Cold Drink Charge

Postby nemisis » August 10th, 2017, 8:36 am

SO it have a grocery that charges 50cents per cold drink purchased. They recently increased the charge to 75cents. Now i usually buy my drinks off the shelf because i knew about the 50cents charge and found it to be ridiculous but someone sent me to purchase a few cold drinks and i simply refuse to pay them that 75cents.

I find this surcharge a bit silly. thoughts.....

make meh care

Re: Cold Drink Charge

Postby make meh care » August 10th, 2017, 8:43 am

yes them chinese groceries are doing this.

Average

Postby Average » August 10th, 2017, 8:55 am

Simple, just like the grocery operated by the dotish chiney who said credit card purchases over $150.00 only, STOP buying from them.

Stop it.

Postby stev » August 10th, 2017, 9:01 am

It's not just Chinese groceries...one or two larger groceries do it as well....

...also, there is no minimum amount to Linx / Credit card purchases. If u come across a grocery / store that demands a minimum then simply email / message Infolink Services and they will handle the issue.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » August 10th, 2017, 9:04 am

make meh care wrote:yes them chinese groceries are doing this.

It is not only the Chinese grocery which is doing this , it is all of them including Massy , MS supermarket , G&N, Tru Value.
I agree with them . It's a cost to run their fridge . The price which most sell for is still cheaper than in a shop.

src1983

Postby src1983 » August 10th, 2017, 9:20 am

hong kong phooey wrote:

It is not only the Chinese grocery which is doing this , it is all of them including Massy , MS supermarket , G&N, Tru Value.
I agree with them . It's a cost to run their fridge . The price which most sell for is still cheaper than in a shop.

Correct, it cost money and power to run freezers. Same plebs quarreling about the 75 cents have no problem bout the $20 beer in them clubs

As for credit card charges, take that up to your bank. Merchants should not bear the loss on profit. Imagine you selling a item that you have no control over such as phone cards. Profit is next to nothing on those, so the cc charge erodes the profit and brings selling that card to a loss.

Banks need to adjust their rates, its unfair to the merchant

Postby nemisis » August 10th, 2017, 9:20 am

^^^ This supermarket in particular was not a Chinese grocery. You sell them cold to persuade persons to buy it from you instead of else where that may also be selling it cold but a little less convenient in location at the time. you gain a sale that you otherwise would not have been able to get so why is it a cost for running the fridge. Do you pay more for the frozen chicken because it needs to be cold? or those bottle coconut water do they charge more for it and if you refuse do they stock it at room temperate rancid so as to not incur extra costs from having them in the fridge??/

Postby nemisis » August 10th, 2017, 9:25 am

src1983 wrote:
hong kong phooey wrote:

Correct, it cost money and power to run freezers. Same plebs quarreling about the 75 cents have no problem bout the $20 beer in them clubs

As for credit card charges, take that up to your bank. Merchants should not bear the loss on profit. Imagine you selling a item that you have no control over such as phone cards. Profit is next to nothing on those, so the cc charge erodes the profit and brings selling that card to a loss.

The bank don't need to do sheit the merchants who so affected need to band together and stop accepting these forms of payment that supposedly eroding profits. the banks will move to suit.

And its an empty argument to say the people complaining about 75cents paying $20 in the club. we are not talking about those individuals.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 10th, 2017, 9:39 am

I think the bottom line here is you are not the only buyer and they are not the only sellers. You have a choice in buying what is a relatively inexpensive item and can choose to move on for cost sake even if it not convenient.

They also can risk the loss of sales through the cold charge or make money off it if sufficient people buy.

Free Market at its best (and worst)

HSA

Postby HSA » August 10th, 2017, 9:42 am

some like seejink hot,
some like seejink cold,
some like seejink in a pot, nine days old

either you pay for convenience of it being cold or buy somewhere else. Not everywhere does this though. check tanty parlour dong the road. she does like ole talk, and the occasional fingering

Postby nemisis » August 10th, 2017, 9:56 am

^^^ a bottle of water by the case $28
by the bottle on the shelf $2.25
new cold price $3.00
by "tants" 5.00

tants who not buying in bulk or have the volume i can understand her $5.00 but trying to get more out of your paycheck makes you not waste as much as before and yes buying from tanty is a waste. I'm not saying the market cant charge the 75cents and im not saying they holding a gun to your head forcing anyone to buy it im just wondering how it could be justified....

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » August 10th, 2017, 10:01 am

Cool story:
I went to buy a 2 litre coke by a tanty parlour and she say hot or cold? I say wais d price difference, she say same price.
I buy some other items and the total was x dollars and some cents, and she round it down and just charge me x dollars.

Me eh wah say the name and location because I dunno if that was just for me.

Drea

Postby Drea » August 10th, 2017, 10:02 am

At the end of the day you pay for convenience, the strategy most supermarkets adopt is to have the fridge with cold drinks right by the cashier so as you are moving up in the line, you decide hey I could really do with a cold one and thus buy. (simple marketing)

Miktay

Postby Miktay » August 10th, 2017, 10:09 am

Round the savannah coconut men have been known to try the same scam....

Big sign with "$10" on the truck and when u paying he asking for $12 cuz he say it was a cold nut he give u....

Steups...

Postby nemisis » August 10th, 2017, 10:15 am

^^^ Feel sorry for the casher eh but she go hadda pack back them drinks as i left them right there... Also if you have a fridge have the prices reflected correctly or have a sign stating the charge.

arbitary bill looked like
water $2.25
Cold drink 75c
water $2.25
Cold drink 75c
water $2.25
Cold drink 75c
Busta $2.09
Cold drink 75c
Busta $2.09
Cold drink 75c
Suppligen $6.59
Cold drink 75c

Postby 88sins » August 10th, 2017, 10:25 am

src1983 wrote:Merchants should not bear the loss on profit. Imagine you selling a item that you have no control over such as phone cards. Profit is next to nothing on those, so the cc charge erodes the profit and brings selling that card to a loss.

Simple solution-no cc payments accepted for phonecards, etc. Or even simpler, stop selling these items altogether.
And then there's the simplest solution of all, that'll cure all you find wrong with the banks rates & potential erosion of your profits-Give the back the blasted bank their damned machine & run a cash only business.

Nobody put a gun to your head & force you to sell phone cards. No one ever threatened you or your family or your business to make you take the card machine from the bank either, you did it to make sure when people come to buy what you selling that regardless of what for of payment they have on them, you can be sure you get paid, and the fact it's a cashless transaction makes it safer for you the business owner. For that safety, security, and certainty that you want, you, the business/owner have to pay for that, not the customer.

To charge a customer additional costs, simply because you don't want to erode your profits,& they get zero additional value for their money, is wrong. Plain talk, bad manners, whoever eh like it hadda learn to live with it. If yuh believe yuh right to do people that, yuh wrong.

That is why anyone trying to charge me personally any additional fee for doing business with any form of payment, I simply discontinue the process of the transaction, leave you with your goods on the shelf/counter, keep my money in my pocket, & take my business elsewhere, & will never return to where the attempted robbery took place for anything, nor would I ever recommend anyone go there & I make sure to tell people why I not doing business there. What they do after that is their business.

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 10th, 2017, 10:29 am

HSA wrote:some like seejink hot,
some like seejink cold,
some like seejink in a pot, nine days old

either you pay for convenience of it being cold or buy somewhere else. Not everywhere does this though. check tanty parlour dong the road. she does like ole talk, and the occasional fingering

dan :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

src1983

Postby src1983 » August 10th, 2017, 10:41 am

src1983 wrote:Merchants should not bear the loss on profit. Imagine you selling a item that you have no control over such as phone cards. Profit is next to nothing on those, so the cc charge erodes the profit and brings selling that card to a loss.

Simple solution-no cc payments accepted for phonecards, etc. Or even simpler, stop selling these items altogether.
And then there's the simplest solution of all, that'll cure all you find wrong with the banks rates & potential erosion of your profits-Give the back the blasted bank their damned machine & run a cash only business.

Nobody put a gun to your head & force you to sell phone cards. No one ever threatened you or your family or your business to make you take the card machine from the bank either, you did it to make sure when people come to buy what you selling that regardless of what for of payment they have on them, you can be sure you get paid, and the fact it's a cashless transaction makes it safer for you the business owner. For that safety, security, and certainty that you want, you, the business/owner have to pay for that, not the customer.

To charge a customer additional costs, simply because you don't want to erode your profits,& they get zero additional value for their money, is wrong. Plain talk, bad manners, whoever eh like it hadda learn to live with it. If yuh believe yuh right to do people that, yuh wrong.

That is why anyone trying to charge me personally any additional fee for doing business with any form of payment, I simply discontinue the process of the transaction, leave you with your goods on the shelf/counter, keep my money in my pocket, & take my business elsewhere, & will never return to where the attempted robbery took place for anything, nor would I ever recommend anyone go there & I make sure to tell people why I not doing business there. What they do after that is their business.

I totally understand your point, but from a merchant stand point we are being faced with more and more charges. Going cashless may be great for everybody, but banks in trinidad are not regulated and can impose charges on business because the public like yourself will take their side, because your believe that business there to dig out your eye. Right now scotia wants to increase CC rates, there is a deposit charge for cash.

Oh and credit card fraud, you have to give the bank and arm and leg to prove that all due diligence was done before they leave you alone. I had to send CCTV footage once. All this and the cc is insured.

I stopped taking CC a few years ago when Scotia didn't want to negotiate rates I only accept Linx. Didn't lose much business.

And for those who think this is only a Trini thing, think again. London, New York and Miami it happens

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » August 10th, 2017, 11:01 am

:shock: bwda man beatin up over 50c\75c even a $1 for a drink to be cold .... how cheap some ppl really is boi , u feel d drinks come pre-cold from d factory & d company brings it from a fridge truck & packs it straight into ur fridge & it magically stays cold with 0 expense to d shop owner

wanna save dat precious few cents then buy it hot , tote it home & use ice\coldness from ur fridge ... :|

Postby 88sins » August 10th, 2017, 11:03 am

src, you are part of the public as well eh. & we eh living in or talking about London, NY, or FL, we talkin T&T

I don't believe ALL businesses are out here to dig out ppl eye, but I am aware that PLENTY ppl start a business with that exact intention. How else they could justify a 400% profit margin on a product? Especially when some of them running their business from a room/section of their home.

Problem with the banking sector is as you say, they aren't regulated, but that doesn't mean they can do whatever they want & you have no options. Don't like Scotia's habit of increasing & adding fees? Tell them so & proceed to cash out your account & let them know you going by the competition. Enough ppl do this see how fast that increased fees talk die out.
And then there's the local bodies that claim to be supporters of the local business communities, DOMA, AMCHAM, et al. Let them know whats going on, an d take them to task as regards how could they claim to be supportive of local merchants & sit idly by with their thumbs planted firmly up their behinds while the banking sector essentially taxes businesses with a fee & charge for everything & nothing. Same should be put to the Ministry of Fine Ants, the trade ministry, and the CBTT, as to WHY exactly they do not see a need to regulate the local banking sector, & motivate them to see a need & propose & enact legislation & change as needed.

But trying to pass bad treatment off on the customer will not stop the banks, or unscrupulous suppliers, or anyone else.

Postby Ben_spanna » August 10th, 2017, 11:48 am

Dem bigger chain of groceries raping the general public

Postby RedVEVO » August 10th, 2017, 11:51 am

^^^^

Electricity cost money. It is not free.

TTEC charges commercial rates on business .

You get Rum and Whiskey cold .. ?

Walk with your ice nah :roll:

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » August 10th, 2017, 12:22 pm

nemisis wrote:^^^ This supermarket in particular was not a Chinese grocery. You sell them cold to persuade persons to buy it from you instead of else where that may also be selling it cold but a little less convenient in location at the time. you gain a sale that you otherwise would not have been able to get so why is it a cost for running the fridge. Do you pay more for the frozen chicken because it needs to be cold? or those bottle coconut water do they charge more for it and if you refuse do they stock it at room temperate rancid so as to not incur extra costs from having them in the fridge??/

of course you pay more for frozen chicken . the owner of the supermarket would have factored that in his price .
you pay even more if you want your chicken boneless/seasoned because he have to pay someone to prepare the meat.
the same applies for buying a case of water or coke against single on the shelf . there is a difference in the price .

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » August 10th, 2017, 12:28 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:Dem bigger chain of groceries raping the general public

I disagree. Rape is against some one will. People have a choice, they can shop elsewhere . They choose shopping there rather than shopping elsewhere there because the parking is available , stuff is clean, no gruntas, wide isles , larger variety and convenience.

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » August 10th, 2017, 12:37 pm

nemisis wrote:^^^ a bottle of water by the case $28
new cold price $3.00
by "tants" 5.00

tants who not buying in bulk or have the volume i can understand her $5.00 but trying to get more out of your paycheck makes you not waste as much as before and yes buying from tanty is a waste. I'm not saying the market cant charge the 75cents and im not saying they holding a gun to your head forcing anyone to buy it im just wondering how it could be justified....

pics of tanty?

Postby RedVEVO » August 10th, 2017, 12:39 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:Dem bigger chain of groceries raping the general public

You have the video ?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » August 10th, 2017, 12:51 pm

is the same thing some people sell their cold stag/carib for 10 dollars and black bottle for 15 while other bars sell for 8 dollars /10 dollars and others with ambiance sell it for 18 and 25 dollars
it your choice where you want to buy it.

HSA

Postby HSA » August 10th, 2017, 12:52 pm

Mercenary wrote:
nemisis wrote:^^^ a bottle of water by the case $28
new cold price $3.00
by "tants" 5.00

pics of tanty?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » August 10th, 2017, 12:56 pm

could you get one of her smiling? . need to check for teeth

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 10th, 2017, 12:57 pm

That cold charge is nonsense ...from the accounting pov....that's a sunk cost...the cost of the refrigerator...because this was a decision made by the grocery to operate the fridge...the consumer did not come in and request u put a fridge there to cold drinks....so that charge is irrelevant ...that was your choice. .that the consumer should not have to bear.....also they get these refrigerators free from suppliers...and electricity is a fixed overhead...so it's very unfair for.the consumer.....