefit of their corporate overload

Boom based on what?

Economics 101 - T&T Style!

Ingalook... redeem yuhself... fast

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » October 2nd, 2017, 6:46 pm

So diesel gone up! Grocery bill touching the ceiling this month end.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 2nd, 2017, 6:57 pm

TAKEN FROM LOOP NEWS-
Finance Minister Colm Imbert-

12 highlights of the 2018 Budget.

1. Effective immediately: an increase in diesel and super prices: Super increased from $3.58 to $3.97 per litre; Diesel from $2.30 to $3.41

2. Current restrictions on maxi-taxi licenses to be removed, to allow for a freer public transportation system

3. Grants of up to $100,000 ($20M allocated by gov't) for farmers under a new Agricultural Financial Support Programme; applicants must be properly certified/qualified

4. National Crime Prevention Programme to prevent crime through community empowerment to be launched

5. Rate assessment exercise for water, electricity rates to be completed by 2018

6. Further review of Government Assistance for Tuition Expenses (GATE) programme expected in 2018

7. Proposed increase of penalty for offence under the Private Hospitals Act from $10 k to $100 k

8. CL Financial assets will be divested either on stock exchange/national mutual funds & available for purchase by the public

9. Corporation Tax increases from 25 percent to 30 percent. This measure will take effect from January 1, 2018

10. Royalty rate of 12.5 percent would now be applicable across the board on extraction of all gas, condensate and oil

11. Tax of 10 percent on all cash winnings of NLCB

12. Commercial banks to have new tax bracket of 35 percent from January 1, 2018

Postby sMASH » October 2nd, 2017, 7:00 pm

Postby The_Honourable » October 2nd, 2017, 7:00 pm

Commercial banks get hit... Imbert reading papers and seeing how they bragging about profits per quarter.

Postby hydroep » October 2nd, 2017, 7:03 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Commercial banks get hit... Imbert reading papers and seeing how they bragging about profits per quarter.

Get hit my arse. Look out for them to increase fees next year.

After all, it's the increased cost of doing business... :|

C.Brown

Postby C.Brown » October 2nd, 2017, 7:03 pm

mark2.0 wrote:So diesel gone up! Grocery bill touching the ceiling this month end.

I was wrong the scaremongers are back at it...
Food going up regardless of the diesel price..Supermarket association done crying limited USD higher prices...USD is 8:1 out dey

AstonMartV

Postby AstonMartV » October 2nd, 2017, 7:03 pm

Zetski wrote:Ohhhh God!!!!!! Gas gone up! Noooooo...I go hadda pay more now! I thought they say they was gonna leave it. T&TEC and WASA raise oh gad oyeeeee.. and 15% VAT back.. how ah go buy meh bread to eat..

Great is the PNM Zetski! Don’t bawl with balls in your mouth. No need for bread. The grass is the life source of the PNM

Zetski

Postby Zetski » October 2nd, 2017, 7:08 pm

AstonMartV wrote:

Great is the PNM Zetski! Don’t bawl with balls in your mouth. No need for bread. The grass is the life source of the PNM

Ah should take yuh to court for defamation of character :lol: :lol:

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 2nd, 2017, 7:18 pm

hydroep wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Commercial banks get hit... Imbert reading papers and seeing how they bragging about profits per quarter.

Get hit my arse. Look out for them to increase fees next year.

After all, it's the increased cost of doing business... :|

This. It amazes me how myopic we are sometimes.

Postby bluefete » October 2nd, 2017, 7:26 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:TAKEN FROM LOOP NEWS-

2. Current restrictions on maxi-taxi licenses to be removed, to allow for a freer public transportation system

Why don't they just fix PTSC properly and done?

Postby The_Honourable » October 2nd, 2017, 7:33 pm

bluefete wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:TAKEN FROM LOOP NEWS-

Why don't they just fix PTSC properly and done?

Or just exit the transport business/PTSC period.

Postby sMASH » October 2nd, 2017, 7:36 pm

gundeleroy2k

Postby gundeleroy2k » October 2nd, 2017, 7:38 pm

sMASH wrote:Image

Funny

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » October 2nd, 2017, 7:38 pm

ingalook

Postby ingalook » October 2nd, 2017, 7:40 pm

redmanjp wrote:
ingalook wrote:

Boom based on what?

We are way too small to influence the global oil price... that projected increase is due to factors we have no control over - but all projections point to an oil price of $80-100

Postby sMASH » October 2nd, 2017, 7:41 pm

Dem self Hadda make balisier choka to eat.

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » October 2nd, 2017, 7:43 pm

ingalook wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
ingalook wrote:

Boom based on what?

We are way too small to influence the global oil price... that projected increase is due to factors we have no control over - but all projections point to an oil price of $80-100

So d boss when it reach $80 - $100 what would b the pump price ?

Postby sMASH » October 2nd, 2017, 7:46 pm

Open is continuing a reduction on output right now, prices will remain up.