What really going on with Mt. Hope???

QuietGiant

What really going on with Mt. Hope???

Postby QuietGiant » September 20th, 2017, 2:38 pm

Serious thing, what really wrong with Mt. Hope? Have a family member currently warded there, had surgery about a day ago. Nurses don't wanna do sh*t, patient there painfully recovering cant move much cuz stitches will tear, they removed the bandages from a HUGE scar on their belly (less than 2 days after surgery) & just left it open for over 2 hours. The patient's spouse asked the nurses for help cleaning up & they literally told them "YOU have to do it, you're the spouse." What kinda madness is this? That's what they getting PAID for, we can't afford to move someone like that & risk tearing stitches or worse. SMH.

Monkey Man

Re: What really going on with Mt. Hope???

Postby Monkey Man » September 20th, 2017, 2:48 pm

pal you are honestly talking sheit, nothing is wrong with our healthcare system. its fine, what we needed was a stadium for crickett and party. We also need a system online to check and see that you actually do own your own vehicles.

your relative is not important. his/her scar is not relevant.

Postby sMASH » September 20th, 2017, 3:08 pm

Standard medical care in trinidad and Tobago.... Deal with it.

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » September 20th, 2017, 3:15 pm

Monkey Man wrote:pal you are honestly talking sheit, nothing is wrong with our healthcare system. its fine, what we needed was a stadium for crickett and party. We also need a system online to check and see that you actually do own your own vehicles.

your relative is not important. his/her scar is not relevant.

We also needed a painting

Drea

Postby Drea » September 20th, 2017, 3:37 pm

I assume this is the same relative with the colostomy? Glad to hear the surgery was done, but not the additional drama. My advice do the only thing that seems to work, put them up on social media or contact a media house (or Ian) to highlight the story.

Postby timelapse » September 20th, 2017, 4:02 pm

I hear some Balisier juice will cur that in no time

Postby Chimera » September 20th, 2017, 4:21 pm

dont put them on social media while your relative is in their care though

pinks

Postby pinks » September 20th, 2017, 4:29 pm

Boi lemme tell you sumting..the nurses at ewmsc rhelllll freaking sickening..yes i knw they maybe understaffed and sheit but so are all the other departments at the complex..i deal with dem on a daily basis and i can confirm that them is "d freaking worst"..dont like bashing peers but jeeezz..btw..the nurses (RN) are not responsible for "cleaning up"..thats the ENA's AND PCA's(assistants) responsiblitiy(dey sent home most of dem recently)..but yea..when it come to nursing responsibilties jesus be with you..if i cuda really say wat i see everyday ppl go bawl yes..but IR dun treaten we so i go hush..

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » September 20th, 2017, 9:42 pm

pinks wrote:Boi lemme tell you sumting..the nurses at ewmsc rhelllll freaking sickening..yes i knw they maybe understaffed and sheit but so are all the other departments at the complex..i deal with dem on a daily basis and i can confirm that them is "d freaking worst"..dont like bashing peers but jeeezz..btw..the nurses (RN) are not responsible for "cleaning up"..thats the ENA's AND PCA's(assistants) responsiblitiy(dey sent home most of dem recently)..but yea..when it come to nursing responsibilties jesus be with you..if i cuda really say wat i see everyday ppl go bawl yes..but IR dun treaten we so i go hush..
Yea and I hear the IR manager moving breathless. Crocodile tears eh wukkin this rounds.

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » September 20th, 2017, 9:52 pm

Right now they cancelling clinics ...giving dates till next year .... no wonder high profile people go nursing homes other wise they dead like we ....not to mention no medication. .......deyalsingh mighty quiet these days btw

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 20th, 2017, 10:15 pm

we red and ready .... tis is what they voted for .....

airuma

Postby airuma » September 20th, 2017, 10:24 pm

I sure I hear Deyalsingh on the news today or yesterday. BTW, I also hear that some 500 doctors waiting for employment?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 20th, 2017, 10:36 pm

welcome to the reality of Trinidad's health system...Deyalsingh seems to think it's the best thing out doh...your story is small thing to other stories out there

Postby MaxPower » September 20th, 2017, 10:38 pm

Hmmm high expectations here....

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » September 20th, 2017, 10:50 pm

My deepest simpathies and I do wish your family a speedy recovery.

On the other hand to others out there:

Don't get sick or injured.....

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 21st, 2017, 8:54 am

Save your$ ...take out a good medical plan...go private...bienvenidos a trinidad y tobago

Skanky

Postby Skanky » September 21st, 2017, 9:23 am

Everything that doesn't work in Trinidad doesn't work because somewhere, somebody is making a lot of money from it not working.

Public hospitals don't work because the doctors benefit hugely from them not working.

So goes everything else in Trinidad and by extension Tobago.

Eletech

Postby Eletech » September 21st, 2017, 10:28 am

Two days ago, an employee was injured ( not major) and was taken to Sangre Grande Hospital. He was hit in the stomach by a suspended load swinging from a crane. From the time of arrival (we walked in), immediate admission, x rays of the front, back, sides; MRI, physical testing and doctor's attention. He received medication and within one hour from walking in, was done.

I have never seen, not even in private hospitals, the level of professionalism and care ever. Sincere thanks to the Sangre Grande Hospital staff. Great Job !

Postby Dizzy28 » September 21st, 2017, 10:33 am

Grande hospital proves that it is possible to offer more than reasonable health care in the public sector. Its years now I have heard people praising its facilities. Even a few years ago my friend's mother was being treated for Cancer and the treatment there was top notch wrt Chemo.

Maybe its because they do not see the hundreds of thousands of people that PoS and Sando sees, maybe its the management. Whatever it is we need to find the source of success and replicate it

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 21st, 2017, 10:59 am

Erha has a very good staff...I believe grande has one of if not the best maternity wards in the country..

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 21st, 2017, 11:30 am

mt hope used to be okay like 10yrs ago though but nowadays its really MT HOPELESS or MT DEATH

talking from experience , u sit on d front row with a bag of drips connected to u & d doctors\nurses dont even come & ask u what going on with u

everybody shud put aside $$$ for health emergencies cause if u relying on d public health systems is best u call d funeral home in advance b4 u go in ...... :|

Postby Chimera » September 21st, 2017, 12:18 pm

Grande had it's fair share of problems recently as well. I remember my father in law not being able to get his chemo treatment because they didn't have someone to mix the drugs last year

viedcht

Postby viedcht » September 21st, 2017, 2:43 pm

Old wards in Sando General have rell shortages. Gauze scarce, antibiotics scarce... you have to walk with your testing machines (blood sugar) and insulin... the community clinics in areas lacking antibiotics for dressing wounds. This is over a month now apparently.

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » September 21st, 2017, 2:59 pm

Have a coworker his daughter had a crash curepe junction (hi way ) she has to do hip surgery at Mt hope they sent him to buy some medication. .. including blood clotting meds for the surgery

viedcht

Postby viedcht » September 21st, 2017, 3:18 pm

Plus any blood tests needed in-ward is the patient's expense

Drea

Postby Drea » September 21st, 2017, 3:23 pm

wickedtuna wrote:Have a coworker his daughter had a crash curepe junction (hi way ) she has to do hip surgery at Mt hope they sent him to buy some medication. .. including blood clotting meds for the surgery

I feel i heard something similar to this wrt them not having blood clotting meds.... its a shame despite the challenges in the management and shortage of resources the one thing both doctors and nurses should have is compassion and understanding for the sick, you don't have to buy that and after all you took an oath to provide care.

Postby toyolink » September 21st, 2017, 3:26 pm

These accounts are always real sad.
We look to our health care providers at our most difficult times to 'help'.
In our darkest times these are the places we look towards for caring and hope.
I fully support the need to compensate these healing hands properly, but always hope that we are not used as pawns.
To be a health care provider is a real opportunity to make a positive difference in our lives.

Postby Chimera » September 21st, 2017, 4:56 pm

viedcht wrote:Plus any blood tests needed in-ward is the patient's expense

Hospitals not getting money a while now.they real owing suppliers so they aren't supplying anything on credit anymore.

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » September 21st, 2017, 6:17 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
viedcht wrote:Plus any blood tests needed in-ward is the patient's expense

Hospitals not getting money a while now.they real owing suppliers so they aren't supplying anything on credit anymore.

You all went CPL finals orr?
Trini #priorities

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 21st, 2017, 6:59 pm

Have a little niece in the children's section with a broken arm going to do surgery tonight in fact.

None of the above issues experienced so far, so it's not all bad.