:: The official TOOLS thread ::

viedcht

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby viedcht » September 24th, 2017, 1:26 pm

Anybody ever see this tool for sale locally; Arbortech AS170. Brick and Mortar cutting tool...

car

Postby car » September 24th, 2017, 5:22 pm

nick639v2 wrote:But onna real if I could’ve gotten it at an exact US converted price.. I would buy that in a heartbeat... it have ppl paying 8500$ norm for a phone

No need to justify buying a tool. Once you know you will use it and if it pays for itself then it is more than worth it.

Postby rspann » September 24th, 2017, 5:29 pm

I have a Millermatic 212, you dont want a better machine than this. You could also put on the spool gun and weld aluminium and stainless. Easy to use and even if younow starting, it could make you look like a pro. The parts and service very cheap by Frank Mouttet.

Postby X_Factor » September 27th, 2017, 2:33 pm

any deals on a good set of metric spanners? 8-17 is fine...black oxide

blood

Postby blood » September 27th, 2017, 3:06 pm

THIS STILL AVAILABLE.... ?

Rudman wrote:I have some more M18 Milwaukee stuff up for sale, Hammer drill and impact driver:

20131110_183014.jpg

Brushless Fuel stuff. 725 in/lbs on the hammer drill, 1600 in/lbs on the driver. See link here for more details:

http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=540023

Postby Rovin » September 27th, 2017, 4:08 pm

rspann wrote:I have a Millermatic 212, you dont want a better machine than this. You could also put on the spool gun and weld aluminium and stainless. Easy to use and even if younow starting, it could make you look like a pro. The parts and service very cheap by Frank Mouttet.

u bought it locally or imported it urself - what did it cost u ? ....

Postby rspann » September 27th, 2017, 5:20 pm

Bought it at Frank Moutett Ltd. It was just under $18 G .

Postby Rovin » September 27th, 2017, 8:17 pm

whoa thats not cheap .... :|

Lance

Postby Lance » September 28th, 2017, 7:44 am

Anyone has any experience with esab welders?

Is CWSL the local dealers/support?

Dgsm2789

Postby Dgsm2789 » September 28th, 2017, 8:30 am

New lincoln ac 225 welding units fot sale. $2875

Dgsm2789

Postby Dgsm2789 » September 28th, 2017, 8:31 am

Dgsm2789 wrote:New lincoln ac 225 welding units fot sale. $2875

728 5755 delivery available

ADONI

Postby ADONI » September 28th, 2017, 8:39 am

Lance wrote:Anyone has any experience with esab welders?

Is CWSL the local dealers/support?

I know this is the brand of electrodes Massy Gas sells. It works good for me as the Lincoln electrode .

Postby pugboy » September 28th, 2017, 8:49 am

esab are supposed to be good machines
red,blue, esab, hobart are the long time brands

the worst electrodes are the jamaican ones, burn like a sparkler and make a mess

Lance

Postby Lance » September 28th, 2017, 9:06 am

pugboy wrote:esab are supposed to be good machines
red,blue, esab, hobart are the long time brands

the worst electrodes are the jamaican ones, burn like a sparkler and make a mess

Apparently there have been quite a bit of silent acquisitions and rebranding that has made it difficult to choose a good welder. Especially with the new inverter ac/dc welders.

Chinese products have really shaken things up and made the choice even more difficult. There are a bit of the new brands that have me considering them AHP and Everlast for example. But the feedback seems to be very mixed.

From what I understand. Miller acquired Hobart and most of the Hobart machines are now rebranded or co-developed miller machines.

ESAB seems to be sourcing machines from all over the place. Some of them are coming from China and are sold through ESAB, Thermal ARC or Tweco. These seem to be iffy. And then within the same line, certain models seem to be coming from Japan (Sanrex) and Germany (Lorch).

Postby pugboy » September 28th, 2017, 9:26 am

The Chinese igbt stick inverters are highly commoditized now and cheap

You can buy the circuit boards and make your own brand or subcontract company
Edoos
Have their own brand of them

Lance

Postby Lance » September 28th, 2017, 9:41 am

pugboy wrote:The Chinese igbt stick inverters are highly commoditized now and cheap

You can buy the circuit boards and make your own brand or subcontract company
Edoos
Have their own brand of them

This is exactly what the a lot of US brands are doing now (everlast, AHP, longevity, eastwood etc.).

They have a build house in china supply them with pre-engineered igbt inverters and let them slap their names on it. They buy containers of these and another container of spare boards. The designs seem way more modular now, so they just let the customer swap out the defective boards.

My concern here is long term support.

aidan

Postby aidan » September 28th, 2017, 12:35 pm

Tuners, anyone know where I may be able to get impact 1/2 " sockets and a extension in the east west corridor. Need it for weekend. Checked a couple hardwares but to no avail.

Postby X_Factor » September 28th, 2017, 12:45 pm

a few auto part shops may hav but its not cheap...tbh if u hav a decent set of regular sockets they would work for the one off diy job...

Postby *KRONIK* » September 28th, 2017, 1:13 pm

aidan wrote:Tuners, anyone know where I may be able to get impact 1/2 " sockets and a extension in the east west corridor. Need it for weekend. Checked a couple hardwares but to no avail.

Pass by me

U can borrow by 3/8" drive tekton impact sockets
I have the 1/2" adapter too

aidan

Postby aidan » September 28th, 2017, 2:14 pm

Thanks Bhai *KRONIK*

Postby *KRONIK* » September 28th, 2017, 2:20 pm

aidan wrote:Thanks Bhai *KRONIK*

I wah ur jack stands borrow wen u done

Postby *KRONIK* » September 28th, 2017, 7:57 pm

So allyuh...hear this nah

I had a pliers multi-tool thingy that get some heavy salt water from a fishing trip and it eh looking so wholesome again...

What i could use to de-rust and lubricate back all the tools

Postby pugboy » September 28th, 2017, 7:59 pm

Regular steel?

Postby Ted_v2 » September 28th, 2017, 8:49 pm

Best spanner deals is allied have the stanley set for just around 600$ 8-30mm i believe, skipps a few sizes. They have the black too but i honestly dunno the price.
just around 450$ L&G has the gearwrench long metric wrenches, ooo and they are lovely, really alot slimmer than the regular stanley. 8-22 i believe. Skips none

heard great things on tekton.

Postby X_Factor » September 28th, 2017, 9:37 pm

thinking bout ordering this...should cost under 350.00

Postby adnj » September 28th, 2017, 9:57 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
aidan wrote:Tuners, anyone know where I may be able to get impact 1/2 " sockets and a extension in the east west corridor. Need it for weekend. Checked a couple hardwares but to no avail.

Pass by me

U can borrow by 3/8" drive tekton impact sockets
I have the 1/2" adapter too

Postby *KRONIK* » September 28th, 2017, 9:58 pm

pugboy wrote:Regular steel?

Stainless and aluminum

Will post a pic or 2 tomorrow

Postby adnj » September 28th, 2017, 10:09 pm

For your multitool, try to wipe it off with a clean polyester cloth soaked in white vinegar. Rinse and repeat as needed. You can even let it soak for a few minutes.

The acetic acid will dissolve the rust slowly without staining like most rust removers like Wonder Plus (phosphoric acid?). Rinse under a running tap and use compressed air to blow out the pivots. Spray on some WD40 and wipe off the excess.

There are better lubes than WD40 but for the money you won't beat it.

If you have any pitting or a patina (staining) or scratching after treating, use a metal polish and machine buff it out with a Dremel tool and a felt wheel.

Postby *KRONIK* » September 29th, 2017, 9:32 am

Will try

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » September 29th, 2017, 11:40 am

X_Factor wrote:Image

thinking bout ordering this...should cost under 350.00

Have had some of these new stanley stuff fail on me.. i’d say go craftsman or crescent brand