27%
Mix breed
27%

Total votes: 11

Re: Which dog breed is the best?

Postby Slartibartfast » September 15th, 2017, 4:08 pm

From my anecdotal experience, if you take in a stray with a good temperament they would show that gratitude for the rest of their life. If it's a pothound and you make sure it gets its vaccinations then the dog should be fine with little extra attention or effort required (I'm guessing because it's cross bred with every dog that ever existed in Trinidad it probably has superman-like genetics).

I rescued a pothound-pumpek-german shepherd-border collie-golden retriever-sausage dog-cockaspaniel-pothound mix (yes pothound twice) from a cardboard box in a nearby park when I was 10 years old. He was always happy and never used to leave my side. used to walk me to get a taxi or to lessons and come back to wait for me when he knew I should be on my way home. He used to eat anything and was given a bath biennially when we could find him.

With that said, when I ready for my next dog I want to get a border collie cuz they supposed to be real energetic and smart. But I can't until I know I have the time and space required to take care of it.

Postby RedVEVO » September 15th, 2017, 4:27 pm

Maybe you can get a bigger cardboard box ..

Postby 88sins » September 15th, 2017, 8:15 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:Cane Corso. End of discussion

If you want an intimidating looking easily winded animal that eats like a refugee & drools enough to fill a pool, then yeah.

But for a generally low maintenance, capable guard/watch dog that would be good with the kids & fam but could still drop a intruder, I'd sooner opt for a standard bull terrier. No white plz. Tough as concrete & could take licks, solid build, don't eat excessively much, real goofy when playing with family & generally don't like intruders, nice long muzzle & mouth pack up with strong sharp teeth & gameness for days. Only downside, dem blasted animals when they ready they REAL stubborn. To teach dem anything quickly it hadda be fun for them, otherwise dem eh have time wit nuttn you doin.
but daiz jes my preference

As to the Malinois, they nice eh, but dem ting too high strung for family life. Excellent guard dog for large compounds.

Postby 88sins » September 15th, 2017, 8:19 pm

but op, in yuh poll, i see yuh put as a option. jes so yuh kno, a Caribbean shepherd, mix breed, dustbin terrier, hybrid, etc, all fall in the category of mongrel

superstainless1250

Postby superstainless1250 » September 15th, 2017, 8:56 pm

unruly_trinidad wrote:Which is good for being around people,aggressive or even expensive?

Pothound

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » September 15th, 2017, 10:52 pm

RedVEVO wrote:

Anybody here own a Corso .. ?

Give us a review .

Had one, interacted with many,
Upsides, absolutely 100% family guardian, does not like strangers, but very handler friendly. Craves human companionship but not needy, high tolerance to other dogs, quick learner, very athletic, medium to low prey drive, will not chase or eat small animals so don't worry about frogs, knows boundaries very well and will not mess all over the yard.

Downside, watered down breed locally, still have a few imported bloodlines though, needs a place to run, some drool but very little for a mastiff, must be introduced to regular visitors to home from a young age, will get depressed if onwer is away for too long, can kill an intruder.
CaneCorso_(23).jpg

Typical example of a correct specimen
CaneCorso_(23).jpg

nick639v2

Which dog breed is the best?

Postby nick639v2 » September 15th, 2017, 11:53 pm

cueball1990 wrote:if you want a small but aggressive dog get a dachshund (sausage dog). they may be small but they are very brave. best you get a combo if a small alert dog and a bigger one. the small ones usually are first to notice things. dont underestimate ankle biters eh

Padna have a rot and a sausage.. they man his yard well and look pretty adorable, one 4x4 and one drop low an cambered

My dogs, not for protection, i like them playful and harden.

Currently have a lil pothound she's an absolute joy and loves water.

Husky is only 6 months old, unless u have time to play and exercise her she will bite and dig up everything.Image

Then the cocker spaniel,

he took training easily and lovesss to play and he mated with a pompek. They are by far the BEST mixed dogs I have experiences with, loud and will chase intruders and they train well not to mention extremely playful and cute.

snypaz

Postby snypaz » September 16th, 2017, 8:36 am

My cocker spaniels are harmless. My Yorkie is the loud ignorant who makes noise for the slightest sounds. And well my Golden is a big pup.

Postby RedVEVO » September 16th, 2017, 1:07 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Give us a review .

Upsides, absolutely 100% family guardian, does not like strangers, but very handler friendly. Craves human companionship but not needy, high tolerance to other dogs, quick learner, very athletic, medium to low prey drive, will not chase or eat small animals so don't worry about frogs, knows boundaries very well and will not mess all over the yard.

Downside, watered down breed locally, still have a few imported bloodlines though, needs a place to run, some drool but very little for a mastiff, must be introduced to regular visitors to home from a young age, will get depressed if onwer is away for too long, can kill an intruder.
CaneCorso_(23).jpg

Yes :D :D

Similar to Rottweiler in temperament.

Can you get import license to import ?

Any restrictions you may be aware of ?

Postby Chimera » September 16th, 2017, 1:21 pm

snoop dogg is the most reliable dog

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » September 16th, 2017, 5:36 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
Halfbreed07 wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Give us a review .

CaneCorso_(23).jpg

Yes :D :D

Similar to Rottweiler in temperament.

Can you get import license to import ?

Any restrictions you may be aware of ?

Never tried but I would assumed it would have been restrictively expensive, they are not in the dangerous dog act. I can put you on to reputable breeders if you wish.

reddo100

Postby reddo100 » September 18th, 2017, 7:56 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:
Cane Corso. End of discussion

Give us a review .

Cane Corso - Best dogs I ever imported mines from Italy & USA. First pup exceed expecations even at obedience schooling. He just turn 8months old an already at 120lbs.
Some pics.
IMG-a4ca08baa716bfd40676661e0dd02376-V.jpg
IMG-d6b990fb84fd1a6446a2a19806ee15c1-V.jpg
IMG-ab1f3cd99633c97822cc6bb3dc927f77-V.jpg
IMG-26e540e1296654f09d0f30d1b4d1d188-V.jpg
IMG-26e540e1296654f09d0f30d1b4d1d188-V.jpg (59.75 KiB) Viewed 5284 times

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 18th, 2017, 9:00 am

It doesn't matter which dog you get soldier.

Because fellas like allyuh does use dogs as a status symbol to show off on the block will end up have the dog looking like a pothound anyhow.

Covered with ticks with ribs poking through the skin.

ryansouthman

Postby ryansouthman » September 18th, 2017, 1:45 pm

Malanoi

Postby SMc » September 18th, 2017, 3:12 pm

Cat!!!