Violinist fraudster

Specialist Baboons

Re: Violinist fraudster

Postby Specialist Baboons » September 7th, 2017, 9:47 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Best is my neighbor beating up how shiva teefing people tune but he downloading mp3 online to dj with.
Sad I tell you

Who's your neighbor

Postby nervewrecker » September 7th, 2017, 9:51 pm

Specialist Baboons wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Best is my neighbor beating up how shiva teefing people tune but he downloading mp3 online to dj with.
Sad I tell you

Who's your neighbor
A monkey.
Meem wah you get ideas so is best I not say.

Specialist Baboons

Postby Specialist Baboons » September 7th, 2017, 9:59 pm

Sad I tell you

Who's your neighbor
A monkey.

Is monkey man

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 8th, 2017, 12:07 am

Sad I tell you

DJs play artistes music tracks, they don't claim they singing.

Postby nervewrecker » September 8th, 2017, 7:02 am

Downloading low quality mp3 from the internet and playing on a shi++y system is the crime.

Postby tr1ad » September 8th, 2017, 7:16 am

ent shiva is yuh neighbour?

Postby nervewrecker » September 8th, 2017, 7:30 am

Nope, only time I ever saw him in real was buying chinese food some years back.
Only know him through mutual friends on fb. Asked wtf that clown does be doing with the violin and everyone said he is quite good. Saw a few vids of him since

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » September 8th, 2017, 7:39 am

home boi messed up big time.

he should have requested that nobody recorded him at events.

is all he antics like he actually playing tho...

Specialist Baboons

Postby Specialist Baboons » September 8th, 2017, 8:23 am

Sad I tell you

Who's your neighbor
A monkey.

Is monkey man

Monkey man, nervous man is yuh neighbor?

Postby nervewrecker » September 8th, 2017, 8:24 am

Munkey from korn *headbangs*

triniagent

Postby triniagent » September 8th, 2017, 3:15 pm

Miktay wrote:
uncle sam wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Basically he doing what all those musicians in soca and chutney bands doing.....pretending whilst the man in control of the tracks doing all the work

Hold the fk up!... u never heard Roy Cape play in a fete? them horns will throw you the fk down; d bareback bass man will shake yuh spine

Kes the Band on the other hand... wellll

True talk dey...the gitteriss ent bad either...

Most of the big bands sequencing their music and just miming the instruments, with only the vocals being live, while charging unsuspecting clients 15,000, 20,000, 25,000 and up to perform at weddings, parties etc.
They even stealing original music and incorporating it into their own renditions. So everywhere you go ppl stealing music because they are too lazy to create their own. What fun is there in that? It has become fully commercialized now, and being run as a full time business entity.
So at the end of the day ppl are none the wiser to the rampant scams an rip-offs in the music world.

src1983

Postby src1983 » September 8th, 2017, 4:08 pm

Carib trolling the man yes

Postby skylinechild » September 8th, 2017, 5:38 pm

Sad I tell you

but how they get the music is the question....

does the dj in question go out and legally purchase a cd / mp3 via store or online store and load it into his software to mix with it thereby supporting the artist by way of a cd/ audio track sale......??

or does he download an illegal copy or get a copy from a copy from "a friend" thereby the artist doesnt get a cent ???

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 8th, 2017, 5:49 pm

skylinechild wrote:
Sad I tell you

does the dj in question go out and legally purchase a cd / mp3 via store or online store and load it into his software to mix with it thereby supporting the artist by way of a cd/ audio track sale......??

or does he download an illegal copy or get a copy from a copy from "a friend" thereby the artist doesnt get a cent ???

Professional DJ's still pay royalties for public use of the music via COTT
http://www.cott.org.tt/uploads/file/use ... %20DJs.pdf

Is the issue here theft or deception?

If someone played Rhett Price's youtube video in their wedding I don't think Rhett Price would have as much of an issue with that.

Postby 16 cycles » September 8th, 2017, 5:51 pm

CoTT is write checks to Taylor Swift?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 8th, 2017, 6:04 pm

16 cycles wrote:CoTT is write checks to Taylor Swift?

who knows what COTT does with it

they are supposed to be dealing with the publishers

Postby skylinechild » September 8th, 2017, 6:20 pm

skylinechild wrote:
Sad I tell you

Professional DJ's still pay royalties for public use of the music via COTT
http://www.cott.org.tt/uploads/file/use ... %20DJs.pdf

Is the issue here theft or deception?

If someone played Rhett Price's youtube video in their wedding I don't think Rhett Price would have as much of an issue with that.

Duane... i NEVER said anything about Rhetts music. :lol: :lol: my response was to your answer of " DJs play artistes music tracks, they don't claim they singing. "

nerve wrecker said his neighbor beating up how Shiva theifing music but he himself is pirating music - double standard.

you replied "but djs play the artist music tracks...they dont claim they singing. by making that statement it made it appear that most djs though they not singing its ok to play someone elses song....and not give credit where its due....
credit where its due in this instance comes from monetary compensation either by sale of music or by issuing a license to play music

and yes i know about the COTT....which is why i asked above HOW does one legally obtain a copy of the Artiste song.....then i went and gave two examples of how music can be obtained - one legally and the other illegally.

and again very much aware that professional Dj's do pay a price for playing someone else s music ..hence COTT and other organizations like it....

my issue is not with rhett or shiva......you made a statement that made it "appear" that cause the dj's not singing its ok to use someone elses music....though i know thats not what u ment....lol....

Postby skylinechild » September 8th, 2017, 6:31 pm

16 cycles wrote:CoTT is write checks to Taylor Swift?

if you go to a SOCA or CHUTNEY or BRASS fete and you hear Taylor swift....then YES.....they do have to pay her...once it not heard...she no get paid....its THAT simple.

99% of trinis thats all they listen to...soca / chutney and etc....when was the last time you saw a big fete playin alternatives..... no clubs like space la nouba etc dont count....and YES clubs also have to pay fees to COTT....

if any type of public performance / display music is to be broadcasted to the audience then yes....a license is required...COTT involved...including restaurants / cinemas too ..only type of broadcasted material that is not subject to COTT license is stuff on TV and radio and internet.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 8th, 2017, 6:35 pm

Again - Is the issue here theft or deception?

Rhett didn't steal anything. Anyone can play or sing a cover of a song, it's still them playing. I believe it's called Fair Use. They didn't claim the song as theirs, they just sing their version of it. If it was then Karaoke would be illegal. Youtube deletes tons of videos daily if they feel someone is using music in an illegal way, but there are tons of cover videos because those are not illegal.

What Rhett is complaining about is that HIS music was being played (also not a problem) but someone made others think they were playing it when it was Rhett they were hearing and that made Rhett upset.

isn't that the issue?

Postby SR » September 8th, 2017, 6:35 pm

Cott is one of the biggest rippoffs..... once you playing a radio in a place where the public has access too they want to charge you fees.

Postby SR » September 8th, 2017, 6:37 pm

Plenty fetes still have a techno hip hop etc session as well as there really isnt much good soca to go around and after a while nobody wants to hear the same song for a 3rd and 4th time

Postby skylinechild » September 8th, 2017, 6:43 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Again - Is the issue here theft or deception?

Rhett didn't steal anything. Anyone can play or sing a cover of a song, it's still them playing. I believe it's called Fair Use. They didn't claim the song as theirs, they just sing their version of it. If it was then Karaoke would be illegal. Youtube deletes tons of videos daily if they feel someone is using music in an illegal way, but there are tons of cover videos because those are not illegal.

What Rhett is complaining about is that HIS music was being played (also not a problem) but someone made others think they were playing it when it was Rhett they were hearing and that made Rhett upset.

isn't that the issue?

duane...why you keep mentioning shiva or rhett..... :lol: :lol:

my issue is not with rhett or shiva......you made a statement which was - DJs play artistes music tracks, they don't claim they singing. " --- that made it "appear" that cause the dj's not singing its ok to use someone elses music....though i know thats not what u ment....lol....

good god man..... lol...

but agreed on the rhett / shiva thing <<<< just for you i mentioned rhett and shiva ok..... :lol: :lol:

Postby 16 cycles » September 8th, 2017, 6:48 pm

isn't that the issue?

Was only concerned about Taylor....

Anybody see CoTT audited statements to see if they paying ppl their dues?

Specialist Baboons

Postby Specialist Baboons » September 8th, 2017, 7:03 pm

src1983 wrote:Image

Carib trolling the man yes

Yuh late horse, repost!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 8th, 2017, 8:34 pm

skylinechild wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Again - Is the issue here theft or deception?

isn't that the issue?

duane...why you keep mentioning shiva or rhett..... :lol: :lol:

my issue is not with rhett or shiva......you made a statement which was - DJs play artistes music tracks, they don't claim they singing. " --- that made it "appear" that cause the dj's not singing its ok to use someone elses music....though i know thats not what u ment....lol....

good god man..... lol...

but agreed on the rhett / shiva thing <<<< just for you i mentioned rhett and shiva ok..... :lol: :lol:

because that is what the thread is about dan

Postby pugboy » September 8th, 2017, 10:17 pm

Cott is very grey area, they would like ppl to believe they are the be all and end all of artist representation here
I.e. Any event must pay them and only them or no fete allowed
They tried to shut down the other competing copyright agency and were not successful in the courts, not that it makes the other more legit either.

Groundcontrol

Postby Groundcontrol » September 9th, 2017, 9:19 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:
skylinechild wrote:the man claim to play for the president of TT....anyone cud call up carmona and let him verify...???

call 62-burke

Haha
Gud one

Kinday

Postby Kinday » September 9th, 2017, 9:30 am

All registered and recognized copyright agencies in the country, ie; COTT, TTCO and Awesome, collect and distribute royalty fees to and on behalf the artists, publishers or societies they represent. This is legally binding in agreements across the world with other collection societies such as BMI, ASCAP , PRS, COSCAP, etc. The copyright society takes what is know as an administrative fee for this service. They all do....every copyright society does. To the benefit of the musicians this administrative fee should be kept to a minimum....why? This is because the copyright owners can be paid properly for their work. Music is NOT free....to be recorded there is a cost. Even busking musicians engender a situational fee for their service.

Artists make income from live performances, royalties, licenses, endorsements among other music based opportunities. The success of the spread is dependent on the output and popularity of the artist, among other factors. By right, public broadcasters MUST pay fees for use of music whether radio stations, television stations, DJ's, fete promoters, etc. It falls under the remit of the copyright societies to collect. There in, using the example posed above; Taylor Swift and the other copyright owners of her music would collect royalties due to them from BMI (song dependent) who has an agreement with COTT. This agreement authorizes COTT to act for and on behalf of to collect Taylor Swift's royalties due from broadcast in this territory (local)

Thats the basic premise. Copyright education is indeed important to the public. The only real grey area is when copyright societies collect royalty fees on behalf of artists they DO NOT represent or if the administrative fee charged on collected royalties is duplicitous.

Hope that helps

Postby meccalli » September 9th, 2017, 10:05 am

matix

Postby matix » September 9th, 2017, 11:18 am