***THE FARMERS CHED***

Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby adnj » July 30th, 2017, 4:17 pm

Seems like they sold you the wrong line.

It's hard to spin the thick line at 10,000 rpm. The tip of the line is what cuts and it is moving at about 500 mph. So if the line is too long or too thick or the brush is too heavy, it doesn't work well.

Glad that you got it sorted.

Postby nervewrecker » July 30th, 2017, 9:33 pm

Wax apples still in season? Anyone in south have?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 31st, 2017, 7:15 am

to be honest that thing was real scarce this year^

Emmar01

Postby Emmar01 » July 31st, 2017, 9:06 am

Recently acquired a 2-acre Caroni parcel so would appreciate it if anyone can recommend an agri advisor who I can meet with to discuss how to make the best use of the land. Inbox pls.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 1st, 2017, 8:14 pm

How much you looking to invest? Both $ and time wise that is

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » August 1st, 2017, 9:43 pm

nick639v2 wrote:
adnj wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:Just come back from the shop 0.095 white square... in 15mins did easily 3x the area as i would normally so i feel this will be the set up now.

What diameter line did they give you before?

Not sure...it was sold out of the roll like retail 10$ amount... prob l'd say 1mm thicker at least so it was probably 0.13 maybe even bigger cuz it was tight to spool in

Lord put ah hand. I would have said send ah man but what you need is to read the owners/operators manual to determine the size of line and the lenght of the line coming out the eyelet.

Samjhe?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 1st, 2017, 10:24 pm

dude2014 wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:
adnj wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:Just come back from the shop 0.095 white square... in 15mins did easily 3x the area as i would normally so i feel this will be the set up now.

What diameter line did they give you before?

Not sure...it was sold out of the roll like retail 10$ amount... prob l'd say 1mm thicker at least so it was probably 0.13 maybe even bigger cuz it was tight to spool in

Lord put ah hand. I would have said send ah man but what you need is to read the owners/operators manual to determine the size of line and the lenght of the line coming out the eyelet.

Samjhe?

The wacker is at least 5 years old, was given to me as is without manual or accesories. even the head that i got with it was oversized (for the fs 90). I used the base recommended orange stihl string and the closest I could find to it at hardwares for years is just now different type of grass have to get cut so i was looking for advice because as you know the original string is a pain in the ass to use on anything slightly tough.

mujhe samajho?

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » August 8th, 2017, 12:09 am

Two question about my back yard garden

1) planted some shado beni from seeds. The 1-2" leaves are been eaten. Saw 1 caterpillar. What can I use to stop it from being eaten

2) purchased some plants from farmers market, was supposed to be pimento but two end up being hot pepper. The pimento tree is about 2 feet from the hot pepper. The peppers have the green color of pimento but the rounded than regular pimento. Has anyone experienced this. Will they be hot ?

Postby adnj » August 8th, 2017, 6:28 am

nick639v2 wrote:The wacker is at least 5 years old, was given to me as is without manual or accesories. even the head that i got with it was oversized (for the fs 90). I used the base recommended orange stihl string and the closest I could find to it at hardwares for years is just now different type of grass have to get cut so i was looking for advice because as you know the original string is a pain in the ass to use on anything slightly tough.

mujhe samajho?

Some of the shops act like they know what's best... and might not.

It's tough not to make mistakes now and then especially when you get bad advice from the people trying to sell you some line.

For steep slopes and cleaning around the edges and by trees, I have an old 1 hp D handle trimmer that I bought 20 years ago that is set up with a manual cast aluminum trimmer head. It's light weight, doesn't need a harness and can be maneuvered easily.

I use one length of .130 line and it cuts everything but woody plants. No problem with waiting for a grass blade to get up to speed, hit a rock or cut tree bark. No need for steel toe boots, either.

I have four other Stihls and Husqvarnas and for my uses a fixed head works best. You do your resaerch and then you stick with what works.

russian123

Postby russian123 » August 8th, 2017, 6:31 pm

good day all. i recently planted some dasheen bush suckers about a month now and they are growing well. i salted with some urea recently and i noticed some of the older leaves are now yellow and dying. Is that normal for new dasheen bush plants. Anything else i shud do.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 9th, 2017, 6:10 am

francis1979 wrote:Two question about my back yard garden

1) planted some shado beni from seeds. The 1-2" leaves are been eaten. Saw 1 caterpillar. What can I use to stop it from being eaten

2) purchased some plants from farmers market, was supposed to be pimento but two end up being hot pepper. The pimento tree is about 2 feet from the hot pepper. The peppers have the green color of pimento but the rounded than regular pimento. Has anyone experienced this. Will they be hot ?

happened to me already....I planted mine 5ft apart and experienced the same..so I did them like 20ft apart and was ok..wrs to being hot...that's hard to say...more or less hit or miss

wrs to caterpillars(why not try slug bait) worked well for me

JF.K

Postby JF.K » August 12th, 2017, 11:45 am

I need some help tuners..
I have this spray can, but the trigger stopped working.
It leaks like hell while pumping the pressure lever on the tank.
Pressing or releasing the trigger does nothing, the liquid in the tank will keep spraying until the pressure dies down.

Does anyone know where I can get this trigger section replacement to buy or how to fix it?
Thanks.

Postby Chimera » August 12th, 2017, 12:12 pm

southern chemicals on ramsaran street will have the parts for sale

but in the meantime you can completely disassemble the trigger and clean it out, see if its clogged anywhere and see if any seal/o ring has melted/burst

if so you can just buy the seal

JF.K

Postby JF.K » August 12th, 2017, 12:26 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:southern chemicals on ramsaran street will have the parts for sale

but in the meantime you can completely disassemble the trigger and clean it out, see if its clogged anywhere and see if any seal/o ring has melted/burst

if so you can just buy the seal

Thanks... will do.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 12th, 2017, 3:55 pm

When last allyuh see this...selling same price as zaboca
IMG_20170812_155340.jpg

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » August 12th, 2017, 10:14 pm

With regards pimento getting hot is due to cross pollination.
Pimento is a mild hot pepper and planting in an area where hot pepper may have been planted will also yield the same result.

With regards the dasheen, the outer yellow leaves is due to the leaves being cut prior to planting.
Only the center leaves will sprout upwards.

Urea is not a good salt primarily due to the plant having a diverse nutritional requirement.
Except where a soil test is done and nitrogen is low, a compound fertiliser such as 12:11:18 with trace element is recommended.

The Farmers Training Center run courses from time to time on Dasheen Bush Production.
Give them a call ................

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » August 13th, 2017, 6:57 am

Some of my fruit trees have termites on them. What can i do about this. There were some nests in the treee. I removed these. Anything else i can do?

Postby adnj » August 13th, 2017, 11:11 am

dude2014 wrote:Except where a soil test is done and nitrogen is low, a compound fertiliser such as 12:11:18 with trace element is recommended.

A balanced fertilizer would be 24:8:16 water soluble or 18:6:12 slow release. The problem with urea is that it becomes acidic before transferring nitrogen. Counter acidity with potash.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » August 13th, 2017, 11:50 am

JF.K wrote:I need some help tuners..
Pressing or releasing the trigger does nothing, the liquid in the tank will keep spraying until the pressure dies down.

Does anyone know where I can get this trigger section replacement to buy or how to fix it?
Thanks.

the rubber in the trigger swell and the spring not pushing it down
open the bottom of the trigger take out the rubber dry it out spray it with wd40 and replace it and try it again

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » August 15th, 2017, 1:02 pm

adnj wrote:
dude2014 wrote:Except where a soil test is done and nitrogen is low, a compound fertiliser such as 12:11:18 with trace element is recommended.

A balanced fertilizer would be 24:8:16 water soluble or 18:6:12 slow release. The problem with urea is that it becomes acidic before transferring nitrogen. Counter acidity with potash.

Your recommendation is more accurate as the N is normally higher for leafy crops that produce leaves in the case of Dasheen Bush. Local Agri lime is better for reducing acidity and can also assist in the eradication of slugs and snails that like a damp or wet place. This is due to the change in PH.

With regards the termite in tree, you can use Regeant. Remove nest, taking care not to damage the bark and burn. Spray the ground surrounding the tree for better results.

lipstick war

Postby lipstick war » August 15th, 2017, 6:58 pm

Guys I'm looking for a 20-10-20 water soluble fertilizer?

JF.K

Postby JF.K » August 16th, 2017, 10:18 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:
JF.K wrote:I need some help tuners..

Thanks.

the rubber in the trigger swell and the spring not pushing it down
open the bottom of the trigger take out the rubber dry it out spray it with wd40 and replace it and try it again

thanks, this small (white) rubber was actually the problem.
it was a bit swollen but was also broken/chipped off.
I replaced the rubber and now like brand new.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 8th, 2017, 11:30 am

Anybody know how to get rid of a bamboo patch? has a big ass at the end of my land that I absolutely need destroyed.

what about a solution such as a chemical like a poison to throw next to the root?

Postby Chimera » September 8th, 2017, 11:40 am

velpar in the heart of it

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 8th, 2017, 12:25 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:velpar in the heart of it

Ok so the patch has some really tall bamboos and it has maybe 20 bamboo in the patch or more where is this heart located? where do I throw this poison? do I have to drill any holes?

You know the cost of the Velpar and how much I need?

I have a small coconut plant growing about 6 feet away and I don't want to kill the coconut.

Postby Chimera » September 8th, 2017, 12:37 pm

boy go in a agri shop and ask them

they will give you what you need and tell you how to use it

Postby bluefete » September 8th, 2017, 1:04 pm

Green fig people:

Is it true that a green fig tree only bears once, then you have to cut it down?

Or is there a possibility that it will bear again sometime later?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 8th, 2017, 1:07 pm

bluefete wrote:Green fig people:

my experience...one time it bears and daz it for the tree....the tree usually send out suckers doh

Postby adnj » September 8th, 2017, 1:22 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Anybody know how to get rid of a bamboo patch? has a big ass at the end of my land that I absolutely need destroyed.

what about a solution such as a chemical like a poison to throw next to the root?

Cut down all of the bamboo.
Wait for the bamboo to start sending up shoots.
Spray the shoots with Roundup (glyphosate).
Cut any underground runners with a shovel.
Repeat until you no longer find shoots.

It is going to take a couple of treatments or more.
bluefete wrote:Green fig people:

If we're talking about the small bananas called figs; all banana trees bear once. Cut the stalk down to less than one foot high and dispose of it to prevent insect pests. You should get a new sucker soon after.

Let three or four suckers of different heights grow together so that you will get fruit more often.
Last edited by adnj on September 8th, 2017, 1:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 8th, 2017, 1:25 pm

Someone did advise me to burn the bamboo patch with about 10 car tires.

But I will go price the chemicals first, cutting it is no easy task because when you cut one stalk it does be hook up so to get it out is pressure.