The official tropical weather thread 2017

Re: The official tropical weather thread 2017

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 31st, 2017, 5:28 pm

BBC has a really nice clip here on the science of super-storms, amazing how hurricanes can start by something as simple as a girl playing in the sand.

Postby matr1x » August 31st, 2017, 5:28 pm

Bret was starter course. We need an irma

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 31st, 2017, 6:12 pm

It have ah next development after irma

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » August 31st, 2017, 6:29 pm

It looks like Irma is passing along the edge of the itcz.. it will get plenty fuel from it..

Postby Gladiator » August 31st, 2017, 7:12 pm

matr1x wrote:Bret was starter course. We need an irma

We have a Rowley.... That is bad enough as it is

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 31st, 2017, 7:28 pm

Gladiator wrote:
matr1x wrote:Bret was starter course. We need an irma

We have a Rowley.... That is bad enough as it is

Tobago already devastated.....Trinidad heading there.

Postby aaron17 » August 31st, 2017, 8:08 pm

Reminds me of we have a hulk scene from avengers

mahsingh

Postby mahsingh » August 31st, 2017, 9:18 pm

Postby matr1x » August 31st, 2017, 10:02 pm

Crosses fingers for direct path

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 31st, 2017, 10:56 pm

why people wish a storm or hurricane would pass here is beyond me

anyway - while Irma is not predicted to pass the southern Caribbean, Irma is predicted to pack some really high winds
07a71b6c-5121-4409-a41a-261ccd35bc13.jpg

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » September 1st, 2017, 4:11 am

matr1x wrote:Crosses fingers for direct path

Why wish that.Natural disasters are expensive and erode hard earned economic, infrastructural and developmenral gains and take years to recover from.
You have just shown how big a kant you are. Mods do the necessary and ban this fool. Asses are for the stable, not tuner.

Postby matr1x » September 1st, 2017, 4:28 am

Excuse me?
First of all, if you have an issue with me, pm.

Second of all, wishes aren't real. Me wishing something will have zero impact on where a storm goes.

Third, why I said that? To wake up people, these disasters show the real quality of the government. There are hundreds who applied but never got relief.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 1st, 2017, 4:40 am

second system going north or dissipating soon

Postby matr1x » September 1st, 2017, 4:50 am

It's veering. A system has to be much more south to realistically veer in our direction.

Some tuners haven't figured that out yet.

Postby Chimera » September 1st, 2017, 5:51 pm

Matrix hoping for a hurricane so he doh hadda go in standard 1 monday

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » September 1st, 2017, 6:00 pm

I'd be surprised it irma veers south at all It's looks too far north. My guess is that it misses the whole caribbean

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 1st, 2017, 9:08 pm

Irma like she a feeling to touchdown nah..the next system has a 60% chance of development in 5 days...so we will see how that goes

Postby redmanjp » September 1st, 2017, 9:27 pm

^ NHC have it aiming right fuh we

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 1st, 2017, 9:42 pm

redmanjp wrote:^ NHC have it aiming right fuh we

That's not really aiming right for T&T. It's aiming for the mid Atlantic, where it goes from there we will have to see, but systems usually turn north as they strengthen in the mid Atlantic
two_atl_5d0-4.png

Postby MaxPower » September 1st, 2017, 9:53 pm

The extreme killer would be if one hits guyana....imagine where it will veer....

For those who wish upon hurricanes, yall panzies feel its just going to be a heavy rain and lil flood...dont forget incompetent trinis build some of allyuh house, and it will blow the fak away...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 1st, 2017, 10:14 pm

205603_5day_cone_no_line_and_wind.png

Postby matr1x » September 1st, 2017, 10:58 pm

MaxPower wrote:The extreme killer would be if one hits guyana....imagine where it will veer....

For those who wish upon hurricanes, yall panzies feel its just going to be a heavy rain and lil flood...dont forget incompetent trinis build some of allyuh house, and it will blow the fak away...

That's what happen with Bret. Veer along the coast.

I built my home. Bret didn't even make it sniffle.

The official tropical weather thread 2017

Postby MaxPower » September 1st, 2017, 11:01 pm

Eh?

No bai, bret was well north of Guyana.

2ndchance

Postby 2ndchance » September 2nd, 2017, 3:09 am

matr1x wrote:Third, why I said that? To wake up people, these disasters show the real quality of the government. There are hundreds who applied but never got relief.

So you're wishing a disaster happens just to show up the government? Given our local situation with poor drainage and poor quality residential building stock, a direct hit from a hurricane would probably cause widespread damage, kill some people and leave even more persons suffering to recover. Even worse if it's a major (category 3 and above) hurricane like Irma.... the devastation would probably be catastrophic setting the country back some years. And you're wishing that this could happen just to reveal the faults with our government? Wtf!

Postby matr1x » September 2nd, 2017, 5:34 am

Well the pnm wish to send us to the good old days of 1962...Irma would do it.

Not just with our government. People throw garbage, and refuse into water ways, think they special and god is a trini. Mind you people polluting just like before Bret so no big loss apparently.

I don't wish anyone to die obviously, but with the lack of preparation, what do you think will happen?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 2nd, 2017, 6:02 am

ah man tell me the other day...he house fully insured so anything could pass through trini....he a business

brainchild

Postby brainchild » September 2nd, 2017, 6:23 am

Ppl don't realize how quickly things happen...hurricane hits, massive devastation, your house stands strong...others don't, you fully stocked...others aren't, all roads closed, airports closed, emergency services crippled. Someone realizes you seem pretty comfortable amidst the despair, they and others decide to come see what you have, you're not willing to share...you quickly realize they weren't asking.

Don't wish for disaster hoping it'll prove a point to some scunts in office, anything that affects the country affects everyone living here regardless of status.

Postby matr1x » September 2nd, 2017, 7:48 am

I follow the week stocking system. It's very effective and not hard to follow. I ramp it up if there is a system incoming.

I batten down the hatches and if I should have to deal with an incoming storm, I not unawares. Everyone is responsible for their own safety in a storm condition.

Sorry but sometimes people need to suck salt to learn. For years odpm and others run through disaster prepared for people. It's nobody fault if they can't heed

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » September 2nd, 2017, 8:27 am

I believe in God yes, but that statement is not to open any argument about religion, however,
matr1x is right about wishes having no effect on the storms path. What is problematic about his statements however, is the desire (which is different from a wish, btw) to see a disaster of epic enough proportions hit our country, if only just to highlight the inefficiencies of the 'powers that be'. Yes, we lack preparedness, from Gov't come down, even the authorities/office whose namesake comes from preparedness, lack same. But look at the southern U.S. Houston, the 4th largest city in the US, under several FEET of water. Harvey is reported to be the most expensive natural disaster in U.S. history -
preparedness can only carry you so far. So again, why a human being to desire other humans to experience a type of harm and discomfort that I wouldn't 'wish' on my worst enemy, is as Duane said, beyond me. You're good to go? Hurricane proof? Earthquake proof? Tsunami proof? Meteor proof? Good for you. Enlighten/encourage others on how to get there, otherwise, what was it the old people taught about having nothing good to say again? Then again, I'm rambling and humans will continue to human so..my chest burn is now null and void.

In other news, take a read guys. http://grist.org/article/hurricane-irma ... be-headed/
Irma is a dread one, but there is a possibility that the Azores High is weak and she just grazes the C'bean and heads back out to sea. If it is strong however, it'll push that bugger straight across the Northern C'bean and into the Gulf of Mexico and who knows where she'll end up after that.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 2nd, 2017, 8:46 am

Idk y people beating up matrix...freedom of speech....daz his opinion...